Sound Systems Discussion, please read first post

Would you support a local P.A. System / DJ Forum???

Yes
88%
No
12%

Total votes: 167

cherrypopper

Re: P.A. Systems, DJ Systems, Pro audio men.....

Postby cherrypopper » May 15th, 2014, 10:08 am

Dj warehouse

intelMAX

Postby intelMAX » May 15th, 2014, 10:16 am

^ Thanks, will check them.

intelMAX

Postby intelMAX » May 15th, 2014, 10:31 am

DJ Warehouse also has no stock.

Anywhere else?

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » May 15th, 2014, 11:23 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:I've heard the L1's in a live environment. they provide surprisingly good horizontal coverage. the need to be crossed kinda high though, vocals sounded a little tinny. then again it could be a product of the sound engineering.

tested the little bass module that goes with the L1 at cross crossing store and if you're looking to cover 1000+ people you're gonna need more than just 1.

Was considering a 4X8 .

Postby SmokeyGTi » May 15th, 2014, 5:39 pm

4x8 might work.. You'll certainly hear it, and not feel it. Which aint a bad thing really. PA gigs are not car show lol

BTW anybody selling an el cheapo eq (Gemini) and a GPA 5000?
*edit..xga 5000
I have some non powered monitors I looking to put to use.
Last edited by SmokeyGTi on May 15th, 2014, 6:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby X_Factor » May 15th, 2014, 5:48 pm

SmokeyGTi wrote:4x8 might work.. You'll certainly hear it, and not feel it. Which aint a bad thing really. PA gigs are not car show lol

BTW anybody selling an el cheapo eq (Gemini) and a GPA 5000?
I have some non powered monitors I looking to put to use.

he hadda be wary of the band thats gonna be using the system as well....most of them like it pretty loud with thumping bass, even if they are just playing for 10 ppl

Postby SmokeyGTi » May 15th, 2014, 5:49 pm

Trini like hototo...

Edit from previous post..looking for a gemini xga 5000

intelMAX

Postby intelMAX » May 16th, 2014, 10:15 am

intelMAX wrote:Looking for a EV elx18p Sub.

Anyone know what I can get one. Already checked Streamline Systems and they got no stock.

Anywhere else guys?

Already checked -

Streamline Systems
Dj Warehouse
CET
Balroops (very over-priced $7***)

DJ

Postby DJ » May 16th, 2014, 11:51 am

^^Triple R in Sando had, but dont know if they still have. But why you looking for these? Just to match the tops? Believe it or not, they are in no way comparable to their matching tops.

IMHO the ELX subs fail badly compared to the ELX tops which are amazing. You have to get two ELX 18"subs to properly keep up with one ELX115P top!!

If you can afford it, you are much much better off with the Yorkeville LS801P.

intelMAX

Postby intelMAX » May 16th, 2014, 1:56 pm

Yes, to match my tops, but might have to rethink based on your view.

What price range does the yorkville LS801P goes for?

Postby SmokeyGTi » May 16th, 2014, 3:05 pm

^^10K + per each - DJ Warehouse (not sure they have in stock now though).

he's right about the EV subs, they're clean but no spl!
limit light comes on very early!

A good bang for buck would be the Behringers, priced somewhere between 5-6K. Try Gopauls.

intelMAX

Postby intelMAX » May 16th, 2014, 5:54 pm

I called DJ Warehouse $11000 for the yorkville (bit over my budget)

Gopauls got the Behringer B1800D-PRO for $5995, will research it and I'll let you guys know what I go with.

Thanks for advice

Postby SmokeyGTi » May 16th, 2014, 9:11 pm

Would love to hear your review when you demo

stealth

Postby stealth » May 17th, 2014, 5:59 pm

Im looking to buy a good set of powered speakers (subs and tops)

So far the options i have is the DAS Action215A and the JBL PRX725

both are around the same price, but i am not getting any subs in stock (i have to wait for 1 month for either matching sub).

Anyone has any other suggestions?
I have been hearing about yorkville but unable to get a demo .

other suggestions or brands?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » May 17th, 2014, 10:50 pm

intelMAX wrote:I called DJ Warehouse $11000 for the yorkville (bit over my budget)

Gopauls got the Behringer B1800D-PRO for $5995, will research it and I'll let you guys know what I go with.

Thanks for advice

Yeah them EV subs is rel waste. The tops are excellent tho. Aye if you want to consider the Soundstream, Steve's has them. They demo in the store for free. They sound way better than the Gemini, but I have not compared them to the behringer. But I think they are round the same price. Steve's does a good comparison demo if you request it and they don't get vex if you decide not to buy. I find for a cheap sub, the Soundstream sounds pretty decent.

DYNAMIX SOUND SYSTEM

Postby DYNAMIX SOUND SYSTEM » May 19th, 2014, 9:30 am

iirc the club upstairs rig has that model Behringer subs, remember seeing 1 there with the dustcap apart.

stealth:
my advice is save and buy the Yorkvilles, you wud not regret the investment.

Whats the application of the self powered set tho?

intelMAX

Postby intelMAX » May 19th, 2014, 10:54 am

Purchased the Behringer sub. from Gopaul Saturday.

Nice punchy bass compared the alto, really satisfied with it. Sounds great with my EV 15s
Anyways thanks for all the replies and advice guys, appreciate it!

Postby SmokeyGTi » May 19th, 2014, 1:12 pm

nice.... glad to hear.
When i demoed the alto's they did not sound as sensitive.
The tone was also more balanced and not as punchy as the behringers.

Samo

Postby Samo » May 19th, 2014, 4:07 pm

hey guys.. nice to see the DJ thread up an abt..
Anyway, i have a DDJ SX for sale. - grt condition- $6000.00
If anyone interested - 759-0819.

juiced1

Postby juiced1 » June 3rd, 2014, 9:57 am

Recently used my six (6) EV ELX112P at a live function. Imho, they cant stand for quite a long time...one of them got so hot it failed. Got rid of these and took advantage of RAA sale recently with the JBL PRX 712 and 715, these are quite impressive!

Postby SmokeyGTi » June 3rd, 2014, 10:09 pm

Wait....raa had sale? Dammit...I does always find out after!

BTW ah selling a small amp and preamp
viewtopic.php?t=576559

sstrading

Postby sstrading » June 10th, 2014, 11:15 pm

For sale: Allen and Heath ZED-24 http://www.allen-heath.com/ahproducts/zed-24/

$2500.00...just tested never used

471-4898

clone101

Postby clone101 » June 11th, 2014, 12:19 am

Took them out to do a small birthday lime Friday.
2014-06-06-0597(0).jpg

Samo

Postby Samo » June 14th, 2014, 9:23 am

clone wan oh wan yuh selling?

clone101

Postby clone101 » June 14th, 2014, 9:46 am

have a sl1 ...

arnold_k69

Postby arnold_k69 » June 16th, 2014, 8:22 am

anybody here have any jbl225 speakers for sale, even if non working?

DYNAMIX SOUND SYSTEM

Postby DYNAMIX SOUND SYSTEM » June 18th, 2014, 8:34 am

any 1 looking for a controller I have a Pioneer ddj s1 for sale $3500.00 - 764 3824

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » June 19th, 2014, 10:22 pm

I have a numark i dj 2 for $1000 cant go wrong here ppl

Postby SmokeyGTi » June 26th, 2014, 7:47 pm

Hey guys, Who in Trinidad sells b-52 audio?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » June 26th, 2014, 9:04 pm

SmokeyGTi wrote:Hey guys, Who in Trinidad sells b-52 audio?

I saw some in Gopaul's in Sando sum years ago. Don't know if still carry it.