Why would and indian couple adopt a white baby?

Re: Why would and indian couple adopt a white baby?

Postby AllTrac » May 15th, 2014, 2:34 pm

K74T wrote:
rodfarva wrote:
Azzuri wrote:This couple is the typical, super rich (A5, Prado, mansion) 'brahmin' hindu couple.

Based on the wording above, I'd guess that you took issue with them even before adoption time

This.

yup, copious amount of jelly and tote level = expert.

Postby j.o.e » May 15th, 2014, 2:34 pm

zoom rader wrote:Warty sahh real racist in tuner these days

things getting bad when ZR scared

Postby rfari » May 15th, 2014, 2:47 pm

j.o.e wrote:I can put a Bollywood movie on mute and tell you who are the good guys and bad guys...all in the skin tone ;)

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » May 15th, 2014, 2:55 pm

j.o.e wrote:Glad you can find celebrities and individuals etc....it doesn't take away from my point that light skin tone has been indoctrinated as a trait in many East Indians via caste and religion...but maybe you can't see that. It really doesn't bother me that you can't admit a well documented fact...suppose just now you will post MJ
I can put a Bollywood movie on mute and tell you who are the good guys and bad guys...all in the skin tone ;)

I guess the point just flew over your head, I never denied that Indian's have skin color obsession (umm not indoctrinated via religion, that's what PNM like to promote, not to bring it politics) . I am pointing out the fact that it is becoming largely a non-issue and many "dark" ppl, regardless of status sees lighter skin as the better option. How can it still be racism when even powerful and influential prominent black members of society openly promote lightening their skin? The same black success stories that suppose to empower other dark skin ppl to accept and excel for who they are!!! But I guess that is not an important question or issue...........? Only that Indian's have "brahmin" issues, whatever that means.

I could care less that brown skin ppl want to be light skin, the fact is brown ppl can be both dark or light skinned depending on their exposure to the sun (regardless of race). But when born and bred dark skin folks (now regardless of race) want to get lighter skin and doing so regardless of class and status, then I think that's a problem..........correct me if I am wrong

Postby j.o.e » May 15th, 2014, 3:00 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:
I guess the point just flew over your head, I never denied that Indian's have skin color obsession (umm not indoctrinated via religion, that's what PNM like to promote, not to bring it politics) . I am pointing out the fact that it is becoming largely a non-issue and many "dark" ppl, regardless of status sees lighter skin as the better option. How can it still be racism when even powerful and influential prominent black members of society openly promote lightening their skin? The same black success stories that suppose to empower other dark skin ppl to accept and excel for who they are!!! But I guess that is not an important question or issue...........? Only that Indian's have "brahmin" issues, whatever that means.

I could care less that brown skin ppl want to be light skin, the fact is brown ppl can be both dark or light skinned depending on their exposure to the sun (regardless of race). But when born and bred black folks want to get lighter skin and doing so regardless of class and status, then I think that's a problem..........correct me if I am wrong

Stopped reading there........thanks for saving me the time. Debate done, Indians complexion preference is because of PNM. :lol:

Postby 88sins » May 15th, 2014, 3:07 pm

take longer than usual fur politics to reach in dis

good to c i wasnt disappointed

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » May 15th, 2014, 3:11 pm

j.o.e wrote:
mamoo_pagal wrote:

I could care less that brown skin ppl want to be light skin, the fact is brown ppl can be both dark or light skinned depending on their exposure to the sun (regardless of race). But when born and bred black folks want to get lighter skin and doing so regardless of class and status, then I think that's a problem..........correct me if I am wrong

Stopped reading there........thanks for saving me the time. Debate done, Indians complexion preference is because of PNM. :lol:

lol.......:D But would still like a reply to the rest, could never seem to get a response!

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 15th, 2014, 3:13 pm

What other people of different race (generally) do is not relevant to j.o.e.'s point
Responding to his statement with "well, so and so does do the same thing" doesn't negate the point.

Though at the same time, I dont know how valid that point is

dread_2002

Postby dread_2002 » May 15th, 2014, 3:19 pm

if u bathe a indian child in cake soap from birth..would they turn white?

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » May 15th, 2014, 3:20 pm

rodfarva wrote:What other people of different race (generally) do is not relevant to j.o.e.'s point
Responding to his statement with "well, so and so does do the same thing" doesn't negate the point.

Though at the same time, I dont know how valid that point is

Again all is there to read, I never said j.o.e was wrong with what he said about trini indian's (based on his interactions) I am not disagreeing or justifying it. I am saying that this skin issue thing has now crossed traditional stigmas (vs being attributed to mainly Indian culture). Now that it seems to be generally adopted by more "civilized" societies by large what is the implication of that?

Postby j.o.e » May 15th, 2014, 3:21 pm

My point started with the facts initiated in this thread about the cpl etc...and I said it's their choice what race they should adopt but skin colour has been valued by East Indians as it relates to caste and cultural notions passed down over generations. So why not get a caucasian child if it satisfies consciously or subconsciously some deep seated need........then you decided to attempt to use examples of other groups or individuals of varying races who 'bleach' to suggest I was wrong about indian ppl......Then PNM :|

I dunno...where do i go from there?

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » May 15th, 2014, 3:29 pm

j.o.e wrote:My point started with the facts initiated in this thread about the cpl etc...and I said it's their choice what race they should adopt but skin colour has been valued by East Indians as it relates to caste and cultural notions passed down over generations. So why not get a caucasian child if it satisfies consciously or subconsciously some deep seated need........then you decided to attempt to use examples of other groups or individuals who of varying races who 'bleach' to suggest I was wrong about indian ppl......Then PNM :|

I dunno...where do i go from there?

sigh, this is getting tiresome now. Read again from the start, I never said you were wrong about Indian ppl and their obsession (if your experience points to it, well so be it), the idea was to point out that in 2014 "light skin" has become a aspiration of various shades of "brown/dark" skin ppl, now what is the implication/indication of this?

lol The PNM thing was irrelevant, come on!

Postby j.o.e » May 15th, 2014, 3:40 pm

Shows how lost you are....I never mentioned racism. Anyone who bleaches their skin has their own reasons whether its inferiority complexes, media, racism in their jurisdiction etc. Indians aren't racist when we talk about their views of skin colour among other Indians.They have been conditioned over thousands of years (even prior to arriving here) to use skin colour as a measure of class/caste. I have quoted many publications above to explain when this started. The only reason I have discussed this is because OP sought to suggest that there was a link between her Indian acquaintances perceived affluence and their preception of skin colour....and historically there is.

dread_2002

Postby dread_2002 » May 15th, 2014, 3:46 pm

j.o.e wrote:Shows how lost you are....I never mentioned racism. Anyone who bleaches their skin has their own reasons whether its inferiority complexes, media, racism in their jurisdiction etc. Indians aren't racist when we talk about their views of skin colour among other Indians.They have been conditioned over thousands of years (even prior to arriving here) to use skin colour as a measure of class/caste. I have quoted many publications above to explain when this started. The only reason I have discussed this is because OP sought to suggest that there was a link between her Indian acquaintances perceived affluence and their preception of skin colour....and historically there is.

its true.. indians girls love white boys

and some indians have never even seen the sun.. like dem allergic

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » May 15th, 2014, 3:51 pm

j.o.e wrote:Shows how lost you are....I never mentioned racism. Anyone who bleaches their skin has their own reasons whether its inferiority complexes, media, racism in their jurisdiction etc. Indians aren't racist when we talk about their views of skin colour among other Indians.They have been conditioned over thousands of years (even prior to arriving here) to use skin colour as a measure of class/caste. I have quoted many publications above to explain when this started. The only reason I have discussed this is because OP sought to suggest that there was a link between her Indian acquaintances perceived affluence and their preception of skin colour....and historically there is.

arite, I see you are having some difficulty in reading and will leave it there lol. I never mentioned racism, but yet you see it there..........seems to be the usual response when any attempt is made to deal with the issue of ppl seeing lighter skin as a "better" option. If you really were concerned about the issue of light skin obsession and not just Indians obsession with it you would have understood.....
But such is a lost cause in sweet T&T.............cheers

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 15th, 2014, 3:55 pm

DFC wrote:Same reason why i have a german shepherd and not rottweiler or pitbull.

German shepherd master race >all other dogs.

LOL

Postby j.o.e » May 15th, 2014, 4:01 pm

Dude...you have no point...you agree with me and it's hard to admit, took you a long time to come around. This is about a particular cpl of a particular race and their possible motivations. Random bleaching stories can be for another thread and another time
nodarkies.jpg

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » May 15th, 2014, 4:05 pm

Men taking chain up like wow!
Azzuri...u good!

Postby j.o.e » May 15th, 2014, 4:13 pm

side note.....Azzuri that's you in the pic? wha we go do?

regards Shiv

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » May 15th, 2014, 4:17 pm

TrinbagoMan wrote:
It does not HAVE to be racism: lets just say they knew the family, and based on this decided to adopt the child.

But PLEASE!! Dont play like allyuh dont know what racial look people prefer. The white, blue eyed child will be more desirable by the couple, especially if they have brahmin attitudes.

Most people make more fuss over light skinned children than darker children. Individuals even choose mates to give them children with white and light skin and certain hair textures. So it is very reasonable to conclude that a couple leaving thousands of non white children, and adopting one of the VERY FEW white children up for adoption is very influenced by them having a race preference.

Give tuners the same choice, and i think their choices will be similar. You can see it in their standard of beauty, their wives/girlfriends, their sexual fantasies and their preferred whores.

This has to be the dumbest thing I've read all day. So any man / woman who chooses a person of a different race is a racist........steups. If so then nearly all of us here are racists.

So if a couple of different ethnicities adopt a child of a different race does that make them racists?

OP is implying that the couple chose a white baby over other races or that race played a part in their decision but that statement is incorrect without further information. Suppose the mother had asked them to take the child because she was unable to support it.

Sigh.......assumptions the mother of all f....

:evilbat:

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 15th, 2014, 4:20 pm

Garrett Inside wrote:Men taking chain up like wow!
Azzuri...u good

Regards shiv!

FTFY

Postby rfari » May 15th, 2014, 4:29 pm

Maybe i can drop my black baby in heaven joke?

Postby MG Man » May 15th, 2014, 4:48 pm

so...........page four summary: adopt all the black pickney first and then maaaaybe consider perhaps possibly adopt a white chile, otherwise something wrong wid yuh
:-/

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 15th, 2014, 5:07 pm

OP

You racist for assuming that they racist.

You see in others what you WANT to see.

To me all I seeing is 2 people wanting to give a child a chance to grow up with a normal lifestyle,
they prolly just knew the girl personally or sumn?

So what you wanted them to do? Just leave the lil baby there to grow up in a shitty home because he/she not black?

Postby 1UZFE » May 15th, 2014, 5:11 pm

I feel iz OP baby dat get adopted..

Postby Les Bain » May 15th, 2014, 5:13 pm

Wonder how OP would have felt if the same couple adopted an Indian baby instead?

Y'know, since there's an abundance of black babies to be adopted and all...

Postby gastly369 » May 15th, 2014, 5:17 pm

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » May 15th, 2014, 5:21 pm

j.o.e wrote:Dude...you have no point...you agree with me and it's hard to admit, took you a long time to come around. This is about a particular cpl of a particular race and their possible motivations. Random bleaching stories can be for another thread and another time

Last reply, my point is way farther than you can see but I don't expect u to understand. I never disagreed from the beginning. Reading and comprehending very simple. By u saying random answers my point. It is only fact when is brahman ppl...../joefail

Postby bluefete » May 15th, 2014, 5:38 pm

I think I'll leave this here.

Too black to be PM’: shackles of mental slavery
By Ronald Sanders

Story Created: Feb 18, 2014 at 8:19 PM ECT
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/commenta ... 67311.html

Of all the offensive—and unintelligent—statements made in the politics of the post-independence Caribbean, an assertion that Dr Keith Rowley, the Leader of the Opposition in Trinidad and Tobago, is “too black” to be Prime Minister, has to rate as the worst.

It is a telling indictment of the persons through whose minds the thought passed without perishing and from whose mouths the stupidity was uttered. Fitzgerald Hinds, a former senator of Dr Rowley’s political party, the People’s National Movement (PNM), is reported to have warned at a political meeting that “a group of businessmen and former PNM ministers have agreed that Dr Rowley is too dark in complexion to become prime minister.”

In the past, this asinine attitude has been expressed in other Caribbean countries. For instance, in Jamaica, there was the claim that Norman and Michael Manley were not black, nor were Alexander Bustamante and Donald Sangster.

When P J Patterson became prime minister in 1992, some circles in Jamaica actually said he was the country’s “first black prime minister”. Before he was elected, it was doubted that the Jamaican people were “ready for a black prime minister”. As it turned out, PJ Patterson was not only a successful Prime Minister elected to serve at his country’s helm for 14 years; he was also highly regarded in the international community.

In the Eastern Caribbean, the same nonsense was whispered—not always quietly—in many places including St Lucia, St Vincent and Dominica. The notion that blackness is a taint was used as a political weapon with the underlying inference that being of “too dark complexion” rendered any such person as unelectable even to other black people who constituted the majority in countries such as Jamaica, St Lucia, St Vincent and Dominica.

Of course, none of the leaders of these countries—not Jamaica’s Michael Manley, Trinidad and Tobago’s Eric Williams, Dominica’s Eugenia Charles, and St Lucia’s John Compton—would have counted themselves as anything but black. And the Caribbean and the world would be hard-pressed to find more outstanding champions of black causes worldwide than Michael Manley and Eric Williams.

Also, there is nothing in the Caribbean’s political history that discredits its leaders of “dark complexion”. Barbados’ Erskine Sandiford; The Bahamas’ Lynden Pindling and Hubert Ingraham; St Kitts-Nevis’ Robert Bradshaw, Lee Moore and Kennedy Simmonds are all testament to leaders of quality, the dark complexion of whose skin mattered not a jot to the execution of their duties or their representation of their people.

The statement about Dr Rowley rightly caused a stir in Trinidad and Tobago. Regrettably, it also attracted the attention of international news broadcasters, such as the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC), that not only reported on what must have been to its reporters a very curious phenomenon but they also sought to probe the causes behind it. To the international listener, Trinidad and Tobago must have seemed like a very odd place—one which is concerned with gradations of blackness as a qualification for its leaders.

That in 2014, almost two centuries after slavery was abolished with all the shades of colour that made slaves more valuable only according to the whims of slave owners, complexion still preoccupies the minds of persons who hold (or held) offices of state, is a tragic commentary on those persons. It ignores the reality of dark-complexioned people leading in fields such as the judiciary, medicine, education, science and technology, and sport. It is worse that the perceived stigma of “dark complexion” that reportedly alarms some members of the PNM for that political party has always been seen as representing predominantly black people.

Had the statement about Dr Rowley been made by members of the ruling United National Congress (UNC) party whose support base is mostly East Indian, the charge of racism would immediately have been made.

The repercussions might have been grave in a society which has not yet fully overcome the challenges of its racial diversity. Of course, there are also Indians of “dark complexion” and it leads to speculation that the doubts expressed about Dr Rowley’s electability might also apply to an equally dark-complexioned Indian. Is the issue then more one of colour than of race?

Those who peddle the nonsense aboutcomplexion should be reminded of the words of Dr Martin Luther King Jr that people “should not be judged by the colour of their skin, but by the content of their character”. They would also do well to recall Bob Marley’s admonition: “Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery; none but ourselves can free our mind.”

They should also be careful that in expressing their own prejudices, they are not wrongfully assuming that the electorate of Trinidad and Tobago is as bigoted and small-minded as they are.

Dr Rowley is being challenged for the leadership of the PNM on May 18 by Pennelope Beckles-Robinson. There was a time when politicians and others in Trinidad and Tobago would have said that a woman could never become leader of a political party or the country’s prime minister.

The present UNC leader and Prime Minister, Kamla Persad-Bissessar, has debunked that assertion. The contest between Dr Rowley and Ms Beckles-Robinson should be on their intellectual capacity, competence and qualities to lead their party and perhaps become the next Prime Minister.

It is leadership, vision, proficiency and commitment that all political parties everywhere need. That has nothing to do with the shameful and absurd argument about complexion which certainly has no place in today’s Caribbean.

• Sir Ronald Sanders is a

consultant, senior

research fellow at London

University and former Caribbean diplomat
Last edited by bluefete on May 15th, 2014, 5:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sliderz1 » May 15th, 2014, 5:39 pm

1UZFE wrote:I feel iz OP baby dat get adopted..

OP is a cornt