WTK: Chicken farms

786 Accounting

WTK: Chicken farms

Postby 786 Accounting » January 6th, 2010, 9:05 am

yo tuners i was thinking abt building a chicken farm and i was wondering if u guys will know if any business or person will be interested in buying chickens in huge amts , i am just wondering if a chicken farm will be a profitable venture any ideas ?

Postby SR » January 6th, 2010, 9:06 am

contact arawak and become a registered supplier

Postby buzz » January 6th, 2010, 9:07 am

alot of money in that man

Oleander

Postby Oleander » January 6th, 2010, 9:33 am

Do it right
Make sure your location good and not gonna bother anyone cuz those things can kick up a stink and health will shut you down.

You could make lots of $$
the egg business makes big $$ too

rxforever

Postby rxforever » January 6th, 2010, 11:33 am

how do u keep down the smell....have land that is agricultural, but...ather agri land around have become more or less residential now...people real build on theirs

Quicksilver

Re: WTK: Chicken farms

Postby Quicksilver » January 6th, 2010, 11:54 am

ranger wrote:if any business or person will be interested in buying chickens in huge amts , i am just wondering if a chicken farm will be a profitable venture any ideas ?

Yes Poultry farming can be a profitable venture.... its not a very stable industry, but with a little 'knowhow' and dedication its worthwile....

But keep in mind that attempting to do it privately is risky business..
Contract farming is your safest bet.. Different companies offer different contracts, the ones that offer a higher 'possible' profit also have a higher risk factor...

SR wrote:contact arawak and become a registered supplier

:? care to elaborate ?

Postby pugboy » January 6th, 2010, 2:19 pm

just be aware that the bigboys who run the feedmill(your supplier) also in the chicken business also and often drop their chicken price when they feel like it
which you may have to take as a loss at that time of market

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » January 6th, 2010, 2:22 pm

buzz wrote:alot of money in that man

ask Arawak for the stats on the amount of chicken KFC nationwide alone needs....

and its common knowledge that a lot of chicken is imported as local supply is not enough

Quicksilver

Postby Quicksilver » January 6th, 2010, 3:14 pm

pugboy wrote:just be aware that the bigboys who run the feedmill(your supplier) also in the chicken business also and often drop their chicken price when they feel like it
which you may have to take as a loss at that time of market

very true... therefore attempting to produce and market birds privately is risky, they can cripple your business overnight....

If you cant beat them, you could join them though... like I mentioned earlier, by means of growing for them on a contract basis..

d spike

Postby d spike » January 6th, 2010, 3:37 pm

rxforever wrote:how do u keep down the smell....have land that is agricultural, but...ather agri land around have become more or less residential now...people real build on theirs

The deep litter system... once you have enough litter (6 to 8 inches minimum) all the moisture is absorbed from the stools and spillage. Without water, bacteria won't multiply in the floor layer - hence no smell. (Jus' wet de floor, nah... an' yuh neighbours will want your head on a stick by the next day...)

d spike

Postby d spike » January 6th, 2010, 3:46 pm

Best advice... safest route.

Just remember, Arawak awards contracts mainly on the farmer's record, so a farmer with a good record of efficiency and low mortality rate will faster get larger contracts than a newbie (unless you know someone...), so start at a level that you know you can cope with.

There is a market for fresh eggs, so the layer business is an option. What slits the throats of the poultry farmers in TnT is the cost of feed.

How about rabbits? (Deja vu? Wasn't there a thread along these lines before?) Rabbits eat plant matter (grass, nah) and there is a market for rabbit meat.

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » January 6th, 2010, 4:01 pm

The rough biz description I can give:
Each company is vertically integrated, arawak/supermix, nutrina, and fine choice, own their own feed mills, hatcheries, farms, processing plants, then marketing and distribution. The contract farmer would be the horizontal expansion of the farming/ housing and the dirty work. Being awarded the contract you will be supplied chicks and feed, free, and some periodic visits by workers who will give advice and monitor conditions death rates, medications and vitamins, etc. After 6-8 weeks they will come to collect the birds, weigh and count them and tell you what theyre going to pay you, id heard figures like $1.50 under 5lbs live weight, $2.00 if its over that, per bird, but the price of everything is in constant fluctuation, a dispute usually takes place here over the accuracy of these figures.
I believe then the pen should be left empty and 'quarantined' for the following 6 weeks before you would get the next load of chicks in, this stretches the batch time to 12-14 weeks.
So in this particular type of arrangement your cost is the pen startup and maintenance labour, I don't see it being worthwhile if you're not doing over 10,000 birds per batch.
The birds having been collected, are then taken to the processing plants to be sold to wholesale, resturants, supermarkets etc (nutrina does kfc), or they would be taken live directly to the independent pluck shops, which is the other option for entering that market.

Quicksilver

Postby Quicksilver » January 6th, 2010, 10:43 pm

^^^ that would pretty much sum it up, except....

and tell you what theyre going to pay you, id heard figures like $1.50 under 5lbs live weight, $2.00 if its over that, per bird

I guess this will vary depending on your contract.... with Nutrimix for example its called a 'buy back' agreement..

basically you are provided with baby chicks, feed and medication on what you can consider a credit basis... you provide the housing and labour..

after the 6-8 weeks Nutrimix buys back the the birds from you at a predetermined price per pound (presently $5.15 per lb)... this price is paid no matter what price the meat is being sold for on the open market.

The cost of the baby chicks, feed and medication is then deducted and the balance is paid to the farmer...

With this type of contract, there is potential to earn alot more... but you also run the risk of incurring losses if you do not return enough lbs of live broilers to pay for the raw materials (baby chicks, feed and med)

I believe then the pen should be left empty and 'quarantined' for the following 6 weeks before you would get the next load of chicks in, this stretches the batch time to 12-14 weeks.

I dont know if 6 weeks is probably the textbook timeframe, but the average is somewhere around 3 weeks (with Nutrimix atleast), and depending on market conditions Ive seen it happen in as little as 1 week...

d spike wrote:

Is there such a thing as a registered supplier, and if so how does it work?
Or is he talking about Contract Farming?

d spike

Postby d spike » January 7th, 2010, 12:39 pm

Quicksilver wrote:^^^ that would pretty much sum it up, except....

and tell you what theyre going to pay you, id heard figures like $1.50 under 5lbs live weight, $2.00 if its over that, per bird

I guess this will vary depending on your contract.... with Nutrimix for example its called a 'buy back' agreement..

basically you are provided with baby chicks, feed and medication on what you can consider a credit basis... you provide the housing and labour..

after the 6-8 weeks Nutrimix buys back the the birds from you at a predetermined price per pound (presently $5.15 per lb)... this price is paid no matter what price the meat is being sold for on the open market.

The cost of the baby chicks, feed and medication is then deducted and the balance is paid to the farmer...

With this type of contract, there is potential to earn alot more... but you also run the risk of incurring losses if you do not return enough lbs of live broilers to pay for the raw materials (baby chicks, feed and med)

I dont know if 6 weeks is probably the textbook timeframe, but the average is somewhere around 3 weeks (with Nutrimix atleast), and depending on market conditions Ive seen it happen in as little as 1 week...

d spike wrote:

Is there such a thing as a registered supplier, and if so how does it work?
Or is he talking about Contract Farming?

You're right, he means contract farming. (Must be a modern euphemism used by people who abhor common labour. :lol: )

Quicksilver

Postby Quicksilver » January 7th, 2010, 2:23 pm

^^^ :lol: gots to get mihself one of them euphemism things then..

diamondtip01

Postby diamondtip01 » July 19th, 2014, 10:37 am

Does anyone know an estimate cost of building a chicken pen ?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 19th, 2014, 10:41 am

diamondtip01 wrote:Does anyone know an estimate cost of building a chicken pen ?

How many chickens do you want to rear in the pen? The last time I worked up a price for a chicken pen it cost about $261/square metre for a pen with a 2.5 metre high roof.

love mazda

Postby love mazda » November 30th, 2016, 7:32 am

Hey anyone have any information about this I want to get into this buisness as well. Any info would be great thank you.

PercyJ

Postby PercyJ » March 6th, 2017, 12:24 am

What size land is good for chicken farming and or eggs?

Postby matr1x » March 6th, 2017, 2:20 am

Depending on where you setup, it can be legal troubles.

Re: RE: Re: WTK: Chicken farms

Postby *KRONIK* » March 6th, 2017, 5:25 am

PercyJ wrote:What size land is good for chicken farming and or eggs?

Basically, 1.3sqft per chicken is a good area. You need to decide what type of farming and how many heads you want to raise.

PercyJ

Postby PercyJ » March 6th, 2017, 12:30 pm

Is contract farming the way to go or is there a market outside of that?

Postby *KRONIK* » March 6th, 2017, 2:58 pm

Contract for security

Private for more profitability

fireaz

Postby fireaz » February 3rd, 2020, 9:56 am

question is there government programs that funds this project. meaning if you have land and want to get into the chicken farming business are there programs where the government supplies u with the chicken and the feed and you take care of it where as you'd be collecting a percentage on the live stock

fireaz

Postby fireaz » February 3rd, 2020, 9:57 am

if so does anyone know the proceedure

Postby sMASH » February 3rd, 2020, 10:23 am

786 Accounting wrote:yo tuners i was thinking abt building a chicken farm and i was wondering if u guys will know if any business or person will be interested in buying chickens in huge amts , i am just wondering if a chicken farm will be a profitable venture any ideas ?

it is a lot of continuous work. u would need to be there every day to ensure no disease sets in, which means vaccines, medication, removal of the infected chickens. when it gets big enough, u can get workers that skilled enough to handle it, so u would not have to be there urself every day.

my suggestion, get a job on one and learn it from the bottom up, and see what works and what not.

its a good business, but for the initial time, it will have to be ur only business until u settle ur self.

Postby sMASH » February 3rd, 2020, 10:32 am

fireaz wrote:question is there government programs that funds this project. meaning if you have land and want to get into the chicken farming business are there programs where the government supplies u with the chicken and the feed and you take care of it where as you'd be collecting a percentage on the live stock

https://www.facebook.com/extensiontrain ... sdivision/

check out this ministry, they do classes for all kinda agri ting. the courses are free, the lecuturers are very knowledgeable, and some of the courses u get there, other people charge thousands, and dont give u all or even correct information.