about roystonia area?

venomz

about roystonia area?

Postby venomz » October 8th, 2014, 9:13 am

soooooooo.....

im thinking about investing in a home in roystonia couva area with intentions of the near future (1year) to start a family.... wife kids...dog... r35 model car on tv stand display lol

any environs out there can give me some updates about the area?

crime? in-terms of robbery, kidnapping etc..
what about flooding?
the type of environs? hostile? easy going? keep to themselves? friendly?

what other things shall i take into consideration beside PRICE of Property?

open for discussion

Re: about roystonia area?

Postby Ignorant Ignis » October 8th, 2014, 9:19 am

got a few friends in there .... no real complaints
car theft was on the rise at one point ... but has seemed to settle down

venomz

Postby venomz » October 8th, 2014, 9:24 am

i know in 2010 parts of livstonia had flood out with waters about 2 feet high....

since then anyone knows if it ever flood ?

air wick

Postby air wick » October 8th, 2014, 9:51 am

the only problem I have with that area is that it's leasehold land

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 8th, 2014, 9:54 am

Ingress and egress

Getting in and out of there with traffic may be an issue

How much are you paying for house and land there?

Postby A172 » October 8th, 2014, 9:58 am

water supply

Postby Team Loco » October 8th, 2014, 9:59 am

i live in roystonia. its pretty decent. drainage is ok, quality of housing is ok. crime is low, most of the newsprint get it wrong, they report of crime in roystonia but its really the environs. occassionally there re a few car thefts. however recently many criminal elements have found themselves in the area ie renting homes. some areas have become noisy with the occassional gunta parties being thrown on the outskirts of Latania drive. real guntas breaking bottle and damaging cars. so u gotta choose the area carefully.
however area is generally quiet, water was 24/7 until this year during the dry season they started a schedule. power is very reliable. many handymen in the area that can help you out at times. the outskirts of couva is not that great though. after 12 on a saturday you are lucky to find places open. however recently the neighbourhood vegestall has increased in size and roystonia now has its own bakery, meat shop and pharmacy.
so its not that bad.......pretty decent. oh and police patrols are common

Postby RBphoto » October 8th, 2014, 10:12 am

Been on a few jobs there and have a few friends living there so I frequent the place. Nice community. Things I would look for in any modern community is the presence of a play park, active community center, preschool and a community pool, none of which I am aware Roystonia has. The area around the development is grimy with a lot of youths liming. Traffic has always been an issue when I have to get there.

Correct me on any above points as I don't live there.

Postby Chimera » October 8th, 2014, 10:53 am

you have to get water tanks/pump

one big issue is there are no overhead lines so no flow or blink
you stuck with greendot and direct tv

people generally friendly

have a good bit of police living in there so it more or less safe
just make sure and put a camera system and pay some security company for patrol and yuh good

traffic wise.....you can exit roystonia and pass by the heliport and come out by freeport police station if you hitting the highway to head north or south (has a fair amount of traffic though)

or you can pass through perseverance/ waterloo area and come out all the way in chaguanas/munroe road to head north

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 8th, 2014, 11:45 am

RBphoto wrote:Things I would look for in any modern community is the presence of a play park, active community center, preschool and a community pool
where has this?

Postby tr1ad » October 8th, 2014, 11:45 am

me eh get invite to the house warming eh ABA

Postby wagonrunner » October 8th, 2014, 11:49 am

RBphoto wrote:Things I would look for in any modern community is the presence of a play park, active community center, preschool and a community pool
where has this?
i thought was me alone..............

Postby black start » October 8th, 2014, 11:53 am

Kids don't play in play parks again. Soon play parks gonna be a thing of the past...

snatman

Postby snatman » October 8th, 2014, 11:53 am

the man ent say nothing about migrating unno
RBphoto wrote:Things I would look for in any modern community is the presence of a play park, active community center, preschool and a community pool.

Postby Chimera » October 8th, 2014, 11:54 am

black start wrote:Kids don't play in play parks again. Soon play parks gonna be a thing of the past...

completely true

only thing play parks are used for these days are for the village pipers/crackheads to meet and trade

Postby Chimera » October 8th, 2014, 11:55 am

tr1ad wrote:me eh get invite to the house warming eh ABA

i did mail the invitation to your Essequibo address

fallen18

Postby fallen18 » October 8th, 2014, 12:13 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:you have to get water tanks/pump

just make sure and put a camera system and pay some security company for patrol and yuh good

traffic wise.....you can exit roystonia and pass by the heliport and come out by freeport police station if you hitting the highway to head north or south (has a fair amount of traffic though)

or you can pass through perseverance/ waterloo area and come out all the way in chaguanas/munroe road to head north

buh Ive had both, currently with flow, tv and internet. Agree with the water pump though. Overall its a very nice area, a car is recommended, otherwise you're in for some long walks, depending on where youre situated that is. Also shocked to hear about the traffic in the area, this is completely new to me and ive been in the area prob 15+ years.

Postby Chimera » October 8th, 2014, 12:18 pm

fallen18 wrote:

buh Ive had both, currently with flow, tv and internet. Agree with the water pump though. Overall its a very nice area, a car is recommended, otherwise you're in for some long walks, depending on where youre situated that is. Also shocked to hear about the traffic in the area, this is completely new to me and ive been in the area prob 15+ years.

the area i talking about is the new part , i guess phase 2? if the whole area is 2-3 years old that's plenty

there aren't any over head lines where i am

fallen18

Postby fallen18 » October 8th, 2014, 12:22 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
fallen18 wrote:

the area i talking about is the new part , i guess phase 2? if the whole area is 2-3 years old that's plenty

there aren't any over head lines where i am

Oh my bad, forgot about the new part they've been developing.

Postby RBphoto » October 8th, 2014, 12:28 pm

Many new communities from HDC are being planned with most of these things in mind. Serenity heights in Debe is such a community. Early childhood center is on Wellington road, near to a school. Gulf view community center is next to a playfield and has a great kiddies park. Farida Gardens has a pool.

Instead of asking "Where has this?" and rushing into any new community just because it looks like a new exclusive "pips" to live there or to rub shoulders with high society, Tenants of new developments need to demand that developers create not only the necessities of life, but the necessities of living and neucliating a community and not a tenement. We need spaces where Art, Culture, health, community and children can flourish.

Mr Midas

Postby Mr Midas » October 8th, 2014, 12:41 pm

the area is generally calm and quiet, ppl more or less keep to themselves. Crime in the area is very low, you only hear about a spike in the new areas where people are now moving in. I think by now the last of the phases should have street lights.

With regards to the traffic it is only heavy on the main road, Exchange road across to the heliport is usually traffic free.

Flooding, was only an issue the first year I moved in but drains have been cleared so that problem is solved more or less. No problems for water really, my tanks been sitting there full and unused for some months now.

No overhead lines as mentioned before in the newer phases so most ppl have greendot or DTV.

We recently started the Roystonia Youth FC for the kids in the area and we have a field that we sweat on located on Petunia Drive.

Churches, schools, groceries, banks, police station, fire station all located 5 mins away so no worries there.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 8th, 2014, 12:55 pm

fallen18 wrote:Also shocked to hear about the traffic in the area, this is completely new to me and ive been in the area prob 15+ years.
I think they mean traffic getting to the highway and in and out of Couva

Postby black start » October 8th, 2014, 1:07 pm

fallen18 wrote:Also shocked to hear about the traffic in the area, this is completely new to me and ive been in the area prob 15+ years.
I think they mean traffic getting to the highway and in and out of Couva

Once you get to learn most of the roads in the area, traffic becomes non problematic really...

venomz

Postby venomz » October 8th, 2014, 1:17 pm

flooding is my main issues that ppl talking about

Postby Team Loco » October 8th, 2014, 1:40 pm

Living there five yrs now. No flooding. Certain areas very light flooding but nothing to worry about

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » October 8th, 2014, 11:00 pm

For new developments, lines are run underground. I have friends with flow with the lines running underground.

Postby sMASH » October 9th, 2014, 12:20 am

So what about the pricing? How d land going?

Souljahz

Postby Souljahz » October 9th, 2014, 12:48 am

Floods
Is an issue where all the big main drains meet at the outskirts of roystonia. I have pics that show how bad it gets when I can't leave my house even though it on a incline water comes into my yard. An I get huge waves from passing company navara / hilux drivers.

Crime
Someone used to fish in open windows. They would stick their hand or rods through open windows. They got lucky a few times. They stole my neighbors laptop, my window was open an they got a ladies handbag. They even stole a gas tank I left outside in my garage. private Security van made extra patrols. I got a dog. Person gone he must be got bounce....or my dog ate him....fingers crossed.

Neighbors
Usually friendly they keep to themselves and peep you through their windows behind curtains and they try to out do each other who buying nicer cars or who throwing bigger parties with the most invited friends. Please note nobody invites their neighbor to said party.

My neighbor killed my dog.[DISAPPOINTED FACE]

Traffic
Bad when 4pm reach. Don't wanna go out Pt Lisas or Couva that hour. An the road up to the heliport is a good way to escape the area during those hours. Rest of the day traffic disappear.

One thing I notice is the developer never cater for natural feeling of nature. No trees just house after house after house. No parks. No play parks. No basketball... No nothing just acres of houses and street lights. As far as the eye can see.

There is a free government preschool.

rdeonarine

Postby rdeonarine » October 9th, 2014, 5:58 am

where has this?

Cocoyea

Postby RBphoto » October 9th, 2014, 6:14 am

rdeonarine wrote:
where has this?

Cocoyea

Hai :)