Anyone ever recover gold from electronics?

COROLLA KID

Anyone ever recover gold from electronics?

Postby COROLLA KID » April 24th, 2014, 8:59 pm

The wanna-be chemist in me wants to try this. I already have a lot of the things on the list of tools:
Quote:

Scrap electronics
Rubber gloves
Rubber apron
Goggles
Hydrogen Peroxide 3% I got from local pharmacy.
Muriatic acid 31% local hardware store.
Methyl Hydrate is 99.9% methyl alcohol it is used for fuel line antifreeze and can be purchased at your local hardware or automotive supply.
Funnel filter I used a drip coffee filter
2 large glass containers I like coffee pots for chemical heat.
Stir stick glass or plastic
Weigh scale mine is accurate to 1/10th of a grain.
Blow Torch hot enough to hard solder.
Borax
Clay bowls just about anything that has a melting point 500o above the melting point of gold will do.
Measuring cup anything you can use to make a 2:1 mix will do.

Quote:
For three months of collecting, stripping, and dissolving electronic parts, [Josehf] netted 576.5 grains of gold, or at current prices, about USD$1500 worth

A full detailed DIY with pics:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Gold-recovery/?ALLSTEPS

I doubt I'll ever have time to give it a try, but part of me is keeping all of my old eletronics just in case.

Has anyone here tried this?

Re: Anyone ever recover gold from electronics?

Postby Trini Hookah » April 24th, 2014, 9:01 pm

In no time you'll be cooking meth OP.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » April 24th, 2014, 9:07 pm

i lost a gold chain in a washing machine once

Postby brams112 » April 24th, 2014, 9:16 pm

COROLLA KID wrote:The wanna-be chemist in me wants to try this. I already have a lot of the things on the list of tools:
Quote:

Scrap electronics
Rubber gloves
Rubber apron
Goggles
Hydrogen Peroxide 3% I got from local pharmacy.
Muriatic acid 31% local hardware store.
Methyl Hydrate is 99.9% methyl alcohol it is used for fuel line antifreeze and can be purchased at your local hardware or automotive supply.
Funnel filter I used a drip coffee filter
2 large glass containers I like coffee pots for chemical heat.
Stir stick glass or plastic
Weigh scale mine is accurate to 1/10th of a grain.
Blow Torch hot enough to hard solder.
Borax
Clay bowls just about anything that has a melting point 500o above the melting point of gold will do.
Measuring cup anything you can use to make a 2:1 mix will do.

Quote:
For three months of collecting, stripping, and dissolving electronic parts, [Josehf] netted 576.5 grains of gold, or at current prices, about USD$1500 worth

A full detailed DIY with pics:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Gold-recovery/?ALLSTEPS

I doubt I'll ever have time to give it a try, but part of me is keeping all of my old eletronics just in case.

Has anyone here tried this?

Cell phones got some gold in it too opie :lol:

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » April 24th, 2014, 9:17 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:i lost a gold chain in a washing machine once

Well i guess washing machines weren't meant to wash people,.....bath in a shower like normal people..lol.

see we're both comedians :lol:

JF.K

Postby JF.K » April 24th, 2014, 9:42 pm

This ah next sufferer makeouter ched?

Postby desifemlove » April 25th, 2014, 12:18 am

huh? yuh need a whole sheit heap of motherboards and ting to get any gold of value.

Adrenalinerush

Postby Adrenalinerush » April 25th, 2014, 12:38 am

I also understand folks crazy fuh alum. can (openers)..

Postby eliteauto » April 25th, 2014, 7:51 am

use mostly Goldstar electronics

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » April 25th, 2014, 8:00 am

Sufferers thread in the making?...

Postby Les Bain » April 25th, 2014, 8:13 am

This seems like a prank (pic related).
You legit OP?

pretty crystals.jpg

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » April 25th, 2014, 12:46 pm

OP i saw on natgeo ppl was getting platinum from old catalytic converters

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » April 25th, 2014, 1:00 pm

alot of work needs to be done to get that gold and you would get minimum returns. you would have to do it in crazy quantities to see any real returns and plus we dont have any ewaste dumps you could go buy bulk material to begin.
check this vid it would give you some prospective

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » April 25th, 2014, 1:30 pm

the most gold you will get is from the pins of a cpu chip an then its only the coating thats real gold so if u really want to attempt i suggest you visit a few pc repair shops and start collecting abt a barell full of only cpu chips to get anything worthwhile.

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » April 25th, 2014, 2:59 pm

@desifemlove, dok_tec & kevin5211

Yeah there's allot of collecting involved, its not a get rich over night kinda thing
If you come across old electronics every now and then and get a few grains every couple month or so in a few years it could add up...

DTAC

Postby DTAC » April 25th, 2014, 3:14 pm

There are materials in everyday electronics that are far more valuable than gold btw.

Postby Rainman » April 25th, 2014, 3:42 pm

Rel suffera in here yes

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 25th, 2014, 7:27 pm

I break off the finger boards on PC parts before I throw them away

I go try it in the future when I collect a considerable amount.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » April 26th, 2014, 10:19 am

Is GOLD you talking bout dey?
image.jpg
image.jpg (70.75 KiB) Viewed 2141 times

Postby Ronaldo95163 » April 27th, 2014, 6:19 am

Chemistry ftl

just take apart as much AMD systems as possible and pull the pins outta the CPU...yuh go be ah millionaire wen yuh done dawdi

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » April 27th, 2014, 8:00 am

[img]http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/04/27/e4y6u6a7.jpg[/img][img]http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/04/27/aqu3unap.jpg[/img]

i wanna be a millionaire sooooo frickin baddd!!

btw anyone have a drill to lend?? wana drill thru the cpu and make it a pendant , trinidad james gunna have some more competition!

sharkmouth

Postby sharkmouth » May 14th, 2014, 12:46 am

if this is just a fun project,sure...profit no