Question about parking and collision..

targus1

Question about parking and collision..

Postby targus1 » January 27th, 2014, 3:45 pm

Was parked on a busy street and a car that was passing at the side of my car touched my side view mirror....

in a case like this who has the rite of way?
am i entitled to compensation if any damages occur on my vehicle?

ALIS

Re: Question about parking and collision..

Postby ALIS » January 27th, 2014, 9:25 pm

Parked at your own risk? No parking zone? Head to the bamboo or dealership and get a new one...... save gas and time..... Those things happen on a daily basis..

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » January 27th, 2014, 9:39 pm

Op come clean, which street... Henry, Frederick,high,queen,George, north , south, east, west where.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 28th, 2014, 12:02 am

Mirror damage.....quick fix....no worries.....happens alot....

Postby javishm » January 28th, 2014, 2:25 am

how bad is the damage....honestly

Postby skylinechild » January 28th, 2014, 6:33 am

1.where were you parked ? what street- is it a no parking zone.

if you use street parking you do so at your own risk. Furthermore why wasnt your mirrors folded in??
too many times trinis like to park and "how it hang it swing" sad to say.

your loss OP.

Postby Ted_v2 » January 28th, 2014, 7:07 am

shouldnt park on a street.

pluggie

Postby pluggie » January 28th, 2014, 7:13 am

targus1 wrote:Was parked on a busy street and a car that was passing at the side of my car touched my side view mirror....

What is the extent of damage to your mirror ? Its probably cheaper and faster to just get it fixed at your own cost OP

Postby pioneer » January 28th, 2014, 7:51 am

Sufferer identified

pluggie

Postby pluggie » January 28th, 2014, 8:06 am

pioneer wrote:Sufferer identified

Postby Hook » January 28th, 2014, 8:20 am

OP, y u no fold in wing mirror on busy street?

Oh wait.

doublesman

Postby doublesman » January 28th, 2014, 8:32 am

Cortina mirror doz fole een???

Advent

Postby Advent » January 28th, 2014, 8:34 am

doublesman wrote:Cortina mirror doz fole een???

Well d car that bounce it make it fold een ....

Xplode

Postby Xplode » January 28th, 2014, 8:36 am

Hook wrote:OP, y u no fold in wing mirror on busy street?

Oh wait.

Postby Hook » January 28th, 2014, 9:15 am

Advent wrote:

Well d car that bounce it make it fold een ....

:lol: ah now go to say "well, it does now"

Postby Spitfir3 » January 28th, 2014, 9:47 am

op yuh move bad dey...never park on a busy street..yuh look for yuh bouncements
would have help if you mentioned which street doh

Postby Hook » January 28th, 2014, 10:30 am

OP omitted the street name hoping other 2nrs would lose their cortina wing-mirrors too :'(

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 28th, 2014, 10:33 am

If it was De Verteuil street I can see this being regular issue, a two lane street with parking on both sides

Crazydriver

Postby Crazydriver » January 28th, 2014, 12:04 pm

if you're in a parked position..even where you aren't supposed to park, you have the right of way. you are at a standstill and could not cause the accident/damage.

Postby skylinechild » January 28th, 2014, 12:14 pm

Crazydriver wrote:if you're in a parked position..even where you aren't supposed to park, you have the right of way. you are at a standstill and could not cause the accident/damage.

quoted before the back pedal :lol:

Crazydriver

Postby Crazydriver » January 28th, 2014, 12:20 pm

na I wouldn't take it back, it goes along from the hit from behind logic..even if a car roll back on you the police gonna side with the car that roll back and say that the car that get hit in front was wrong (happened to an uncle of mine/could be corrupt cops Idk). I have been in an accident where I was parked on a corner (I was wrong) and a guy in a white almera rub my bumper and when we went to make the report the police said I was parked wrongly/but still in a parked position and had they come on the scene I would have gotten a ticket but at the end of the day the other man hit me so he had to compensate the paint

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » January 28th, 2014, 12:23 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:shouldnt park on a street.

I'm sure if you owned a vehicle you would also park on the street at some point

Toilet Cleaner

Postby Toilet Cleaner » January 28th, 2014, 12:45 pm

Well earlier today I was driving down a street and people had parked their cars like idiots. This one person parked further out in the road and I hit his side mirror. I know maybe I was wrong but I think people should park better than that. It wasn't my car I was driving but I told the owner and since no visible damage was done to the car because the mirror folded in on impact, he said it was ok. Sorry for the other guy though....apparently cortina mirrors don't fold in the outward direction if they fold at all.

Postby Ted_v2 » January 28th, 2014, 12:49 pm

Hmm. Well I don't park my vehicle in the street for the same reason. And if I do I take full responsibility for my actions.

targus1

Postby targus1 » January 28th, 2014, 1:04 pm

the accident took place in San Fernando... the damages to the mirror is very minor... i was just curious of whom had the rite in event i went to the police....
parked on the side of the street near flow office..irvin park i believe is the landmark there

so by the car standing still logic... i can park where i like and i am in the right...
find this is very one sided as some times ppl park terrible, without consideration to how much traffic it would cause the other motorist on the road or the inconvenience.

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » January 28th, 2014, 1:08 pm

one for d ched dey

Postby Spitfir3 » January 28th, 2014, 1:14 pm

targus1 wrote:the accident took place in San Fernando... the damages to the mirror is very minor... i was just curious of whom had the rite in event i went to the police....
parked on the side of the street near flow office..irvin park i believe is the landmark there

so by the car standing still logic... i can park where i like and i am in the right...
find this is very one sided as some times ppl park terrible, without consideration to how much traffic it would cause the other motorist on the road or the inconvenience.

so you didn't consider this when YOU made the park yourself on a BUSY street? :lol:
Last edited by Spitfir3 on January 28th, 2014, 1:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Toilet Cleaner

Postby Toilet Cleaner » January 28th, 2014, 1:19 pm

Is Flow you went by? Then you should make them or whoever place you went by, pay for your repairs since it was their fault that they don't have a carpark for their customers or visitors, thereby FORCING YOU to park on the street.

Crazydriver

Postby Crazydriver » January 29th, 2014, 11:16 am

as long as your engine is off and your vehicle is in a parked position, you have the right of way

Postby nervewrecker » January 29th, 2014, 11:19 am

Crazydriver wrote:as long as your engine is off and your vehicle is in a parked position, you have the right of way

So if I just stop and pull hand brakes on the highway?