Tessanne Chin WINS The Voice (2013)

Re: Support Tessanne Chin on The Voice (2013)

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 13th, 2013, 8:23 am

pioneer wrote:Did jamaicans support Bunji and Machel for soul train awards?

Buh you self ain't support them :|

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=530419&hilit=Soul+train

Postby tr1ad » November 13th, 2013, 9:08 am

oooohhhhhhhhhhhh goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooouuuuuuuudddddddddddddddddd

Postby DFC » November 13th, 2013, 9:09 am

i love tessanne. met her once. Damn sexy.

hope she wins.

TriP

Postby TriP » November 19th, 2013, 7:55 am

"which rang through loud and clear in the opening lines of Gladys Knight's "If I Were Your Woman"

Postby dougla_boy » November 19th, 2013, 8:04 am

Chin.......i hope u come back in daddys..........closest thing to a chinee yardie i cud come across

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » November 19th, 2013, 9:03 am

Support Jesus. And our locals. Lol

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » November 20th, 2013, 12:42 pm

full chin support

Postby AllTrac » November 20th, 2013, 12:50 pm

i really hope she makes a porno, i would jock until my break coming out in puffs of powder

kjaglal76

Postby kjaglal76 » November 20th, 2013, 1:11 pm

pioneer wrote:Did jamaicans support Bunji and Machel for soul train awards?

this

jamaicans refer to soca a devil music, no jamaican cud ever get my support it none, ent dem did wanna ban some of our exports from entering dey country? fcuk dem oui, if she wanna "make it big" like d ress ah yardies, leh go new york & wipe ole ppl buttam, fcuk dem i say!!!!!

Postby Gem_in_i » November 20th, 2013, 2:09 pm

I still think she has a chance of winning.
I don't like her style of singing though, it's all that 'screaming' like how Christina Aguilera sings.

TriP

Postby TriP » November 25th, 2013, 9:46 pm

2nite performance 25.11.13

Postby Gem_in_i » November 25th, 2013, 10:22 pm

I liked her performance tonight.

bluestarz9

Postby bluestarz9 » November 26th, 2013, 3:38 pm

there is no one there to give her serious competition, she is ahead. i think 2nd spot might be the yound girl with the "natural" strange but special toned voice. she has a one of a kind voice cant miss it, forgot her name though.

thats my 1st and 2nd picks

silver

Postby silver » November 26th, 2013, 4:25 pm

Tess is a great vocalist and by far the best contestant on the Voice.
The problem is, the Voice doesn't really produce stars. After winning the voice, none of the contestants have any any sizeable success to date. One or two of them have gone on tour with their mentor (Cee-lo, Adam, Blake, Xtina) but no Kelly Clarkson (american idol) or One Direction (X factor) kinda fame.
To be successful in the music industry, especially on an international scale its mostly about placement and packaging. Just being a great voice is not good enough.

I wish her the best and i hope she wins. Will be a Caribbean victory and definately a product Jamaica should be proud of.

All this anti-jamaica sentiment is bollocks btw. everybody need to jus get a grip and stop being led by the sensationalist media whores

Postby pioneer » November 26th, 2013, 7:10 pm

So ollor still supportin she?

I mean, it makes for kool facebook and tweets, that way you can show your friends how kool you are.

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » December 6th, 2013, 3:20 pm

Why the fudge someone would even make a thread about her in a Trini forum? Who cares. Will it save the lives of homeless children? Would it help the families ease their grief over loved ones lost? Wait, what good or better would it do for Trinidad? So all the Jamaicans that backing her up here, go Jamaica and support her.

spirited721

Postby spirited721 » December 6th, 2013, 3:24 pm

Boycott Jamaica(ans)

TriP

Postby TriP » December 10th, 2013, 7:43 am

silver

Postby silver » December 10th, 2013, 10:19 am

^^ after seeing that performance i take it back. This has made Tessanne an international star, and she deserves it.
i hope she wins it hands down.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 10th, 2013, 10:46 am

#1 on iTunes

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » December 10th, 2013, 11:27 am

Jamaica is boycotting T&T. We had a Caribbean sporting event over the weekend. The Jamaican contingent did not attend.

spirited721

Postby spirited721 » December 10th, 2013, 12:12 pm

TriniAutoMart wrote:Jamaica is boycotting T&T. We had a Caribbean sporting event over the weekend. The Jamaican contingent did not attend.

Nuff said. :evil:

Postby bluefete » December 10th, 2013, 12:18 pm

TriniAutoMart wrote:Jamaica is boycotting T&T. We had a Caribbean sporting event over the weekend. The Jamaican contingent did not attend.

That is their blasted business. If they are so small minded, it does not mean that we have to stoop to their depths!!

Love conquers hate every time!!

Postby Les Bain » December 10th, 2013, 12:20 pm

Were Jamaicans supporting Anya when she was on Project Runway (or at least when her videos were leaked)?

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 10th, 2013, 12:29 pm

Tessanne got all my support....

Postby SmokeyGTi » December 10th, 2013, 1:10 pm

go girl...

but what's the prize on the voice?
a recodring contract? or just money?

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » December 10th, 2013, 7:49 pm

Wow. She trained hard to copy voices and replicate. I don't see the big thing here. Why? Because, 1) the voices of many other artists long ago, music voice talent is a constant recycle going on, nothing new. Listen to various genres of music from the 1930's up. You'll understand. 2) After Jamaica move stink with Trinidad, anyone who supports them and their fraud talent, needs to go stay in Jamaica. Do you know what these men and women come here for? Got about 11 of them on my side, and they all involved in things, with criminal elements, always grimy and hating, moving gangsta, and tusty for our women and underaged girls, I talking about tracking Primary school girls that now hitting puberty. That's the reality. I do be hanging around with my neighbors, being outside to see and witnessed things, and they witnessed things also. She ain't giving my country any impact whatsoever. Well actually, she is. With her performance and to those who following, and made this post, I now know people of my country, who are not patriotic, and will sell out my country, and the Jamaicans that maybe lie within 3ne*2nr. And all who think I shouldn't express my view, and against Jamaica, I don't care. I stand for all Trinis. Indian, African, Caucasian, Chinese, Syrian, Muslim, Hindu, Christian, Baptist, everyone who is for our country.

And...

That's my 2cents. I outta change right now. Hadda break a dollar dey. When ah come back. Laterz

Postby wagonrunner » December 10th, 2013, 7:56 pm

why work so hard to pontify our differences when we can simply celebrate each other by overlooking them?
She is a Jamaican with a talent who works hard at it. But that should be dismissed because of the negative some Jamaicans do becuase you certain she is also guilty of such due to geographical location?
Don't mind the negatives are not exclusive to Jamaicans alone, and might actually be more unifying than the appreciation of her.

turbo_monkey

Postby turbo_monkey » December 10th, 2013, 8:17 pm

Caribbean Pride
#OneLOve

turbo_monkey

Postby turbo_monkey » December 10th, 2013, 10:55 pm

Tessanne thanks T&T for support

Author:
Laura Dowrich-Phillips
Date:
Saturday, October 12, 2013

“Trinidad is my second home, I love that place so much, it’s my favourite place to be,” gushed Tessanne Chin. Speaking to Metro from Jamaica via phone, the singer was ebullient in her reaction to the news that many Trinbagonians were supporting her efforts to win The Voice, a weekly singing show on NBC. The 29-year-old has felt a particular bond with T&T since spending a month in 2011 with Kes the Band. She even filmed the video here for Loving You, her collaboration with Kees Dieffenthaller. “I love everything in Trinidad. I love meh doubles, meh buss up shut,” she said in that distinct Jamaican twang that made The Voice judges swoon when she sang during the blind auditions two weeks ago. Though she is well-known in the Caribbean for her biggest hit to date, Hideaway, Tessanne is still a relative unknown in the wider world and The Voice, she said, is a platform to take her talent worldwide. “My purpose for entering is to further my skill. When you stay in one place too long you get comfortable and I wanted a platform to branch off into a bigger market, to make waves in the world and fly the flag for Jamaica and the Caribbean,” she said.

Responding to those who initially criticised her decision to enter the show because she is considered an established artist in the Caribbean, she said making it is relative. “At home, meaning the Caribbean, there is a certain level of success I achieved but that is not making it. I grew up listening to Whitney Houston and Celine Dion and Beyonce and I wanted to have a career like that.” “I am proud of everything I have achieved at home but for Caribbean people there is a yearning to show the world we are more than what you think. We could have the wickedest gospel singers, pop singers, rappers,” she said, recalling an open mic she attended at Movie Towne and being blown away by the talents of the young people who sang songs from Adele and Beyonce. “Those young people and the young people in Jamaica inspired me to get it myself,” she said. She credited dancehall star Shaggy for coming up with the idea to try out on The Voice, stating that he is one of the few stars in Jamaica who looks out for younger artistes. Her lawyer, she said, had actually approached her with the idea before but the timing was not right. Tessanne said there were many times she wanted to give up singing and just lead a life like everyone else but last year she made up her mind that no matter what she would always be singing.

Although she expected to be treated as a number on the show, Tessanne said the treatment on The Voice far exceeded her expectations. “It’s not about ridiculing people,” she said. “You go through four auditions before you get to the blind auditions. This is what puts The Voice above the rest. It’s about finding quality voices. They give you vocal coaches and the best of hair and makeup before the blind auditions,” she revealed. The blind auditions weren’t as nerve wracking for her since, she said, coming from the Caribbean where it is hard to please people, prepared her. Still, when the audience cheered and all four coaches turned their chairs, she was floored. To hear these established singers compliment her voice and rendition of Pink’s Try validated her even more. Talking about Adam Levine, the coach who she chose to be her mentor, Tessanne said she looks up to both him and fellow judge Christina Aguilera in every possible way. She chose Adam however, because his musical style is versatile and similar to what she wants to emulate.

“He is such a musical chameleon, you hear everything in his music and his band’s. I don’t want to be boxed in, I want to have a little flair of the islands too.” Of her song choice, Tessanne said she admires Pink and the song was chosen because of the message. “That was me getting up and trying again.” Next Monday the Battle Round begins and while she couldn’t reveal the outcome, Tessanne said she would be watching with everyone else. Should she survive that round she will be into the live rounds where viewers can then vote each week for their favourites. In the meantime, she thanks T&T for all the love and support. “Long before The Voice you have been sending me good vibes. I can’t wait to return to eat some bake and shark and doubles and all the good stuff.”

http://www.metro.co.tt/music/tessanne-thanks-tt-support