Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby troublemaker » September 30th, 2014, 8:18 am

Steups..i nt gettin time to fish :/

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » September 30th, 2014, 11:27 am

ryan99tt wrote:Plenty ppl told me dat around d shoreline in may are small cavali biting...

Rel plenty cavali biting down small boats side... Went there about 2 weeks ago and caught about 12... I was using squid for bait... But they are not that big though... The biggest i caught was about 1.5-2lbs..

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 30th, 2014, 5:12 pm

Cavali or Carangras?

Postby meccalli » September 30th, 2014, 6:40 pm

Both plentiful right now, the carangs now getting lil thick.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 30th, 2014, 6:59 pm

Yup...who went out patos recenty? How things out there? Oh, I went Sunday for half day...got one tarpon bout 120 and missed 3 kingfish up in d gulf...we took some noobs out and they cudnt really fish...

30hz

Postby 30hz » October 1st, 2014, 12:20 am

Patos last Wednesday, brought in over 100lbs mixed, nothing exceptional. Salmon, ancho, cro cro, shark, reds, saga boy, cutlass, etc

Water got rough after lunch.
Only larger boats could handle the chop. planned to troll for some monsters but the banking was good n constant.
you couldn't guess what was the next bite.

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » October 1st, 2014, 5:15 pm

Guys I've been watching alot of ppl fishing at different beaches and I'm wanting to get into the hobby...looking for some advice as to what rod to purchase, where to go to get some experience and what kinda bait to use.....any advice would be appreciated....

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » October 2nd, 2014, 3:32 pm

Jerry, it all depends on where you plan to fish, what you plan to fish for and budget. Those cheap Shakespeare rods and reels in typical stores wont last you long. Invest in a good reel, something like an okuma, Penn, fin-nor, diawa, shimmano and look for an ugly stick or similar ( or from the brands I listed ) for a rod. The type still depends on what your going for but I say a good spinning reel and 7 to 8 ft medium or medium heavy rod will work to start.

As for Bait, all inshore fish eat shrimp, I think we spotlit the local fish a bit with the shrimp but also for larger fish you want sardines and herring. I have had luck with soft plastic lures with fish scent ( shrimp or mullet ).

So you have your starter

proton17

Postby proton17 » October 7th, 2014, 7:18 am

Anybody fish dis weekend gone?

krazed

Postby krazed » October 7th, 2014, 9:26 am

wanted to but rain real discourage. . have some pics from a few weeks before but gettin trouble to upload.. a few 35-40 pound cavali yellow. ah 10 pound white cavali an 10 pound african pompano. . will try to upload later

krazed

Postby krazed » October 7th, 2014, 9:31 am

some 10 -25..
1412688499628.jpg

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 7th, 2014, 10:03 am

U say 25lbs...looks more like 15lbs max...this one was like 16lbs...

proton17

Postby proton17 » October 7th, 2014, 12:43 pm

Krazed, a la vive or wat?

krazed

Postby krazed » October 8th, 2014, 8:26 am

nice one there to ryantt.. havin trouble uploading rest of pics but trust me dey heavy.. that strip dey on is 2ft wide.. caught trollin spoon only.. I ketch my ass to pull one near 25.. ah padna pull one near 40.. I was in shock. . never new we had cavali dat big.. hand lining btw.. very very stiff lines.

Postby meccalli » October 8th, 2014, 4:16 pm

Yeah we have some massive jacks, years ago my father hooked into a monster, couldn't stop it on 80lb mono, some baitmen who were closeby ended up having to take the caster and chase the fish in open water but it eventually pulled. The guys said it was a cavalli, father thought it could've been a big tarpon possibly but it never showed nor jumped. Caught a 13lb one in tobago, can't imagine handling a 40lb cavalli nah lol.

Postby pugboy » October 8th, 2014, 6:47 pm

we used to catch 20-25lb ones in slipway woodbrook on whole live mullet
very steady hard pull until they tire

Postby meccalli » October 8th, 2014, 8:05 pm

My father knew a bajan guy in woodbrook when he was growing up who used to chop mullet in the night down hot and cold, you hardly see the amount of mullet that you did long ago. Its only when i was younger you saw those massive schools of jet black backs carpet the entire bay down chaguaramas.

Postby pugboy » October 8th, 2014, 8:15 pm

we used to fish off a wooden jetty next to pilots office.
the mullet feed off whatever soya or flour dust in the water coming off the conveyor belts which offload from the ships by nfm, dunno if that is still so.

it is impressive to see a massive school of mullet jumping out of the water
we could easily snag 10-20 mullet each.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 8th, 2014, 10:19 pm

Fishing was gd today...caught some nice salmon, plum head, racando, reds an got one nice king...

Nos thrills

Postby Nos thrills » October 8th, 2014, 10:26 pm

Midweak down fantasy island?

Postby meccalli » October 8th, 2014, 11:37 pm

Nice , smoker king lol.

Nos thrills

Postby Nos thrills » October 8th, 2014, 11:58 pm

men fishin everyday, they mussbe does dream octa puss

Postby joker » October 9th, 2014, 12:08 am

who defuck is u?

Postby 1UZFE » October 9th, 2014, 5:38 am

ryan99tt wrote:Fishing was gd today...caught some nice salmon, plum head, racando, reds an got one nice king...

Nice ryan..
How much it weighed? Abt 17 to 20lbs?

troublemaker

Postby troublemaker » October 9th, 2014, 6:19 am

Nice catch bro!

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » October 9th, 2014, 11:04 am

I hope all you guys let the small ones go, if you catch a small red or jack etc it's best to let it go. give the small fish a chance to grow up, spawn to make more fish before it's caught. This way we will have more larger fish to catch in the future and their numbers will not decline.

selfmade.customs

Postby selfmade.customs » October 9th, 2014, 11:48 am

Can someone take me fishing when dey going?

Postby meccalli » October 9th, 2014, 11:57 am

The same is probably more important on the other end of the spectrum as well. Baby fish don't make more baby fish. The larger the fish, the more eggs it produces as well exponentially. Majority of small fish you catch never make it naturally to see a spawn. Important to throw back our giants as well as small fry particularly with our slow reproducing species.
Most of our pelagics like kings/carite, bonito, dolphin, jacks as well as croakers and weakfish, even reds(lane snapper) can handle repeatedly large hauls to an extent due to their high growth rate and lifespans, small snappers like lanes in particular have a very short maturity span so they can spawn within a few months of birth. The problem can be seen in those species that take a hit like large sharks, groupers and certain snappers that bear the brunt of aggressive hauls and their population plummets. I think most of us here have probably noticed that trend over the years with regard to certain species frequency being caught or not throughout the different parts of the country.

proton17

Postby proton17 » October 9th, 2014, 12:04 pm

I not sure bout dis eh but I always hear dat is d bigger breeding fish are really d ones dat need to be released to continue spawning. Meccali u could clear dat up for me......

proton17

Postby proton17 » October 9th, 2014, 12:05 pm

Oh we'll u post before me.