The Trinituner Entrepreneurship/Self Employed/ Side Hustle Thread

Re: WTK : Top 5 small business ventures in T and T

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 9th, 2014, 7:38 am

kjaglal76v2 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:on average the entire house minus furnishing is around 700k...2 2 bedroom upstairs and single bedroom downstairs.

u have fam/friends helping you with d labour?

its more friend/padna labour thing...otherwise da figure woda be a lot more.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » May 9th, 2014, 7:42 am

nice, good stuff

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » May 9th, 2014, 10:46 am

Anybody wanna buy some lettuce? Thinking of setting up a hydrophonic grow home, i think people might be interested. Thoughts?

spirited721

Postby spirited721 » May 9th, 2014, 10:49 am

Try it..... sounds interesting once the price doesn't deviate from regular lettuce price too much. Trini cheap.

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » May 9th, 2014, 11:11 am

True that! The initial set-up might be a bit difficult but i think it could be profitable in the long run and lettuce has a pretty high turn over . I think agriculture have some serious money to be made , people have to eat. Just waiting for exams to be over and id dive head first

Postby Chimera » May 9th, 2014, 11:14 am

kM_89 wrote:Anybody wanna buy some lettuce? Thinking of setting up a hydrophonic grow home, i think people might be interested. Thoughts?

make sure and do your research right

do the free government course

startup isn't cheap and lettuce price fluctuates alot

sometimes 50c to $1 wholesale..all up to $7 or $8 wholesale

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » May 9th, 2014, 11:28 am

Tnx for the heads up, had no idea the gov't has resources available to the pubic, I'll take a walk sometime and enquire.

STi VAN

Postby STi VAN » May 10th, 2014, 3:12 am

sell hot doubles in d cross..

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 10th, 2014, 9:27 am

what ABA said

LovinDiva

Postby LovinDiva » May 13th, 2014, 2:28 pm

I would like to open a wholesale/retail dry goods business (snacks, candy, soft drinks) but I'm not sure of a good location. Once I could get a location I'll be good to go. Somewhere that is not so central but has plenty foot traffic and of course th rent isn't to high. Tuners you know of anywhere from POS TO CENTRAL OR EAST let me know. Thanks.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 13th, 2014, 2:35 pm

you hada look for a place where have real ppl but little or nothing of what you have to offer...^probably a new community development...P.O.S ram out already inno

napster16

Postby napster16 » May 14th, 2014, 10:43 am

What about a car wash ?

spirited721

Postby spirited721 » May 14th, 2014, 11:05 am

napster16 wrote:What about a car wash ?

Nuff paper but you have ti be willing to do the work. Set up won't cost much and once you start getting customers you could hire a few youths to help you. Make sure yuh not smelling bad when you doing the interior.

LovinDiva

Postby LovinDiva » May 14th, 2014, 11:32 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:you hada look for a place where have real ppl but little or nothing of what you have to offer...^probably a new community development...P.O.S ram out already inno

POS already has two both on Charlotte plus the rent in POS is sky high. There is a space in a new HDC community in Malabar that I see potential in. will check it out over the weekend. Thanks for the heads up.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 14th, 2014, 8:51 pm

a community like that would need what you have to offer.Eventually you would provide more stuff and be well recognised...go for it.

LovinDiva

Re: I hate my Office Job

Postby LovinDiva » May 21st, 2014, 9:57 am

Details wrote:
bigfoot wrote:take a time out to reflect ,

where you came from , where you are now and where you are going

next spend some time at the beach , to relax your mind and find focus ,

next do address the cause of you being in this slump , go to god ask why and then go and fast and pray fro approx 14 days , then you will find that much needed break through ,

always remember you are where god wants you to be , may be you need to look inward to find what is wrong , with the insulation

Best reply ever... honestly I feel if op had an open relationship with God she/he won't be so depress etc...

How do u know my status with God?

nick69

Postby nick69 » May 21st, 2014, 11:19 am

Dats easy..find a rich man to mine yuh and then lie to everybody and tell them you fell in love with his personality.

nick69

Postby nick69 » May 21st, 2014, 11:19 am

Dats easy..find a rich man to mine yuh and then lie to everybody and tell them you fell in love with his personality.

Postby Slartibartfast » May 21st, 2014, 11:31 am

Toyolink has it right. Especially the part about instant gratification. Keep it slow and steady and be ready to sink 10 years into starting up your business. And with a 65% downpayment you could tell NEDCO kiss your assssssstronaut action figure. Once you have 50% (maybe even 25%) you can get started. Someone very close to me is going through the same dilemma so let me give you the same advice I gave him/her.

1. Keep your office/day job. Use your income to be your own investor

2. Take some time to figure out what you like to do. What voluntarily read up on when not on facebook or watching movies/ listening to music. Let's assume you want to do sewing for now.

3. Picture what it is like for your potential customers. What are their complaints? How can you satisfy their needs like no other business is doing?

4. Start small. Keep it slow, steady and cautious. Save up and buy yourself a sewing machine and basic supplies. Start practicing in your free time and keep it like a hobby to relieve stress for now. You can mimic more expensive styles the better you get. Before you know it you may have a facebook page with 20 different outfits that go for $2000 and up. But you know you can sell it for $500 and guarantee good quality because of it being hand made by an expert... you.

5. When you build up yourself you can start trying to get your name out there. Make a new piece dress/shirt/pants every week and add it to different collections. You may get one or two orders here and there. The profit will be negligible but the joy would not. All the while you are still investing in new and better equipment to work faster and turn out a higher and more consistent quality.

6. Once you are confident in your abilities you can really start to promote yourself. Advertise to people that they just need to show you a picture of the style you want, pick a colour and material from your list and send you their measurements. Make it easy to be a customer. Make it fun to be a customer. Build honest relationships with your customers to have them returning for more.

7. After you have enough customers you can start marketing to small businesses or get your own store (I advise against this because it just packs on unnecessary expenses).

8. Now work at making the business run itself by reinvesting he profits into buying new equipment and materials. When it starts making more and more profit you can let it start to pay more and more of your bills until you are your own business owner.

But just to reiterate what Toyolink said, be realistic and know that this process can take 10-20 years. But, by keeping your office job you will never be required to make a certain turnover every month and you can keep it as a hobby that just makes you money.

Postby Slartibartfast » May 21st, 2014, 11:33 am

Details wrote: honestly I feel if op had an open relationship with God she/he won't be so depress etc...

My God is a jealous God. He won't allow me to have an open relationship.

Postby bluesteel29 » May 21st, 2014, 11:40 am

Conrad

Postby Conrad » May 21st, 2014, 12:17 pm

LovinDiva wrote:I hate my office job and all office jobs in particular. I have no clue what I want to do in this life. I've tried taking time away and still can't figure it out. I like working, but all my jobs seems mediocore and not what I like to do. I like things like sewing, radiobraodcasting you know non-conventional jobs. I would love to have my own business but everytime I always get shut down by the "investors" - aka government ministries, banks, credit unions, I have business plans and marketing plans laid out nicely. I just down't kknow. I'm confused, demotivated and depressed as well.I have my degree and it's like I'm not even sure where to go or what to do now. Please some honet advice is needed here. :?:

Do you have kids?
Have you tried staying in the kitchen OP?

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » May 21st, 2014, 6:20 pm

u need to get to the source of that depression. maybe its just the environment that youre in that has you feeling that way. take some time off to de stress and dabble in your hobbies only and see how you feel. or try changing jobs, at the end of everything you want to start your own business so take your time and build your capital and your ideas . youre still young so dont be so hard on yourself.

Postby SmokeyGTi » May 22nd, 2014, 8:36 am

OP...what are you good at?
is what you are good at what you like doing?

if not, what do you like?
would a profession in that area pay enough for you to live comfortably?
what are your skill and knowledge gaps in relation to this profession? ==> what do you need to do to bridge the gaps? (training, education)

the question about pay is very relevant here. no sense doing what you like and not being able to afford to live..
rather, do something to pay the bills as your main job and on the side, do what makes you happy - it brings extra income and keeps you sane.

Postby TRAE » May 22nd, 2014, 8:40 am

stuepz this is the ched i walk in? one crying mofo with self issues?

*Nebula*

Postby *Nebula* » May 22nd, 2014, 6:28 pm

think of it as the job pays for you to do the things you love...it works for me. However if you can't seem to find a balance then maybe it's time to look for something else.

Postby nervewrecker » May 22nd, 2014, 6:30 pm

Do like Claudia and sell god stones for healing on Facebook.

All kinda $300.00 ah stone.

russian123

starting talapia farming

Postby russian123 » June 10th, 2014, 2:06 pm

So I have available space in my backyard to do a.pond or tank system. Problem is to get approved as a fish farmer you have to meet fisheries requirements. Ie really big commercial scale. Then seafood development company only buys the tilapia from you if you're a registered farmer. Thinking about doing it small scale first. Anyone knows about a market for tilapia, where do I sell the fish, e.g. groceries, proximate, doing research to.establish a market so I can start small and then hopefully expand. Want to.do aquafonics also

Feedback ppl ?

SNIPER 3000

Re: starting talapia farming

Postby SNIPER 3000 » June 10th, 2014, 2:25 pm

Inside for info.

Re: starting talapia farming

Postby tr1ad » June 10th, 2014, 2:31 pm

very saturated market at the moment, especially for export, if you're going small scale simply tell the neighbours, restaurants etc and then look to expand based on clientele

SDC/National Fisheries - you can go in and collect their documents, they have the guidelines to follow to become certified

the talapia spawn quickly, but best advice would be to separate the pond and acquire a super male and super female to ensure the spawning process. the super male can guarantee a spawn of only male or female, based on which you get
    not sure if any are still available locally but if they are i'm sure the local farms would want a pretty hefty sum for one