Dr. To King-Dre? (N.B.A.T)

Postby shogun » May 9th, 2014, 10:17 am

Apple's $3.2B Beats Buy Would Make Dre Rap's Richest Man

Dr. Dre leapfrogged Jay Z in FORBES’ latest rankings of hip-hop’s richest artists, claiming the number two position as his net worth soared to an estimated $550 million. Now it looks like the Beats cofounder could lay claim to the top spot in a matter of days.

Late Thursday night, the Financial Times reported that Apple AAPL -0.86% was in talks to buy Beats for $3.2 billion; the deal would be the computer giant’s largest acquisition ever. Dre’s stake in Beats currently stands at somewhere around 20-25%; we valued the company at $2 billion in our latest round of estimates.

A sale for $3.2 billion would nearly double the value of Dre’s holdings, though capital gains taxes could take a bite out of his big payday, likely leaving him with a net worth in the neighborhood of $800 million. It’s not quite enough to land on the Forbes 400, but it would easily make him hip-hop’s richest man, topping current champion Diddy by $100 million.

“Beats has a unique brand—it speaks to a nice young demographic, which is really interesting to marketers,” said Peter Csathy, former president of Musicmatch, an early digital music purveyor acquired by Yahoo YHOO +0.31% in 2004 for $160 million. “When I think about Beats, I think about it as a lifestyle, I think of it as a media company, not just a hardware and music-focused company.”

The value of that brand would also make a handful of other wealthy entrepreneurs even wealthier if the Apple deal goes through. Beats recently raised $60 million in funding from current investors including Dre, cofounder Jimmy Iovine and billionaire Len Blavatnik, via his company Access Industries.

A sale would also nix the possibility of a Beats IPO, which some speculated could be in the offing after the company hired chief financial officer An De Vooght, who spent 16 years in a similar role at Red Bull after stints at Sony and Price Waterhouse, in March.

Apple’s Beats buyout is still not official, and could certainly fall through. In the meantime, though, Dre appears set to break new ground in the business of music yet again.

http://www.forbes.com/sites/zackomalley ... chest-man/

Re: Dr. To King-Dre? (N.B.A.T)

Postby zoom rader » May 9th, 2014, 10:47 am

Beats headphones are over rated, costly and not all that.

Postby Spitfir3 » May 9th, 2014, 11:30 am

^^i think we all know that by now its the name you pay for
ballin doh come cheap

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 9th, 2014, 11:34 am

zoom rader wrote:Beats headphones are over rated, costly and not all that.

so is bose. Doesnt stop people from buying in.
plus, audio is subjective. some people like what beats offers

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » May 9th, 2014, 11:52 am

They seem to be more interested of the Beats streaming service as a main reason for the buy according to this article
http://mashable.com/2014/05/08/apple-be ... -main-link

with respect to the headphones, I owned a few different headphones and a Beats Solo HD was one of them. Most people that constantly bash beats and say they are crap probably never really had experience with them (not talking about walking in a store and listening to them , cuz i listen to a few in best buy and they sounded horrible compared to the pair I owned.)

They really are overrated for their price range and are not the best and you can get better headphones for less $ but they still sound pretty decent, not bad but not the best, just a pretty good marketing.

Postby zoom rader » May 9th, 2014, 12:25 pm

rodfarva wrote:

Bose is the best for noise cancelling. When your on an aircraft and you got in on you don't hear the surroundings with aircraft noise or crying babies.

Yeo

Postby Yeo » May 9th, 2014, 2:09 pm

When your on an aircraft and you got in on you don't hear the surroundings with aircraft noise or crying babies.

After reading that.... I prefer crying babies... LMAO :lol: :lol:

Postby noshownogo » May 9th, 2014, 2:16 pm

Fashion statements pfft

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 9th, 2014, 2:22 pm

Monster Audio must be crying right now considering the Beats were their idea and Dre outsmarted them out of it
rodfarva wrote:

Bose is the best for noise cancelling. When your on an aircraft and you got in on you don't hear the surroundings with aircraft noise or crying babies.
ironic that you want noise canceling.

Postby zoom rader » May 9th, 2014, 2:40 pm

^^^ had beats did not like it. It has a heavy bass line .

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 9th, 2014, 2:43 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Monster Audio must be crying right now considering the Beats were their idea and Dre outsmarted them out of it
rodfarva wrote:

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby shogun » May 9th, 2014, 4:14 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Monster Audio must be crying right now considering the Beats were their idea and Dre outsmarted them out of it
rodfarva wrote:

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » May 9th, 2014, 4:23 pm

look who have one now
th.jpg
th.jpg (6.13 KiB) Viewed 3693 times

kdere

Postby kdere » May 9th, 2014, 4:25 pm

matthewmazda wrote:look who have one now

Rel late....since 2011

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » May 9th, 2014, 11:02 pm

Wasn't he a billionaire before, just had it in assets and not cold hard cash. How stupid to sell. But then again he head hard, rather cash in hand rather than assets,

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » May 10th, 2014, 12:28 am

IvanTerrors wrote:Wasn't he a billionaire before, just had it in assets and not cold hard cash. How stupid to sell. But then again he head hard, rather cash in hand rather than assets,

clearly u dunno wdh u tlking abt

Nissian for life

Postby Nissian for life » May 10th, 2014, 12:52 am

IvanTerrors wrote:Wasn't he a billionaire before, just had it in assets and not cold hard cash. How stupid to sell. But then again he head hard, rather cash in hand rather than assets,
no i dont think the entire company belongs to him mabye 25%

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » May 10th, 2014, 6:46 am

wait, Apple is buying an overrated, and overpriced product? O.o

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » May 10th, 2014, 7:55 am

tourniquet wrote:wait, Apple is buying an overrated, and overpriced product? O.o

Yes... Because 3/4 of americans believe its the best headphones ever... As well as 90% of the musicians and artist....

Check lil wayne's $1Million beats... Rotfl!

kerwindaboss

Postby kerwindaboss » May 10th, 2014, 8:03 am

One over rated and over priced company buys another :-o

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » May 10th, 2014, 9:46 am

I does use one ah dem $60 tt maxwell, it does work good nuff bass

Average

Postby Average » May 10th, 2014, 9:52 am

mark2.0 wrote:I does use one ah dem $60 tt maxwell, it does work good nuff bass

dais joke, the earbuds I got with my Lumia works just as great.

Beats headphones are like sunglasses, everyone wants the latest and most expensive sh|t even though they have little or no use for it.

Postby S_2NR » May 10th, 2014, 11:42 am

i happy for the man
yeah, beats headphones arent all that. but you not just paying for sound quality, u paying more for BRAND.
not surprised apple bought them. two heavily marketed companies with alot in common.

Postby javishm » May 10th, 2014, 12:00 pm

zoom rader wrote:^^^ had beats did not like it. It has a heavy bass line .

I think that what they intended it for

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 10th, 2014, 12:53 pm

kerwindaboss wrote:One over rated and over priced company buys another :-o

rubbish ^
Apple isnt overrated.

Postby 1UZFE » May 10th, 2014, 12:56 pm

My Skull candy good enough for me.
Watches porn in peace..

Postby SR » May 10th, 2014, 1:09 pm

rodfarva wrote:

Monster got a taste of what they have ben doing for years

Postby shogun » May 10th, 2014, 2:27 pm

SR wrote:Monster got a taste of what they have ben doing for years

Heh...

Postby pugboy » May 10th, 2014, 3:07 pm

Dre is a very smart fella, make a lot of money as a producer
And have the hiphop subculture youths buying his status headphones

Postby Trini Hookah » May 10th, 2014, 5:40 pm

Was reading an article that it's a fashion more than headphones, and Dre never cared about that title as long as the cheques kept coming.