Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Halfbreed07

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby Halfbreed07 » October 25th, 2013, 8:11 pm

You doing pretty much all you can. Just don't over feed and pollute the water. Prob a partial change twice a week.

bir123

Postby bir123 » October 25th, 2013, 10:04 pm

I doing 50 %daily

1NZ-FE Powered

Postby 1NZ-FE Powered » October 26th, 2013, 9:02 am

Years ago Jack Wattley did an experiment where he separated a spawn into two batches and fed them the same. The only difference between the batches was that one batch had 100% water changes daily as opposed to the 50% he normally did. From his observations he saw that the batch with more frequent water changes grew faster than the other batch.

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » October 26th, 2013, 9:34 am

Twice a week? :-?
You should be making at least 35% water changes daily

Kasey

Postby Kasey » October 27th, 2013, 2:09 am

frig, so meh 50% monthly change eh enough then? Where u guys does get the time?????????????

rx80

Postby rx80 » October 27th, 2013, 9:50 am

I did a similar experiment with my kois and noticed a much faster growth rate in the few months i did daily 50% changes..

bir123

Postby bir123 » October 27th, 2013, 10:11 am

Alluh does use ro water for discus or normal pipe water

evil_twin

Postby evil_twin » October 27th, 2013, 10:40 am

i use aged pipe water .. i jus add a few drops of azoo discus live water to it

bir123

Postby bir123 » October 27th, 2013, 12:30 pm

Thats what i use too

cins

Postby cins » October 28th, 2013, 4:09 am

where can I find black stone or lava rock?

DJ

Postby DJ » October 29th, 2013, 9:19 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:
Kasey wrote:
kl122 wrote:Ishtropicals for all ur flower horn needs

yea buh for how he does breed his own, and specialise in it, you think he would have also had the best prices, but I find he kinda expensive like hell.

argh, The man imports his, and its $300-$400 for red dragons. Got mine from him and was pleased.
Try getting a FH for less than $500 anywhere nuh

kenrick in Bamboo had some 4" ones (dont no if imported or local) for $200 brah, like one month ago. They looked damn healthy and nice tho. I lost Kenrick number tho. Anyone have it?

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » October 29th, 2013, 1:29 pm

DJ wrote:
Halfbreed07 wrote:
Kasey wrote:
kl122 wrote:Ishtropicals for all ur flower horn needs

yea buh for how he does breed his own, and specialise in it, you think he would have also had the best prices, but I find he kinda expensive like hell.

argh, The man imports his, and its $300-$400 for red dragons. Got mine from him and was pleased.
Try getting a FH for less than $500 anywhere nuh

kenrick in Bamboo had some 4" ones (dont no if imported or local) for $200 brah, like one month ago. They looked damn healthy and nice tho. I lost Kenrick number tho. Anyone have it?

so i heard, but i cant speak about things i have not seen

evil_twin

Postby evil_twin » October 29th, 2013, 7:03 pm

anybody has a number for kenrick?

evil_twin

Postby evil_twin » October 30th, 2013, 5:50 pm

kenrick had locally bred FH's from imported parents all sold out tho

evil_twin

Postby evil_twin » October 31st, 2013, 7:11 pm

fellas petshop boys got in some nice fancy imported goldfish - calico( pearl scale , orandas , lion heads and telescopic) and a few red cap ....$35 each . i was lucky enough to get the first set

bir123

Postby bir123 » November 1st, 2013, 5:48 pm

Any body know the process and permits you need to import live aquarium plants .thanks in advance

eternal audio

Postby eternal audio » November 2nd, 2013, 10:13 pm

i need some help i have a bio pellet reactor two little fishies 550 reactor and i buy a marine land 474gph pump to use with it and the valve open all and the biopellts still not tumbling, i have a little more than 1/4 filled with pellets. before i added this pump i had the reactor with a small pump and was workin fine for the first few days after alot of clumpin and low flow so i changed the pump and have good flow comin out of the reactor but no tumbling of pellets

eternal audio

Postby eternal audio » November 2nd, 2013, 10:15 pm

i need some help i have a bio pellet reactor two little fishies 550 reactor and i buy a marine land 474gph pump to use with it and the valve open all and the biopellts still not tumbling, i have a little more than 1/4 filled with pellets. before i added this pump i had the reactor with a small pump and was workin fine for the first few days after alot of clumpin and low flow so i changed the pump and have good flow comin out of the reactor but no tumbling of pellets

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » November 5th, 2013, 3:15 pm

bir123 wrote:Any body know the process and permits you need to import live aquarium plants .thanks in advance

W&S usually has a nice selection of imported plants, you can ask them

crazy2NR

Postby crazy2NR » November 6th, 2013, 11:12 am

fellas, i have a 3 ft freshwater tank with a couple gouramis, sharks n zebras.
did a partial water change about 5 days ago and the water turned cloudy and green.
continued with partial changes (approx. 50%) for two consecutive days after that, together with blacking out the tank.
the tank is still in the same condition.
any advice?
Last edited by crazy2NR on November 6th, 2013, 11:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

madman_devin

Postby madman_devin » November 6th, 2013, 3:36 pm

What kind of water did u use to do the water change ?

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » November 7th, 2013, 8:24 am

Tank prob crash, Chk your filter media.
1383827045015.jpg

One of my green terrors laid eggs.

crazy2NR

Postby crazy2NR » November 7th, 2013, 11:22 am

madman_devin wrote:What kind of water did u use to do the water change ?

i used tap water that that was stored in a tank.

and Halfbreed07 the filter is in pretty good shape.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » November 7th, 2013, 11:38 am

Any meds in the tank, did you disturb the substrate, when last you did a large WC like that. I still think the beneficial bacteria has died. I'd say only do 25% changes every other day, or do an ammonia test to see if it has spiked.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » November 7th, 2013, 2:20 pm

Got a tank that has some scale build up. Read that vinegar and a razor blade should work. Is this the only option?

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » November 7th, 2013, 2:30 pm

vinegar diluted and a new pot scrub

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » November 10th, 2013, 4:40 pm

Got it cleaned! thanks.
Has anyone ever done a cichlid background such as http://www.cichlid-forum.com/articles/d ... ground.php

bir123

Postby bir123 » November 10th, 2013, 7:30 pm

Any body know any were in south that does sell alligator gars , redtail catfish,arowana and any large fish like that.I get a 400 water tank and it cut in 3/4 and want to put some fishes like these in it .Also any recomendation for filtration (want a diy filter that cheap to make and could handle the bio load)
Thanks in advance

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » November 10th, 2013, 8:29 pm

There is a guy in siparia. Last i was there - rtc and arapiama. Was supposed to get arows .

bir123

Postby bir123 » November 10th, 2013, 8:58 pm

You have a number for him.