Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby kevin5211 » May 4th, 2014, 5:58 pm

When u find them share na.lol

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 4th, 2014, 7:55 pm

Went out yesterday for tarpon but had real bait so decide to drop ah bottom line an hold ah couple small reds and 2 aftican pampano...

Also got my new tackle box an broke my new terez inshore...

proton17

Postby proton17 » May 4th, 2014, 8:44 pm

Just caught some reds near monos today and 2 nice salmon just a lil way behind constradt, actually dey was biting and busting off when dey coming up sometimes in between all d big catfish.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » May 4th, 2014, 8:48 pm

[quote="ryan99tt"]Went out yesterday for tarpon but had real bait so decide to drop ah bottom line an hold ah couple small reds and 2 aftican pampano...

Also got my new tackle box an broke my new terez inshore...

Carang a pline, real sweet tasting fish, and hard fighting too. Where u went?

How u break the rod?

I did some banking around Scotland/Teteron last night. It was alright, held about 35 reds, including a couple real nice ones. Got cut off a couple times during the night too from bechin, they weren't taking the free lined deadbait but they were hitting the bottom rigs. We caught a couple nice fat ones at sunrise outside Teteron while bottom fishing. Plenty plenty bait in the water. Weather was good, no hard breeze to make the night uncomfortable.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 4th, 2014, 8:50 pm

Break d rod playin d ass...gettin it replaced...

preston4927

Postby preston4927 » May 5th, 2014, 12:09 am

Hey is anyone intrested in buying a boat?? I'm selling my beauty it's a 28ft brown hull pirouge with one 200 v6 yamaha engine well maintained, mp3 and iPod ready, radio kenwood music system with subwoofer and amp, fish finder, fully powered and much more, it's just a boat to buy and drive I'm asking $200,000 negotiable.... Reason for sale I need the money right now have certain stuff I need to care of... She is a beauty it's just a buy and drive boat nothing to do NOTHING..... Call me at 688-7041 boat located in San Fernando yatch club......

Sabot

Postby Sabot » May 5th, 2014, 1:47 pm

Anyone knows if the seaweed still plentiful on the Southeast coast? Looking to make a spin to Guaya and don't want to waste a run that far. Still has a lot up Toco side btw.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 5th, 2014, 1:49 pm

Had plenty weeds there ah week and ah half ago...

supremacy_007

Postby supremacy_007 » May 5th, 2014, 2:04 pm

guys i want to pick up fishing as a weekend hobby, last time i did it was 8 years ago with very little knowledge, i used a 6' rod and shrimp as bait, the only thing i caught other than cat fish was a sting ray, did most of my fishing in south by the creek.

I want to start again, i need to get a rod, for now i'll stick to standing on the shore, what i need to know are:

1) suggestions for a rod, i'm in the us so i have plenty options to acquire one, budget $150usd, if more based on your recommendations i'll decide.
2) good spots to go in trinidad
3) what to use as bait based on location and type of fish found

i'm sorry in advance for not skimming the 227 page thread to see if anyone posted a question like this before.

thanks in advance.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » May 5th, 2014, 2:17 pm

ryan99tt wrote:Had plenty weeds there ah week and ah half ago...

Thanks 8-)

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » May 5th, 2014, 2:20 pm

Take the time to skim thru bro you'll gain a lot more info that way....

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » May 5th, 2014, 3:46 pm

supremacy_007 wrote:guys i want to pick up fishing as a weekend hobby, last time i did it was 8 years ago with very little knowledge, i used a 6' rod and shrimp as bait, the only thing i caught other than cat fish was a sting ray, did most of my fishing in south by the creek.

I want to start again, i need to get a rod, for now i'll stick to standing on the shore, what i need to know are:

1) suggestions for a rod, i'm in the us so i have plenty options to acquire one, budget $150usd, if more based on your recommendations i'll decide.

i'm sorry in advance for not skimming the 227 page thread to see if anyone posted a question like this before.

thanks in advance.

There is your problem and solution pal, you need to start from page one of the thread as to find out spots and bait etc. If you lookin at mainly shore fishing then you need at least a 10 or 12 ft rod. I would go with a 12ft sheaksphere uglystick and a penn pursuit or penn fierce reel, spool with 30 or 40 lb mono , or 80lb test braid. As you are in the us currently you shud stock up on your terminal tackle cuz you can get quality stuff cheaper than here, like swivels, hooks, snaps, beads etc.

If you from south you cud probly link wit som of us wen we shore fishin , that is if you dont mind getting wet or a lil sandfly bite.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » May 5th, 2014, 3:49 pm

Sabot wrote:Anyone knows if the seaweed still plentiful on the Southeast coast? Looking to make a spin to Guaya and don't want to waste a run that far. Still has a lot up Toco side btw.

Was there this weekend between the current and weeds fishing from shore on the beach is a waste.... set a palang roughtly 400 ft from shore waiting 20 mins the 12 oz weight had dragged all the way back to shore down the beach.... pulling it back thru the sea weed was very tedious.

supremacy_007

Postby supremacy_007 » May 6th, 2014, 9:40 am

kevin5211 wrote:
supremacy_007 wrote:guys i want to pick up fishing as a weekend hobby, last time i did it was 8 years ago with very little knowledge, i used a 6' rod and shrimp as bait, the only thing i caught other than cat fish was a sting ray, did most of my fishing in south by the creek.

thanks in advance.

There is your problem and solution pal, you need to start from page one of the thread as to find out spots and bait etc. If you lookin at mainly shore fishing then you need at least a 10 or 12 ft rod. I would go with a 12ft sheaksphere uglystick and a penn pursuit or penn fierce reel, spool with 30 or 40 lb mono , or 80lb test braid. As you are in the us currently you shud stock up on your terminal tackle cuz you can get quality stuff cheaper than here, like swivels, hooks, snaps, beads etc.

If you from south you cud probly link wit som of us wen we shore fishin , that is if you dont mind getting wet or a lil sandfly bite.

Thank alot man, will definitely look into it.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 10th, 2014, 8:41 am

Kingfish biting on d north...who went behind some?

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » May 10th, 2014, 1:33 pm

going sometime next wk but the reports i'm getting is men holding avg 3 kings for the day between saut d'eau and la fillet....got this info last wknd btw it may have gotten better

the gulf on the other hand is a whole different story....bait like F*KIN rain but no fish.....i can't wrap my head around it....trawlers? overfishing? oil?

reports on the gulf ? tell me its just my bad luck...

Postby meccalli » May 10th, 2014, 1:35 pm

Let's hope so..

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 10th, 2014, 1:37 pm

Too much bait means fish ent guh bite too gd...hear kingfish bite real gd dis morning on d north...will confirm in ah while...

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » May 10th, 2014, 6:47 pm

ryan99tt wrote:Too much bait means fish ent guh bite too gd...hear kingfish bite real gd dis morning on d north...will confirm in ah while...

that was my first thought but after being out there regularly for the past few mths and seeing huge schools of hard backs, jashua and herring every time i went out but not seeing them bustin on d surface as you would normally kinna makes you wonder where the predators are...

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » May 10th, 2014, 7:50 pm

reeLpACE wrote:
ryan99tt wrote:Too much bait means fish ent guh bite too gd...hear kingfish bite real gd dis morning on d north...will confirm in ah while...

that was my first thought but after being out there regularly for the past few mths and seeing huge schools of hard backs, jashua and herring every time i went out but not seeing them bustin on d surface as you would normally kinna makes you wonder where the predators are...

I have been wondering the same thing, maybe the reason there is so much bait is exactly because there are no predators? Maybe all the crap that has been happening for years now has frigged up the food chain.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 10th, 2014, 11:42 pm

Well confirmed that kings biting nice on d north...nuttin big, between 3-12lbs though...wen it hav some much bait, try some live bait on d bottom wit running sinker and use ah real light sinker...nice fish does be below dem most of the time...

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » May 11th, 2014, 8:25 am

Anyone know where i can do some good shore-line fishing?... Also what bait i should use....

proton17

Postby proton17 » May 11th, 2014, 9:06 pm

Try manzan. Went today bout 3 for d moonrise and d falling tide. Caught a 6 pound cavalli and some other fishes. Nothing huge but water was real clean and nice. Fish was real biting, lost a few also.
But dey will bite dis whole week in manzan because of d full moon.
image.jpg

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 11th, 2014, 9:20 pm

Yea, someone say dey holding cavali manzan whole week..

Chin man *

Postby Chin man * » May 11th, 2014, 10:11 pm

]Try manzan. Went today bout 3 for d moonrise and d falling tide. Caught a 6 pound cavalli and some other fishes. Nothing huge but water was real clean and nice. Fish was real biting, lost a few also.
But dey will bite dis whole week in manzan because of d full moon.

Hmmm wud definitely try manzan this week. Any particular spot ??? Wat bait you used?

proton17

Postby proton17 » May 11th, 2014, 10:17 pm

Shrimps and any of d tracks dat kinda right before d breakaway where dey watch turtles. Dem cavalli and dem not too close, u hafta walk out a bit or watch for where d small bait mullet playing.

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » May 12th, 2014, 8:47 am

Thanks... I'll give it a go this week!...

Postby joker » May 12th, 2014, 4:59 pm

Cavali also on the south coast

And saw some divers bring in a huge cavali over 30lbs from shark river mouth yesterday.

Chin man *

Postby Chin man * » May 12th, 2014, 6:17 pm

Ok cool thanks.

triniboy2cool

Postby triniboy2cool » May 14th, 2014, 8:57 am

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:Ok guys so. I did a little fishing.

Tobago. Loads of black fin tuna, king fish, red fish , amber jack. I know some people go say how that looking like a fish vendor but thats the fish we caught and we decided to get them cleaned the other day.Thats was some of the fish. I took pics while we were empting the cooler. So you didnt see all the fish. Was about 20 Tuna, 12 kings fish, 1 amber jack, 2 reds and some others.
So we paid a guy at pigeon point to clean and bag all the fish so it would be easier to transport and keep good back to trinidad two days after. Tuna ranged from 7lbs - some 10lbs
Amber jack 14lbs, King fish ranged from 8lb to 13lbs

Toco
One shark had about 50lbs and about 10 leepe

This was some type of lobsters we caught in some pond. Caught in Trinidad

Not local crayfish so i was told