Restriction of Offensive Weapons in Trinidad

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Restriction of Offensive Weapons in Trinidad

Postby Rudman » November 30th, 2012, 11:36 am

Rolling Stock or anyone else, do you have access to this on a PDF file they could link?

Trying to download this from the Ministry of Legal affairs site, but I keep getting "Bad encryption dictionary"

I want to know, in particular, the knife laws as in pertains to Trinidad.

Re: Restriction of Offensive Weapons in Trinidad

Postby nemisis » November 30th, 2012, 11:37 am

This may be relevant to my interests

Postby Bizzare » November 30th, 2012, 11:39 am

wat a coinky dinky. I tried getting that just yesterday.

Postby pioneer » November 30th, 2012, 11:45 am

A dictionary is definitely an offensive weapon for most trinis

Postby S_2NR » November 30th, 2012, 11:55 am

A knife is a tool. Any police ask me. That's what I saying lol

Postby rollingstock » November 30th, 2012, 11:59 am

Rudman

Postby Rudman » November 30th, 2012, 12:01 pm

^Thanks man, knew I could count on you!..... :)

Rudman

Postby Rudman » November 30th, 2012, 12:04 pm

I think something wrong with my Adobe, same error message. Could you quote the relevant parts?

Postby rollingstock » November 30th, 2012, 12:09 pm

“offensive weapon” means any article made or adapted for use
for causing injury to the person, or intended by the person
having it with him for such use by him.

2. (1) Any person who imports, manufactures, sells, hires
or offers for sale or hire or lends or gives to any other person or
has in his possession—
(a) any knife which has a blade which opens
automatically by hand pressure applied to a
button, spring or other device in or attached to
any part of the knife, commonly known as a “flick
knife” or “flick gun”; or
(b) any knife which has a blade which is released
from the handle or sheath thereof by the force of
gravity or the application of centrifugal force and
which, when released, is locked in place by means
of a button, spring, lever or other device,
commonly known as a “gravity knife”; or
(c) any knife or any sharpened or pointed
instrument which has been built in or forms an
integral part of—
(i) a walking stick or stick; or
(ii) any other article purporting to be, or so
nearly resembling as to be calculated to
deceive, any other article,
and which is released automatically or otherwise
from such walking stick, stick or other article by
the manipulation of a button, spring, knob or other
device in, on or attached to such walking stick, stick
or other article, or by any other method whatsoever,

Be mindful there are even more knives/articles on a restricted list by Customs that also make those illegal. Also the reason i quoted the definition of an offensive weapon is to show that anything can be classed a weapon.

Rudman

Postby Rudman » November 30th, 2012, 12:13 pm

Anything mentioned about blade Length, over 3" is illegal?

Postby rollingstock » November 30th, 2012, 12:21 pm

^ that came about because of a case law in the UK, it was adjudged by the law lords that persons can carry knives for various uses (legitimately), cut fruit whatever and a blade up to 3" is sufficient for any of those purposes, anything over that persons have to show just cause why they have it.

As we adopt the UK laws and the Privy council the highest court we also adhere t o their case laws.
Hence the reason police may tell you anything over 3" is illegal and there's nothing indicating same, funny you ask those same officers why and i doubt they will know.

Now they can arrest you for a 1" blade allowing up to 3" should be seen as a 'bligh'

Rudman

Postby Rudman » November 30th, 2012, 12:30 pm

Thank you Tuner Lawyer, always a pleasure.

4CupMan

Postby 4CupMan » November 29th, 2013, 4:46 pm

i guess i have to get rid of my spydercos , benchmades , kershaws and cold steel kives

Postby SMc » November 29th, 2013, 4:59 pm

nope...just swallow them and everything sorted

Postby wagonrunner » November 29th, 2013, 5:10 pm

the jeep doh start unless yuh planass it with the 2' long 3 canal, so it always inside.

pseudorandom

Postby pseudorandom » November 30th, 2013, 11:37 am

Wow. Not long ago I saw a certain hardware store selling a lot of knife (a) "flick knife" or switchblade and I bought a few of them because they real hard to find. Just press a button on the handle and the blade flicks out. Knife (b), gravity knife, is balisong or butterfly knife which you see selling in stores all over Trinidad. I have a small collection of those. I also learnt how to flip out the blade in those so cool ways you see in movies.

These illegal knives selling normal in retail stores. It least now I know they illegal to even own so make sure to hide them away, but might still buy more if I see nice ones selling.

Postby Sky » November 30th, 2013, 6:37 pm

Illegal to import. Once they get through is no scene :lol: I have a flick knife, didn't know it was illegal.
This was me beeching on le book of faces on Friday, concerning bringing in a bow. I wanna take it up as a sport.

I'm with Caribbean express. Just spoke to them about it. They never brought in one because it's classed as a weapon and anytime someone asks, they tell them that they need permission. There's a class/club in Hillview on Saturdays I wanted to join. I'll bring it in through them. Banana republic laws again. You can't bring in a sword without hassle, but you can walk to the nearest neighborhood hardware and pick up the finest of 3 lines. Just wrap it in gazette paper where its still dangerous, and not a proper case like a katana.

_Kingfish_

Postby _Kingfish_ » November 30th, 2013, 7:16 pm

dang....i want a new spyderco delica or endura, cant seem to decide :(

Postby black start » November 30th, 2013, 9:52 pm

opie many have done the same task using razor blade before.....

4CupMan

Postby 4CupMan » April 15th, 2014, 9:47 am

Leelad I have some knives to sell. Want to fund a Chris reeve sebenza.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » April 15th, 2014, 10:26 am

IMO the Sebenza is overrated, nice knife but for half the price you could get way more knife from Benchmade, Kershaw (I love my Kershaw RAM with DLC coating. Quick deplyment solid lockup. Too bad its discontinued.) or Spyderco.

I have read so many reports of the Sebenza frame lock being so fidgety. You have to get the washers set just right, you have to have it perfectly clean, you have to use the oil Chris Reeve's provides. Man that is just way to much for the sake of Titanium and the CR name.

I'd even look at one of the Ken Onion designs manufactured by CRKT. I have two sizes of the ripple. The IKBS ball bearing system is soooooo smooooth. If you don't have a knife with this pivot system I suggest you try it. I guarantee you would love how it feels. The finish on the frames, spacers, the blade shape and geometry (hollow ground) are just so beautiful on all his designs.

If I were to get a Chris Reeve it would be a Mandini...that is a SWEET little knife!

Last year I got myself a William Henry EDC6. Its a nice little work of art, very nice for formal settings.

The next knife I'm going to get is a Benchmade 710 in D2 steel, arguably one of the best models from Benchmade. D2 steel is a little harder to sharpen but keeps an edge for a very long time.

Right now my favorite is my Spyderco Native 5, the S35 steel really holds an edge, the back lock is very solid, fit and finish is awesome. This is the first knife that they used EDM to manufacture the parts so the tolerances are very tight. The knife itself has a very solid feel to it, which makes it a tad bit heavier than others in this size, but I love the solid feel.

4CupMan

Postby 4CupMan » April 17th, 2014, 8:55 pm

Outlaw you on Instagram buddy? If so you can check my knife collection, just send your email for pics. Have some knives to sell maybe we could do some business or trade. Looking for ppl with similar interests in knives . Do you know of any other collectors in Trinidad ?

Postby desifemlove » April 18th, 2014, 4:11 pm

knife bans are stupid. people can find easy ways round dat. ting is any knife sharp enough can kill somebody, so ban kitchen knives lol...

and offensive weapons is jus knives or firearms as well?

Postby rollingstock » April 18th, 2014, 7:48 pm

^ You even read what I posted?

Bruhforce

Postby Bruhforce » August 7th, 2017, 10:05 pm

:evilbat: everything is awsome

Bruhforce

Postby Bruhforce » August 7th, 2017, 10:08 pm

Im 12 years old my pocketknife is 2 and a half inches long will cops aresst
me i bougth it because we and my 65 year old gramma go i. Town and i got to defend us i gave her one to please answer

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » August 7th, 2017, 10:20 pm

Bruhforce wrote:Im 12 years old my pocketknife is 2 and a half inches long will cops aresst
me i bougth it because we and my 65 year old gramma go i. Town and i got to defend us i gave her one to please answer

Welcome back Natio.

Postby rollingstock » August 7th, 2017, 10:21 pm

Stay in school.
Your grammar and writing is atrocious.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » August 7th, 2017, 10:30 pm

Bruhforce wrote:Im 12 years old my pocketknife is 2 and a half inches long will cops aresst

granny_o_862563.jpg

Postby 88sins » August 8th, 2017, 6:06 am

4CupMan wrote:i guess i have to get rid of my spydercos , benchmades , kershaws and cold steel kives

nope, just keep them home & you good