Point of Sale

eekipoo

Point of Sale

Postby eekipoo » January 17th, 2012, 12:19 pm

Does anyone here use a point of sale system for their business? Looking to setup one for myself i already have a source for hardware but i'm still looking for options for the software. It doesn't have to be anything super fancy I simply need to print barcodes and input the inventory and scan it out for a sale (retail store). Most software for the Point of Sale i have come across is average $5000TTD anyone using anything cheaper? Thanks

Re: Point of Sale

Postby cinco » January 17th, 2012, 12:23 pm

eekipoo wrote:Does anyone here use a point of sale system for their business? Looking to setup one for myself i already have a source for hardware but i'm still looking for options for the software. It doesn't have to be anything super fancy I simply need to print barcodes and input the inventory and scan it out for a sale (retail store). Most software for the Point of Sale i have come across is average $5000TTD anyone using anything cheaper? Thanks

lucky u
who is your source of hardware btw??

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » January 17th, 2012, 12:27 pm

cinco wrote:
eekipoo wrote:Does anyone here use a point of sale system for their business? Looking to setup one for myself i already have a source for hardware but i'm still looking for options for the software. It doesn't have to be anything super fancy I simply need to print barcodes and input the inventory and scan it out for a sale (retail store). Most software for the Point of Sale i have come across is average $5000TTD anyone using anything cheaper? Thanks

lucky u
who is your source of hardware btw??

Ebay my source for everything lol

Postby cinco » January 17th, 2012, 12:42 pm

ha not i nah
i been tryin to do something like this but trinidad service sucks balls
search for my thread there were good suggestions

chippy

Postby chippy » January 17th, 2012, 2:31 pm

At my last job, the company was using Microsoft Retail Management System (RMS).
In my opinion...very very good piece of software...
Not too sure of the cost for your application...
A company in town called Jen-mar sells it...
could probably give them a call....

sk1111

Postby sk1111 » January 17th, 2012, 2:43 pm

Hi,

I use quickbooks point of sale pro. It's expensive but a great piece of software. What kind of business are you going to use it for ?

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 17th, 2012, 3:24 pm

src1983

Point of Sale

Postby src1983 » January 17th, 2012, 4:09 pm

In respect to hardware, I buy from

www.posguys.com

My experience in dealing with so called metrologic dealers, didn't make sense........

For example: printer head on printer went.... Cost and reason from local supplier $3000 need a new printer

All I did was a search found that I can buy the print head 180TTD, repaired it myself and it's going on 6 months now

In respect to software I use Accupos and peachtree quantum 2008, good system links my pos perfectly to my accounting software

Only problem is that peachtree does not have vat inclusive pricing (I would have used quickbooks but my database too large :( )

salsym

Postby salsym » January 17th, 2012, 9:42 pm

Hi
Try http://www.posnz.com
1)Software may be installed for demo FREE.
2)You can wither rent it or buy it.
If any query, email me.

civicman

Postby civicman » January 17th, 2012, 9:59 pm

An you call yuh self an IT Professional ? .COM lol :D :D
What yuh need young fella PM meh the details
i have software and hardware in stock
An fuh not callin me first thinkin yuh big now no discount :D :D

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » January 17th, 2012, 10:04 pm

quickbook works great and they send me a scanner FRee P.

CL9_EURO

Postby CL9_EURO » January 18th, 2012, 4:46 pm

QUICKBOOKS Point of sale talk done..

Been trying many others since 2003 this is about the best i've come across for simplicity, ease of use/setup. there are many others such as microsoft RMS, Accupos Cash register express etc but I run quickbooks for everything I need and everything my customers need and thus far no complaints. Very easy for staff to deal with.

Everything from Cell stores, clothing, body building stores etc.

If u need anything let me know.

Advice on hardware
EPSON TM series printer
Metrologic barcode scanners
Dynapos Cashdrawers and Display Poles.

If you want to get technical with card printers, membership/reward cards etc let me know.

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 14th, 2014, 3:17 pm

Looking to upgrade my current POS any recommendations??

CL9_EURO

Postby CL9_EURO » January 14th, 2014, 3:35 pm

Quickbooks pos or Microsoft RMS according to your budget.

cheap solution cash register express (approx 4Grand per license)

*Єʋρнoяιa*

Postby *Єʋρнoяιa* » January 14th, 2014, 3:36 pm

NCR Counterpoint

https://www.counterpointpos.com/

Local dealers Wagos Ltd

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 14th, 2014, 8:31 pm

*Єʋρнoяιa* wrote:NCR Counterpoint

Local dealers Wagos Ltd

Will this work with my current hardware (metro logic)?

More leaning towards RMS, would be great if it can work with peachtree

Postby st7 » January 14th, 2014, 9:45 pm

src1983,

email/call the guys at Caribbean ICT - info@caribbeanict.com / 686-6888

they deal with POS systems and are quite good. they should be able to advise you accordingly

CL9_EURO

Postby CL9_EURO » January 14th, 2014, 9:47 pm

src1983 wrote:

Local dealers Wagos Ltd

metrologic scanners?

scanners are more or less universal , especially if its usb (rs232 are also compatible on quite a number of specialized systems). printers and pole displays can be tricky. remember ncr has their hardware as well so i'm sure wagos will try to sell you a complete system.

rms is a bit tricky to get configured and off the ground compared to quickbooks download a demo from microsoft's website and give it a shot before you commit..

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 15th, 2014, 7:14 am

CL9_EURO wrote:
src1983 wrote:

Local dealers Wagos Ltd

metrologic scanners?

scanners are more or less universal , especially if its usb (rs232 are also compatible on quite a number of specialized systems). printers and pole displays can be tricky. remember ncr has their hardware as well so i'm sure wagos will try to sell you a complete system.

rms is a bit tricky to get configured and off the ground compared to quickbooks download a demo from microsoft's website and give it a shot before you commit..

Was reading up on it, the counterpoint looks good, I like how it can integrate with peachtree, I will give wagos a call and hear what they have to offer.

*Єʋρнoяιa*

Postby *Єʋρнoяιa* » January 15th, 2014, 8:09 am

With regards to the statement by CL9_EURO, even though NCR does have it's own hardware, Wagos Ltd works with whatever hardware the customer has, once it is verified that the hardware is compatible with Counterpoint.

If anyone would like to have a feel of software before purchase, Wagos would provide them with a demo DVD which has a built-in manual. They are quite flexible with meeting the needs of a prospective client.

Postby cinco » January 15th, 2014, 12:22 pm

*Єʋρнoяιa* wrote:With regards to the statement by CL9_EURO, even though NCR does have it's own hardware, Wagos Ltd works with whatever hardware the customer has, once it is verified that the hardware is compatible with Counterpoint.

If anyone would like to have a feel of software before purchase, Wagos would provide them with a demo DVD which has a built-in manual. They are quite flexible with meeting the needs of a prospective client.

big meh on wagos
their training sucks and they cant seem to rectify simple issues

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 15th, 2014, 1:29 pm

Any thoughts on Jen-Mar?

*Єʋρнoяιa*

Postby *Єʋρнoяιa* » January 15th, 2014, 2:04 pm

Wagos Ltd has hundreds of customers using Counterpoint in Trinidad and throughout the Caribbean ranging from single user systems to 100+. Though they may not be able to please everyone due to differences in human nature, they strive to make service their number 1 priority.
It's always advisable to make decisions on first-hand experience.

Postby cinco » January 15th, 2014, 2:11 pm

*Єʋρнoяιa* wrote:Wagos Ltd has hundreds of customers using Counterpoint in Trinidad and throughout the Caribbean ranging from single user systems to 100+. Though they may not be able to please everyone due to differences in human nature, they strive to make service their number 1 priority.
It's always advisable to make decisions on first-hand experience.

clearly u working there
and i am talking from my experience

*Єʋρнoяιa*

Postby *Єʋρнoяιa* » January 15th, 2014, 2:24 pm

I believe their numbers speak for themselves. Everyone who deals with customers on a daily basis would know like I said as hard as you try, you cannot please everyone. However, complaints and problems are welcomed to be reported so that Wagos Ltd can continue to improve their service in areas the customer believes is lacking.

CL9_EURO

Postby CL9_EURO » January 15th, 2014, 5:27 pm

First the hardware needs to be NCR compliant we don't exactly know what hardware the other guy has. secondly wagos tries to sell you their entire system first before trying to use what you have ( I have gotten multiple quotes and this is the route they taken, with me at least) also as for your theory in numbers obviously they are going to have a lot of clients when NCR points you directly back to them even if you try to purchase from someone else, that does not mean customers are happy with the service they get I know of a few who are quite unhappy...that being said

NCR and counterpoint is good don't get my wrong but with typical trini companies theres always a lot to be desired in terms of service

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 15th, 2014, 5:49 pm

My Hardware:

Terminals - Dell optiplex - Win 7 - 6 Gig ram - i3 processor
Printers - Star TSP100
Drawers - Dynopos (triggers with printer)
Scale - CAS-1000n
Scanner - metrologic incounter and handheld

Back office - POS Management software - Dell optiplex - Win 7 - i7 - SSD - 12G ram
Network - dell - win server 2003

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 15th, 2014, 5:54 pm

CL9_EURO wrote:First the hardware needs to be NCR compliant we don't exactly know what hardware the other guy has. secondly wagos tries to sell you their entire system first before trying to use what you have ( I have gotten multiple quotes and this is the route they taken, with me at least) also as for your theory in numbers obviously they are going to have a lot of clients when NCR points you directly back to them even if you try to purchase from someone else, that does not mean customers are happy with the service they get I know of a few who are quite unhappy...that being said

NCR and counterpoint is good don't get my wrong but with typical trini companies theres always a lot to be desired in terms of service

That was the problem I faced, guy came installed. When it was time for training and problems never could find him. I had to understand the thing myself.

Rodn3y

Postby Rodn3y » January 16th, 2014, 8:05 am

i use retial edge USD450 and USD225 for any copy after that. has remote/real time access capability and e commerce.

*Єʋρнoяιa*

Postby *Єʋρнoяιa* » January 16th, 2014, 8:25 am

CL9_EURO wrote:secondly wagos tries to sell you their entire system first before trying to use what you have

I am sorry, but that statement is quite incorrect. If a prospective customer already has hardware in place, they can either provide the models numbers and configuration or a technician would visit and make an assessment of the hardware in order to confirm if it would be compatible with Counterpoint. Even further to this, when a quote is issued to a client, if they question whether they can source their own hardware, they are advised that they are under no obligation to purchase both software and hardware only that they provide the model numbers and configuration of the equipment before purchase to ensure compatibility.

Wagos Ltd also provides full training on Counterpoint; four 3hr sessions minimum (this is dependent on the configuration of a client's system) plus the software comes with a built-in manual which allows you to learn on your own as well.

As said previously Wagos believes in a service first priority. When issues are reported depending on the urgency of the problem, they are attended to immediately or standard priority problems are dealt with in 24-48hrs (with specific customizations taking longer). If a customer is not pleased with the service provided, they are encouraged to report it management or if they wish it's in their best interest to report directly to NCR. Only through feedback can Wagos Ltd improve their service to better meet the needs of the customers.