Tablets for New Tertiary Students

Re: Tablets for New Tertiary Students

Postby X2 » May 28th, 2014, 8:02 am

Complete waste of money. Tablets or even laptops do not promote learning, they promote lazy.

Saw an ad on TV where the govt kissing it's own a$$... student asked about his free laptop ownership... and I quote, "Yeh, ah like eet... I did teach meh mudda how to use de laptop an ting..."

Postby dougla_boy » May 28th, 2014, 8:25 am

Trini Hookah wrote:
M_2NR wrote:
sonygoup wrote:And Im doing my final year right now and honestly never used a laptop to read no ebook and all that drama!

HAHAHAHAHAHA. right. ok. may be not your degree pal.
*paging pioneer*

Hookah... tell this man bout m17a and 2230 nah. :lol:
man nearva hear bou reading ebork on laptorp.

bigman I can't tell you the last time I had an actual, physical handout/assignment.

Again, it's a convenience to the students, I just hope this time they use the apps in class and not to play Fruit Ninja :|

i support this, once done properly.....and agreed on the books and apps for class....

machete

Postby machete » May 28th, 2014, 10:00 am

Why are you all so critical of this?

When I did my LLB a couple years ago, my tablet was my savior in being able to search through endless notes quickly. It really saved me time, plus I used it in the classroom as well being able to look up notes quickly while it was being discussed.

Some of you will criticize anything. You think these tertiary students (who are adults mind you) don't already have access to laptops or smartphones which can be misused? You all sounding like a bunch of jealous grumpy old men here.

Be serious, this is a good idea that will allow for fast tracking of a totally digital world that will happen (better get used to it).

Aside from that tablets are cheaper, more durable and have longer battery life that the best laptops.

Postby zoom rader » May 28th, 2014, 10:32 am

^^^ this is tuners once it's a PP idea or action then it's bad

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » May 28th, 2014, 10:47 am

i don't care where you go you will always have students who use it wisely and other that waste it away.
it cannot be managed all the way to the students bedroom.

and yes depending the degree it will be useful while others ... laptop and pen and books are required.

Postby desifemlove » May 28th, 2014, 11:06 am

machete wrote:Why are you all so critical of this?

When I did my LLB a couple years ago, my tablet was my savior in being able to search through endless notes quickly. It really saved me time, plus I used it in the classroom as well being able to look up notes quickly while it was being discussed.

Some of you will criticize anything. You think these tertiary students (who are adults mind you) don't already have access to laptops or smartphones which can be misused? You all sounding like a bunch of jealous grumpy old men here.

Be serious, this is a good idea that will allow for fast tracking of a totally digital world that will happen (better get used to it).

Aside from that tablets are cheaper, more durable and have longer battery life that the best laptops.

Jealous? Old? If yuh does tink 32 is old, be my guest...

I'z a student too. I just questioning the logistics and frankly need. As a tablet at best is for using notes, then if students already have dey own IPad or Galaxy Tab or Galaxy Note, what use is a state-granted/Mrs. Kamla-granted tablet? A tablet at best is used for taking notes, a student can't do an assignment on dat, not as good as on a laptop anyhow. And most uni students have smartphones or computers in general, why they does need to learn modern technology?

As for porn? if ah 18 year old, who legally is an adult, want to see porn, fine...i ent got no issue wit dat. if UWI or UTT or SBCS or whoever wanna block it on dey networks, simply get dey network admins to change the router settings on dey guest and student wifis... To me a better solution would be actual laptops, with better functionality and more programs. And as a condition of getting GATE and even graduation, any deliberate damage, loss or theft mus be reported immediately and a fee paid dependent on de cause. This includes changing the Windows settings or BIOS settings, or hacking, downloading programs, etc. So each student signs an agreement to say which laptop, model, and the terms of use, and penalties for breach of the terms.

And ah PP plan? I doh see tings as black and white, I does agree with Debe UWI campus and chirren's hospital (Northerners does have plenty state/private campuses already, let south have one nah..)
Last edited by desifemlove on May 28th, 2014, 11:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RASC » May 28th, 2014, 11:09 am

machete wrote:Why are you all so critical of this?

Agreed.
Tablets for university students is a good idea.
My only issue is:
Laptops for form 1 is a waste. Replace one with the other.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 28th, 2014, 11:13 am

Its not a perfect world, half of the time good deeds are done so that other benefits can be reaped from them. It doesnt matter. The good deed is still done.
People still benefit.
I dont care if its done because we are close to election or whatever.

If it wasnt done, students will not have tablets, and
Tablets > No Tablets

Postby desifemlove » May 28th, 2014, 11:25 am

and tablets cheaper? mid range laptop and mid range tablet costing similar. not all students would need top of the line specs on a laptop...

Postby Les Bain » May 28th, 2014, 11:33 am

What brand tablet and who supplying them?

The cheap, WOFT free tablet I got from my employers was an immense help during my degree, what with all them e-books and handouts provided by the lecturers and gained through independent research.

The idea seems solid, but the execution and timing is a whole nother story.

Postby RASC » May 28th, 2014, 11:38 am

Less hard copy books!

E-books can be updated and kept relevant! Less paper wastage. Etc etc

Postby nemisis » May 28th, 2014, 11:39 am

surface rt

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » May 28th, 2014, 11:52 am

Postby pete » May 28th, 2014, 1:21 pm

Surface is the best choice IMHO, not as many gaming apps but the productivity of an Office Suite.

Postby javishm » May 28th, 2014, 2:45 pm

pete wrote:Surface is the best choice IMHO, not as many gaming apps but the productivity of an Office Suite.

exactly limit it to just what it is provided for

Postby pete » May 28th, 2014, 3:06 pm

Don't get me wrong, there are games and apps. What I like about is is just connect any USB keyboard and mouse and it's basically a 10" laptop/pc. Easy to share information for projects etc with the same USB port.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » May 28th, 2014, 4:01 pm

While the idea is not a bad one I will say again as I said for laptops, provide a grant / a subsidy with identified manufacturers/resellers online/offline, for students to purchase these instead of just buying them outright. I applaud them for thinking forward but the reality of situation, its gonna get abused. It seems that they did not learn with the laptops, which I still think is better suited for students in later secondary life such as Forms 4 - 5 what do you think is going to be the situation after giving them machines in Form 1 would they last that long, we know they will definitely be outdated.

I applaud the forward thinking it shows they have been trying to develop some concepts but the implementation and execution needs some revising in addition to the maintenance aspect of this cycle are we as taxpayers going to be putting out an additional 10mill+ each year just for repairs in addition to the to the intial purchase cost.

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » May 28th, 2014, 4:38 pm

pete wrote:Surface is the best choice IMHO, not as many gaming apps but the productivity of an Office Suite.

And the price? They already spend $40mil for chuck e cheeses.....

secret_service

Postby secret_service » May 28th, 2014, 4:39 pm

So if dey win 2015 election new promise will be.........

Free car when you finish UWI and find a job
Free house if finish UWI got a job and find a wife
Free medical care and education for your babies....oh we already got that....... :roll:

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 28th, 2014, 7:38 pm

Why teachers doh get teaching tools?

Postby nervewrecker » May 28th, 2014, 7:38 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:Why teachers doh get teaching tools?

Like a rod of correction?

Postby S_2NR » May 28th, 2014, 7:39 pm

All this freeness need to stop. UWI shouldn't be free either. It's a degree mill now and the standard of teaching is toots. All people do in UWI is cram to pass an exam. There are a few good lecturers but plenty sheit does go on in there and because it "free" it is accepted

Postby nervewrecker » May 28th, 2014, 7:42 pm

Since it free everything gone downhill.

When we had to work to pay for it, it was better.

Postby desifemlove » May 28th, 2014, 9:00 pm

Free means more people going, more people getting degrees, better economic productivity...

Issue is education and its structure, anybody can cram to pass exam, no mean dey no sheit bout de subject...same world over, not jus UWI...

Postby Trini Hookah » May 28th, 2014, 9:09 pm

desifemlove wrote:Free means more people going, more people getting degrees, better economic productivity...

Issue is education and its structure, anybody can cram to pass exam, no mean dey no sheit bout de subject...same world over, not jus UWI...

Productivity? More like doing for doing sake, little to no passion. To eventually go into a saturated job market and complain.

Postby desifemlove » May 28th, 2014, 9:11 pm

kg494EJ-1 wrote:While the idea is not a bad one I will say again as I said for laptops, provide a grant / a subsidy with identified manufacturers/resellers online/offline, for students to purchase these instead of just buying them outright. I applaud them for thinking forward but the reality of situation, its gonna get abused. It seems that they did not learn with the laptops, which I still think is better suited for students in later secondary life such as Forms 4 - 5 what do you think is going to be the situation after giving them machines in Form 1 would they last that long, we know they will definitely be outdated.

I applaud the forward thinking it shows they have been trying to develop some concepts but the implementation and execution needs some revising in addition to the maintenance aspect of this cycle are we as taxpayers going to be putting out an additional 10mill+ each year just for repairs in addition to the to the intial purchase cost.

This.

Nutten for me about "anyting UNC/Kamla do bad!!" :lol:

Postby desifemlove » May 28th, 2014, 9:22 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
desifemlove wrote:Free means more people going, more people getting degrees, better economic productivity...

Productivity? More like doing for doing sake, little to no passion. To eventually go into a saturated job market and complain.

Iz economics 101, more educated people means higher productivity...

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 28th, 2014, 9:26 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:

Same scene in Secondary school

Postby S_2NR » May 28th, 2014, 9:27 pm

desifemlove wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:

Iz economics 101, more educated people means higher productivity...

That was the intention. But unfortunately not the result.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » May 28th, 2014, 9:32 pm

desifemlove wrote:
kg494EJ-1 wrote:While the idea is not a bad one I will say again as I said for laptops, provide a grant / a subsidy with identified manufacturers/resellers online/offline, for students to purchase these instead of just buying them outright. I applaud them for thinking forward but the reality of situation, its gonna get abused. It seems that they did not learn with the laptops, which I still think is better suited for students in later secondary life such as Forms 4 - 5 what do you think is going to be the situation after giving them machines in Form 1 would they last that long, we know they will definitely be outdated.

This.

Nutten for me about "anyting UNC/Kamla do bad!!" :lol:

Well I applaud what I think is good initiative but in this government's case the execution is usually poor or a BS reason is given. I am for country,future and continuation. But if I see BS I call it out don't care who it is.