Car Insurance Question

nos_specialist

Car Insurance Question

Postby nos_specialist » January 23rd, 2014, 10:34 am

So tuners, we havin a discussion in class here..need some info from anyone who knows Motor Vehicle insurance and the law good..

IF you are involved in an accident, and you are wrong...you do all the correct things: make a report to the police station, make a report to your insurance company.

And your insurance company refuses to pay for the damages done to the other vehicle, can the owner of the other vehicle take YOU to court?

Re: Car Insurance Question

Postby crazybalhead » January 23rd, 2014, 10:42 am

Yes, under a civil charge.

Postby crazybalhead » January 23rd, 2014, 10:43 am

How do you know you are wrong though? Insurance company decides that.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 23rd, 2014, 12:57 pm

insurance company would not simply say they not paying....they will have to after police reports and investigations are complete...

they may not want to pay the full amount though....

ALIS

Postby ALIS » January 25th, 2014, 3:11 pm

First things insurance companies tell you to do: Do NOT admit liability, since they try each and every way to avoid paying a claim.

But as mentioned before as skidz said, once the police has determined that you are in the wrong then they have to pay.(thats another headache). Meanwhile the other party is free to take a civic action against you and or the insurance company to court. Since you are the easier target to lean on (insurance will have some well paid lawyers I am sure), then is you to catch.

Best advice... at least try to go with the more reputable firms that at least might honor a claim with the least amount of hassle.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » January 26th, 2014, 7:25 am

"Best advice... at least try to go with the more reputable firms that at least might honor a claim with the least amount of hassle."

Got to second this,what ALIS Wrote. Pay a little more upfront, but you know, you have no hassle if the need arises.

buckredan

Postby buckredan » January 26th, 2014, 9:30 pm

pay your excess person cannot take you to court because you lettin insurance handle it .if he is harassing you go back to police tell them insurance handling the accident an the man harassing you.most likely the person estimate is to high so insurance will give him a run around

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » January 26th, 2014, 10:23 pm

Sounds like yuh class is capitally insured

Postby wagonrunner » January 26th, 2014, 10:40 pm

ALIS wrote:Best advice... at least try to go with the more reputable firms that at least might honor a claim with the least amount of hassle.

which is the assness that's allowed in this country.
why are the companies which refuse to settle claims allowed to operate as insurers?

Chersele Signatures

Postby Chersele Signatures » April 1st, 2014, 10:27 pm

So on that note who is the most reputable insurance company??

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 1st, 2014, 10:35 pm

Chersele Signatures wrote:So on that note who is the most reputable insurance company??

I have auto insurance policies with Tatil and Colfire and have no real complaints about either company and I have submitted claims with both.

Actually, I do have a complaint about Colfire. They called me to say that as a token of appreciation for being a long standing customer, they have a gift for me. So I actually took time to go and collect my "gift" only to end up being given a calendar full of Colfire propaganda. That was a waste of time.

Chersele Signatures

Postby Chersele Signatures » April 1st, 2014, 10:38 pm

Haha ihu... I am about to invest in my first vehicle how can i cut the insurance... I did def driving some years back with colfire does tht stand for anything?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 1st, 2014, 11:02 pm

Chersele Signatures wrote:Haha ihu... I am about to invest in my first vehicle how can i cut the insurance... I did def driving some years back with colfire does tht stand for anything?

I am not sure if Colfire still offers these discounts, but many years ago, when I bought my first new car, I went with Colfire and was able to get the fully comprehensive premium down from $8,600 to $3,700 because I got the following discounts:
1) Discount for having another vehicle already insured with them
2) Discount for working within a 20km radius from where I live
3) Discount for being a graduate of UWI
4) Discount for paying with a Republic Bank credit card

Tatil only allowed me to transfer the no claims that I had with an older Colfire policy to the new policy that I was taking with them, which was maxed out at 50%. The only reason I went with Tatil was that Colfire refused to insure that new car that I was buying.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 2nd, 2014, 4:58 am

Rory is right with discounts. Even having a female on the cc allows a discount.
I did the defensive driving and it cut down alot of the premiums. Very informative class.

ALIS

Postby ALIS » April 2nd, 2014, 7:35 am

Yup,
-certain credit card holders are afforded discounts
- having a defensive driving certificate
- installation of security apparatus (alarm, GPS)
- joining TAA (Trinidad and Tobago automobile association) dunno if it still works, but used to get you a 10% discount or something like that. I stand to be corrected on this if I am wrong.

Different companies offer different discounts, so its best you call around for the updated info. Try to go direct to the company rather than through an insurance broker if you are looking to save money....

Postby RBphoto » April 9th, 2014, 11:51 am

Ok,
Dumb question time. My car got written off just after I paid full comprehensive. I was right in the accident. Because of the total constructive loss, my insurance is no longer valid. Question…. I was insured for a year, but my car was covered for only a month. *drumroll*: so should I not get back the insurance for the rest of that period as I am no longer covered for remaining 11 months even though I paid for a year of coverage?

Just asking.

Postby nervewrecker » April 9th, 2014, 11:57 am

They might probably say "nah, buh if yuh buy ah nex car and wah insure it wid we, yuh go geh ah discount. Buh only valid within the next year eh".

Sat down and listened them feed a 19 year old kid that. made the boy come in personally, wait to see them only to be fed that BS in under 30 seconds. Couldnt they say that over the phone?

edit: was not the insurance company I insured with.
Last edited by nervewrecker on April 9th, 2014, 1:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nightyakasy

Postby nightyakasy » April 9th, 2014, 12:46 pm

RBphoto wrote:Ok,
Dumb question time. My car got written off just after I paid full comprehensive. I was right in the accident. Because of the total constructive loss, my insurance is no longer valid. Question…. I was insured for a year, but my car was covered for only a month. *drumroll*: so should I not get back the insurance for the rest of that period as I am no longer covered for remaining 11 months even though I paid for a year of coverage?

Just asking.

That's actually not a dumb question I work as an insurance claims technician and we get that all the time. You are only entitled to a refund the unused portion of the insurance (pro rata) if the claim is fully recovered from the insurance company that is liable. If it is recovered you are entitled to :

Loss of use ( if was not already covered by your policy)
Excess ( if you paid it)
And whatever no claim discount you would have lost being reinstated.

Hope that cleared that up

nightyakasy

Postby nightyakasy » April 9th, 2014, 1:07 pm

Oh and to the original poster. Based on my understanding of the motor vehicle ( third party risk) act, an insurer cannot deny a valid third party claim.

The only circumstance where I know that they can is where the validity of the cover comes into question. Unfortunately we in trinidad believe that we could "sell" the insurance with the car and that is simply not so. The insurance contract ceases once the property is sold I.e the person no longer holds insurable interest in the property. Therefore the policy becomes null and void and they can then deny third party claims after that date.

What smaller insurance company's tend to do is hide behind policy wordings that state " only ..... Is supposed to drive" and deny based on that. They are actually not supposed to but instead recover their outlay directly from their insured.

Regarding court usually the case is against the client and the insurance company both usually have to appear in court.

Postby RBphoto » April 9th, 2014, 2:39 pm

nightyakasy wrote:
RBphoto wrote:Ok,

Just asking.

That's actually not a dumb question I work as an insurance claims technician and we get that all the time. You are only entitled to a refund the unused portion of the insurance (pro rata) if the claim is fully recovered from the insurance company that is liable. If it is recovered you are entitled to :

Loss of use ( if was not already covered by your policy)
Excess ( if you paid it)
And whatever no claim discount you would have lost being reinstated.

Hope that cleared that up

Thanks. That seems reasonable. I think I need to send a letter to the company and to the ombudsman thereafter as the company is telling me the "insurance use", but my understanding is that insurance is a term contract and they did not fulfil their term.

nightyakasy

Postby nightyakasy » April 9th, 2014, 3:14 pm

Pm me the details as I would need to hear the entire story to give a proper assessment of your situation and advise.

Advent

Postby Advent » April 9th, 2014, 7:35 pm

good info here guys

clmcarlyle

Postby clmcarlyle » April 28th, 2014, 9:37 pm

hey guys question. i was also in an accident. the guy was in the wrong. hit my parked car while me and my friend was changing the tyre in turn when he hit my car my car hit me and my friend. he had no drivers permit, under the influence of alcohol, not his car but his sisters. police was there as it was close to the piarco police station. me and my friend was taken by ambulance to the hospital so i was unable to get info like who was the driver insurance and so on. however apparently the police has all the info. so my questions are'

will his insurance still cover him as he was drunk?
will the insurance cover even though he is not the owner of the car?
what can i claim for from the accident e.g. injury rental of a new vehicle ect.
how can i go about claiming for rental of a vehicle?

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 28th, 2014, 9:39 pm

Speak to your insurance

xr8id1968

Postby xr8id1968 » April 29th, 2014, 12:47 pm

clmcarlyle wrote:hey guys question. i was also in an accident. the guy was in the wrong. hit my parked car while me and my friend was changing the tyre in turn when he hit my car my car hit me and my friend. he had no drivers permit, under the influence of alcohol, not his car but his sisters. police was there as it was close to the piarco police station. me and my friend was taken by ambulance to the hospital so i was unable to get info like who was the driver insurance and so on. however apparently the police has all the info. so my questions are'

will his insurance still cover him as he was drunk?
will the insurance cover even though he is not the owner of the car?
what can i claim for from the accident e.g. injury rental of a new vehicle ect.
how can i go about claiming for rental of a vehicle?

I work for an Insurance Company, and one thing I tell everyone who has been involved in any kind of accident....GO IN AND MAKE A CLAIM. Claim everything under the sun. If you bought a bottle of Limacol to sap on your head, claim it. Don't sit back and worry yourself about whether they cover or not, or whether they will pay or not. Let them tell you what they wont cover. Your responsibility is to claim. That is why insurance exists.

Also, in cases like yours, if it goes to court you would be awarded Special Damages and General Damages. Special damages are those costs which are quantifiable, like loss of use, medical bills etc. General Damages are those costs which are difficult to quantify, like pain and suffering. In the main, Insurance companies (reputable one) would look at the case law to come up with a cost for General Damages.

As I said before, claim everything. Put in a cost for pain and suffering as well.

Postby Kenjo » April 29th, 2014, 5:37 pm

So in any accident from small to large can cost of rental be put in as a claim?i've fortunately never been in an accident to that extent but just confirming , can anyone confirm what exactly goes on with claiming for a broken windscreen if there are multiple small cracks

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 29th, 2014, 6:41 pm

Speak to your agent....

clmcarlyle

Postby clmcarlyle » April 30th, 2014, 9:38 pm

bumppppp

xr8id1968

Postby xr8id1968 » May 1st, 2014, 10:13 am

Kenjo wrote:So in any accident from small to large can cost of rental be put in as a claim?i've fortunately never been in an accident to that extent but just confirming , can anyone confirm what exactly goes on with claiming for a broken windscreen if there are multiple small cracks

At the end of the day it all depends on the terms and conditions of your policy. Some companies may have loss of use or rental clauses in their insurance contracts which would automatically allow you to claim for rental and so on. Other insurance companies may not have it in their contracts, but may allow you to purchase that coverage via an add-on.

In terms of your Windscreen, again, it depends on your insurance contract and whether windscreen coverage is automatic or whether you have to purchase it as and add-on and also the specific terms.

As I tell everyone, the little sheet of paper you keep in your car is not your insurance contract. The sheets of paper which itemize your premium and add-ons, that is your contract. And the booklet which your insurance company gives you, READ IT. Let them insurance company tell you exactly what you are paying for. Ask them about all their add-ons.

Postby Kenjo » May 1st, 2014, 11:30 am

^^^^^^ thanks for the info , I do have the windscreen coverage but as I have never used it I will have to confirm in more detail from them what are the advantages of it