CTSCBCS (CTS College) vs SBCS

triniguy24

CTSCBCS (CTS College) vs SBCS

Postby triniguy24 » March 24th, 2013, 2:57 pm

I'm considering doing a BSc in Computer Science or BSc in CIS and I wanna know you guys views on both schools. Anyone attended either school (or know anyone who attended), which do you think is better? I hear to stay clear of SAM so yeah.

Re: CTSCBCS (CTS College) vs SBCS

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 24th, 2013, 3:00 pm

CTS is a very good institution, as well as SBCS.
I attended CTS a couple years ago, as well as quite a few tuners. Great customer service, very professional and some top notch instructors.

Postby r3iXmann » March 24th, 2013, 4:59 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote: Great customer service, very professional

Can't say I agree :|

Postby AllTrac » March 24th, 2013, 5:34 pm

triniguy24 wrote:I'm considering doing a BSc in Computer Science or BSc in CIS and I wanna know you guys views on both schools. Anyone attended either school (or know anyone who attended), which do you think is better? I hear to stay clear of SAM so yeah.

UWI.

nicki

Postby nicki » March 24th, 2013, 5:46 pm

i have been doing my degree in management in cts for 2-3 yrs now... great institution, very customer centric... sbcs is very good also so its more of a personal choice... should visit both schools and then decide...

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » March 24th, 2013, 6:38 pm

BSc in CIS is not very difficult to do on your own though.
You might only need a lil help with the programming course and the Final project.

Postby stev » March 24th, 2013, 6:47 pm

OP what field u think u would like to be in in the future:

Computer (programmer)
Networking (Network / Database Administrator)
Networking (Security)
Telecommunications
Other....

because a BSc alone in Computer Science alone is not much qualification to get a high paying job

edit: why i ask: depending on which field u thinking of going into will determine which school is better for u.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 24th, 2013, 7:27 pm

r3iXmann wrote:[quote="VexXx Dogg] Great customer service, very professional [/quote]

Can't say I agree :|[/quote]

Don't know if things have changed, I was there 6 years ago...

IdleMind2504

Postby IdleMind2504 » March 25th, 2013, 8:09 am

Did my BSc Computing and MSc ISM via SBCS University of Greenwich.

What I would recommend is checking out the universities that they associated with check accreditation , global recognition, etc. Also, check out the course outlines of the associated degrees and do whatever you think you may be more suited to.

slick

Postby slick » March 25th, 2013, 8:36 am

CTS > all

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » March 25th, 2013, 9:22 am

triniguy24 wrote:I hear to stay clear of SAM so yeah.

Why is that ?

:evilbat:

Postby stev » March 25th, 2013, 1:48 pm

slick wrote:CTS > all

care to explain?

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » March 25th, 2013, 2:10 pm

As folks above say... find out which college/uni the degree is from etc..

but from personal experience (as a student and lecturer)... SBCS ftw

triniguy24

Postby triniguy24 » March 26th, 2013, 9:03 am

I already have a NETD-Computer Engineering Diploma so I can do my degree in a shorter time frame than at UWI.

triniguy24

Postby triniguy24 » March 26th, 2013, 9:12 am

Thanks to everyone who replied.
I'm mostly interested in programming and would like a career in that field -Software/Web development. I have a NETD-Computer Engineering Diploma so I can do my degree in a shorter time frame than at UWI. I was leaning more towards CTS because of their BSc CS degree, but I heard that SBCS' BSc CIS (with concentration in Software Engineering) degree was better. So I just wanted to hear you all opinions.

SweeP

Postby SweeP » March 26th, 2013, 12:11 pm

thought dis was some kinda school fight thread :|

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 8th, 2013, 1:36 pm

triniguy24 wrote:Thanks to everyone who replied.
I'm mostly interested in programming and would like a career in that field -Software/Web development. I have a NETD-Computer Engineering Diploma so I can do my degree in a shorter time frame than at UWI. I was leaning more towards CTS because of their BSc CS degree, but I heard that SBCS' BSc CIS (with concentration in Software Engineering) degree was better. So I just wanted to hear you all opinions.

I know this is a old thread but would like to bring something up to people considering this here

Bsc in Computer Science at CTSBCSBCS is not what you think.

It does not have math but you learn Object Oriented Programming.

Computer Science is infact the scientific and practical approach to computation and its applications, advanced mathematics etc.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on February 5th, 2016, 11:34 am, edited 4 times in total.

Postby desifemlove » November 8th, 2013, 1:39 pm

Uni of London? lol.. SBCS hands down...

I never been to CTS, but then uni of London is something yuh can use globally with the brand/name behind it.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 8th, 2013, 1:44 pm

^ Uni of London through SBCS is excellent offcourse. So yes

And they advertise exactly what the Bsc is. It is NOT computer Science, it is infact a BSC in Computing and Information Systems.

Postby redmanjp » November 8th, 2013, 2:51 pm

^x2 doing UOL CIS final project now

SBCS ftw

plenty job on caribbeanjobs.com requiring Bscs now

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » November 8th, 2013, 3:35 pm

redmanjp wrote:^x2 doing UOL CIS final project now

SBCS ftw

I believe Effect was comparing Greenwich with Hertfordshire.
I don't believe he mentioned London.

tdavies

Postby tdavies » November 8th, 2013, 3:56 pm

slick wrote:CTS > all

this is the school that you can get a BSc in 1 year
with classes only on Sundays. (based on factual information)

Any UWI has classes Mon-Fri at least 6 hours a day
and you have labs to finish on Weekends.
for 4 years

this equals at least 15 times more information

so apart from them giving you a shortcut degree from some crap university from neverland
you are cheating yourself of a real education
and then made to believe you are equal as those who have endured 4 years of
exams and stress........................lol

UWI and UTT are real established schools with real curriculums.
I know for a fact that CTS cares only that you pass the exam and
will prepare you only for exam relevant question.

i went to neither btw
but i see why some ah all yuh rate up CTS though, make sense.......
funny that life is not that easy for most of us

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 8th, 2013, 4:33 pm

TriniAutoMart wrote:
redmanjp wrote:^x2 doing UOL CIS final project now

SBCS ftw

I believe Effect was comparing Greenwich with Hertfordshire.
I don't believe he mentioned London.

Correct

Because London don't have the option to do a final year from a Diploma or Advanced Diploma.

they have a strict 4 year degree program.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on February 5th, 2016, 11:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

tdavies

Postby tdavies » November 8th, 2013, 5:24 pm

How can he guarantee you get first class honours.

So they sellin degrees then.............

Postby bluefete » November 8th, 2013, 9:16 pm

tdavies wrote:How can he guarantee you get first class honours.

I think it has more to do with coursework than exams.

tdavies

Postby tdavies » November 9th, 2013, 9:02 am

bluefete wrote:
tdavies wrote:How can he guarantee you get first class honours.

I think it has more to do with coursework than exams.

That is nonsense............
You think that will ever be the case with UWI...

Thank god i went to a real university abroad yes rather than get a 1 year degree from neverland.
Also when i spoke to the administrative staff , they said exams were open book...............what BS. This is factual information and can be verified by a visit or phonecall to the school.

japzor

Postby japzor » November 9th, 2013, 8:06 pm

CTS = Ravi issa fag

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 9th, 2013, 8:32 pm

japzor wrote:CTS = Ravi issa fag

Da is the same man who call me and emailed me.

here this he said if I not getting GATE he can reduce the tuition from 20k to 10k. Thats quite a deal, however if you getting GATE its 1200 pounds in SBCS for a better uni.

But there is no open book exam in SBCS like it is in CTS, they expect you to read the book and memorize the work by heart kinda like how A levels is and CXC.

So it really depends, if as Tdavies say you can do open book exam at CTS then the extra 1000 pounds might be worth it to ensure you do get a first class honors.

It looks better on a resume cause at the end of the day if you and I go for a job and the man who have to hire we see you have a first class honors and I have a lower second class who you think he go hire? its obvious the man with the first class.

SAM is the cheapest though its 990 pounds, I surprised no one mentioned this as yet. Only thing is its Business Computing and at the end of the day its not about the degree its about the person.
Most stuff in IT you don't even need a Degree to do you can become a programmer without spending a cent on university education thats just to say you have a piece of paper with a bsc title.

SAM sound like the best bet and their BSC in Business Computing has a Oracle Database Administrator specialization focus.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » November 9th, 2013, 9:33 pm

EFFECTIC good info....

"Most stuff in IT you don't even need a Degree to do you can become a programmer without spending a cent on university education thats just to say you have a piece of paper with a bsc title."

That is so true, the degree will probably give you and extra thousand or so but someone without a degree can be hired for the same job as long as they have relevant experience and certification (a huge factor in IT, I've seen people with BSc's turned down because of no or little experience) . Ive seen it happen many times.

*Nebula*

Postby *Nebula* » November 9th, 2013, 9:59 pm

UH and Greenwich degrees are two entirely different degrees with their own specialized modules; which was designed according to the University teaching criteria, and other factors they would have considered.

UH modules are a mixture of both IT and business elements (more strategic IT level), hence the computer science and IT degree classification. Both have a project to complete and one compulsory module including your choice of modules (other options).

UH modules assessments are designed as essay papers/reports submissions/investigative questions/building and running applications/structured exams. As far as I am aware there were no open book exams, not sure what degree you are referring to exactly.

If you more into the programming and building then Greenwich degree would be better suited, it has a heavy focus on the mechanics of programming, coding, mathematical aspects etc. Greenwich masters program continues from the degree.

No two degree are alike, the ability to obtain a first class or second class honors depends solely on the amount of work you put in. So if you are a guy that hates writing reports and analyzing data then it will be difficult, another person's difficulty may be writing codes for an assignment.

Both degrees are internationally base, so your correspondence and lectures will be online including running your project live and explaining every detail and errors that comes up. Regardless of what school you attend whether it may be (Sams/sbcs/cts) has little influence except providing any assistance, so in essence the work is all on you with the support from the school if required.