Tuner Cooking Thread.

Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby X_Factor » April 8th, 2014, 12:13 pm

i tried curried soya.....but using the small black soya chunks with the duck and goat curry
let the soya soak, but dont let it get entirely soft, the center should still be a bit firm

burn ur curry etc, put in the onions, garlic seasonings, let that cook down, then add a little water
stir it up

add the soya after and let it simmer in the curry for a couple mins

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 8th, 2014, 12:15 pm

Dunno about "proper" - but I have mostly positive feedback from the folks who tried this one out:
http://www.tastumgoodum.com/2012/07/geera-lamb.html

My recipe even get a lil shout out in the Guardian (and they didnt tell me nothin, the buggers)
http://guardian.co.tt/womanwise/2012-09-01/serving-lamb

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » April 8th, 2014, 2:18 pm

how i make geera pork- saute onions, garlic pepper as you would for curry. add a little roasted ground geera to the oil, once the onions are soft i add the pork and turn to mix in everything together. then you sprinkle more geera over the meat and turn until all the meat is coated and then cook as you would any curry dish. add geera to your taste liking.

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » April 8th, 2014, 3:08 pm

Geera Pork

I start by cutting the pork into at least 1/2 inch or 3/4 inch cubes. IMO geera is not something that soaks through the meat, so the smaller the pork chunk, the better. However too small and it kinda melts away.

This is pretty much the only Fresh seasoning I use.

And combine once everything cut up..

I also add salt, black pepper and some ground geera to the raw meat.

To some oil I add whole geera and burn it.. Make sure pot is very hot..
Then add meat to the pot and turn very seldomly..
Some additional ground geera is added to the pot during cooking, and when meat is almost done cooking.. some freshly cut up shadon beni and chive is added to the meat.

Rule of thumb is, Geera is a "Bun Pot" dish.. so meat occasionally sticking to the pot is needed. But not burnt!!

Postby pugboy » April 8th, 2014, 3:14 pm

nice
one thing with pork cooked in this manner is it should be cooked long enough so the heat renders down the fat and softens it, the texture is vastly improved
if not cooked long enough it will have a rubbery spongy feel

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » April 8th, 2014, 3:23 pm

Yes of course..
If meat is starting to go more toward the burning side.. hot water is added to continue the cooking process.
But the initial "Meat sticking" point must be achieved first..

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » April 8th, 2014, 3:49 pm

never ate pork so not sure of the taste /texture.

thanks for the suggestions i will detail my exploits and report back with pics .

Postby pugboy » April 8th, 2014, 5:12 pm

It's called the Maillard reaction.
ie when food is browned/caramelized

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:But the initial "Meat sticking" point must be achieved first..

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » April 9th, 2014, 9:30 am

pugboy wrote:It's called the Maillard reaction.
ie when food is browned/caramelized

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:But the initial "Meat sticking" point must be achieved first..

LOL.. :lol:
I am aware of the name pug.. I'm a Culinary Arts student..
However I don't think 95% of tuner would comprehend had I used it.
So I reverted to the terms I heard my elders use, as I know most tuners would have heard it in their households.

And even though I am taught these terms in Theoretical Classes..
When the Practical classes come around and we have 24 covers to do for the restaurant, Chef Lecturer definitely reverts to the more familiar terms..

I appreciate the correction none the less..

Postby crazybalhead » April 9th, 2014, 10:17 am

Also,I don't put geera in oil to "burn it". I toast it first with no oil, same as any toasted grain, cardamom etc. Much nicer flavour I find.

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » April 9th, 2014, 10:41 am

Think Old people call that patching..
Yeah?

Postby crazybalhead » April 9th, 2014, 10:42 am

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Think Old people call that patching..
Yeah?

Yeah meng! :mrgreen:

Postby Hook » April 9th, 2014, 10:55 am

Isn't it called "parching"? Like you'd do with flour, nuts and grains.

Postby eliteauto » April 9th, 2014, 11:19 am

yup "parching"

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » April 9th, 2014, 11:30 am

Aww shucks..
Here I always thought old people were patching the lahwah!

I suck.

Postby Trini Hookah » April 9th, 2014, 12:45 pm

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Aww shucks..
Here I always thought old people were patching the lahwah!

I suck.

Re: Confessions Ched

Postby pugboy » April 10th, 2014, 10:33 pm

Made some nuoc cham sauce, a garlic, lime and fish sauce based dipping sauce.

Totally blows away any mayo garlic sauce

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » April 10th, 2014, 10:39 pm

always thought was patch mehself....

usually they say it "yuh hat tuh patch de...." lol

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 10th, 2014, 10:40 pm

where you got fish sauce?

Postby pugboy » April 10th, 2014, 10:47 pm

Wing sing charlotte st

Gonna ramp it up with some chives and shadon beni

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 10th, 2014, 10:57 pm

..and fresh ginger

Postby pugboy » April 11th, 2014, 6:51 am

yeah very flexible, some add carrots, daikon, carailli etc like a mother in law

bujuization

Postby bujuization » April 11th, 2014, 9:24 am

from experience, use kari leaves in your curry makes it 10x better. having it fresh from the tree makes the real difference. probably the easiest plant to grow too.
kari.jpg
kari.jpg (102.3 KiB) Viewed 4269 times

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » April 11th, 2014, 9:33 am

I usually add the leaf to my Curry and water mixture before it hits the hot oil.
But I am so willing to try this method.
Thx buju

Postby crazybalhead » April 11th, 2014, 11:00 am

I never use a curry and water mixture. Add curry straight after chunkaying garlic, onions, ginger.

Then add meat, whatever, then add water.

Seen a few other tuners do the same.

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » April 11th, 2014, 11:07 am

Ok Cool

Postby meccalli » April 11th, 2014, 11:22 pm

I guess everyone has their own variation. I flavour oil with garlic, karipelay, onions. Curry goes in and gets fried a bit, water added to cook curry and reduce to oil for about 2 more times, till curry is no longer grainy-smooth and buoyant in consistency-and then meat goes in- gets browned- allowed to cook down in its own liquids and oil- then covered in water/milk and allowed to reduce.

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » April 23rd, 2014, 9:31 am

Tried some fry duck this weekend it reel lash....

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 23rd, 2014, 9:52 am

I want to try my hand at a different prep of duck, but everytime I raise the topic, family asking me why I wasting good duck. They want to curry it.

Anywhere sells whole duck breasts? Unlikely, I know.

Anyhoo here's my last escapade. Simple, I know - but it tasted yummo.
http://www.tastumgoodum.com/2014/04/fie ... chops.html

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » April 23rd, 2014, 7:23 pm

dude i think the best duck to try is the farm ducks the pluckshops selling these days, they fairly large and the meat is not tough so its the best kind to experiment with.