So God is Not a Trini ... Right??

Death-Row

Re: So God is Not a Trini ... Right??

Postby Death-Row » October 30th, 2013, 12:01 am

All this trouble over story book characters lmao. Its a sweet spot but as nature and other sheit change, centuries down the road, it might be a hurricane magnet. All the talk about more people getting killed these days, just a result of greater population and other factors. The past also had terrible times, they never had fb and cnn to broadcast the sheit tho. You guys complicate with big words alot and duane has been asking his questions with simple and very little words. Answer like you would to a 4yr old please, maybe ill get the point.

Back to the topic, just another plus for trinidad, we really live in paradise :)

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » October 30th, 2013, 12:26 am

god is a trini...hard luck hatersz

:evilbat:

Postby bluefete » October 30th, 2013, 6:56 am

bluefete wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:you figure God created the high pressure system that forced Sandy to stay inland?

The interesting thing about living in today's world is that people can conjure up rational, natural laws and explanations for many, many natural events. But they will never give God credit for putting these natural laws in place.
conjure up?

Just checking to see if you were paying attention :mrgreen: .

Human knowledge has reached a point where we can rationally explain many natural events. But we are unable or unwilling to state where these natural laws come from.

Postby bluefete » October 30th, 2013, 7:05 am

Sky wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
Sky wrote:http://science.howstuffworks.com/nature/natural-disasters/hurricane.htm

Sad how I have to drop that here.
We're in a sweet spot, THATS ALL!!. It has nothing to do with God, free will, praying.

I for one am not denying the natural laws influencing the formation path and intensity of a hurricane. But natural laws can't and don't form themselves. The source of natural laws has to be supernatural. The Christian understanding is that God the supernatural being, governs the natural laws of the Earth, that's all.

Well then God has an excel sheet saying who's gonna get hit with what and when. And he had that sheet since Genesis, Because natural laws DON'T CHANGE.
So praying won't change anything.

Who/What controls these natural laws?

Postby bluefete » October 30th, 2013, 7:06 am

DFC wrote:Blessed and Highly Flavored.

The best post I have ever seen you make!!

Postby bluefete » October 30th, 2013, 7:13 am

3stagevtec wrote:I browse through these threads every now and then and I am always amazed at the level of irrational talk some men throw out.. Do people actually read what they write? Are people really that blinded by faith so that they throw common sense and reason completely out the door?? So sad...

No! We are not so blinded by faith that reason goes out the door. It may seem so because some of us are not as erudite as others.

Faith goes hand in hand with reason and science. The problem happens when science rejects the faith aspect. But then science was so designed.

In T&T, there are still people of great faith. Their prayers are still heard.
Last edited by bluefete on October 30th, 2013, 7:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

pluggie

Postby pluggie » October 30th, 2013, 7:28 am

bluefete wrote: In T&T, there are still people of great faith. Their prayers are still heard.

amen....

dunno if got is a Trini but Trinidad is certainly a blessed place !!!

apparently he is a Swiss lol check other ched.... maybe he was just on a vacation...

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » October 30th, 2013, 8:58 am

bluefete wrote:

while waiting my turn to get an ultrasound at the Grande Hosp' yest', I overheard this gentleman telling a frail and cancer ridden older lady this:
I am blessed and highly favoured, anything I put my mind to I achieve. No matter what I am blessed.

a few hrs later, when I was at another part of the Hosp' I again saw him...quarrelling with someone who had parked behind him, blocking him in. Well, the profusion of "F words" and "daz why allyuh so does dead" that came out of this "blessed and highly favoured" guys mouth...I tell you!

Somehow or the other I managed to bounce up on him again...but I was now in car waiting to get out of the car park when I saw him give a woman in front of him one bad drive...almost making her hit the car on the side of her. "yuh stupid so and so!" was what came out of his "blessed and highly favoured" mouth.

I wonder if someone positively asserting that they are blessed and highly favoured means that regardless of what they do in life or the way they treat other ppl, that they remain blessed and highly favoured? Or that no matter how much woman dey horn, or drugs they sell, or driving on the shoulder they do, or babies they abort....it doesn't change the fact that they are "blessed and highly favoured".

It has only been in the last 10yrs or so that I've been seeing ppl put those words on the back of their cars or even on the walls outside their homes...and if my memory serves me correctly...I don't recall anywhere in the bible of any people calling THEMSELVES "blessed and highly favoured"....as I recall it was almost always an expression that God used to show his approval of HIS people...and that term> "blessed and highly favoured" was used by HIM thereby bestowing such a status on them..NOT FOR THEM TO BE FLASHING IT AS A SIGN THAT THEY WERE BETTER THAN ANYBODY ELSE.
imagesNJ.jpg
imagesNJ.jpg (7.38 KiB) Viewed 2969 times

I checked Luke 1:28 which is the scripture this "saying" is supposedly derived and it says : "Good day highly favoured one, God is with you"....as far as I know...this was an angel....talking to Mary....
HJ.jpg
HJ.jpg (7.39 KiB) Viewed 2969 times

how ppl take up this expression and adapted it to show their "blessed status as ordained by God" is beyond me.

By people adorning themselves with this expression only makes them look proud...in my opinion...and if those that disagree with this do so VEHEMENTLY....it just proves the point. Humble and blessed people DONT HAVE TO ARGUE THEIR STANDING.

Postby bluefete » October 30th, 2013, 9:13 am

V8 Boys wrote:
bluefete wrote:

while waiting my turn to get an ultrasound at the Grande Hosp' yest', I overheard this gentleman telling a frail and cancer ridden older lady this:
I am blessed and highly favoured, anything I put my mind to I achieve. No matter what I am blessed.

a few hrs later, when I was at another part of the Hosp' I again saw him...quarrelling with someone who had parked behind him, blocking him in. Well, the profusion of "F words" and "daz why allyuh so does dead" that came out of this "blessed and highly favoured" guys mouth...I tell you!

Somehow or the other I managed to bounce up on him again...but I was now in car waiting to get out of the car park when I saw him give a woman in front of him one bad drive...almost making her hit the car on the side of her. "yuh stupid so and so!" was what came out of his "blessed and highly favoured" mouth.

I wonder if someone positively asserting that they are blessed and highly favoured means that regardless of what they do in life or the way they treat other ppl, that they remain blessed and highly favoured? Or that no matter how much woman dey horn, or drugs they sell, or driving on the shoulder they do, or babies they abort....it doesn't change the fact that they are "blessed and highly favoured".

It has only been in the last 10yrs or so that I've been seeing ppl put those words on the back of their cars or even on the walls outside their homes...and if my memory serves me correctly...I don't recall anywhere in the bible of any people calling THEMSELVES "blessed and highly favoured"....as I recall it was almost always an expression that God used to show his approval of HIS people...and that term> "blessed and highly favoured" was used by HIM thereby bestowing such a status on them..NOT FOR THEM TO BE FLASHING IT AS A SIGN THAT THEY WERE BETTER THAN ANYBODY ELSE.
imagesNJ.jpg

I checked Luke 1:28 which is the scripture this "saying" is supposedly derived and it says : "Good day highly favoured one, God is with you"....as far as I know...this was an angel....talking to Mary....
HJ.jpg

how ppl take up this expression and adapted it to show their "blessed status as ordained by God" is beyond me.

By people adorning themselves with this expression only makes them look proud...in my opinion...and if those that disagree with this do so VEHEMENTLY....it just proves the point. Humble and blessed people DONT HAVE TO ARGUE THEIR STANDING.

Each one of us is given a blessing in life. Many do not recognize it.

Your points are valid.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 30th, 2013, 9:41 am

bluefete wrote:Just checking to see if you were paying attention :mrgreen: .
you are backpedalling

bluefete wrote:Human knowledge has reached a point where we can rationally explain many natural events. But we are unable or unwilling to state where these natural laws come from.
unable perhaps, but not unwilling. The same science used to determine what causes lightning through testing and observation does not show evidence for a supernatural being that causes the lightning or created the processes for lightning to occur. Science can only report based on factual evidence.

can you use the same scientific process used to rationally explain these natural events to also rationally show that they came from a supernatural being?

If you could prove God scientifically, then there would be no need for faith.
bluefete wrote:Faith goes hand in hand with reason and science.
how?
bluefete wrote:In T&T, there are still people of great faith. Their prayers are still heard.
but Habit7 said earlier that prayers cannot prevent a natural disaster from occurring.

Postby bluefete » October 30th, 2013, 9:58 am

bluefete wrote:Just checking to see if you were paying attention :mrgreen: .
you are backpedalling

Not at all. I choose my words carefully (most times :( ).

bluefete wrote:Human knowledge has reached a point where we can rationally explain many natural events. But we are unable or unwilling to state where these natural laws come from.
unable perhaps, but not unwilling. The same science used to determine what causes lightning through testing and observation does not show evidence for a supernatural being that causes the lightning or created the processes for lightning to occur. Science can only report based on factual evidence.

can you use the same scientific process used to rationally explain these natural events to also rationally show that they came from a supernatural being?

A supernatural being does not conform to rational explanations.

If you could prove God scientifically, then there would be no need for faith.
bluefete wrote:Faith goes hand in hand with reason and science.
how?

We are only just beginning to understand the true workings of our universe. JUST! God gave an overview of the scientific process but left the details for the scientists to discover via rational observation and experimentation.

bluefete wrote:In T&T, there are still people of great faith. Their prayers are still heard.
but Habit7 said earlier that prayers cannot prevent a natural disaster from occurring.

That is his view. But over time, prayers have prevented disasters, especially for T&T. When Jonah was sent to the great city of Nineveh with its population of 250,000, it took him 4 days to walk through the city. His message was simple. Repent or be destroyed. The people repented. The city was saved.

T&t lies at the edge of the hurricane zone but that does not make us immune, like any other country, from natural disasters. However, our general belief in God and maybe even our nonchalant saying that "God is a Trini" carries more weight than we may ever understand.

marlener

Postby marlener » October 30th, 2013, 10:13 am

In all fairness to Habit7,Duane only quoted a part of the statement. Question,do you think that Nineveh was saved because of prayers or because of obedience and the fact that they turned from their wicked ways and God was merciful?

Postby DFC » October 30th, 2013, 10:16 am

bluefete wrote:

Cannibals would love me.

Postby bluefete » October 30th, 2013, 10:18 am

marlener wrote:In all fairness to Habit7,Duane only quoted a part of the statement. Question,do you think that Nineveh was saved because of prayers or because of obedience and the fact that they turned from their wicked ways and God was merciful?

To me it is the same thing. The king put on sackcloth and all prayed for forgiveness.

Jonah3:8 But let man and beast be covered with sackcloth, and cry mightily unto God: ...

Postby Habit7 » October 30th, 2013, 10:20 am

marlener wrote:In all fairness to Habit7,Duane only quoted a part of the statement. Question,do you think that Nineveh was saved because of prayers or because of obedience and the fact that they turned from their wicked ways and God was merciful?

Duane doesnt answer questions, he only looks down on your worldview and calls you to account.

Postby bluefete » October 30th, 2013, 10:23 am

Habit7 wrote:

Duane doesnt answer questions, he only looks down on your worldview and calls you to account.

He does try (sometimes!).

marlener

Postby marlener » October 30th, 2013, 10:32 am

I would tend to disagree,pray is what we do,mercy is what God does. The purpose of prayer is not to inform God of our situation mind you,but to reach the point where we understand who hold the power to change the things we can't. Will I acknowledge ur quote,there is also 1 Samuel 15:22. Remember God is not swayed by what we say but the looks at the heart.
@ Habit7 I thought was just my questions he ignores.lol.
Sitting on the wall or not stating where you stand is easy at times,allows you to critic both sides safely.

Postby bluefete » October 30th, 2013, 10:36 am

marlener wrote:I would tend to disagree,pray is what we do,mercy is what God does. The purpose of prayer is not to inform God of our situation mind you,but to reach the point where we understand who hold the power to change the things we can't. Will I acknowledge ur quote,there is also 1 Samuel 15:22. Remember God is not swayed by what we say but the looks at the heart.
@ Habit7 I thought was just my questions he ignores.lol.
Sitting on the wall or not stating where you stand is easy at times,allows you to critic both sides safely.

I remember when Tropical Storm Bret was heading for T&T. My uncle was living in the USA at the time and he called me about it. He prayed and asked God to turn it away. Up to today, I get goose bumps whenever I remember that Bret came down the Bocas and veered right into Venezuela.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 30th, 2013, 10:37 am

Habit7 wrote:

i never claimed to have answers. I do have lots of questions. The answers I get for those questions need to be rational and logical otherwise we might as well claim leprechauns are absolutely real. If it isn't then I ask more questions.

We all have different reasons for having faith, though it seems some need it more than others.

Postby Habit7 » October 30th, 2013, 10:37 am

bluefete wrote:

To me it is the same thing. The king put on sackcloth and all prayed for forgiveness.

Jonah3:8 But let man and beast be covered with sackcloth, and cry mightily unto God: ...
like I said:
Habit7 wrote:The answer for if prayer can help to prevent a natural disaster isn't as simple as yes or no

Postby bluefete » October 30th, 2013, 10:41 am

Habit7 wrote:
bluefete wrote:

like I said:
Habit7 wrote:The answer for if prayer can help to prevent a natural disaster isn't as simple as yes or no

Sometimes, even God changes His mind.

Postby Habit7 » October 30th, 2013, 10:58 am

bluefete wrote:Sometimes, even God changes His mind.
Not quite.

Does God Change His Mind?
FROM R.C. Sproul Jun 14, 2013 Category: Articles

To “change one’s mind,” in the New Testament means to repent. When the Bible speaks of my repenting or your repenting, it means that we are called to change our minds or our dispositions with respect to sin—that we are to turn away from evil. Repent is loaded with these kinds of connotations, and when we talk about God’s repenting, it somehow suggests that God has to turn away from doing something wicked. But that’s not what is always meant when the Bible uses this word.

Using a word like repentance with respect to God raises some problems for us. When the Bible describes God for us, it uses human terms, because the only language God has by which to speak to us about himself is our human language. The theological term for this is anthropomorphic language, which is the use of human forms and structures to describe God. When the Bible talks about God’s feet or the right arm of the Lord, we immediately see that as just a human way of speaking about God. But when we use more abstract terms like repent, then we get all befuddled about it.

What About Moses in Numbers 14?

There’s one sense in which it seems God is changing his mind, and there’s another sense in which the Bible says God never changes his mind because God is omniscient. He knows all things from the beginning, and he is immutable. He is unchanging. There’s no shadow of turning within him. For example, He knows what Moses is going to say to him in Numbers 14 before Moses even opens his mouth to plead for the people. Then after Moses has actually said it, does God suddenly changes his mind? He doesn’t have any more information than he had a moment before. Nothing has changed as far as God’s knowledge or his appraisal of the situation.

What in Moses’ words and actions would possibly have provoked God to change his mind? I think that what we have here is the mystery of providence whereby God ordains not only the ends of things that come to pass but also the means. God sets forth principles in the Bible where he gives threats of judgment to motivate his people to repentance. Sometimes he spells out specifically, “But if you repent, I will not carry out the threat.” He doesn’t always add that qualifier, but it’s there. I think this is one of those instances. It was tacitly understood that God threatens judgment upon these people, but if somebody pleads for them in a priestly way, he will give grace rather than justice. I think that’s at the heart of that mystery.

Is God confused, stumbling through all the different options—Should I do this? Should I not do that? And does he decide upon one course of action and then think, Well, maybe that’s not such a good idea after all, and change his mind? Obviously God is omniscient; God is all wise. God is eternal in his perspective and in his full knowledge of everything. So we don’t change God’s mind. But prayer changes things. It changes us. And there are times in which God waits for us to ask for things because his plan is that we work with him in the glorious process of bringing his will to pass here on earth.

http://www.ligonier.org/blog/does-god-change-his-mind/

Postby Habit7 » October 30th, 2013, 11:05 am

Habit7 wrote:

i never claimed to have answers. I do have lots of questions. The answers I get for those questions need to be rational and logical otherwise we might as well claim leprechauns are absolutely real. If it isn't then I ask more questions.

We all have different reasons for having faith, though it seems some need it more than others.

Well your and my logic and rationale isn't perfect. It must be scrutinised test its validity. If you ask me to account for my logic and rationale and I come up with a logical inconsistency then I will realise my error and change my views. If a believer in leprechauns is to be disproved, you will have critique his logic and rationale for him to see otherwise.

But if you are unwilling to have your logic and rationale scrutinised, then how else can judge the opinions of others and come up with logic and rationale different than your own?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 30th, 2013, 11:28 am

Habit7 wrote:But if you are unwilling to have your logic and rationale scrutinised, then how else can judge the opinions of others and come up with logic and rationale different than your own?
but that's what I've been saying to you in the 500+ pages in the religion thread! :lol:

Scientific logic and rationale is scrutinised endlessly; it is part of the scientific process

How does logic and rationale work for you?

Postby Habit7 » October 30th, 2013, 11:37 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Will praying help to divert a natural disaster?

The scientific process will not factor in the answer to this question.

IdleMind2504

Postby IdleMind2504 » October 30th, 2013, 3:22 pm

Proof that God is a trini ... Image

Postby j.o.e » October 30th, 2013, 3:24 pm

proves he's a fraud too, his name should be the other way around

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 30th, 2013, 3:31 pm

Habit7 wrote:

The scientific process will not factor in the answer to this question.
which is why I asked you for an answer to the question and your eventual answer was "Praying would not help to divert a natural disaster."
Habit7 wrote:

The subject of one's prayers will not divert a natural disaster, the object of one's prayers will.
"yes" would have sufficed.
I never said yes. "Praying" would not "help to divert a natural disaster."

If the object of one's prayers, is true, and thereby has the power over natural disasters, and it is the will of the object to divert it, He will divert a natural disaster, not prayers.
so your answer is no.
Yes.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » October 30th, 2013, 3:50 pm

Papa 3NE 2NR!
If i pray reeeeeealy reeeeallllyy hard enough, could i finally recieve closure regarding why my chickland land for sale post was deleted, and hopefully have it put back. if possible?

then again with god, all things are possible..

Postby Habit7 » October 30th, 2013, 5:16 pm

Well Duane I hope you are just as vocal as others when you are called upon to share your views (no matter how limited), so we can also see if they are logical and rational.