Gas prices decline even further in Jamaica

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 7th, 2014, 9:04 pm

Petroleum products supplied by Petrojam will see a decrease in prices as of May 8, 2013. A litre of E10-90 gasoline will be sold for TT$7.30, while E10-87 will be sold for TT$7.21 following a TT$0.11 decrease. Ultra Low Sulphur Diesel will cost TT$7.69 after a TT$0.07 drop, Ultra Low Sulphur Diesel will cost TT$7.58 after a TT$0.11 drop, while regular Diesel will fall by TT$0.10 to cost TT$7.26. The price of Kerosene slips by TT$0.09 and will see it being sold for TT$7.33 per litre. Butane sees a TT$0.05 slide to cost TT$3.41, while Propane decreases by TT$0.06 to cost TT$3.13. Retailers will add their own markups, to the prices quoted.
each gas station has a different price at the pump in Jamaica depending on where the gas station is located and the brand of the fuel: Shell, Texaco etc. Each station adds on their profit to the costs of the fuels listed above.

for perspective, Premium is almost twice the cost in Jamaica than in T&T while Super is almost 3 times higher in Jamaica even after the continued decline in fuel prices there.

Re: Gas prices decline even further in Jamaica

Postby supercharged turbo » May 7th, 2014, 10:05 pm

But yet trinis bawling if they hear diesel or super go up by $0.10

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » May 7th, 2014, 10:20 pm

Fuel subsidy

Postby S_2NR » May 7th, 2014, 10:49 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:But yet trinis bawling if they hear diesel or super go up by $0.10

Didn't know Jamaica produces gas locally :/

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » May 7th, 2014, 11:15 pm

if the government tried that here, riot would ensure for the last of the cheap gas then the public system about to crash when new prices comes in

Shifter Kart

Postby Shifter Kart » May 7th, 2014, 11:37 pm

i cried when i saw TT gas prices when i was there last year. cried.

pluggie

Postby pluggie » May 8th, 2014, 1:38 am

Shifter Kart wrote:i cried when i saw TT gas prices when i was there last year. cried.

lol Anytime I want to make my work collegues pissed off , I just show then the petrol prices in Trinidad :) ... Petrol price in Trinidad is like driving for freaking free...

Postby zoom rader » May 8th, 2014, 2:48 am

pluggie wrote:
Shifter Kart wrote:i cried when i saw TT gas prices when i was there last year. cried.

lol Anytime I want to make my work collegues pissed off , I just show then the petrol prices in Trinidad :) ... Petrol price in Trinidad is like driving for freaking free...

Yeah but you forgot to show them what our car prices are like and that we pay anywhere from 1.5 to 2 times the price of a normal car say as in the US or Uk.

Postby X2 » May 8th, 2014, 9:47 am

Our car prices are easily 2 times what you would expect to pay elsewhere. What do people think the fuel subsidy is FOR ? It's to keep the citizens from rioting when the government spends all of our energy sector income on putting up un-occupied buildings and don't spend in infrastructure.

here's a depressing game....

Step 1: find a car for sale in the US from any website... new or used car...
Step 2: take that price, multiply by 2, convert to TTD
Step 3: compare to the price the same model sells for in TnT... and see which price is higher.
Step 4: Don't hurt yourself.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » May 8th, 2014, 9:55 am

X2 wrote:Our car prices are easily 2 times what you would expect to pay elsewhere. What do people think the fuel subsidy is FOR ? It's to keep the citizens from rioting when the government spends all of our energy sector income on putting up un-occupied buildings and don't spend in infrastructure.

Step 3: compare to the price the same model sells for in TnT... and see which price is higher.

Slightl Adjusted....
the government spends all of our energy sector income on putting up un-occupied buildings and don't spend in infrastructure.
And paying millions more in rental and leaving the buildings empty

zcarz

Postby zcarz » May 8th, 2014, 11:52 am

Takes 600tt to fill up my tank here (40 litres) in the UK .. I cri everytime

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 8th, 2014, 12:19 pm

AutoSport wrote:
X2 wrote:Our car prices are easily 2 times what you would expect to pay elsewhere. What do people think the fuel subsidy is FOR ? It's to keep the citizens from rioting when the government spends all of our energy sector income on putting up un-occupied buildings and don't spend in infrastructure.

Slightl Adjusted....
the government spends all of our energy sector income on putting up un-occupied buildings and don't spend in infrastructure.
yes but don't they fill the empty buildings with desks and office chairs?

Postby X2 » May 8th, 2014, 6:09 pm

AutoSport wrote:

Slightl Adjusted....

yes but don't they fill the empty buildings with desks and office chairs?

You would certainly think so eh ? But you'd be wrong....

The entire government campus plaza and customs house has sat, empty and unfurnished for 5+ years... Pretty much every major construction project has sat, waiting for some criminal to figure out how to dupe the treasury and screw our hopes for real sustainable development.

most of those empty buildings will eventually be completed or 'converted' through government to government contracts utilizing special purpose, no-tender contract awards pushing single awards into the hundreds of millions of dollars, which are then disbursed to unqualified foreign contractors with no local offices... for product and finished goods coming from China and others.... all while bypassing local manufacturers, suppliers and service providers as much as possible...ensuring that we, as a country... continue our lives as broke-ass ni&&as and kewlies (don't tell Clarkson).

I will take my subsidized fuel prices, thank you... it ensures at least that a lil billion TTD somehow makes it BACK INTO the pockets of our 'non-connected' citizens.

Shifter Kart

Postby Shifter Kart » May 8th, 2014, 7:42 pm

pluggie wrote:

Yeah but you forgot to show them what our car prices are like and that we pay anywhere from 1.5 to 2 times the price of a normal car say as in the US or Uk.

same thing here. island life man.

Postby zoom rader » May 8th, 2014, 7:54 pm

zcarz wrote:Takes 600tt to fill up my tank here (40 litres) in the UK .. I cri everytime

Yeah but in the UK you have the world of cars at a fairly reasonably cost without the extortion of taxes that trinis face.

Postby supercharged turbo » May 8th, 2014, 8:18 pm

Although the prices for new cars kinda steep,if raj from down de road,rolling in ah hilux with 24's and he selling oysters...i don't see the part where it nt affordable

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » May 8th, 2014, 8:24 pm

pluggie wrote:

but the fuel is poooo

Postby supercharged turbo » May 8th, 2014, 8:52 pm

Good quality=high prices
Poor quality=current prices

Which one yuh war?

Postby desifemlove » May 8th, 2014, 11:13 pm

600 TT in UK? when yuh earn more than we do? and you have (if you in London) de Tube, buses, overground railways, coaches? lol...

Postby S_2NR » May 9th, 2014, 12:07 am

zcarz wrote:Takes 600tt to fill up my tank here (40 litres) in the UK .. I cri everytime

Yeah but in the UK you have the world of cars at a fairly reasonably cost without the extortion of taxes that trinis face.

That's an unfair comparison anyway. Its dollar for dollar. I won't go abroad and multiply everything by 6/10 and bawl it cheaper in Trinidad. There are other factors to consider.

pluggie

Postby pluggie » May 9th, 2014, 1:43 am

pluggie wrote:

true boi Zoom but it all has its advantages and disadvantages. A car in South Africa is cheaper than Trinidad but unless the owner has full service history by the dealer (which is quite expensive) then the car has no resale value. Is very rare to find a vehicle in SA without the full dealer history. Sorry to go off topic a bit ; Its the same with property, I can purchase a mansion on the beach for $2 mil TTD but it will cost me over $10K TTD / mth for utilities & maintenance...

Postby Ignorant Ignis » May 9th, 2014, 7:40 am

the jamaican gov't has been under heavy pressure about this for some time ..... and it's not even practical and will push them even further into debt considering the JA slipped from 106.00 to 110.00 to the usd between January and May

Postby zoom rader » May 9th, 2014, 10:39 am

S_2NR wrote:

That's an unfair comparison anyway. Its dollar for dollar. I won't go abroad and multiply everything by 6/10 and bawl it cheaper in Trinidad. There are other factors to consider.

It's not really unfair.
In trini cheap gas in return for higher taxes on new cars , bad roads and high maintenance.
In UK expensive gas in return to fairly reasonably cost of mid size cars that can be accessed by sometimes 0% interest rates and overall good roads. Owning a sports car in the UK is no big deal .

If we did pay the real cost of fuel I am sure the car prices and taxes will fall rapidly.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 9th, 2014, 10:44 am

I've found that cars in the UK are not cheaper than cars locally. What cars so are cheaper in the UK?

Postby zoom rader » May 9th, 2014, 11:20 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I've found that cars in the UK are not cheaper than cars locally. What cars so are cheaper in the UK?

The cost of buying a mid size car in the UK is far cheaper if you are working in the UK . You can get an F type jag at £495 interest free.
eg avg take home pay is £2000 after taxes repayment on mid size car is avg £300 to £400, most at 0% interest
In trini avg pay is $8000, car payment is avg $3500 to $4500 at 7 to 8% interest.

Postby pete » May 9th, 2014, 11:24 am

Insurance in the UK is also >>>> Trinidad.

Postby zoom rader » May 9th, 2014, 11:28 am

pete wrote:Insurance in the UK is also >>>> Trinidad.

Insurance is more in uk means less ass holes to deal with. Driving in the UK is about how safe are you as driver. In trini is more capital and bonce and loss with some drunk aasshole boy racer

src1983

Postby src1983 » May 9th, 2014, 11:29 am

You all forgetting in the UK and US public transport is highly efficient

Postby pete » May 9th, 2014, 11:33 am

What's weird is a basic Rav4 is 22,495 pounds and an auto FT-86 is 26,605, both have an engine size of 2L yet the Rav sells for 282,000 here and the FT-86 is "on sale" at 400k when it really should be 333k.

Just using this price list http://s3-eu-west-1.amazonaws.com/cdnli ... Prices.pdf

Postby zoom rader » May 9th, 2014, 11:34 am

src1983 wrote:You all forgetting in the UK and US public transport is highly efficient

Not quite true, if you are living in a city then yes. Try living in the country side in uk . I often work up in Scotland in the city public transport is ok but expensive, in the country side where most of the Industrial areas are you will find you quickly need a car .