Mountain Biking

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 12th, 2014, 9:16 am

Was stopped by some baboon this morning who was a airport security and he warned me not to ride up the one way street. Allyuh know the exit road? When you leaving the airport. He was asking what I doing with a bike near the airport I said in the civilized countries its known as a means of transport.

He said it's illegal to ride up a one way and that how you need to have a pass to ride a bike in this country.

I told the tug that bicycles are legal to ride without insurance / license and furthermore My bike is not powered by any motor hence the term bicycle.

I felt threatened and rode off quickly as I was in fear because I do not trust those people.

But for the question I have anyone knows what laws apply to bicycles?

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » January 12th, 2014, 10:56 am

Peruse the laws and see if you find anything. The baboon should have chased you :lol: Do you work near the airport or something? Is that you route to your work?
Being a Baboon to another Baboon might get you in trouble :lol: :roll: Just dismount and walk up the one way? :idea:

I remember when I was in my teens I went to ride around AtoBoldon stadium at night, and a Baboon guard was harassing me, wanted to know why I riding my bike there. Thinking of it now, I wonder if my GoPro chest mount will ever get me in trouble when I encounter a Baboon :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 12th, 2014, 11:22 am

LOL

Yeah I does work in the airport itself. I was going and make up some cockamania story and tell he how I win a police in court and that bikes don't need to obey same laws as cars and that how he is a idiot but I say let me hush my arse and ride out quick.

Next time soon as I entering after ttpost I go push the bike up and walk. LoL

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 12th, 2014, 3:32 pm

hmm I need to investigate this got some friends in the police so I could enquire

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 12th, 2014, 6:16 pm

Thinking of building a road bike from scratch. Hand built by myself with selected components over the course of 2 years. Will invest approx $7k.

However I need a frame locally as thats to big to ship by skybox.

Does the shops like Mikes locally sell road bike frames alone?

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 12th, 2014, 6:20 pm

I think they all do , may not have in stock but still check and they all will certainly order it for you

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 12th, 2014, 7:15 pm

Nice

you think $1500 is enough for 1 rim? could you get lifetime rims for that price?

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 12th, 2014, 7:29 pm

no clue I cant help you in that aspect

Postby pugboy » January 12th, 2014, 7:34 pm

Buying a new frame is not cost effective,
It is always cheaper to buy a whole bike with all the parts
At the manufacturers pricing is much cheaper as a whole than sum of individual parts.

This is why on ebay ou always see a lot of parts for sale
Labelled as "takeoffs"

Onl worthwhile if you can pickp a secondhand frame cheap

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 12th, 2014, 7:46 pm

true and to drop 7k ti build im sure he can get a decent bike for that price range

bgh

Postby bgh » January 12th, 2014, 8:52 pm

If I were you, I would wait till november this year to pickup a 2014 bike from mikes or gene. Mikes had sale on his stock starting at 4k. A partner picked up a road bike for 9k. Original price 12k I think.

Check his fb page history he had some listed.
https://facebook.com/Mikes.BikesTT?v=ti ... =760046520
Last edited by bgh on January 13th, 2014, 8:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » January 12th, 2014, 9:01 pm

if you look on ebay you could probably find a 2013 bike discounted
bring it thru skybox, no taxes on whole bikes
will weight about 22lbs boxed

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 13th, 2014, 11:05 am

I might just go mikes this Christmas.

Cause his deals does be real good.

For now I buying a pair of avid bb7 brake set genuine for around $1200 TT

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » January 13th, 2014, 11:59 am

Does that price include the brake levers and cables?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 13th, 2014, 2:01 pm

Yes even cables this is the link they are 2012 avid bb7

http://www.blueskycycling.com/product16 ... bo-Kit.htm

This price is with shipping and vat. Assuming you wont pay duty.

This is genuine and not the knock off you see selling from fabica on eBay. This is why it costs souch more you got to buy from reliable source.

Figured I will be keeping this bike for a long time so might as well fix it up nice.

The bb7 are a breeze to setup and adjust it has dials on both side outside of the pads so you can adjust clerance with just ur finger without even having to touch the caliper bolts lol

trinirider

Postby trinirider » January 13th, 2014, 4:29 pm

We can get you BB7 with Avid levers 1200.00
these would be current model

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I might just go mikes this Christmas.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 13th, 2014, 5:39 pm

trinirider wrote:We can get you BB7 with Avid levers 1200.00

^ LOL if you did only say that earlier.

I done order it and they say its too late to cancel the order. Else would have just bought them from you and save myself the hassle.

trinirider

Postby trinirider » January 13th, 2014, 7:12 pm

1200 with professional installation.

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
trinirider wrote:We can get you BB7 with Avid levers 1200.00

^ LOL if you did only say that earlier.

I done order it and they say its too late to cancel the order. Else would have just bought them from you and save myself the hassle.

trinirider

Postby trinirider » January 13th, 2014, 9:44 pm

Sale Sale on pump/inflator
+ tubeless systems in stock
ask anything you want to know about tubeless

https://www.facebook.com/CannondaleTrinidad

TRD12

Postby TRD12 » January 14th, 2014, 9:24 am

Local and online options to purchase cycling shorts and jersey? Where do you'll go?

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 14th, 2014, 9:34 am

online local price steep , amazon , price point etc I will post up more sites but I normally use those two

trinirider

Postby trinirider » January 14th, 2014, 10:18 am

325.00 Cannondale shorts I have been using Cannondale shorts for 15 years

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » January 14th, 2014, 10:28 pm

@TRD12, you can check Ebay for apparel as well. Be careful and make sure the seller is from the US, otherwise you can wait long for your item if it ships from far eastern countries.

Have to get myself one of those after I buy a full-face helmet. After taking a fall on the trails, not chancing anything, especially neck injuries.

Mini

Postby Mini » January 15th, 2014, 5:19 am

Nice. It's the equivalent of a HANS device. I have seen more and more riders on the trail with full face helmets. Not sure if I want to go that route yet.

Postby pugboy » January 15th, 2014, 7:19 am

which Cannondale shorts do you have in stock ?
size XL

trinirider wrote:325.00 Cannondale shorts I have been using Cannondale shorts for 15 years

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 15th, 2014, 7:26 am

Mini wrote:Nice. It's the equivalent of a HANS device. I have seen more and more riders on the trail with full face helmets. Not sure if I want to go that route yet.

which trails you talking about a lot of the ppl I see still wearing normal helmets and when you coming to take a ride with De group ?

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 15th, 2014, 8:54 am

VK-Sportsman wrote:
Have to get myself one of those after I buy a full-face helmet. After taking a fall on the trails, not chancing anything, especially neck injuries.

By the way, that was an extreme slow motion fall you put down last week eh

Mini

Postby Mini » January 15th, 2014, 10:16 am

trinibajan34 wrote:
Mini wrote:Nice. It's the equivalent of a HANS device. I have seen more and more riders on the trail with full face helmets. Not sure if I want to go that route yet.

which trails you talking about a lot of the ppl I see still wearing normal helmets and when you coming to take a ride with De group ?

In chag. Rode up to last week with Pornstar... (I just re-read that and I know it sounds bad!!)

I see mostly kids with full face though. I just think it would be hot and uncomfortable and limit your peripheral vision

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 15th, 2014, 10:36 am

gotta give him a shout for this weekend ,have to change my times on a saturday to the evenings because of parental duties ,oh the joys of being a dad :). on the other hand check this out

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid ... =1&theater

hopefully it isn't blocked

evil_twin

Postby evil_twin » January 15th, 2014, 8:32 pm

anyone here takin part in river raid?