Mod Japan deck for local radio stations

nismo007

Mod Japan deck for local radio stations

Postby nismo007 » December 2nd, 2013, 1:15 am

Okay have a single din deck that came originally with my car and doesn't receive any local radio stations. Is there a way to mod it to receive local radio stations?

Thanks to
eg8
Daley Special
ALIS

radio ponging...
Last edited by nismo007 on December 3rd, 2013, 12:43 am, edited 2 times in total.

eg8

Re: Who can mod deck for local radio stations

Postby eg8 » December 2nd, 2013, 6:31 am

There's a place called electrorama after the gyro ppl by grand bazaar

nismo007

Postby nismo007 » December 2nd, 2013, 9:28 am

Thanks man will check it

Daley Special

Postby Daley Special » December 2nd, 2013, 9:31 am

Electrorama- 662-6387
Ask for Daniel

nismo007

Postby nismo007 » December 2nd, 2013, 9:36 am

Thanks for contact bro,now bout to ask what time they close

ALIS

Postby ALIS » December 2nd, 2013, 7:05 pm

Go to most electronic stores, ask for something called a band expander. simple enough plug n play

nismo007

Postby nismo007 » December 2nd, 2013, 7:24 pm

@ ALIS, cool thanks bro,seems like a DIY job

Re: Delete,thanks to the people who responded

Postby maj. tom » December 2nd, 2013, 8:15 pm

Re: Delete,thanks to the people who responded.

why don't you leave the post here so that people who have the same problem in the future will just Google it and find the solution?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 2nd, 2013, 9:18 pm

maj. tom wrote:Re: Delete,thanks to the people who responded.

why don't you leave the post here so that people who have the same problem in the future will just Google it and find the solution?
was about to post the same thing.

nismo007

Postby nismo007 » December 3rd, 2013, 12:42 am

okay cool...

Re: Mod Japan deck for local radio stations

Postby redmanjp » December 3rd, 2013, 4:10 pm

u will have to memorize d stations doh as the screen would be saying one thing and the actual station would be something else

eg8

Postby eg8 » December 3rd, 2013, 4:18 pm

^^nope the station displayed is the station that its one....that's how it worked when I did mine

Postby redmanjp » December 3rd, 2013, 4:31 pm

eg8 wrote:^^nope the station displayed is the station that its one....that's how it worked when I did mine

oh ok- well i've seen some while in taxis that are one some far off frequency- not sure if they use something else to tune into local frequencies

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » December 3rd, 2013, 11:08 pm

I did all my cars my self, go to shams electronics on EMR, ask for Nicholas,tell him about it. You will have to get a frequency expander thingy which plugs into the deck and the antenna goes into it, some cars require an adaptor which they will have as well Will cost less than 100.

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » December 3rd, 2013, 11:09 pm

redmanjp wrote:u will have to memorize d stations doh as the screen would be saying one thing and the actual station would be something else

This is true, so just set the presets and you good to go

jsr

Postby jsr » December 6th, 2013, 9:40 pm

great stuff ... will check it out too

does the shams in Trincity mall have this too?

Postby pioneer » December 6th, 2013, 9:47 pm

It that hard to buy a new deck and replace it?

How does the japanese text work out for you all?

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » December 23rd, 2013, 4:51 pm

tryna install a band expander pink and blue wire where do they hook up one is positive next is ground pink and blue any help nissan wingroad though

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 23rd, 2013, 7:07 pm

why de ppl from whom you bought the car not do that for you? (unless you brought it in yourself)

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » December 23rd, 2013, 7:09 pm

personal

Postby stev » December 23rd, 2013, 7:29 pm

modding a Japan deck works well but to me (my opinion) makes more sense to buy a new deck if u keepin d car.....powersellers have really good prices.

makes sense if u wanna keep d car original.

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » December 23rd, 2013, 7:40 pm

yeah i have the fm band expander it seems like a diy thats why im asking fellow tunerz

Postby stev » December 23rd, 2013, 7:43 pm

there is also the option of buying a powered (cigarette lighter) transponder / transceiver that can pick up local FM stations / USB / SD Card and play based on the receiving signal of the deck...

hope i described that properly.

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » December 23rd, 2013, 7:52 pm

ok thanks but i have already bought the fm band expander just need a lil help with connection.

Postby skylinechild » December 23rd, 2013, 8:07 pm

*subscribed.

the old man bought a march and it doesnt pick up local stations its frequency range (fm) is like from 76.0 to 90.0. the march deck can be removed it from the vids on youtube it seems to be a P-I-T-A.
WRT the frequency expander thing, i always thought they open up the deck and replace some I.C's on the circuit board....now i'm hearing they have something you plug into the antenna jack @ the back of the deck.

guys shoot over some pics of what the actual device is....

my other concern is the screen not stating the correct station...as i would like to see the ( correct) station listed. if thats not an option then i might as well install a pioneer.

IF i do go that route- where can i buy the wiring adapter harness to plug into the cars harness - i DONT want to cut up wires- when the car is sold i want to reinstall the original deck.
Last edited by skylinechild on December 23rd, 2013, 8:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » December 23rd, 2013, 8:14 pm

thats the only prob stations wont display correctly thats all but when yuh wanna sell if so just disconnect the harness

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 23rd, 2013, 8:24 pm

Dan just get a new radio :/

Cyar remember the last time I saw a band expander...daz long time ting

Postby stev » December 23rd, 2013, 8:28 pm

keep in mind that if u get a new deck u wud have to cut and change the wire harness...(not plug in and play)

keep the Japanese deck and old wire harness if u wanna sell it as original later on.

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » December 23rd, 2013, 8:31 pm

daz what i dont want daz y i uing the band expander just need some info on wiring
just 2 wires one is +12 i think next is i dont know really

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 23rd, 2013, 8:44 pm

The cutting wires is a one time thing tho...well with Sony radios...dunno bout other brands but once u cut the wires and install the adapter for the back of the radio you don't need to worry about it because they use the same adapters for their decks so if you hadda change it again is a plug and play scn