Land/House Buying Advice

TheBoostLord

Land/House Buying Advice

Postby TheBoostLord » September 9th, 2014, 6:46 pm

2ners, Im looking to purchase my 1st house & looking for some opinions from those that have been there.

Looking at going through the TTMF 2% interest package which limits the total property value to $625,000. I would prefer to purchase land so I can have the house exactly the way i want it. My dad has a lot of experience in real estate & building and is helping me out, im 26.

In searching for land ive noticed that cheaper places tend to be mostly rural areas. Having grown up in the west/pos and travelling to big cities abroad I actually dont mind doing the opposite and living in a nice, quiet, somewhat sparsely populated area. I hate traffic with a passion so that rules out the major towns, if even anywhere is available at that price. Safety is also a concern so no hotspot areas.

What I want to ask is, how practical is it living somewhere remote, but comfortable vs living closer to major towns/convenience areas but going through traffic? As of now place of work is in San Juan, so i would need to make that commute daily. For those that did take the rural(ish) route, how did it impact your life wrt liming/going out, family & friends visiting (or lack of) and overall happiness?

Big decision for me now so i want to get it right, but my dad considers this my 'starter' home and the 1st of many.

Also if anyone can advise suitable areas that fit my needs, I would greatly appreciate it.
Thanks.

Re: Land/House Buying Advice

Postby brams112 » September 9th, 2014, 7:08 pm

Buy somewhere central and cool your piggy,the clauses you looking at,don't come with living in the rural areas without a lot of traveling.Plus as you said,better bet will be going around areas that have land for sale and scout out the environment,roads and so on.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 9th, 2014, 7:19 pm

i jus checked a 3 bedroom house in welcome yesterday $1.9 m on 1 & 3/4 lots , i must say very expensive my banker said a loan for this would be $15 877.99 per month for 25 years , these areas are about 10 mins from anything bank , kfc , price plaza etc . and i find central now to be a bit pricey.
Land however in central is a bit easy to find but 80 % of the lots have No T&C
i have a few agents checking houses for me if u wish to have the #'s inbox me

Postby RBphoto » September 10th, 2014, 3:51 pm

Anyone know a good surveyor please let me know.

subie_2NR

Postby subie_2NR » September 10th, 2014, 5:37 pm

RBphoto wrote:Anyone know a good surveyor please let me know.

Why don't you make your own post instead of spamming all the threads pertaining to house n land?

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » October 5th, 2014, 7:28 am

subie_2NR wrote:
RBphoto wrote:Anyone know a good surveyor please let me know.

Why don't you make your own post instead of spamming all the threads pertaining to house n land?

Get a napkin Homie....You've jus been served.

Postby pete » October 5th, 2014, 8:24 am

Living in las lomas.. Quiet, takes about 45 minutes to get to POS leaving home at 5:50 am, about an hour to get home in the afternoon.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » October 5th, 2014, 11:29 am

KiD wrote:Having grown up in the west/pos and travelling to big cities abroad I actually dont mind doing the opposite and living in a nice, quiet, somewhat sparsely populated area. I hate traffic with a passion so that rules out the major towns, if even anywhere is available at that price. Safety is also a concern so no hotspot areas.

...how practical is it living somewhere remote, but comfortable vs living closer to major towns/convenience areas but going through traffic? As of now place of work is in San Juan, so i would need to make that commute daily. For those that did take the rural(ish) route, how did it impact your life wrt liming/going out, family & friends visiting (or lack of) and overall happiness?
living closer to major towns/convenience areas but going through traffic... So if you live in remote area, how will you avoid even MORE traffic TWICE a day to-&-from work?

BTW the 'burbs (Diego Martin, Glencoe etc.) was RIDICULOUS with gridlock traffic... Easier now with highway extension.
Same holds true for any 'high demand' area. They get 1st dibs on highway development & better infrastructure.

'Working in San Juan' right now... look @ St. Augustine, Santa Margarita etc. (on the slopes)...
and thinking about a 'starter home'... BTW with a decent house starting @ $1 million up... plus the cost of the land; you'll be living there for at least 10 years before you can even think about upgrading. Especially if you add the extra expense of a wife and family to the brew.
So 'quieter' neighbourhood (with higher crime risk???) or more noise & bustle to get to a 'better' neighbourhood.
Your choice.

My Image

Postby The_Honourable » October 5th, 2014, 3:19 pm

OP as part of starting off right, even if you find good places (price-wise), find out if the area have a past of flooding or/and land slippage. Also consider air and noise pollution levels. It have people who does burn stuff and don't care if the smoke affects other houses nearby. In terms of noise, if the location is near a bar, large recreational grounds or high traffic area, you at risk of going crazy. If someone decides to hold a party till morning you would be cussing when you need to sleep.

Last thing, when you do find a place of interest, check to see if any lands nearby are earmarked by HDC for government housing. If that is the case, RUN. It sounds bad but we have to be real. You might be lucky because there are some government housing areas that don't give trouble but that is a minority. Once a set of bad eggs move in and figure you have too much nice things, dize it for you.

All the best in your search.