Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby stev » March 4th, 2014, 10:06 pm

looks like 4.4.3 is nearing

http://phandroid.com/2014/03/04/android ... id-update/

for people on stock that is. lol

also, it looks like some discounts coming soon for the Play store anniversary.

http://9to5google.com/2014/03/04/google ... -and-more/

Postby stev » March 5th, 2014, 9:27 pm

Postby M_2NR » March 5th, 2014, 10:30 pm

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » March 5th, 2014, 10:38 pm

^^yea that is good one used it

Postby stev » March 5th, 2014, 10:38 pm

that one rel clean dred....i miss my old MIUI rom now :(

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » March 6th, 2014, 9:12 am

for those of us who like Dashclock widget
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... oman.muzei
from the same creator - Live wallpaper built around the same open source with a wide variety of plugins

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » March 6th, 2014, 7:57 pm

Installed the latest HTC one update, now the fm radio crashes every 5 mins. Yea fm radio, don't hate.
Read that changing the head phone may help. Didnt try it as yet.

BrandoHD

Postby BrandoHD » March 6th, 2014, 8:21 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:Installed the latest HTC one update, now the fm radio crashes every 5 mins. Yea fm radio, don't hate.
Read that changing the head phone may help. Didnt try it as yet.

Its always good to do a factory reset after each major Android update, at the very least, you can try clearing data for the trouble app

Postby Trini Hookah » March 6th, 2014, 9:05 pm

Got another i9100, installing some ROMs and was constantly getting errors. Ended up trying to install from internal SD and everything was smooth sailing.

Kit Kat on this runs really well though.

Postby stev » March 6th, 2014, 9:09 pm

Galaxy S5 Gets Priced Throughout Europe, Not Your Average Priced Android Phone

Much like Sony’s Xperia Z2 that recently went up for pre-order in the UK, it looks like Samsung’s Galaxy S5 isn’t going to be cheap, either. Then again, for a smartphone that has an improved camera, a heart rate sensor and more inside of it, it’s hardly surprising it’s going for a pretty penny. We know that the Galaxy S5 is launching some time in April, but we haven’t had much word on how much the device will cost, until now. Samsung’s Galaxy S5 has gone on sale in a number of European countries and with that comes some idea of how much it’s going to cost.

The Galaxy S5 is now up for pre-order in Sweden, Russia and the Czech Republic. In Sweden, the off-contract price comes out at SEK 6,400 which (at the time of writing) works out at $995 US, which is a lot. Meanwhile in Russia, things don’t seem quite so bad, at least from a conversion standpoint, anyway. Off-contract in Russia, the Galaxy S5 will cost RUB 30,000 which is roughly $830, a considerable dip from the Swedish pricing, but these are just conversions remember. In the Czech Republic, Samsung’s latest and greatest is to cost CZK 19,000 which comes out at $950.

It’s well worth rememebering that these are conversions from existing prices, so these prices will look different when official US pricing is announced. It’s strange to see the Galaxy S5 quite so expensive, but Samsung has always charged what many believe to be a premium for their hardware. Besides, the Galaxy S5 is filled with technology, despite the fact that it has disappointed some. With a month left to go before the device launches worldwide, it’ll be interesting to see how much of a response Samsung gets at launch. It might seem disappointing to owners of the Galaxy S4, but those on a two-year contract with a Galaxy S III or similar device will find this a considerable upgrade.

Postby stev » March 6th, 2014, 9:40 pm

WTF LG?!?!?! :lol:

[video removed by user]

it was a weird LG ad
Last edited by stev on March 10th, 2014, 8:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

grimreaper009

Postby grimreaper009 » March 10th, 2014, 7:35 pm

Can some1 tell me the apn settings for bmobile so I can get data on a htc One

Postby nervewrecker » March 10th, 2014, 10:09 pm

What's the best OCR on the playstore?

Free ones too in case I can't find the apk

Kronik

Postby Kronik » March 10th, 2014, 10:10 pm

grimreaper009 wrote:Can some1 tell me the apn settings for bmobile so I can get data on a htc One

Prepaid is bconnected and postpaid is internet

Postby stev » March 10th, 2014, 10:55 pm

nervewrecker wrote:What's the best OCR on the playstore?

normally i would use Google Goggles for a quick scan / copy text to clipboard

never really needed / tried an OCR app.

edit: use goggles a lot before purchasing strange stuff locally :lol:

Postby stev » March 11th, 2014, 6:32 pm

Oppo Find 7 Invitation

well done IMO

Postby nervewrecker » March 11th, 2014, 6:43 pm

stev wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:What's the best OCR on the playstore?

normally i would use Google Goggles for a quick scan / copy text to clipboard

never really needed / tried an OCR app.

edit: use goggles a lot before purchasing strange stuff locally :lol:

Downloaded it today, realised I didn't have it.

It will work

searchingone

Postby searchingone » March 12th, 2014, 9:34 am

I haven't searched the thread...

Any of you guys have problems receiving email notifications on an S4? Particularly with a Yahoo account. I have to keep manually checking to see if I have new mail which is annoying...

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » March 12th, 2014, 2:00 pm

Hi guys,

I have an S3 mini thats having a problem. Battery is full or almost full. When using any app the phone will restart by itself. When it comes back on it shows 3% batt. then it will continue to restart itself until its drained. If i plug in the charger it shows the previous battery life 80 - 100%. I thought it was the battery but when I swapped mines into another friends mini its not discharging. I put his battery in my mini and the phone works fine. What you guys think the problem might be?

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » March 12th, 2014, 2:38 pm

Battery? But try a backup n factory reset

Postby stev » March 12th, 2014, 4:48 pm

sonygoup wrote:Battery? But try a backup n factory reset

THIS!

most likely its the battery.....but try a factory reset first.

have u done any modifications? custom kernel / ROM etc?

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » March 12th, 2014, 6:00 pm

no mods just regular game apps download. I'll try the re-set and see whats up.

Postby M_2NR » March 12th, 2014, 10:04 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Got another i9100, installing some ROMs and was constantly getting errors. Ended up trying to install from internal SD and everything was smooth sailing.

Kit Kat on this runs really well though.

dan deh normally say install from internal storage in the rom installing FAQ :lol: you using the same rom S_2NR mentioned?

Postby Trini Hookah » March 12th, 2014, 10:40 pm

^ Ended up sticking with a 4.2 MIUI rom...was BESS

Anyone here ever had a Xperia S tablet? (not the phone eh, had one of those lol) The remote function worked well?

Postby S_2NR » March 12th, 2014, 11:12 pm

Have an xperia z tablet. Remote works well on TVs. Don't ever use it though.

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » March 12th, 2014, 11:13 pm

Got a nexus 7 and use it on my HX850 with the TV sideview app. Works good too.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » March 13th, 2014, 11:48 am

searchingone wrote:I haven't searched the thread...

Any of you guys have problems receiving email notifications on an S4? Particularly with a Yahoo account. I have to keep manually checking to see if I have new mail which is annoying...

any suggestions?

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » March 13th, 2014, 1:20 pm

Okay did a factory re-set. Works a lil better but while on an app last night it had 60% life and it re-booted again. Gonna try and get a new battery by the weekend. Any recommendations where to go and get one at a good price?

Postby M_2NR » March 13th, 2014, 8:39 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:^ Ended up sticking with a 4.2 MIUI rom...was BESS

Anyone here ever had a Xperia S tablet? (not the phone eh, had one of those lol) The remote function worked well?

BOOM! Didn't realize MIUI still pumping hard :oops: thx

btw ar duz use d ir remote in meh tab2... it does wuk aite with peel app :lol:

GLANIMAL

Postby GLANIMAL » March 14th, 2014, 3:54 am

what are your views on the official kitkat update for the galaxy s4..or should i stay with 4.3jellybean