The Religion Discussion

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby RBphoto » October 20th, 2014, 11:52 am

Yesterday at cost you less supermarket, two women alighted from a Nissan Serena van. Clearly of the shouter baptist faith judging from their garb, as well as the others in the packed minivan. I got out of my car and bought a cocoa cola, my preferred drink just before a photo shoot. Though the weather was steaming hot with bright sun after a drizzle, I went into my car to have my beverage before proceeding, not wanting to get caught in rain. Then it came. no brief pitter patter as a warning, but a torrential down-pouring as if a bucket was dumped on my windshield. As I sat in my dry alcove, I saw the two baptist women emerge from the grocery clearly distraught. apparently there was some urgency they had to attend to, and the rain was not cooperating with their plight. After finishing my 20oz coke, I grabbed my trusty "house and land" umbrella and fought the daggers of water to open the door and reach the women on the step. The first woman was most gracious and thanked me profusely for offering her safe passage to the vehicle. It is here I noticed how convenient the sliding doors on a minivan are and allow easy access. As the vehicle consumed her into its bowels to join her kind, I offered the second woman the same courtesy. I was told that I was most blessed and most highly favored of the lord. As they drove away and the re-stiching on my old clarks shoes started to seep cold water into the sanctuary of my warm dry socks... I stopped to ponder what this meant, and if I was favored as an atheist by the almighty being or if I was truly awesome all by myself. Was the fact that, at this point in time, I was the only person who could render assistance, a mere coincidence or a mean spirited god had made a situation for me to do just this act of kindness so I could receive this bountiful blessing? I had no time to ponder this great mystery as my photo shoot was in the next five minutes. I did a kick ass job at the shoot and got some amazing photos despite the crappy weather. Only on contemplating how awesome the shoot was, I beg the question, did I do the shoot well because of my blessing or did I do it well in spite of god's curse of rain. This I pondered sleeplessly last night. Can someone here help me find peace? Being awesome is such a burden :(

Postby MG Man » October 20th, 2014, 11:57 am

while I was pullin piggyleeks past night, I noticed how small and dainty my hands are, and how well tey suited my genetically predisposed small piggyleeks.....had I been burdened with big, manly palms, I would have likely ripped out said minileeks as sasha grey smirked at me with her peryy, gooey countenance....genetic coincidence, or did a kind and benevolent god bless me with the right sized hands for my winkie?

Postby Habit7 » October 20th, 2014, 1:31 pm

You claim that Sodom and Gomorrah has no evidence outside the secondary source of the Bible. Yet when the flood has numerous secondary sources such as the Sumerians you ridicule it?

Be consistent in your historicity. There many historical locations and events that we only have one secondary source, to say that there is no evidence for Sodom and Gomorrah is not only wrong, but to be consistent, you will have to eliminate much of human history because we only have secondary sources. The validity of the bible is taken as a whole not on one narrative, as it is correct and substantiated in other areas of archaeology.

When the archaeological, geographical and epigraphic evidence is reviewed in detail, it is clear that the infamous cities of Sodom and Gomorrah have now been found. What is more, this evidence demonstrates that the Bible provides an accurate eyewitness account of events that occurred southeast of the Dead Sea over 4,000 years ago.

Dr. Bryant G. Wood, Bible and Spade, Summer 1999

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
MG Man wrote:yup...just like how they took the flood from the Sumerian account and made it into Noah's great flawwd

lets not forget this

This is so pathetic, you guys believe your internet memes strong than I believe my bible.

Postby MG Man » October 20th, 2014, 1:52 pm

Lmao hoss the Sumerian flood was an account of a local river that broke its banks. The dude in the story put his family and some goats in a boat and rode it out. All your ppl did was steal and grossly exaggerate the story

Postby MG Man » October 20th, 2014, 1:53 pm

And least you not forget, archaeology supports events and places outlined in Hindu scripture...so which do I believe?

Postby Slartibartfast » October 20th, 2014, 2:05 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:What evidence do we have that when the story of Sodom and Gomorrah was written "after the fact" it was NOT then embellished by the writer to included supernatural explanations for the occurrence?
I'm guessing this is where faith comes in?

Postby maj. tom » October 20th, 2014, 2:24 pm

God doh lie boi.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 20th, 2014, 2:40 pm

maj. tom wrote:God doh lie boi.

"It's not that God doesn't lie... it is that what he says is the truth." - Pasta Slarti

Postby Habit7 » October 20th, 2014, 2:46 pm

MG Man wrote:Lmao hoss the Sumerian flood was an account of a local river that broke its banks. The dude in the story put his family and some goats in a boat and rode it out. All your ppl did was steal and grossly exaggerate the story
There are more than one Sumerian flood accounts. Atra-Hasis second tablet contains a total flood of all mankind.
MG Man wrote:And least you not forget, archaeology supports events and places outlined in Hindu scripture...so which do I believe?
It might as well does...but I don't see how does that lend or take away credibility from the Bible.

Postby MG Man » October 20th, 2014, 2:50 pm

well based on aba's cartoon thingie, Hinduism predates the Bible, and the archaeology supports it as truth, so clearly the bible is as mentioned, a sad hodgepodge frankenstein of other beliefs that predate it...so actually, if archaeology can be used as a yardstick (according to you), then the bible has no credibility

Postby Habit7 » October 20th, 2014, 3:40 pm

We have been down this road before
MG Man wrote:If that's the case, how do you account for evidence of the lost city of Dwarka, which is a key city mentioned in Hindu scripture, and long though to be fictional, being found just were it was said to be, but now submerged off the Indian coastline? Based on your logic, the Hindu folks were right too, yeah?

Habit7 wrote:I dont think I or anyone else doubted the existence of Dwarka. Hindu scripture was probably right on that fact. But do you see anyone arguing for the Earth being borne by a turtle of elephant in this thread?

Just because it is right on one thing doesn't make it right on everything, especially when the Hindu text itself doesn't claim to be right on everything.

Hindu text may have predated Jewish text but worship of Yahweh doesn't have any assigned start date. The Jewish text has far more differences with the Sumerian than it has similarities. Anything more than that are assumptions.

What I find amazing with you guys is that you think Christians accept the historicity of the bible by faith, but when we show you that your assumptions are wrong based on scholarship, you end being the ones thinking that the historicity of the Bible is wrong by you own faith.

Postby MG Man » October 20th, 2014, 4:05 pm

lol no son
allw e are saying is your 'evidence' can be applied to other religions....you are showing me a red paint can and claiming you have the only red car in the world, when in fact you have a bicycle with a wheel missing

Postby Habit7 » October 20th, 2014, 4:26 pm

???

I am defending biblical archaeology... and at times, correcting yours and ABA's mangling of Sumerian and Egyptian archaeology.

No one is claiming possession of all archaeology/"red paint"

cracker

Postby cracker » October 20th, 2014, 4:38 pm

I could not agree with you more. Also if god is real as blufete and others claim then which is the real god? The christian? The muslim? Which god should we believe? Hmmmm

Postby MG Man » October 20th, 2014, 4:53 pm

Habit7 wrote:???

I am defending biblical archaeology... and at times, correcting yours and ABA's mangling of Sumerian and Egyptian archaeology.

No one is claiming possession of all archaeology/"red paint"

I give up

Postby meccalli » October 20th, 2014, 5:16 pm

Well, you guys been busy. Before that goes any further, nobody is trying to prove the bible by showing events are accurate, aba said the place didn't exist- it's strictly archaeological, nothing more.

1.Unlike Christianity Peter pan doesn't have app. 2.2 billion followers that consider him God worldwide.

2. I think you might want to validate your memes like your fellow meme spam compadre.

Slartibartfast wrote:Correct. According to you he is all powerful and therefore able to stop evil but he allows it to happen for "means to his end"

God doesn't work on your clock.

Slartibartfast wrote:To break down the question. The story of Sodom and Gomorrah could have some truth to it and could have been recorded. The recorded story could have then been embellished to make it fit in with the rest of the crazy stories in the bible. What evidence do we have that the story written is entirely factual and not just part truths?

Have you ever researched it? I haven't. But we know there's a place that's full of ashes and brimstone in the cities suspected places,I know we can historically trace the people's beliefs and customs at the time. Feel free to dig in any time. It seems consistent across the board to me in regards to the other happenings. But then there was pompeii, now I'm sold, God has a thing with catastrophes and blissfully perverted cities.

http://www.touregypt.net/admonitionsofipuwer.htm
Have a read, lots of parallels to a story we all know and love.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 20th, 2014, 8:06 pm

Mec I don't think you understood what I wrote.

Postby meccalli » October 20th, 2014, 8:12 pm

Yeah I do, I'm just saying I don't know. Sure its possible, happened alot in history. Maybe, maybe not in this case. You need to research to come up with a conclusion for yourself, most scientists don't really care to investigate stuff in the Bible all that much.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » October 20th, 2014, 11:02 pm

Man say research yes, from all accounts it will seem that meccali imaginary skydaddy has died and aint coming back anytime soon. If theist wrote these accounts will it not be biased ? The theists killed all atheists back then because as you know their big huge homosexual dog was afraid of a few peasents. And btw if you call that a win, you must be really special... Thanks to the internet and availability of information at our finger tips, there is a decline in religion and it will continue. . I have been to churches, mosques, temples and I have read the majority of religious literature out there. A person true to himself after reading that amount of garbage will become an Atheist. If you are not an Atheist you have not researched enough. You cannot be using the bible to prove the bible, thats like using the spiderman comic book to show that spiderman is real. If a guy wrote a book and scattered within it historical references but the majority is fiction, is the book factual? Will modern schools use an archaic textbook in the classroom? If they wont do it for Education, religuous education is no different. Religion teaches us its ok for people to suffer. But all lives are important. But we have the general thinking that its ok for people to suffer, that it is because of their Karma and that the Dog has a better plan for them when they die. Is that right? But go ahead pray to your imaginary friend. Its all according to Dogs plan.

Can you even think about the concept that there is no God? If you cannot then well you are the product of a successful brainwashing. Children take the religion of thier parents, not by choice, but by indoctrination process so established that you don't see it for what it is. All children are born Atheists and are brainwashed into the thinking of their parents religion.

What if youre worshipping the wrong God and everyday youre making him angrier? What if the buy-bull was not written by a lunatic? What if it was the only resource at the disposal of a leader to unite his country?

Mythology is cool, just dont take it to heart.
Very happy without God!

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » October 20th, 2014, 11:34 pm

1404661_669492806432857_7894538074560040484_o.jpg

10155631_658049897577148_5793028718388419037_n.jpg

1960796_642413695807435_536789484_o.jpg
Last edited by nareshseep on October 20th, 2014, 11:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby maj. tom » October 20th, 2014, 11:48 pm

hahahahaha a homosexual dog!
wait...

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 21st, 2014, 1:00 am

hahaha a bike freaking cow!

#seems_legit

youtube.com/watch?v=TOkP6-gn8uE

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 21st, 2014, 1:45 am

New page, so we shall discuss something new.

If you had to form a new religion, what would it be based on? And what would be the rules an ting?

Postby RBphoto » October 21st, 2014, 5:51 am

Love, sex and rock n roll. Drugs and Sitar playing all say long.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 21st, 2014, 6:12 am

What about dudeism. I don't mind being a dude

DJ

Postby DJ » October 21st, 2014, 8:05 am

^^So ur not a dude? Yuh big gyal.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 21st, 2014, 10:41 am

Nah, I'm not talking about the physical dude (of which we are all created as, even the dudettes and little dudarinos). I'm talking about the internal dude. The dude we must all strive to be to gain that perfect balance of dudeness as The Dude once said

"The dude abides..."

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 21st, 2014, 1:58 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Nah, I'm not talking about the physical dude (of which we are all created as, even the dudettes and little dudarinos). I'm talking about the internal dude. The dude we must all strive to be to gain that perfect balance of dudeness as The Dude once said

"The dude abides..."

startingtobussfart you does sound real confused inno. like today you believe one thing, tomorrow you believe the total opposite and have full justification, till tomorrow again lol

Postby RBphoto » October 21st, 2014, 2:00 pm

I believe, in Penal, there is a religion based on dhal, rice, White Oak and Roti.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 21st, 2014, 2:33 pm

bluesclues wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:Nah, I'm not talking about the physical dude (of which we are all created as, even the dudettes and little dudarinos). I'm talking about the internal dude. The dude we must all strive to be to gain that perfect balance of dudeness as The Dude once said

"The dude abides..."

startingtobussfart you does sound real confused inno. like today you believe one thing, tomorrow you believe the total opposite and have full justification, till tomorrow again lol
All I want to know is if my reference made a whistling song as it passed over your head. If I knew you wanted to read it I would have used smaller words.