The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

shottah_crew

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby shottah_crew » August 9th, 2014, 1:21 pm

Any Samsung Galaxy Tab users? Used the Tab Pro and the Tab S and have to say I was more impressed with the overall performance of the Tab Pro, while the Tab S just has a better screen despite having more Ram and a supposedly "better" CPU (based on regular daily use ie browsing, documents and some non graphic intensive games like candy crush)

Any thoughts, or is it just me?

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » August 9th, 2014, 2:11 pm

Have a tab 4 7inch...screen is great, battery life is great and it doesn't require digging deep in your pocket to afford. And I agree the Tab Pro is the better choice

Postby S_2NR » August 9th, 2014, 2:15 pm

M_2NR wrote:Dat klick thing for the price is awesome! Is there any wakelock?

Also. What ROM are you using? It working nice! I like that swipe up to go back setting also. What's that tweak?

A little OT here..
Really good video BTW. I like where you are heading in terms of production. The only thing is... Yuh speaking wayyyyyy too fast buddy. Speak a lil bit slower. :P

Yea. Had a hard time understanding at some points

Postby M_2NR » August 9th, 2014, 2:17 pm

devon4786 wrote:
M_2NR wrote:Dat klick thing for the price is awesome! Is there any wakelock?

Also. What ROM are you using? It working nice! I like that swipe up to go back setting also. What's that tweak?

A little OT here..
Really good video BTW. I like where you are heading in terms of production. The only thing is... Yuh speaking wayyyyyy too fast buddy. Speak a lil bit slower. :P

Thanks a lot man. I work really hard on those videos so its good to know someone likes them. I currently use Mahdi ROM on the Nexus. For the gestures I'm just using immersive mode to remove the on screen buttons and an app called "all in one gestures" from the app store.

And yeah I have to work a lot on how I talk in the videos. Both the speed and how I pronounce my words. I really want to produce good quality videos esp as I'm representing Trinidad. BTW all my videos were shot with smart phones lol. HTC One M7/iPhone 5S.

Awesome thanks. What about any wakelocks? Anything at all? Because that is attached for an extended period it bound to have some effect?

Postby stev » August 11th, 2014, 11:58 am

so i flashed android L on my N5 on Saturday and thought about keeping it for a week.....but I will be going back to kitkat this evening. :lol:

its too buggy at the moment......kinda getting annoying.

a lot of dropped frames, unresponsive apps, and the dialer lags a bit when accessing info tru the 'people' app.

battery life was much better :shock: was able to get approx. 28 hours with approx 2.5 hours SOT....(charged to 100% b4 installing / syncing all my apps)

material design is very nice though.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 11th, 2014, 3:11 pm

Leaked photos suggest Samsung's Galaxy Note 4 mixes fake leather with real metal

Samsung's Galaxy Note 4 is likely to arrive within a month, but apparently that's not soon enough to avoid an early leak. GSM Arena has posted photos of what's believed to be Samsung's next gigantic, phablet-style smartphone. The images reveal a redesigned back cover that stays true to the Note 3's faux leather while thankfully losing the tacky fake stitching. The Galaxy S5's heart rate sensor is also carried over here and positioned next to the camera. But the most interesting thing in these shots is the Note 4's outside frame, which looks like it may actually be metal this time. And yes, it's got chamfered edges.

We expect to see the Note 4 debut on September 3rd, and Apple's next iPhones may follow just days later on September 9th.

The Verge

speedist

Postby speedist » August 11th, 2014, 9:19 pm

Looks hawt. Damn thing looks the size of a tablet tho. :|

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » August 11th, 2014, 9:45 pm

Well its a note so that's expected lol

Postby stev » August 11th, 2014, 9:48 pm

thay all look huge until u hold it in ur hand...

Postby Ted_v2 » August 11th, 2014, 9:55 pm

Perfect size imo

Postby M_2NR » August 12th, 2014, 8:09 am

stev wrote:thay all look huge until u hold it in ur hand...

___

Anyone got the new play store update? Has the new design. I now notice it

Postby S_2NR » August 12th, 2014, 8:16 am

Got that two weeks ago

Postby ismithx » August 12th, 2014, 9:28 am

loving it. just got an xperia m2, now this is a real phone 8-)

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » August 12th, 2014, 11:47 am

Why OnePlus is not making any profit off the One
http://blog.gsmarena.com/oneplus-making ... -carl-pei/

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » August 13th, 2014, 10:04 am

People eatup that OnePlus propaganda real nice.

That whole concept is a so-called 'solution' for a problem which does not exist.

I'll stick with products from more established companies that have way more after-market accessory and XDA support, thank you very much.

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » August 13th, 2014, 10:16 am

And what is the problem that does not exist? Because I used a OnePlus One and let me tell you its a beast of a device.... Even the Oppo Find 7 is a great phone

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » August 13th, 2014, 10:34 am

The fact that you asked that question kinda illustrates my point. Kinda.

What exactly does the One+ ONE do differently that devices up and down the specification spectrum from other more established manufacturers don't?

(Don't get me wrong, I won't deny that it's a 'beast' of a phone)

Is its allure only based on price?

What other compelling reason would make me want to wait to try and get an invite to be able to buy one?

Ironically, the upcoming Nexus will trump the ONE in specs and more importantly... availability.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » August 13th, 2014, 11:30 am

The allure based on price is all BS.
The phone can't be readily bought by anyone who wants one - that to me negates the cheaper price tag.

Its a beast of a phone, but what current flagship isnt?
The only true selling point to me is that its a Cyanogenmod Flagship.

I dont know about the Nexus trumping anyone in specs though.
Yeah, sure its going to have a great processing package, high res screen etc.
But if nexus(s) of old are any indicator, its also going to have
sub-par battery life
a slightly not-as-good screen
no expandable storage
build quality issues (mic and speaker issues)
a questionable camera

Ive owned 3 nexus phones in the past
Samsung Galaxy nexus, Nexus 4 & 5. None of them were without some issue. All of them couldnt get me through a full day of heavyish use.

I'm putting my faith in motorola this time around. After the X & G, Its clear that they know what people want in a daily driver.

Postby stev » August 13th, 2014, 11:41 am

just a rumor i think:

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » August 13th, 2014, 12:56 pm

Ah yes, it was that 'shamu' self I was referring to.

Specs already look killer to me.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » August 13th, 2014, 1:08 pm

Anyone used a Moto E?
I ordered one based on good reviews, and no need a high performance phone...just reliability and android.

Postby pete » August 13th, 2014, 1:17 pm

All the reviews I saw said to put the extra 40/60 and get a g

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » August 13th, 2014, 1:27 pm

Ok, I didn't come across those, but the G didn't have an SD card slot.
The only thing I don't like about the E is the non-removable battery, but it's a rather inexpensive phone, so I don't mind.
I'll let you guys know how it turns out. I should have it in hand by next week.

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » August 13th, 2014, 1:43 pm

Yea my padna bother in law bought one and he said it been decent for a cheap android... He's very satisfied with it and he was a flag ship man

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » August 13th, 2014, 2:47 pm

Cool man, tks.

Postby Trini Hookah » August 13th, 2014, 2:55 pm

sonygoup wrote:Yea my padna bother in law bought one and he said it been decent for a cheap android... He's very satisfied with it and he was a flag ship man

The Android guru has spoken.

Postby ismithx » August 13th, 2014, 3:14 pm

yeah but no front-facing cam, it's only dual core, if you get the moto 4g it has all those things plus sd card slot

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » August 13th, 2014, 3:43 pm

Nah, I don't need all that. Spec-wise, the E on paper is more than enough for me, but I'll see how it actually performs.

Postby S_2NR » August 13th, 2014, 4:36 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
sonygoup wrote:Yea my padna bother in law bought one and he said it been decent for a cheap android... He's very satisfied with it and he was a flag ship man

The Android guru has spoken.

Hahahha.
I personally find the moto e ugly

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 14th, 2014, 1:02 am

guess no one interested by the Galaxy Alpha :lol: