GATE - Government Assistance for Tuition Expenses

Re: GATE - Government Assistance for Tuition Expenses

Postby The_Honourable » September 11th, 2014, 10:32 pm

chippy wrote: Just a warning to all GATE students:

If you received GATE funding and did not complete the program, you need to PAY DEM BACK!!

So wuz d problem? :|

Makes sense. It should be retroactive all the way back to its inception in 2006. If you don't want to pay back, i logging down your BIR number, watching your passport... and even your NIS.

Postby wagonrunner » September 11th, 2014, 11:16 pm

Soul Collector wrote:I did not leave the course half way through but as I did not get the cert, they consider it as being "uncompleted" which led me to having to pay in FULL my entire tuition etc at SBCS to pursue another program which was GATE funded.

when you say another program, different from the original?
so if you meet another lecturer "who victimise yuh", GATE hadda pay all yuh courses until yuh find one "that fair"?

some of allyuh really too center sorf yes.

Postby DVSTT » September 12th, 2014, 3:47 am

I can see why OP didn't complete the courses......

sbocus

Postby sbocus » September 12th, 2014, 4:05 am

[quote="uncle sam"]well is your fault OP you is a cacahole delinquent[/quote

rofl...

Postby pete » September 12th, 2014, 5:53 am

Doesn't uwi give out slips signed by the invigilator showing you attended mid term exams or just finals?

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » September 12th, 2014, 6:18 am

Soul Collector wrote:I did not leave the course half way through but as I did not get the cert, they consider it as being "uncompleted" which led me to having to pay in FULL my entire tuition etc at SBCS to pursue another program which was GATE funded.

when you say another program, different from the original?
so if you meet another lecturer "who victimise yuh", GATE hadda pay all yuh courses until yuh find one "that fair"?

some of allyuh really too center sorf yes.

Man where you gone with that? :|

My point was basically, I did complete the course and had an altercation with the lecturer. It was never resolved after going through the usual "chain of command" or what have you. I did not leave half way like alot of ppl did. I would pay the money back if I did that. What I'm saying is, my grade for his subject after the altercation was never entered upon further investigation. With that mid term mark, I would have just sailed across the pass mark as I did with the other courses, one including him as the lecturer too.

About the other GATE funded program, I simply said I funded that myself, without GATE help. I went and did my thing on my own. My problem lies with if they decide to come back to get money for the course at UWI. I went through the full duration of the course and just because they couldn't deal with their lecturer, I had to suffer? I had to go do over the course after? I have to pay money back because of him? Nah man. You could understand that?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 12th, 2014, 6:32 am

^ I had a similar problem with a lecturer in SAM, we didn't have a very good relationship.

What I did to fix that was kiss ass and I pass. I let her know that it was me who was wrong and that I needed her help not just to like me but to HELP me otherwise I would be doomed for life and I asked any assistance would be forever grateful. I think that worked out just fine and dandy, this advice was given to me by a friend who could not pass his computer engineering degree in UWI as there was a lecturer who did not like him he said. His solution was to kiss ass and it served him well, I say bess I try that.

Now I learn to hush my cyat and don't blame anyone else for my failure except myself. I get along just fine with them now in my new school. The secret to success is hard work and hard ass kissing, you need to let your lecturer know that he or she is the greatest thing since sliced bread.

Postby Kenjo » September 12th, 2014, 7:12 am

Is ass kissing necessary or mashing up their course so well that whatever subjective aspect they have to grade you on should that they can't hold you back?if you had to go to the principal and everything and all of your other course were so well done and this one course happens to be the exception then the higher ups would quicker give you the benefit of the doubt. If you bare scrapping past the 40% or whatever uwi pass mark is then that is why you are getting caught out OP

Postby desifemlove » September 12th, 2014, 7:16 am

what wrong wit GATE?

People fraid scrunters coming and tek dey jobs with dey degrees?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 12th, 2014, 7:23 am

^ ass kissing is not necessary at the initial stage, studying hard and mashing up the course will do you far more justice. However I made enemy with a lecturer and when you do that you in deep sheit. And the only way to get out of it was ass kissing. If you stay quiet and avoid contact with the general public which includes class mates then you should have no problem.

What the guy on this thread was saying is he failed because the UWI lecturer bobbalize him and thats why he lost gate.

So in a situation like that its best to do some ass kissing to make things right.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » September 12th, 2014, 7:26 am

Well boy EFFECTIC DESIGNS, it wasn't a case where I could have really kissed ass per say. The man walk up to some of us and just cuss we way stink stink. I was the only one apparently who had a problem with that. Doe ask me what it was for and about I can't remember as it was long ago but it definitely wasn't called for. After that, my grade went missing - course failed - the end.

To do it over with the same kant tho? Nah. Who knows, a friend gave me some advice just tonight about that situation ironically and told me I could still get it fixed. So I will follow up on his advice.

Postby desifemlove » September 12th, 2014, 7:32 am

chippy wrote:Well I dunno what to say again about GATE. *SMFH*
Just a warning to all GATE students:

If you received GATE funding and did not complete the program, you need to PAY DEM BACK!!

Just paid over $7000 in reimbursement fees!!

lolwut?

lolz....so my Income tax and NIS and ting does go towards you freaking up?

Postby 1UZFE » September 12th, 2014, 7:42 am

^^it take long for allyuh so to come on this ched.
GATE regulations must be enforced.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 12th, 2014, 7:43 am

Soul Collector wrote:Well boy EFFECTIC DESIGNS, it wasn't a case where I could have really kissed ass per say. The man walk up to some of us and just cuss we way stink stink. I was the only one apparently who had a problem with that. Doe ask me what it was for and about I can't remember as it was long ago but it definitely wasn't called for. After that, my grade went missing - course failed - the end.

To do it over with the same kant tho? Nah. Who knows, a friend gave me some advice just tonight about that situation ironically and told me I could still get it fixed. So I will follow up on his advice.

Well try to get if fixed.

And do what is necessary, if a lecturer cuss me up I go stay quiet lol. Here what I feel you should have done when he cuss up allyuh stink just say yes sir you are correct sir, we are retards sir.

But why he cuss up yuh class? what degree you was doing? allyuh was not understanding anything?
If he cuss yuh for not learning your work then I have to agree with the man eh sorry about that. Because it would mean there are UWI lecturers that care about hard headed chirren. He would be a real teacher if thats the case.

Postby Kenjo » September 12th, 2014, 8:06 am

Yes a lecturer won't just cuss you up unless it is school work was the problem . Something just isn't right with this entire story. I can't imagine having so much pride that I won't put my tail between my legs and do whatever I have to do versus let 3 yeArs of my life go down the drain without getting a certificate and worse yet having to owe money!

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » September 12th, 2014, 8:07 am

Man he just pass us in the hallway, and start to cuss we stink :| I can't remember what caused it for the life of me. That was the cert program in UWI SCS. CBMT na, like the N1 science guys. That was rel years ago and I just was like whatever with it, so long passed. But my very good and experienced friend said there may be a way to deal with it and if the opportunity presents itself after some digging, I will rectify it if I can.

But yeah the kissing ass things isn't limited to school, it's even worse in the workplace. I never kiss ass tho lol. I left a job recently because they have a problem with me not caught up in their slackness and I just take no part in it. Very unhealthy environment to be in so I got out. Everyone has their own way of dealing with stuff tho.

Postby desifemlove » September 12th, 2014, 8:31 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Soul Collector wrote:Well boy EFFECTIC DESIGNS, it wasn't a case where I could have really kissed ass per say. The man walk up to some of us and just cuss we way stink stink. I was the only one apparently who had a problem with that. Doe ask me what it was for and about I can't remember as it was long ago but it definitely wasn't called for. After that, my grade went missing - course failed - the end.

Well try to get if fixed.

And do what is necessary, if a lecturer cuss me up I go stay quiet lol. Here what I feel you should have done when he cuss up allyuh stink just say yes sir you are correct sir, we are retards sir.

But why he cuss up yuh class? what degree you was doing? allyuh was not understanding anything?
If he cuss yuh for not learning your work then I have to agree with the man eh sorry about that. Because it would mean there are UWI lecturers that care about hard headed chirren. He would be a real teacher if thats the case.

Eh? A good teacher can teach anybody. People learn differently....and he has to figure how dey does learn...

as most unis keep staff on who does get good class grades, then he's sheit and in de wrong.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » September 12th, 2014, 10:12 am

Soul Collector wrote:
silent_riot wrote:Those terms and conditions were on the GATE forms you signed.

Yup it was.

However you can say I am in the OP's shoes as well. I was victimized by a lecturer at that UWI SCS for CBMT. Went to the principal at the time with the complaints all the way to where my grades were being kept. There was no submission of my mid term exam marks when they checked. All they could say to me was "Well you will have to do it over".

Not with the same kant there. Also I started working so I had no time for full time school to repeat that moron's class when I passed everything else comfortably.

If they think they getting back money from me, they crazy. I am all for the recovery of fees that was wasted behind ungrateful people by not completing the courses. But I completed mine, just didn't do over his subject and did not get my certificate. I did not leave the course half way through but as I did not get the cert, they consider it as being "uncompleted" which led me to having to pay in FULL my entire tuition etc at SBCS to pursue another program which was GATE funded.

You should have done over the course. You let one course negate everything else you did. That makes no sense

Spirit R

Postby Spirit R » September 12th, 2014, 10:29 am

What is the process of repaying GATE ?

Postby TRAE » September 12th, 2014, 11:07 am

stuepz what kinda chupid guy is OP

Postby TRAE » September 12th, 2014, 11:07 am

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 12th, 2014, 11:09 am

TRAE wrote:stuepz what kinda chupid guy is OP

Postby dougla_boy » September 12th, 2014, 11:09 am

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 12th, 2014, 11:09 am

TRAE wrote:stuepz what kinda chupid guy is OP

neexis

Postby neexis » September 12th, 2014, 11:25 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
neexis wrote:Well he had that coming.

What I don't understand is GATE funding being pulled 2 years into a program with no reason given. Students left to pay outstanding debts left by GATE and then forced to withdraw from said program because they couldn't afford it under normal circumstances.

Not quite sure I understand.

Why would GATE pull funding 2 years into a program with no given reason?
By law you are allowed GATE as long as you hold true to your obligated contract and you FINISH what you started.

I do not think GATE pulls out of any program that you are doing that would be childish. Also would that also not go against their agreement?

I mean you are retaining your 2.0 GPA obligation and doing everything the correct way. Why would GATE pull funding? this would be illegal. It has a girl in my class currently who well she comes for a resit class for Maths. Anyways today she was telling me she lost gate funding when I inquired why, after much harassing and being a nuisance she gave up and admitted to me that her GPA was 1 just to get me to piss off.

I was satisfied I got the answer so atleast I know it wasn't pulled magically for no reason as she had made me originally believe.

I don't understand either. Student was 2 years into a medical degree at St George's when GATE says they not gonna fund SGU programs again. Student can't afford the payments and has to come home.
He gets accepted by UWI to do medicine there, but is first required to repay GATE for the 2 years at SGU before GATE will fund tuition at UWI.

Postby TRAE » September 12th, 2014, 11:54 am

he was late for all he classes since preschool

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » September 12th, 2014, 4:57 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:You should have done over the course. You let one course negate everything else you did. That makes no sense

Pal, can you read? :| I said I was working after and had no time to go to that full time class and also the fact that the same kant was there that administration just refuse to do anything about.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 12th, 2014, 5:57 pm

I have a question and I hope someone can answer it. A teacher from COSTAATT said there is no reason to get anything higher than a pass in a degree. He says a first class honors won't get you the Job over someone with a pass or lower second class. Now he is a fulltime COSTAATT teacher but he teaches at different school on some occasions. Today was the first time he mentioned that he teaches at COSTAATT.

Another very interesting thing is he said we should take less courses and put aside time for Carnival. He said carnival is essential for us and we should not study too much we need to get a life.

He is also somewhat anti UWI aswell. I need to know from you guys what you think about this, honestly this does not sound right to me at all. I taught a first class and upper second class honors show that a person studied very hard and took their education more serious than those with pass and those who had to repeat?

He says in the real world this does not matter and that experience means far more. Something just does not ring with him at all but I dunno nah. He could be right for all I know, however I am very anti carnival I think it degrades the human mind and lowers the decency of people. I mean I have never ever seen a scientist or a doctor doing the donkey wine on a vagrant covered in mud.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 12th, 2014, 6:05 pm

ED how old are you?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 12th, 2014, 6:15 pm

My age is irrelevant to the donkey wine.