The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

sonygoup

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby sonygoup » June 28th, 2014, 11:37 pm

Lol was the only good looking case for it other than d bumber imo...whining over a case -_-
Pita! Yes on point!

Postby S_2NR » June 29th, 2014, 12:44 am

stev wrote:not sure if true...

edit: photo / comment is misleading....some of the top devs over at XDA confirmed that it isnt malicious.

Link to xda where u saw that?

Postby stev » June 29th, 2014, 1:10 am

S_2NR wrote:
stev wrote:not sure if true...

edit: photo / comment is misleading....some of the top devs over at XDA confirmed that it isnt malicious.

Link to xda where u saw that?

discussion in the Google Plus Nexus Community:

https://plus.google.com/u/0/communities ... 2695582976

(Source of picture)

Thread on XDA:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=2796129

seriously cant remember what page it was mentioned.....i will edit when I do.

Postby M_2NR » June 29th, 2014, 3:23 pm

Same thing I mentioned earlier. Could be true or not. Just be wary.

BTW guys. Location reporting/history is so epic. It tracks where u parked your car even. D hell Dan. I eh mind d battery drain too much now. Google is really skynet yes

Postby ismithx » June 29th, 2014, 4:10 pm

well i very much mind the battery drain tho

Postby M_2NR » June 29th, 2014, 9:05 pm

ismithx wrote:well i very much mind the battery drain tho

i will see how it goes tomorrow when i use more H+ than WiFi. So far today I got 3hrs+ SOT and still have 38% remaining with some H+ usage. I usually get ~3.5-4hrs SOT with my use without those location features on but on a custom ROM. I only recently flashed stock 4.4.4 + using a few xposed modules. Difference with stock vs custom is light and day though.

Postby stev » June 30th, 2014, 12:47 am

hmmm...never really paid much attention to the location reporting and history....gonna try it out from 2mrw.

what u using for GPS? High accuracy or battery saving?

or by the way.....

I noticed yesterday that "Android System" and "Android OS" were draining my battery like crazy all of a sudden....

turns out the fix was just to wipe the cache partition.

Postby S_2NR » June 30th, 2014, 3:00 am

where you guys bought your nexus 5? ordered it from google play or amazon?

considering getting one but prices here are outrageous $3500 - $4000 for a 16gb.
I wonder what happens to phones when they come to our shores that magically makes them go up so much in value.

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » June 30th, 2014, 5:36 am

Google play

WM_Tuner

Postby WM_Tuner » June 30th, 2014, 7:30 am

S_2NR wrote:where you guys bought your nexus 5? ordered it from google play or amazon?

considering getting one but prices here are outrageous $3500 - $4000 for a 16gb.
I wonder what happens to phones when they come to our shores that magically makes them go up so much in value.

Tax plus markup ...plus people buying it at the high prices...

Postby pete » June 30th, 2014, 7:49 am

On Amazon they're 400US and you'd probably get charged sales tax on top of that so $428, then when it gets here Customs duty is 20%, up to $513.60 VAT 15% -> $591US

That alone is 3780 and shipping might be another 50 or so. 4000 is not unreasonable.

Postby Trini Hookah » June 30th, 2014, 8:16 am

Y'all know you don't really get charge $500+ for phones right? ~$200 for the MOST, if you ever get charged more...well...

Postby pete » June 30th, 2014, 8:30 am

So skybox companies don't pay the appropriate duties and taxes?

Postby Trini Hookah » June 30th, 2014, 8:37 am

Clearly not

Postby pete » June 30th, 2014, 8:55 am

Hmm, should've just brought the phone in that way rather than wait for my mom to bring it back for me after she uses it in the US then. :lol:

Less risk this way tho.

Postby S_2NR » June 30th, 2014, 9:37 am

pete wrote:On Amazon they're 400US and you'd probably get charged sales tax on top of that so $428, then when it gets here Customs duty is 20%, up to $513.60 VAT 15% -> $591US

That alone is 3780 and shipping might be another 50 or so. 4000 is not unreasonable.

if bringing it in YOURSELF is comparable to a BUSINESS, something is terribly wrong. if I, an average consumer could bring in my phone myself and save almost $200, thats madness.
business people dont go on amazon and buy phones, they buy wholesale from a supplier which brings down price. some businesses here have links in customs to get their cargo in tax free which further brings down price.
and yeah as hookah said, u dont get taxed as in the estimate. thats a ceiling figure.

greed is a hell of a thing.

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » June 30th, 2014, 10:25 am

Paid around TTD$3200 for a bright red 16gb model brand new from the play store...so $4000 is robbery

bess almera

Postby bess almera » June 30th, 2014, 1:41 pm

Upgraded the software on my S3 (SGH-I747M) however, upon rebooting, the digitizer isnt responding to touch.
I did a factory reset via recovery mode however the problem still persists.
Any ideas how to remedy this?

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » June 30th, 2014, 1:59 pm

kerwinishere wrote:Paid around TTD$3200 for a bright red 16gb model brand new from the play store...so $4000 is robbery

Really? So I guess the salesmen doing a favor by selling these phones? They about that profit. So if you pay $3200 for personal use, I could see a lil $500 markup being reasonable, but I certainly wouldn't call $800 robbery.

Postby nervewrecker » June 30th, 2014, 4:04 pm

How do you guys buy from the Play Store?

Contemplating upgrading.

Postby Trini Hookah » June 30th, 2014, 4:16 pm

nervewrecker wrote:How do you guys buy from the Play Store?

Contemplating upgrading.

Ask tanty from New Yark

Postby nervewrecker » June 30th, 2014, 4:19 pm

steups hookah :lol:

Postby M_2NR » June 30th, 2014, 4:37 pm

stev wrote:hmmm...never really paid much attention to the location reporting and history....gonna try it out from 2mrw.

what u using for GPS? High accuracy or battery saving?

or by the way.....

I noticed yesterday that "Android System" and "Android OS" were draining my battery like crazy all of a sudden....

turns out the fix was just to wipe the cache partition.

High accuracy iymc. I ended up plugging in for a bit. I noticed my car charger isn't as efficient as my home charger as well. I lose battery a lot faster. My battery life is comparable to PA custom rom. I miss the little features but I am happy with my stockish performance. I using gravitybox for mods. I don't have notifications on though.
S_2NR wrote:where you guys bought your nexus 5? ordered it from google play or amazon?

Google play. Friend ordered it for me.

You'd be surprised hooks. Sometimes it works out nicely and other times. Well.

Postby Trini Hookah » June 30th, 2014, 4:59 pm

nervewrecker wrote:steups hookah :lol:

Nah bro seriously, have friend or family order it on their card/PayPal and have someone returning bring it.

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » June 30th, 2014, 5:08 pm

Jus be careful that ur friend doesn't hold it hostage...

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Postby stev » June 30th, 2014, 6:00 pm

anyone running Google Play Services 5.0 yet?

i still didnt get updated -_-

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » June 30th, 2014, 6:15 pm

I'm not

Postby stev » June 30th, 2014, 6:23 pm

^^^not the Google Play app....Google Play Services itself

wtf? literally 5 mins after i made that post I got the update :lol:

the rest of apps not updated though...like Google Search.....with the "Ok Google" available on any screen including when the phone is sleeping and plugged in (I think)

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » June 30th, 2014, 6:38 pm

nervewrecker wrote:How do you guys buy from the Play Store?

Contemplating upgrading.

Mask your IP address or change it. Worked perfect for me

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » June 30th, 2014, 6:40 pm

bess almera wrote:Upgraded the software on my S3 (SGH-I747M) however, upon rebooting, the digitizer isnt responding to touch.
I did a factory reset via recovery mode however the problem still persists.
Any ideas how to remedy this?

Try a clean flash. If not try a different ROM or kernel. Visit XDA forums for further help