TV6 Journalist Mark Bassant on Hit List...

Re: TV6 Journalist Mark Bassant on Hit List...

Postby pioneer » May 22nd, 2014, 6:10 pm

Ian alleyne say he gonna reveal all about this chet

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 22nd, 2014, 6:13 pm

Ian vex d hit not on he

Postby BrotherHood » May 22nd, 2014, 7:34 pm

I reading through this thread and get upset.

Mark Bassant is a journalist. Without journalists, we will not have news and information on day to day happenings. I think Mark Bassant knew what he signed up for, and as a journalist, you must have a sort of fearless nature. We need more journalists like him to expose dem corrupted officials and "community leaders".
Why d mc we must just sit back and let d criminals run d show. Is only when it hit home alyuh will want fearless journalism.

If alyuh life was threatened, alyuh would do same so I cannot see why some saying he should stay if he so committed to his profession. That's a very stupid move. In this country, if men want yuh head, better yuh bury it one time.

Why must journalists be afraid to do their jobs?

Postby 88sins » May 22nd, 2014, 7:37 pm

pioneer wrote:Ian alleyne say he gonna reveal all about this chet

jus d mention ah dat lil fairy does piss I off to no end.

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » May 22nd, 2014, 7:51 pm

BrotherHood wrote:I reading through this thread and get upset.

Mark Bassant is a journalist. Without journalists, we will not have news and information on day to day happenings. I think Mark Bassant knew what he signed up for, and as a journalist, you must have a sort of fearless nature. We need more journalists like him to expose dem corrupted officials and "community leaders".
Why d mc we must just sit back and let d criminals run d show. Is only when it hit home alyuh will want fearless journalism.

If alyuh life was threatened, alyuh would do same so I cannot see why some saying he should stay if he so committed to his profession. That's a very stupid move. In this country, if men want yuh head, better yuh bury it one time.

Why must journalists be afraid to do their jobs?

that journalism you speak of is street level everyday ole talk...bro that's what you get when you go on the block and befriend the goons who you sit and smoke with.

UKScene

Postby UKScene » May 22nd, 2014, 8:01 pm

Evil prevails when good men do nothing. So many people want to complain and not do anything. Understand the power is with the people not the few in power.

Postby 88sins » May 22nd, 2014, 9:02 pm

UKScene wrote:Evil prevails when good men do nothing. So many people want to complain and not do anything. Understand the power is with the people not the few in power.

so what you tryin to say son?
You saying you want the average law abiding unarmed Joe Citizen (what you refer to as "good men) that aren't legally allowed to keep a pellet gun w/o a permit, & can't get a firearm legally to save his life without political connections, to go up against armed killers that have no issue with killing whoever gets in the way of their business, & plenty experience at it?

I will say this only once

Put down the comic book & turn off the cartoon network

First off, the police in T&T ain't there jus to use the police vehicle to go fuh roti, drop of they gyul to work & children to school & draw a salary @ month end. They were hired to do a job, & quite frankly ain't doing too well at it. So that's the first thing that needs to change, before yuh start tryin to motivate ppl with that "evil prevails when" crap.

For "good men" to effect the sort of change you speak of, there needs to be some way to level the battlefield between criminals & the greater public. If not, your advocating for ppl to be dotish & put themselves in place to get killed. If YOU that dotish to plan on goin into the ghetto to face off with a drug-lord or shooter totin a sig wit a full clip, & all you walkin with is high hopes in yuh left hand & yuh nuts in yuh right hand, go right ahead. You try it, & lewwe kno how it work out.

And as yuh talk about who does only talk & aint doing nothin, lemme ask yuh 2 questions.

When "good men" that have wives & kids get a few corn to head/chest, how many of their families YOU PERSONALLY going to FINANCIALLY & EMOTIONALLY take care of?

&

Why you don't lead by example? instead of typin all dat kaka

Postby BrotherHood » May 22nd, 2014, 10:00 pm

We is part of we own problem here yes

Postby 88sins » May 22nd, 2014, 10:21 pm

the problem is criminals here have no fear of retribution, neither from the police (that some of them payin) nor from the politicians(that the criminals financing & in bed with), nor from an unarmed public that prefers peace & party

ModMania

Postby ModMania » May 23rd, 2014, 12:26 am

What does Trinidad, America and the African continent have in common?

Postby Morpheus » May 23rd, 2014, 1:58 am

They all have crime?

UKScene

Postby UKScene » May 23rd, 2014, 3:22 am

UKScene wrote:Evil prevails when good men do nothing. So many people want to complain and not do anything. Understand the power is with the people not the few in power.

so what you tryin to say son?
You saying you want the average law abiding unarmed Joe Citizen (what you refer to as "good men) that aren't legally allowed to keep a pellet gun w/o a permit, & can't get a firearm legally to save his life without political connections, to go up against armed killers that have no issue with killing whoever gets in the way of their business, & plenty experience at it?

I will say this only once

Put down the comic book & turn off the cartoon network

First off, the police in T&T ain't there jus to use the police vehicle to go fuh roti, drop of they gyul to work & children to school & draw a salary @ month end. They were hired to do a job, & quite frankly ain't doing too well at it. So that's the first thing that needs to change, before yuh start tryin to motivate ppl with that "evil prevails when" crap.

For "good men" to effect the sort of change you speak of, there needs to be some way to level the battlefield between criminals & the greater public. If not, your advocating for ppl to be dotish & put themselves in place to get killed. If YOU that dotish to plan on goin into the ghetto to face off with a drug-lord or shooter totin a sig wit a full clip, & all you walkin with is high hopes in yuh left hand & yuh nuts in yuh right hand, go right ahead. You try it, & lewwe kno how it work out.

And as yuh talk about who does only talk & aint doing nothin, lemme ask yuh 2 questions.

When "good men" that have wives & kids get a few corn to head/chest, how many of their families YOU PERSONALLY going to FINANCIALLY & EMOTIONALLY take care of?

&

Why you don't lead by example? instead of typin all dat kaka

Understand my point is not about facing up to the criminals. It is about a huge surge in the population to go face to face with their elected leaders and those at the top of the police force and make them feel uncomfortable. Make them and force them into action.

I am doing something about it and not just typing, however I am from the UK and in the UK. I am going against the establishment here by running for election into parliament. Maybe you should consider that as move.

Postby zoom rader » May 23rd, 2014, 4:10 am

^^^ you UKIP?

Postby 88sins » May 23rd, 2014, 6:30 am

UKScene wrote:Understand my point is not about facing up to the criminals. It is about a huge surge in the population to go face to face with their elected leaders and those at the top of the police force and make them feel uncomfortable. Make them and force them into action.

I am doing something about it and not just typing, however I am from the UK and in the UK. I am going against the establishment here by running for election into parliament. Maybe you should consider that as move.

It's been tried several times, & failed just as often by all who tried. With the exception of the NAR & we all know what happened there.
The only way to effect change here is by getting into politics & the getting into a position of authority within the current ruling party & that ain't easy, you either need to have resources they want/need, or keep very close ties to the party leadership. Not easy to do either. & these ppl so crooked that if you go against them your tenure in your position that you want to use to affect change will be very short lived. So you have to either go with the flow, or just go. Not much middle ground.

Only other way is to start a completely new party & hope you win an election or at least a few seats, & that takes so much time & resources that many persons don't have, & its very difficult for those that do have those resources. Many have tried, & just as many have failed for years. Not to mention it'll take so long b4 your party could win an election on its own merit, theres a high probability you'd be dead by the time you party wins an election on its own. And you better pray that after you're dead & gone, nobody perverts the ideals of the party you've founded into what we have now, & there's more than a chance of that happening.

You have to understand the nature of party politics here, there have been two major political parties here over the last 40 yrs that have molded the political scene into what it is today. And what it is today is politics that is very far away from your proposed ideals.

Postby dougla_boy » May 23rd, 2014, 9:07 am

Mark right yes....allyuh trust local police wit yuh protection?

not ah fcuk ah dat

JF.K

Postby JF.K » May 28th, 2014, 7:27 am

Alarm over death threat

Journalist Mark Bassant forced to flee T&T

Story Created: May 27, 2014 at 12:59 AM

Three organisations—Trinidad and Tobago Transparency Institute (TTTI), International Press Institute (IPI) and Association of Caribbean Media Workers (ACM)—yesterday expressed alarm and concern over the death threat received by CCN senior investigative journalist, Mark Bassant.

TTTI said it was “gravely concerned” by the report of a death threat received by Bassant. “Such a threat represents an attack on the freedom of the press which must be condemned in the strongest possible term,” it said in a news release.
Transparency said it was further dismayed at the statement ascribed to the Acting Commissioner of Police Stephen Williams.

“A death threat cannot be excused or justified under any circumstances and in fact requires official condemnation from the Government and the Opposition. Transparency calls for immediate, concerted action to send a clear message of unqualified protection of the freedom of the press as well as of protection for all individual citizens of T&T,” it said.

The International Press Institute (IPI) also condemned the threats against Bassant which led him having to leave the country for fear for his life.
The IPI urged authorities in Trinidad and Tobago to take immediate steps to ensure Bassant and other journalists can cover important developments in the country without fear of retaliation.

“We condemn the threats made against Mr Bassant, which have highlighted the dangers that journalists face when attempting to reveal information that is in the public interest, even in a country like Trinidad and Tobago, where this form of harassment is unusual,” IPI press freedom manager Barbara Trionfi said in a statement yesterday.

“We urge the authorities to fully investigate these threats and bring the perpetrators to justice, thereby ensuring that press freedom in Trinidad and Tobago is upheld and that courageous journalists, like Mr Bassant, can carry out their work,” IPI stated.
IPI’s regional partner, the Association of Caribbean Media Workers (ACM), also shared its alarm concerning the Mark Bassant case.

“The ACM continues to be very concerned about Mark’s safety and well-being,” Wesley Gibbings, ACM’s general secretary, told IPI yesterday. “We hope that state security has accorded this high priority and that the perpetrators are brought to justice within a short space of time. We also call on all sectors of civil society to stand up in defence of press freedom and for the value of the work of journalists throughout the Caribbean.”

ACM noted that the media enjoy a high degree of freedom in Trinidad and Tobago, where IPI has been carrying out a campaign to abolish criminal defamation laws for more than two years. Nevertheless, it said harassment against journalists is not entirely unknown in the country. Last March, according to local sources, a female reporter was accused by a government official of treason for publishing information critical of the government.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Ala ... 17971.html
Last edited by JF.K on May 28th, 2014, 7:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

JF.K

Postby JF.K » May 28th, 2014, 7:31 am

In his own words: top cop's radio interview

Story Created: May 27, 2014 at 12:57 AM

Transcript of the interview on i95.5fm with Dale Enoch (DE), Anthony Lee Aping (ALA) and Acting Commissioner of Police Stephen Williams (SW) on Friday, May 23, 2014.

DE: Well we do have on the line the Acting Police Commissioner Stephen Williams, good morning to you acting Commissioner Williams.

SW: Good morning Mr Dale.

DE: We are, I mean there are so many things to follow, but we are concerned, obviously, re the situation with the journalist, Mark Bassant. And we have confirmation and I think you are aware as well, of him having to…

ALA: (speaking simultaneously with DE)
Leave the country…

DE: ...seek shelter, so to speak, because of death threats. How do you view this Mr Commissioner?

SW: Well, firstly I will like to confirm that a report was made by Mr Mark Bassant to the head of the Criminal, Gang and Intelligence Unit. Based on what he has alleged is a threat made against his life ... that matter is right now being investigated by the Criminal, Gang and Intelligence Unit but for me, any threat against any citizen of this land is a serious matter and we take it seriously and we pursue these matters vigorously. So the Criminal, Gang and Intelligence Unit is pursuing this investigation and is treating it with the utmost level of responsibility that is supposed to be assigned to a matter like this.

ALA: Acting Commissioner, Mr Bassant in his report also talked about other names on a list, are you aware of this?

SW: Well I am unaware of what Mr Bassant is speaking about.
And there are a lot of, if you can call it, statements and utterances by Mr Bassant which have been very irresponsible of him. Things which are incorrect, which I know as a fact are incorrect, for which I can’t just put into the public domain, but based on where, the office I hold and my access to information, I know are incorrect. And some of that may also have triggered the issue of a threat to Mr Mark Bassant.
But setting aside that, the Police Service has a responsibility, regardless of whom a threat is made against, we have to treat with it seriously and we are so doing.

DE: So you are saying that some of that irresponsibleness on the part of Mr Bassant may have led to the kind of threats that he is reportedly receiving?

SW: There is a possibility.

DE: Mr Bassant also talks about police involvement and having to give information to police and then he said the police, some police officers, leaking it to the underworld. How do you feel about that? Is that one of those irresponsible statements you think was made?

SW: No I’m not, I’m not saying that I am unaware of Mr Bassant’s linkage to some police officers. It is clear to me that some police officers have been doing wrong things by even furnishing Mr Mark Bassant information. So there, you know, so when you have irresponsible officers, officers who are involved in wrongdoings and are furnishing Mark Bassant information and may be furnishing other persons with information that is a major concern for the Police Service and a major concern for me who is leading the Police Service. So we must do everything possible to try to weed the organisation, weed those persons out of the organisation.

DE: Now it does, it does throw some light in a corner, that a corner of darkness for the police service itself. Because it means that if we are to believe anything that has been said re the police officers and their involvement, that police officers are feeding, as well, not just Mark Bassant or other journalists, but may be feeding people who are criminals.
SW: And, and I am saying I will not, I will not deny that, because it is well known to this country that Trinidad and Tobago Police Service does in fact have errant officers and it is an obligation on my part and that of the organisation to, to cleanse the organisation of officers like those so we are not, we are not covering to say that we don’t have officers who are irresponsible, errant, act in, in straightforward language, along the pathway of criminality.
So that is why you know as an organisation we have to do everything possible within the shortest period of time of doing what I would call cleansing.
But there is, there is things which you have to do in keeping with the laws of the land as you seek out cleansing. If it was easy that everyone that you have mere suspicions on I could have simply fired them, I would have done that already. But it may amount to misbehaviour in public office which is a criminal offence for the commissioner of police to do something like that.

ALA: Are you satisfied with the efforts so far, Mr Acting Commissioner, in terms of the approach being taken with Bassant, because this is a freedom of the press issue which is beginning to get international attention.

SW: I am fully satisfied that the investigation in relation to the allegation made by Mark Bassant is being pursued in a professional manner and it is being given the kind of attention, effort and resources that are necessary to treat with it. So I am fully satisfied.

DE: I, I notice, I take note of where the complaint went, the official complaint went, in terms of the head of the Intelligence Unit and, and is, is this possible, possibly gang related in some way? You think?

SW: Well I can’t say why he chose to advance the report to the Criminal, Gang and Intelligence Unit head. So I can’t say why. But that is a possibility.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/In- ... 17921.html

Postby zoom rader » May 28th, 2014, 7:37 am

Real killers don't make treats, this is just a pappyshow

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » May 28th, 2014, 7:40 am

Don't think it was a threat.
Mark, being associated with the underworld through his job, was informed there was a hit on him.
Wasn't any threat.

Postby zoom rader » May 28th, 2014, 7:50 am

White CZ4A wrote:Don't think it was a threat.
Mark, being associated with the underworld through his job, was informed there was a hit on him.
Wasn't any threat.

And we supposed to take his word on this. Seems he's a drama queen

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » May 28th, 2014, 10:14 am

Gary Griffith also confirmed the threat.
Not like we have trust in him, but he did.