Washing car with Kerosene (pitch oil)???

Re: Washing car with Kerosene (pitch oil)???

Postby Trini Hookah » January 13th, 2014, 3:58 pm

Kal-El Ward wrote:I used Quix dishwashing detergent a couple times. Now only reason I did, is because after washing dishes, and dirty DVD's and CD's with it, I realized it cleaned really well and polished up with a simple shine, wanted to experiment. Tried it on the car a few times, and nice results. I used micro fiber and Chamois though, to avoid putting those find scratches you see on the clear coat. It's easy on the clear coat. You don't even need to use much. And it dries really fast, streak free, lemony scented also! I find Kerosene kills the clear coat and dulls the paint.

Squeezy never touch any of my vehicles, low ph FTL.

Pure water and sponge (simple green diluted to wash off kero if it have tar). Auto glym bodywork shampoo and conditioner when I doing a good wash.

Is blue waters yuh washing yuh car wit dey??

pluggie

Postby pluggie » January 14th, 2014, 1:09 am

Kal-El Ward wrote:I used Quix dishwashing detergent a couple times. Now only reason I did, is because after washing dishes, and dirty DVD's and CD's with it, I realized it cleaned really well and polished up with a simple shine, wanted to experiment. Tried it on the car a few times, and nice results. I used micro fiber and Chamois though, to avoid putting those find scratches you see on the clear coat. It's easy on the clear coat. You don't even need to use much. And it dries really fast, streak free, lemony scented also! I find Kerosene kills the clear coat and dulls the paint.

Dude are you aware that squeezy and breeze etc are very corrosive ... Better buy a nice car shampoo instead...
Last edited by pluggie on January 14th, 2014, 1:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » January 14th, 2014, 1:17 am

I diluted it alot. Wasn't soapy though. Didn't damage the clear coat. It cleaned normal and polished up a bit. To my knowledge it's not highly corrosive.

Postby cinco » January 14th, 2014, 7:55 am

Kal-El Ward wrote:I diluted it alot. Wasn't soapy though. Didn't damage the clear coat. It cleaned normal and polished up a bit. To my knowledge it's not highly corrosive.

wah u drivin?

Postby S_2NR » January 14th, 2014, 8:04 am

Kal-El Ward wrote:I diluted it alot. Wasn't soapy though. Didn't damage the clear coat. It cleaned normal and polished up a bit. To my knowledge it's not highly corrosive.

:?
its DISHwashing liquid not car wash shampoo. what you are experiencing is a placebo :lol:
i use autoglym car shampoo. works well.

either a meguiars or auto glym polish for road tar.
no way kerosene touching my car.

Postby toyolink » January 14th, 2014, 12:46 pm

The idea of washing a vehicle with a solution of kerosene emulsified in water has been around for decades and in fact was very common a few decades ago.
When this approach was used,it was necessary to wash vehicle in 'cool' and rinse with a detergent solution.An application of a quick polish followed.
Paint finishes on vehicles very rarely had clear coat.
Today with kerosene hard to lay hands on, paint finishes with associated complexities and the easy availability of all kinds of products .....the old methods are dying.
I remember using Johnsons baby oil on my dash on a Vauxhall 102 (2000) and was a crude real thick 'black jack' type glue on tires.

Postby nervewrecker » January 14th, 2014, 12:59 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:

Squeezy never touch any of my vehicles, low ph FTL.

Pure water and sponge (simple green diluted to wash off kero if it have tar). Auto glym bodywork shampoo and conditioner when I doing a good wash.

Is blue waters yuh washing yuh car wit dey??

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » January 15th, 2014, 3:39 am

Not driving a vehicle as yet till maybe next week Cinco. But my brother's car I tried it on. And for a while. Probably 4 times for the month. It works sweet on the glass and lights also.

Postby cinco » January 15th, 2014, 12:16 pm

Kal-El Ward wrote:Not driving a vehicle as yet till maybe next week Cinco. But my brother's car I tried it on. And for a while. Probably 4 times for the month. It works sweet on the glass and lights also.

save up for a paint job fuh yuh bro

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » January 15th, 2014, 12:27 pm

Keroscene ...meh ... Diesel is the thing cleans everything better..after I does use breeze multiactive cause it have bess polymers to makes colourz brighta... If yuh car white through in a lil bleach... It go sparkle... Try eet

Postby tr1ad » January 15th, 2014, 12:28 pm

cinco wrote:
Kal-El Ward wrote:Not driving a vehicle as yet till maybe next week Cinco. But my brother's car I tried it on. And for a while. Probably 4 times for the month. It works sweet on the glass and lights also.

save up for a paint job fuh yuh bro

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 15th, 2014, 4:45 pm

Olden days they used kerosene in water to wash cars as it helped resist corrosion in areas prone to heavy sea blast.

nigie

Postby nigie » January 15th, 2014, 5:33 pm

yes i used 2 use kerosene mixed with water .....removes road tar by the fenders and mechanic oil marks .....the road tar remover they used 2 sell... actually smelled like kerosene back then

Postby nervewrecker » January 15th, 2014, 6:53 pm

Boy, wipe down your bro whole car till you get a matte finish.

Postby pugboy » January 15th, 2014, 6:56 pm

I surprised nobody mentioned acetone, cutting anything easy

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » January 15th, 2014, 7:01 pm

so what Karim Khan does use ?

Postby nervewrecker » January 15th, 2014, 7:04 pm

Noonie juice

Postby S_2NR » January 15th, 2014, 8:30 pm

Wow. First the vene in heels, now this.....
I don't know what to say about you at this point.

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » January 16th, 2014, 7:45 pm

kal el iza schoolboy still.

Postby cinco » January 16th, 2014, 7:47 pm

kevin5211 wrote:kal el iza schoolboy still.

He need alot of school yes

spirited721

Postby spirited721 » January 16th, 2014, 7:48 pm

Kal el.....is you a fatima boy? ?? Jus askin :lol:

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » January 16th, 2014, 8:34 pm

Why all the attacks? :cry:

Postby joker » January 16th, 2014, 9:07 pm

O gorm cinco lol:lol::lol::lol::lol:

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » January 17th, 2014, 11:10 am

wd40 works just as good and may not be as harsh on your paint as kerosene.

BTW- anybody ever heard of this? everyone i've spoken to has never heard about it. after washing and before drying, mix a little amorall with water and spray conservatively onto area and chamois in a circular motion. Eliminates minor scratches and gives a great shine.

Postby cinco » January 17th, 2014, 12:55 pm

Tarantula wrote:wd40 works just as good and may not be as harsh on your paint as kerosene.

BTW- anybody ever heard of this? everyone i've spoken to has never heard about it. after washing and before drying, mix a little amorall with water and spray conservatively onto area and chamois in a circular motion. Eliminates minor scratches and gives a great shine.

that may work temporarily but as soon as the car gets wet that amourall will wash off.

a good filler polish will last longer and work better

venomz

Postby venomz » January 17th, 2014, 1:14 pm

TRDGUY wrote:Op like everything else , use in moderation kerosene is a good engine degreaser as well .

Wont spray that under there at all. I think kero damages seals and stuffz

I stick to the simple green on this end, works like a charm.

Simple green is a Harsh industrial degreaser...this dry rots rubber and plastic seals...

but too each his own....

venomz

Postby venomz » January 17th, 2014, 1:15 pm

TRDGUY wrote:Op like everything else , use in moderation kerosene is a good engine degreaser as well .

Wont spray that under there at all. I think kero damages seals and stuffz

I stick to the simple green on this end, works like a charm.

Simple green is a Harsh industrial degreaser...this dry rots rubber and plastic seals...

but too each his own....

Postby nervewrecker » January 17th, 2014, 1:35 pm

I does wash hands, face, vehicle body etc with that 0.o