what de fuss wit dis parliamentarian pension?

Postby desifemlove » June 26th, 2014, 12:53 pm

Ok, so Kamla, Suruj, Dr. Gopes, Dr. Khan, Dr. Glenn, Sharma, Dr. KRowley, Anand, Imbert, Manning, McDonald, Hospedales, Deyalsingh, Warner, Baldeo-Chadeesingh, Dr. Tewari, etc. want increase...

If you in dey place, you wouldn't vote for extra money? if not, you need sectioning? :lol:

Being an MP/Senator is tough, ah had a relative who was once one....and it 24/7 job especially wit chirren and family and ting....

I does tink it jus envy....

Re: what de fuss wit dis parliamentarian pension?

Postby teems1 » June 26th, 2014, 1:02 pm

Their pension should be directly proportional to their performance as Minister.

Hell, every job be it public/private should pay by performance.

Postby Redman » June 26th, 2014, 1:23 pm

desifemlove wrote:Ok, so Kamla, Suruj, Dr. Gopes, Dr. Khan, Dr. Glenn, Sharma, Dr. KRowley, Anand, Imbert, Manning, McDonald, Hospedales, Deyalsingh, Warner, Baldeo-Chadeesingh, Dr. Tewari, etc. want increase...

If you in dey place, you wouldn't vote for extra money? if not, you need sectioning? :lol:

Being an MP/Senator is tough, ah had a relative who was once one....and it 24/7 job especially wit chirren and family and ting....

Well besides the facts
- that the politicians are not delivering on their commitments made on campaign trails
-that most have not complied with disclosure to Integrity commissions
-that as managers they oversee a heap of mis management
-that govt has denied workers increases by rule of thumb
-that the public sector that they oversee is in shambles
-that all abuse the perqs that come with their offices-see tax free vehicle purchases for those that use state vehicle fleets

I would agree with you
Except for the fact that the recommendations are impossibly grandiose and will set a precedent for ALL workers to demand the same.

I would agree with you except for the fact that if we measure the Govt like a business -we have spent more per capita and not seen value for money.
Which is to say that in a normal world-like yours and mine they would not make it past probationary periods.

Modern biz says get smaller,more efficient and leverage technology-GORTT has gotten bigger,spent more and is technologically obsolete.

All of us work hard-NON OF US HAVE EVER RECEIVED A 50% INCREASE AND A TRIPLE OF OUR PENSION AMOUNT.

In fact Petrotrin has cut my old mans (and many others)pension benefits with out a refund of the payments he made towards the benefits he lost.

Postby toyolink » June 26th, 2014, 1:29 pm

The fuss maybe as a result of the following;
-Yes increased financial packages are required,but is the quantum equitable.This must be viewed against the realities faced by the general electorate and the wider community.
-The increased emoluments are being bestored by themselves upon themselves.The principle here is at best somewhat questionable.
-The utterances of these'elected' law makers seems to demonstrate a total disrespect for the views of those who put them in office.
I personally support improved emoluments subject to the quantums being sensitive to benchmarks compactible to standards which were and continue to be justified when the workers come to the bargaining tables.
Remember a balance has to be struck between the argument that putting oneself up for public service as a member of parliament shouldn't have as a primary objective a desire to be in 'big money' and taking care of the needs of your constituents as a secondary activity.
In case of members of the judiciary the issues are quite different except I find the numbers mind blowing.
Calling people rats and raising hell about the SRC are just distractions from the obvious negative perceptions the public now has.

Centric

Postby Centric » June 26th, 2014, 1:40 pm

Raise meh salary too nah..

Postby UML » June 26th, 2014, 2:01 pm

desifemlove wrote:Ok, so Kamla, Suruj, Dr. Gopes, Dr. Khan, Dr. Glenn, Sharma, Dr. KRowley, Anand, Imbert, Manning, McDonald, Hospedales, Deyalsingh, Warner, Baldeo-Chadeesingh, Dr. Tewari, etc. want increase...

it unfair to public servants and workers on the whole who retired years ago and still getting the same pension with no increase while the cost of living has increased over these years.

and i think they parliamentarians just get a salary increase recently if not last year or when manning was in govt.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » June 26th, 2014, 2:28 pm

UML wrote:

it unfair to public servants and workers on the whole who retired years ago and still getting the same pension with no increase while the cost of living has increased over these years.

and i think they parliamentarians just get a salary increase recently if not last year or when manning was in govt.

any of you have any idea what a minister that has served this country for ten years in government pension is?

and lol at petrotrin pension getting cut ..... that person still gets more than panda does now

but the ppl i feel it for the most are the judges ...... that gave far more to the country at crap salaries when they could have been making far more money elsewhere.

dread_2002

Postby dread_2002 » June 26th, 2014, 2:48 pm

lets do some maths..

dey say if u was a minister/judge etc for 3 years u are entitled to a pension for life after.. and it includes ex ministers also

Lets say there are an average 300 past and present people eligible for this. and they taking home a combined average pension of $45,000.00 a month..
that works out to $162,000,000.00 a year!!!!!! $162 million a YEAR in Pension.. WTF

in ten years that works out to $1,620,000,000.00 .. $1.6 Billion

how can u justify spending 1.6 billion in 10 years! Its our tax dollars going to waste.

to be honest if trinidad was a first world country like dubai den sure things goood give dem d money
But with things as bad as it is.. can u justify our parliamentarians taking home a combined 1.6 billion
BTW i do agree they need a raise.. but guess what unions getting a small 3%to 6% raise and dem getting what 100%.. totally not fair! but then again its Trinidad

Postby Chimera » June 26th, 2014, 3:06 pm

yup the judges can make far more money in private practice

Postby Ignorant Ignis » June 26th, 2014, 3:58 pm

dread_2002 wrote:lets do some maths..

dey say if u was a minister/judge etc for 3 years u are entitled to a pension for life after.. and it includes ex ministers also

Lets say there are an average 300 past and present people eligible for this. and they taking home a combined average pension of $45,000.00 a month..
that works out to $162,000,000.00 a year!!!!!! $162 million a YEAR in Pension.. WTF

in ten years that works out to $1,620,000,000.00 .. $1.6 Billion

how can u justify spending 1.6 billion in 10 years! Its our tax dollars going to waste.

to be honest if trinidad was a first world country like dubai den sure things goood give dem d money
But with things as bad as it is.. can u justify our parliamentarians taking home a combined 1.6 billion
BTW i do agree they need a raise.. but guess what unions getting a small 3%to 6% raise and dem getting what 100%.. totally not fair! but then again its Trinidad

3 -6 % over what period of time? .... parliamentarians and judges have not had a pension increase in 65 years

Postby pugboy » June 26th, 2014, 4:02 pm

they should fix the system first, SRC is there for this said purpose but PP like to hopscotch over thing to suit.

I thought judges are highly paid and don't pay for houses and any paye taxes.

Whose fault is it if a highly paid govt worker didn't save any money in their lifetime.

Postby Redman » June 26th, 2014, 4:05 pm

Frankly it's a great way to bribe the judges that will be adjudicating over your misbehavior in public office trials

Postby pugboy » June 26th, 2014, 4:06 pm

one thing for sure is this pp govt has been very innovative in their methods

Redman wrote:Frankly it's a great way to bribe the judges that will be adjudicating over your misbehavior in public office trials

Postby Ignorant Ignis » June 26th, 2014, 4:07 pm

pugboy wrote:they should fix the system first, SRC is there for this said purpose but PP like to hopscotch over thing to suit.

I thought judges are highly paid and don't pay for houses and any paye taxes.

Whose fault is it if a highly paid govt worker didn't save any money in their lifetime.

soooooo .....what u say is when the this government and the last increased old age pension they should have not because everybody should have saved ?

and by the way ....what is your idea of highly paid government worker ?

Postby pugboy » June 26th, 2014, 4:14 pm

are you aware that "old age pension" is not really a pension in the true sense of the word
but really a social welfare handout ?

ie a NIS/NIB pension is a calculated pension based on mathematical sustainable models of paye taxes collected etc.

the mere fact that the old age pension is more than the NIS/NIB pension says a lot....

Postby shogun » June 26th, 2014, 7:04 pm

Bunch of bastards. Some of them didn't even deserve a salary.

Postby gt4tified » June 27th, 2014, 1:24 pm

shogun wrote:Bunch of bastards. Some of them didn't even deserve a salary.

Careful...T&T is ah small place....take care you related to one of those 'bastards'.

For those who wish to contribute or follow comments:
http://www.ttparliament.org/publication ... =28&id=695
http://www.ttparliament.org/publication ... =28&id=676

Postby UML » June 28th, 2014, 1:35 am

Postby K74T » June 28th, 2014, 1:55 am

Nah

H.S.E GuY

Postby H.S.E GuY » June 28th, 2014, 8:46 am

Whilst this is a good initiative to increase the pensions for the ex-judges / magistrates, the manner in which it was done brings highlights how our present administration functions - does not consult with relevant stakeholders. By this I mean the judges / magistrates would be in favour but the SRC was bypassed, no consultation whatsoever. Why do you all think the PM stepped in and asked for it to be reviewed.

UML you are right there was an increase given under the previous administration - but you are not being truthful about this matter.

Postby toyolink » June 28th, 2014, 3:41 pm

I wonder if members of parliament realize that many like myself are wondering if its worth our while to vote next year.
Presently, the 'crew' in that place look like they all gone mad.

Postby UML » June 29th, 2014, 11:28 am

retired public servants living off $3,000 and $4,000 pension for so many years!! imagine having to live off that....food, medicine, etc.

A true leader....a PM who listens to the people!

Postby K74T » June 29th, 2014, 11:36 am

UML wrote:A true leader....a PM who listens to the people!

If only we had one of those.

Postby UML » June 29th, 2014, 11:37 am

K74T wrote:

Did she not stop the progress of this action with the upset it was causing?

Postby Redman » June 29th, 2014, 1:44 pm

She can't expect to take credit for stoping crappy legislation that she initiated.

If she was serious about feedback she would have sought it before bringing the bill.

Dais politics, bess yuh go back and deal with the SAUTT thread
Last edited by Redman on June 29th, 2014, 2:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

TriP

Postby TriP » June 29th, 2014, 2:35 pm

shogun wrote:Bunch of bastards. Some of them didn't even deserve a salary.

pugboy wrote:one thing for sure is this pp govt has been very innovative in their methods

K74T wrote: