The guitar string (thread)

Re: The guitar string (thread)

Postby meccalli » September 14th, 2013, 11:29 pm

I really don't know much theory at all except maybe the pentatonic scale(box shape) and how to use it to a certain degree over chords. I just play songs i liked to listen to- started from easy songs and moved up to harder ones using tabs and lessons from ultimateguitar learning certain key licks along the way. I can't play with musicians but..oh well lol.

rookie

Postby rookie » February 4th, 2014, 3:33 pm

Any guitar lessons in the east/west corridor name an number ??? Thanks guys

Postby Sky » February 4th, 2014, 3:44 pm

Guys,

As the thread bumped. Up for grabs is my PRS SE Mark Tremonti Signature. 2012 (bird inlays).
Hardly used, as I didn't have an amp when I got it, just my ipad and irig...sold the ipad soon after.
It's in great condition. A good enough dust cleaning job and it'll pass as new.
I added Dunlop straplocks to it and will let them go with it because I don't want to risk doing any damage removing them. A leather strap is included too.
Price is $3800. After Saturday you can view it in Live n Loud.

Postby Sky » February 4th, 2014, 3:46 pm

Oh, reason for sale is looking to get a tube amp head. Since I'm not a working musician, simply buying the head will be an expense, and I'd like to let a guitar go to have it. Since this is much less played than my strat and LP, and the tone isn't my style anymore , she gots to go.

Postby desifemlove » February 5th, 2014, 9:53 am

fellas, i looking to play bass soon. which places sell good models/amps?

and how to get in a band? not full-time as a main job, but say a rock or jazz band? i know there are rock clubs in central, but death metal stink.

Postby Sky » February 5th, 2014, 10:03 am

desifemlove wrote:but death metal stink.

You're not fit to play music.

Postby desifemlove » February 5th, 2014, 10:06 am

but fit to know the absolute music taste, ent? lol!!

Postby Sky » February 5th, 2014, 10:41 am

desifemlove wrote:but fit to know the absolute music taste, ent? lol!!

I don't care for death metal either. But it's music. If you wanna get into music one of the things you need to do is keep your mind open about and respect other genres. Because they're speaking the same language as you, just saying different things. AND you will need respect as well, regardless of your fav genre to play. Saying you don't fancy it is one thing, but saying it stinks is the wrong way to go about it.

Simon's on St. Vincent st. or Live n Loud in shops of Maraval will both have good basses.

Postby MG Man » February 5th, 2014, 11:58 am

Sky wrote:
desifemlove wrote:but fit to know the absolute music taste, ent? lol!!

I don't care for death metal either. But it's music. If you wanna get into music one of the things you need to do is keep your mind open about and respect other genres. Because they're speaking the same language as you, just saying different things. AND you will need respect as well, regardless of your fav genre to play. Saying you don't fancy it is one thing, but saying it stinks is the wrong way to go about it.

Simon's on St. Vincent st. or Live n Loud in shops of Maraval will both have good basses.

correct
I had his mentality when I was younger. Closed mind to anything other than heavy metal
I'm glad I grew out of that nonsense, and now can appreciate pretty much anything from rap to zydeco. Better yet, as a bass player, it's cool to be able to fall in with any group (skill being the limiting factor)

Postby meccalli » February 5th, 2014, 4:59 pm

i'll hate soca and chutney forever. except maybe the oddity.

devon4786

Postby devon4786 » February 5th, 2014, 10:38 pm

1378057_10151741932044261_1726012384_n.jpg

Ibanez GRG270CA with custom paint job...

can_coke

Postby can_coke » June 12th, 2014, 4:23 pm

Fender American Standard Stratocaster (brand New) and Line 6 Processor for sale

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=576564

scenic108

Postby scenic108 » August 13th, 2014, 4:10 pm

Postby shogun » August 13th, 2014, 4:35 pm

can_coke wrote:Fender American Standard Stratocaster (brand New) and Line 6 Processor for sale

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=576564

Nice.

Postby Les Bain » January 28th, 2015, 10:12 am

Is Audio Concepts finally gone? I need a replacement capo and there was the most convenient place to go.

Anyone could recommend where I can check? Don't have the patience to make an online purchase.

Postby MG Man » January 28th, 2015, 10:16 am

did you try that place on long circular road? (forgot he name)

Postby Les Bain » January 28th, 2015, 10:26 am

That's the place self.
Used to go there all the time before my office moved out of POS. Now that I'm back in POS I not seeing the signage and could never slow down enough to see if the place showing signs of activity.

Postby MG Man » January 28th, 2015, 10:27 am

it looks dead, but I'm pretty sure they still in operation....last time I was there I had to knock and wait

Postby Les Bain » January 28th, 2015, 10:32 am

Cool, thanks. Lemme check if they in the directory still.

Postby meccalli » January 28th, 2015, 3:16 pm

Shallun(skid/5m2m) works there by himself.

Postby Les Bain » January 28th, 2015, 7:22 pm

Cool. Thanks for the info.

Postby zoom rader » January 29th, 2015, 2:36 am

Any ukulele players in here?

Postby shogun » January 29th, 2015, 9:14 pm

*Tries to picture ZR in a Hawaiian shirt playing folk songs*

Postby zoom rader » January 30th, 2015, 9:41 pm

shogun wrote:*Tries to picture ZR in a Hawaiian shirt playing folk songs*

Nah, but I do strum a lil ukes .
Never seen another uke player except cautro players which is different.

4CupMan

Postby 4CupMan » April 14th, 2015, 11:58 pm

2 basses for sale . Fender squire 4 string. BCrich trace war beast 4 string. Pm me some offers.

Postby shogun » April 15th, 2015, 12:03 am

^Not bad man.

Doh study me, Ukes are cool. Always worried that my hands too big to play one though... always wanted to.

Postby zoom rader » April 15th, 2015, 12:07 pm

shogun wrote:^Not bad man.

Doh study me, Ukes are cool. Always worried that my hands too big to play one though... always wanted to.

1429113998961.jpg

My lil uke, still trying to learn.

Postby maj. tom » May 15th, 2015, 9:39 pm

Guys. Riley B. King has died. :( :(

B.B. King (September 16, 1925 – May 14, 2015)

I first came to know B.B. through U2 on "When Love comes to Town"

Goodbye Sir. Lucille will live on.

Postby shogun » May 16th, 2015, 8:13 pm

R.I.P to the King.

Postby maj. tom » August 6th, 2015, 10:24 am

Here's a little clip I recorded on my phone from a concert I went to last month. The sound was just incredible.

https://vid.me/UXJR

:o :)