Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

HondaB20B

Re: Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

Postby HondaB20B » December 8th, 2013, 9:01 am

vs_unique23 wrote:I HAVE A reef octopus diablo 200xs skimmer for sale $2300.00 you can call me on 374-0414. reasons for selling it mi sump is to small for skimmer. skimmer has some scrapes on it happen when i was trying to put skimmer in the sump and space between the tank and skimmer scrape the skimmer.

Real nice skimmer...........real nice price also. You really cant go wrong there.
So if that skimmer cant fit, what shimmer you going with now.
Post some pics of the tank man

vs_unique23

Postby vs_unique23 » December 8th, 2013, 11:46 am

HondaB20B wrote:
vs_unique23 wrote:I HAVE A reef octopus diablo 200xs skimmer for sale $2300.00 you can call me on 374-0414. reasons for selling it mi sump is to small for skimmer. skimmer has some scrapes on it happen when i was trying to put skimmer in the sump and space between the tank and skimmer scrape the skimmer.

Real nice skimmer...........real nice price also. You really cant go wrong there.
So if that skimmer cant fit, what shimmer you going with now.
Post some pics of the tank man
image(8).jpeg
image(8).jpeg (28.64 KiB) Viewed 3709 times

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 8th, 2013, 12:13 pm

Actually I meant pics of your tank setup......... :-)

thatlife

Postby thatlife » December 10th, 2013, 9:13 am

what battery back up systems do you guys use?

and how many hrs run time do you get?

in case of a power outage

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 10th, 2013, 10:07 am

Buy one of those battery backup air pumps. You cant go wrong. You have small pumps so you can also use a UPS to run at least one powerhead. Once you have some sort of circulation you will be good for a few hrs. You can even use one of those jumpstart units that has the 110 supply. It works good for a small powerhead for a few hrs. I sometimes run one on my 75gal. Dont run excessive air cause in saltwater tanks, it raises PH and remember you have a small tank. No need to run no big set of air. Something I don't also do when current goes is feed my fish.
If you should ever go MP10, you can always buy the battery backup for it. It works great.
Last edited by HondaB20B on December 10th, 2013, 6:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » December 10th, 2013, 2:23 pm

those clams in my opinion, kinda hard to take of since they eat small foods (filterfeeders) and need certain amount of food everyday and if u have to feed them according to their metabolism u should always have food for them so idk how that working out unless your tank mature like Honda's

Anyone know where to get black acrylic? i want to make an overflow box

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 15th, 2013, 1:37 pm

Bumping this thread..............
Thatlife, Whats the status on the tank. Hows it going

thatlife

Postby thatlife » December 15th, 2013, 7:49 pm

well boy...
current went yesterday, good thing i had a small generator

readings at today
ammonia at 0
nitrates at 0
phosphate at 0

i topped off this week with bluewaters because my salinity ran high (was topping off with RO/DI salt water previously) and didn't have RO/DI water at the time

2 days later, started seeing some green hair algae, did a 20% water change.
and ordered a RO/DI system, should get it Tuesday.

running my nano protein skimmer, getting some good stuff out of it
also running the nano UV sterilizer which sent the temp up by 2 degress, brown algae started going away
I hooked up this nano chiller, working great!, temp is down to 26.2 constant

http://reefbuilders.com/2013/05/14/chil ... mmer-heat/

downside is that the stock pump is too small, so flow is very slow
upgrading to a maxijet 1200 tomorrow

running the media basket
chemipure on top
purigen below

these seem to be looking taller everyday

as well as the pulsing xenia

the only other problem I have is the zoa doesn't look as good as they were, every since the hermit went on it, never saw him go anywhere near it after but a couple of the heads closed up and died off

added a cleaning shrimp about 5 days ago

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 15th, 2013, 8:51 pm

you say the corals looking taller?
The zoas right? Any time you see zoas growing tall that means its not getting sufficient lighting and they are actually stretching for the light. BAD SIGN

how much the salinity went to.
Last edited by HondaB20B on December 15th, 2013, 8:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 15th, 2013, 8:52 pm

What brand nano chiller is that

thatlife

Postby thatlife » December 16th, 2013, 8:53 am

link to chiller > http://reefbuilders.com/2013/05/14/chil ... mmer-heat/

salinity was at 1.029, down to 1.025 at the moment

these get very tall during the day when the actnics on

during the night they retract midway
btw, do I keep these on top a rock or on the sand bed? which is better?

lighting on my tank
36W 10,000K compact fluorescent lamp (16")
36W Actinic 100% blue actinic 03 phosphor that peaks at 420 nanometers (16")
and leds for moon light

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 16th, 2013, 11:49 am

So when do you put on the 10,000k. Zoas love light. If they dont get enough light they just melt away after a few weeks.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 19th, 2013, 6:02 pm

Bump!!!!!

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » December 19th, 2013, 10:55 pm

Got my Jebao WP40 today. This pump is a beast for the price.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » December 21st, 2013, 9:31 pm

Looking to finally get the vortechs.
Trying to decide on either one MP40 or two MP10 that ill place opposite each other.

What you think? Its a 100gal 3ft wide and about the same in height

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » December 22nd, 2013, 7:01 pm

^^ Greenlime have a look at the below thread before your purchase.

http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showt ... ?t=2259644

It's definitely not a "Vortech" but still worth a look at 1/4 the cost.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » December 23rd, 2013, 4:21 pm

Yeah i have the wp25..it's AWESOME! ..the waves is to much for my tiny tank lol cause the whole tank does shake. I getting a 70g+ soon..gonna be a shallow tank.

I get the rodi unit but it so confusing with the black thingy that looks like a T with 2 screws and the instructions is only for people who know what they doing..but i think i will figure it out and remember the things raj tell me.

By the way allyuh see the new section by raj :O ???

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 23rd, 2013, 6:05 pm

Reefplanet wrote:Yeah i have the wp25..it's AWESOME! ..the waves is to much for my tiny tank lol cause the whole tank does shake. I getting a 70g+ soon..gonna be a shallow tank.

I get the rodi unit but it so confusing with the black thingy that looks like a T with 2 screws and the instructions is only for people who know what they doing..but i think i will figure it out and remember the things raj tell me.

By the way allyuh see the new section by raj :O ???

:shock: :shock: :shock: .................WHAH?????

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 27th, 2013, 3:28 pm

BUMPIN...........

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 29th, 2013, 5:27 pm

Anyone have any Mushrooms that they willing to part with or trade?
PM me

thatlife

Postby thatlife » December 30th, 2013, 11:43 am

anytime you guys fragging stuff and making space

i can do with some new corals,
willing to buy if necessary

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » December 30th, 2013, 12:28 pm

^^ have frags. What you have to trade??

thatlife

Postby thatlife » December 30th, 2013, 2:51 pm

my tank is new, so i don't have any frags to trade

stuff that I may part with , both new
wavemaker
http://www.amazon.com/JBJ-Automatic-Wat ... ywords=ato

Automatic Top Off
http://www.amazon.com/Hydor-Smart-Circu ... =wavemaker

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 30th, 2013, 5:50 pm

Ziggy, just don't trade mine pal

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 30th, 2013, 5:51 pm

Thatlife, the zoas still stretching?

thatlife

Postby thatlife » December 30th, 2013, 9:57 pm

not more than how they were before

since i started dosing
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0009Y ... UTF8&psc=1

and this
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0002D ... UTF8&psc=1

zoas are more coloured and seem to be growing alot, almost covered the frag that it came on,

when I first got it, it was on half now its almost covered, hoping it will spread on the rocks soon.

my only problem is some algae rite now
running some phosban in a bag in my media basket
and got a blenny that seems to be doing a good job, definitely a decrease on the algae

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 30th, 2013, 10:03 pm

^^^^ go easy on those products............ They will promote algae growth. Then remember your tank is new, Algae growth is typical in new tanks

thatlife

Postby thatlife » December 30th, 2013, 10:16 pm

i'm using half dose of what is recommended right now
and just using them as supplements for the corals that I have

i always read the reviews and forums for those stuff before I add it to my tank
most reviews are from people who started with new tanks and have had great results over the months

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 30th, 2013, 10:36 pm

yeah but sometimes they don't tell you the high proteins that enters your tank. Your tank is small and the simple feeding that you feed you fish can be sufficient for your corals to grow. You tank is a new tank that's not a mth yet so don't go forcing to much coral food into your tank. Dose it like once every wk for now. Something that people encounter early is cyano bacteria which really don't look nice. It can be caused by many reasons but too much reading can also be detrimental also.

thatlife

Postby thatlife » December 31st, 2013, 10:54 am

cool
will take it slow