Is your pipe water tasting weird?

urabus

Re: Is your pipe water tasting weird?

Postby urabus » April 17th, 2014, 2:29 pm

We have one of those fridge that dispenses water...,so that's what we drink at home. For cooking, brushing teeth etc we use tap water but sometimes the water may be dis colored sometimes it tasted strange

Postby eliteauto » April 17th, 2014, 2:50 pm

yup I've noticed in the last month or so a drop in water quality, ever since we had the work done on the new main, I've seen sediment in the toilet tanks and an increase in the chlorine content on some days ( water is white and bubbly) I use a brita jug as well

Re: Is you pipe water tasting weird?

Postby sliderz1 » April 17th, 2014, 3:04 pm

[X]~Outlaw wrote:Water quality in Arima is generally poor. We use bottle water for cooking and drinking.

really?

it's fine in Malabar.....always

Postby dougla_boy » April 17th, 2014, 3:12 pm

my water looks like shardonay

tastes tew

Postby BrotherHood » April 17th, 2014, 3:31 pm

Alyuh complaining. Alyuh shuda see the coffee i used to get from the pipe when I was living down in the Gardens.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » April 17th, 2014, 3:46 pm

move out d bush

Postby rfari » April 17th, 2014, 3:53 pm

The inlet filter cartridge was changed oct-nov 13 before this tank cleaning. Filter cartridge was removed on the baptist holiday cus it was clogged. Didn't replace till middle of that week. Photo taken while cleaning one of the tanks. Water was agitated while cleaning.
uploadfromtaptalk1397763815029.jpg

Postby sharkman121 » April 17th, 2014, 3:55 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:move out d bush

ey ey, Wuh gwan fgt.

Postby javishm » April 18th, 2014, 11:56 pm

Too stush for water!

speedist

Postby speedist » April 19th, 2014, 8:01 am

urabus wrote:We have one of those fridge that dispenses water...,so that's what we drink at home. For cooking, brushing teeth etc we use tap water but sometimes the water may be dis colored sometimes it tasted strange

Show off nah. :oops:

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » April 19th, 2014, 10:29 am

K74T wrote:Spend a lil 20 and buy a case ah dasani nah dan

dais fuh he customers only.

link meh a pack ah cashews dey fari

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » April 19th, 2014, 1:52 pm

daz eric williams legacy

Hirotoshi

Postby Hirotoshi » April 19th, 2014, 1:56 pm

human beings still drink wasa water? :lol:

Postby eliteauto » April 19th, 2014, 2:27 pm

that struggle...that crawl

kripplerz

Postby kripplerz » April 19th, 2014, 4:28 pm

I notice in central area recently the water started tasting bad. I thought my brita filter was bad but is turned out to be the water. Yesterday I was mixing nutrients for my hydroponic system. Usually the nutrients dissolves easily but what I saw the bottom of the bucket turned black and nothing dissolved. I then used rain water and it worked out fine. I'm guessing it's too much chemicals in the water. My 2 cents

Postby Ted_v2 » April 19th, 2014, 7:05 pm

That there scene from batman comes to mind. They poisoning the water.

Postby M_2NR » April 19th, 2014, 7:11 pm

meh tank acting like sediment basin now yes. I eh even want to see what inside there. :evil:

eliteauto wrote:yup I've noticed in the last month or so a drop in water quality, ever since we had the work done on the new main, I've seen sediment in the toilet tanks and an increase in the chlorine content on some days ( water is white and bubbly) I use a brita jug as well

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » April 19th, 2014, 7:37 pm

NEW, from the makers of Guvament Jooce!

Guvament Mauby!!!

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1397950578.472590.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1397950578.472590.jpg (18.63 KiB) Viewed 2006 times

Postby rfari » April 20th, 2014, 8:06 am

uploadfromtaptalk1397995470627.jpg

Cartridge one week old. Why pp hadda treat poor ppl so?

Postby Ted_v2 » April 20th, 2014, 8:09 am

I took off my filter for that same reason. Changing the darn thing every week and the water still tasting weird.

What I usually do. Is drink pipe water with the occasional bottle water. Bottle water alone does give a dread belly pain.

Is 2014 and we can't get proper water to drink. Natural pitch lake and the worst roads. Many natural resources and infrastructure to hell and back.

Postby rfari » April 20th, 2014, 8:17 am

A carbon activated cartridge will take care of the odour and taste to an extent but with the current condition of the water, mechanical filtration is a higher priority to remove all that damn sediment.

Postby eliteauto » April 20th, 2014, 9:35 am

all bout dat marginal constituency life

Postby AllTrac » April 20th, 2014, 2:55 pm

Sabriel wrote:the water I does get from my pipe..is taste damn good.

Awwwww shuks thanks, I do try to keep my pineapple intake high

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 20th, 2014, 6:27 pm

Install a filter coming into the house. You can double up if you want, and the use the Brita jug for drinking or from the fridge dispenser if you have one. Working good in my house. Also, all water comes from the tanks so it has already settled. If you have multiple tanks like me then throw a half cup of bleach in the unused/ back up to prevent moss. That last one was from my plumber.

Postby rfari » April 20th, 2014, 7:01 pm

I think that will be the next step.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 20th, 2014, 7:23 pm

Its been working for8 years running. Drinking water is double filtered, all I have to do is change the filters and we good.

Postby rfari » April 20th, 2014, 7:41 pm

Ur last filter is carbon activated, mechanical or both? I knw part of the problem on my side is tht we change the cartridge only twice a year. Once a quarter is recommended.

*Nebula*

Postby *Nebula* » April 20th, 2014, 9:15 pm

The water have been really horrible these days, now it is bottled water and changing filter every so often.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » April 21st, 2014, 12:19 am

Bareback wrote:Install a filter coming into the house. You can double up if you want, and the use the Brita jug for drinking or from the fridge dispenser if you have one. Working good in my house. Also, all water comes from the tanks so it has already settled. If you have multiple tanks like me then throw a half cup of bleach in the unused/ back up to prevent moss. That last one was from my plumber.

We use two Aqua-Pure systems and besides having to order and change filters every couple weeks the situation continues to worsen.
In my case our water is tripled filtered example fridge, kitchen tap,etc we use a brita filters and a mug, but a trace scent of chlorine is still there so I can imagine straight from the pipe.
Trying to cut down on the amount of bottled water we buy, when you see the amount of bottles used its kinda disheartening but I may have to continue it the situation keeps getting worse up to 5 cases a week.
Also had the tank cleaned a couple weeks back thinking it was just me having a problem until a neighbor called to show me the mud pit at the bottom of his. Hope the quality stabilises at some point soon.

Postby rfari » April 21st, 2014, 1:49 am

U fellas in the east?