Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

evil_twin

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby evil_twin » October 21st, 2013, 8:21 pm

bir123 wrote:That expensive

very! if they were 300 i would have bought both .. quality not bad

bir123

Postby bir123 » October 21st, 2013, 8:27 pm

300 fair price for a 3inch fish

kl122

Postby kl122 » October 21st, 2013, 9:31 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1382405207.059007.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1382405249.465446.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1382405279.915684.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1382405326.699407.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1382405373.782542.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1382405427.717928.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1382405476.966273.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1382405502.068144.jpg

chris600

Postby chris600 » October 22nd, 2013, 7:29 am

people i having a serious problem,very serious..
after a trip to blanchisseuse river one fine saturday morning, i taught it would be a good idea to gather some of the white gravel on the beach and a bit of drift wood for my fresh water tank,

upon taking a walk in the shallows of the river i discovered a sweet awesome looking piece of driftwood with a fluffy type of moss growing on it(thinking this thing might look good in the tank)....and now
this mossy sheit has just over grown my whole aquarium,
i tried every damm thing possible to get rid of it, bleaching the aquarium,bleaching the gravel,
even the hang on filters get jammed up with this dissease
my other plants survive because i am constantly pulling out huge clumps of this rubbish weekly
the only thing that seems to curb the growth is a bit of java moss i have,but i dont want to contaminate the java
any of you guys know of this filthy lil plant or how to get rid of it??
ill post some pics later

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » October 22nd, 2013, 8:28 am

Valuable lesson learnt now eh.
I think it that stringy algae you got, as long as there is light it will grow. Cut a garbage bag and wrap ot around the entire tank. Or buy an algae treatment in the pet store.

andre_959

Postby andre_959 » October 22nd, 2013, 8:50 am

True that halfbreed, just buy some algae tablets, black out the tank for a week and do daily water changes

Postby meccalli » October 22nd, 2013, 10:05 am

Yeah lets see some pics, sounds like a great nutrient export contender.

chris600

Postby chris600 » October 22nd, 2013, 7:58 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:Valuable lesson learnt now eh.
I think it that stringy algae you got, as long as there is light it will grow. Cut a garbage bag and wrap ot around the entire tank. Or buy an algae treatment in the pet store.

yuh go arks dat ,...this thing attaching itself to the silicone joints between glass, the gravel,the good plants,every blasted thing,even the air line not getting away....its a disease i tell u.
the algae treatment wont mess up the other good plants in the tank??
i used the white chalky block once (forget the name) but that killed all the plants i had :?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » October 22nd, 2013, 8:09 pm

that sounds like a form of algae. Do have any plecos? Preferably big ones. Or Cichlids? They helped me when I had that problem.

bir123

Postby bir123 » October 22nd, 2013, 8:13 pm

Try to cover the tank for a week .do not give it any light .the plants should live with only a little melting here and there

Or

Get some of the floting plants from those ponds like duck weed waterletuce and cover the top of the aquarium with it .

chris600

Postby chris600 » October 23rd, 2013, 8:07 am

DSC00061.JPG
DSC00061.JPG (40.64 KiB) Viewed 2756 times

DSC00059.JPG
DSC00059.JPG (33.54 KiB) Viewed 2756 times

DSC00055.JPG
DSC00055.JPG (43.16 KiB) Viewed 2756 times

ok so some pics of the virus,
(sorry about the shitty flash, lighting was bad outside)
the tank is in my front porch,so it gets approx 3-4 hours of sun daily,
should i keep a bit of the plastic as a permanent solution??
if i leave this alone for a 3 weeks,everything gets jammed up
all the filters clogged,..fish start to get trapped in the mush, even the snails cant escape :shock:
will try the black out treatment
DSC00028.JPG
DSC00028.JPG (48 KiB) Viewed 2756 times

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » October 23rd, 2013, 8:46 am

Yea same thing I said, the algae treatment may not help this. Try pulling out as much as you can. Remove any plants u want to save and black out the tank. Don't worry your fish won't care, you can remove the garbage bag at night to see them.

chris600

Postby chris600 » October 23rd, 2013, 9:04 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:Yea same thing I said, the algae treatment may not help this. Try pulling out as much as you can. Remove any plants u want to save and black out the tank. Don't worry your fish won't care, you can remove the garbage bag at night to see them.

i have a spare tank so ill put the plants there to try rehab a lil bit,...ill also try some of the duckweed ,will try to starve the tank of excess nurtients

damion_m_k

Postby damion_m_k » October 23rd, 2013, 10:08 am

Hey guys need some help with lighting for a planted tank, who dose lighting systems I have an 6*2*2 feet indoor tank.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » October 23rd, 2013, 11:16 am

A 48" light should be sufficient, or 3 x 24" lights placed long the short side of the tank.

damion_m_k

Postby damion_m_k » October 23rd, 2013, 11:49 am

What about watts per gallon??

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » October 23rd, 2013, 12:01 pm

For a fresh water tank not so much. You can Google it of course

bir123

Postby bir123 » October 23rd, 2013, 7:13 pm

I setting up a bredding rackb and want to use sponge filters
The aquarium is 24 by 12 by 18
What size and brand do you guys recomend and where can i get that brand
Thanks

android79

Postby android79 » October 23rd, 2013, 9:05 pm

I looking for some Chagoi koi's, the variety is identified by its bronze color and shiny scales on its back but not always. Looking for fish about 5 inches and under. PM or call 381-1893.
DSCF0550.JPG
web113.jpg
web113.jpg (36.13 KiB) Viewed 2670 times
pawn loc 162.jpg

evil_twin

Postby evil_twin » October 24th, 2013, 9:04 pm

chai sometimes has kois like those ....anywhere has flowerhorns? lookin for a small one

bir123

Postby bir123 » October 24th, 2013, 9:13 pm

I think i saw one in pet shop boys but it was big .

kl122

Postby kl122 » October 24th, 2013, 9:21 pm

Ishtropicals for all ur flower horn needs

Kasey

Postby Kasey » October 24th, 2013, 9:42 pm

kl122 wrote:Ishtropicals for all ur flower horn needs

yea buh for how he does breed his own, and specialise in it, you think he would have also had the best prices, but I find he kinda expensive like hell.

kl122

Postby kl122 » October 24th, 2013, 10:27 pm

His r imported bro

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » October 25th, 2013, 10:11 am

Kasey wrote:

yea buh for how he does breed his own, and specialise in it, you think he would have also had the best prices, but I find he kinda expensive like hell.

argh, The man imports his, and its $300-$400 for red dragons. Got mine from him and was pleased.
Try getting a FH for less than $500 anywhere nuh

evil_twin

Postby evil_twin » October 25th, 2013, 12:48 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:
Kasey wrote:

argh, The man imports his, and its $300-$400 for red dragons. Got mine from him and was pleased.
Try getting a FH for less than $500 anywhere nuh

I'm goin to check him either today or tomorrow ...fishy bizniz had a pair for 700 but the guy said someone from tobago already booked it

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » October 25th, 2013, 12:59 pm

Think it was local fishy had

evil_twin

Postby evil_twin » October 25th, 2013, 1:37 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:Think it was local fishy had

what size tank u have urs in? would put mine in a 3ft for the while.... what do u have at the bottom of the tank?

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » October 25th, 2013, 4:10 pm

36x15x18 high. Pool filter sand.

bir123

Postby bir123 » October 25th, 2013, 8:02 pm

What you guys suggest i feed my baby discus to get it to grow fast .Right now i am feeding baby brine shrimp and flake food because that is all they could really eat now
They are about 3.5 weeks old now .
And what size tank should i use to grow them out to like 4 inch range.
Right now they are in a 24 by 12 by 18 until they get a little biger