The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby stev » August 21st, 2014, 1:13 pm

oSaRi. wrote:I know that there is alot of customizations for android. If I don't get the update soon will have to root. Don't have experience with using custom roms but I can do some research into it.
One other thing don't know why my phone is only picking up edge.

Bmobile or Digicel?

If Digicel, you have to call them and ask them to refresh your account......was discussed several times b4

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » August 21st, 2014, 1:31 pm

oSaRi. wrote:I know that there is alot of customizations for android. If I don't get the update soon will have to root. Don't have experience with using custom roms but I can do some research into it.
One other thing don't know why my phone is only picking up edge.

Is your phone T-Mobile or Sprint...if its a foreign carrier branded or sold phone then is problems for that...make sure APN is set and selected and install ViperOne ROM and you will get 4.4.4

Postby stev » August 21st, 2014, 1:42 pm

i dont know much about the ViperOne ROM but i do know its very easy to convert the GSM M8 to a Google Play Edition (Stock Android) using the S-Off method or something like that.

i think you will automatically get OTA updates...if not, you will be able to side load them the same day they are released.

a lot of threads on XDA covering this as well as tutorials on youtube.

Same thing applies to the Moto G guys.....except I think there is a tool and the process is a bit different.

oSaRi.

Postby oSaRi. » August 21st, 2014, 1:53 pm

Thanks for the info will try converting soon just hope I don't brick the phone

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » August 21st, 2014, 2:12 pm

var wrote:Hey! Super new to the Android scene.. Was purely apple but that went downhill..

Bought the M8 yesterday, works like a gem but I'm not picking up on the custom things? Help? Any tricks of the M8 you guys can suggest?

IMO the M8 is a pretty complete phone right out of the box. Use it stock for a couple of weeks and see how that treats you.
As far as customizing goes, hit up youtube before your try xda (which is more advanced)
"tips and tricks for htc one m8" You'll be suprised how much good stuff is right there.

Postby stev » August 21st, 2014, 2:51 pm

anyone here using google opinion rewards?

i finally set up mine but no surveys are available. :(

Postby M_2NR » August 21st, 2014, 6:47 pm

^tried it before. Same thing on my end so i didn't bother.

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » August 21st, 2014, 9:29 pm

Quick question nexus 5 is it a good phone or not (iPhone user) so I'm lost

Postby stev » August 21st, 2014, 10:00 pm

tropi_flakes wrote:Quick question nexus 5 is it a good phone or not (iPhone user) so I'm lost

depends on what u look for in a phone.

Humes

Postby Humes » August 21st, 2014, 10:34 pm

kerwinishere wrote:
Humes wrote:
Humes wrote:Do any of you do minor software repairs on Android tablets? I have one that needs some help.

My wife got a "encryption was interrupted and can't complete as a result" message on her Asus Memo Pad 7 this evening. The button to do the factory reset on the message prompt did nothing, so I ended up booting it into recovery mode and factory resetting from there.

When I rebooted it after that, it got stuck in a reboot loop, showing the logo, then the second logo/slogan, then restarting. I can cold boot it from there, but I haven't been able to shut it down. It might just keep doing that all night until the battery runs out.

Any advice would be appreciated, and I'm also willing to bring it in for repairs.

Any help possible?

Check yuh pm

Replied!

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » August 21st, 2014, 10:43 pm

stev wrote:anyone here using google opinion rewards?

i finally set up mine but no surveys are available. :(

Tried this too.. Maybe it needs a US IP address to get surveys

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » August 22nd, 2014, 11:05 am

tropi_flakes wrote:Quick question nexus 5 is it a good phone or not (iPhone user) so I'm lost

The good:
-5" 1080p Screen. Especially coming from an iphone the screen size and crispness will feel pretty nice
-Pure Android, very fast and smooth software. Will get updates faster than any other phone
-Decent size
-If your up for some tinkering, this phone is probably the best phone on the market for custom roms etc
-Very reasonably priced compared to everything out there.

The not so good
-Screen feels a bit washed out coming from an iphone. its minor though and you will get used to it.
-Battery life could be better, but you can still grab a full day out of it - Just that there are other phones on the market that pull down 2+ days
-Camera could be better, but again, its decent enough

The bad
-Some of the nexus phones have certain audio issues - Low Earpiece volume or low mic volume

Excellent phone for the money But if your willing to put out a few more bux..
I recommend the LG G2 though. Same manufacturer, but with a bigger, better screen, yet almost the same size in hand, better camera, better audio. Epic Battery life
And you can custom rom it to be very close to the nexus software experience.

Postby RASC » August 22nd, 2014, 11:35 am

Allyuh like recommending old phone eh... :lol:
Within that price range you may be best off seeking some of the New stuff from Blu Hauwai and Xaomi.
I'm sure I butchered some of those names but you're getting KITKAT. Octa cores and HD screens and all the goodies for the same price as those 2 yr old.phones y'all talking about.

Postby teems1 » August 22nd, 2014, 12:03 pm

Buy a used S3 root it and put a custom ROM on.

CM11 is slightly unstable but works way better than the pos TouchWiz is.

For a couple hundred bucks you could get a phone which performs like a Nexus 4/5

Postby Trini Hookah » August 22nd, 2014, 12:23 pm

LG G2 ftw!!!

Postby stev » August 22nd, 2014, 12:32 pm

teems1 wrote:Buy a used S3 root it and put a custom ROM on.

For a couple hundred bucks you could get a phone which performs like a Nexus 4/5

coworker did that....performance was good but nowhere close to the nexus 4 IMO. performance degraded after a few weeks also, not sure why.

AdmissionBAned

Postby AdmissionBAned » August 22nd, 2014, 12:48 pm

RASC wrote:Allyuh like recommending old phone eh... :lol:
Within that price range you may be best off seeking some of the New stuff from Blu Hauwai and Xaomi.
I'm sure I butchered some of those names but you're getting KITKAT. Octa cores and HD screens and all the goodies for the same price as those 2 yr old.phones y'all talking about.

The nexus 5 and the LG G2 is better than the latest Blu because they have more support custom Rom wise a day manfauter wise

Postby pete » August 22nd, 2014, 2:17 pm

RASC do you have a Blu? Even though they might have HD screens, I've found the colours look washed out and viewing angles aren't that great.

AdmissionBAned

Postby AdmissionBAned » August 22nd, 2014, 2:19 pm

BLU usually use MTK Samsung nexus LG uses the Superior Snapdragon chips

Postby ismithx » August 22nd, 2014, 2:59 pm

^^^ that. that is why they may have longer battery life and cheaper price, but at the price of processing power. trust me, having a responsive phone is worth it. personally, I won't buy a device unless it has a snapdragon chip.

Postby Trini Hookah » August 22nd, 2014, 3:06 pm

Meh 4G on this G2 gone since i installed G3 rom though.

Postby ismithx » August 22nd, 2014, 3:13 pm

did you install the correct baseband?

Postby Trini Hookah » August 22nd, 2014, 3:22 pm

Yessir the kk bb

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » August 22nd, 2014, 4:39 pm

Anyone data giving trouble today?

Postby RASC » August 22nd, 2014, 6:51 pm

The beast is on its way... Cue the TouchWiz hate :lol:

Postby M_2NR » August 22nd, 2014, 7:01 pm

Man... When i get some time I am definitely flashing a custom rom on this touchwiz note2014. I had some random issue where the audio quality would just drop and it would sound like 32kbps mp3 audio until i rebooted. All of a sudden.. it works now :| but I can never escape the random lags though. meh. Bloatware FTL.

wrt. Nexus 5, agreed with rod. Camera is actually not bad when in HDR+ mode though. But the battery life is horrendous. not as bad as my HTC One X but comparable to the use on a 4S.

speedist

Postby speedist » August 22nd, 2014, 7:50 pm

RASC wrote:

The beast is on its way... Cue the TouchWiz hate :lol:

Awaits the chest combustion for the N4. Still think the note 3 better than the s5.

Postby Trini Hookah » August 22nd, 2014, 8:25 pm

Not bad Sammy, i still eh selling mih firstborn for a piece of plastic doe.

Postby teems1 » August 22nd, 2014, 8:58 pm

stev wrote:
teems1 wrote:Buy a used S3 root it and put a custom ROM on.

coworker did that....performance was good but nowhere close to the nexus 4 IMO. performance degraded after a few weeks also, not sure why.

Have you coworker download and run this app a few times

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=jp.nomunomu.dummy

It creates a dummy file which uses up all the memory/hard disk, then the file is deleted, and the phone moves much more quickly.

Postby Trini Hookah » August 23rd, 2014, 10:44 pm

Moto E vs. BLU Studio C Mini - Dogfight: http://youtu.be/C2rxv9V5uu0