BBQ question to coal or not to coal

RoTaRyBoYz

Re: BBQ question to coal or not to coal

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 5th, 2013, 2:23 pm

From yesterday's 4th of July cook.. We had some people visiting from Trini, so I had to cook up a storm

Brisket went on 1pm Wednesday and took 14hrs to complete

Ah lil last minute grilled chicken & corn

The new gas grill don't even get use no more... Charcoal all the way!

4th of July is all about the food & family!

Postby Monk BANzai » October 14th, 2013, 3:15 pm

looking to purchase a pit.....wheh to go? Wansinghs? Homes to Go?? Peakes?

Postby SUPAstarr » October 14th, 2013, 3:48 pm

both have great offerings, wha size yuh looking at

Postby Monk BANzai » October 14th, 2013, 6:08 pm

meem know... sumptm to open up the Fyahz on a friday when they having Juma next door....and feed bout 10 ppl in the process...

Postby pugboy » October 14th, 2013, 6:30 pm

if you going charcoal and want something to last buy a Weber

Postby Monk BANzai » October 14th, 2013, 6:33 pm

Wangsingh's does sell it? at what cost?

Postby pugboy » October 14th, 2013, 6:37 pm

not sure of price but a couple hundred usd on amazon

I think they do, peakes also but price higher there
the weber agent is Target Trading macoya industrial estate

Postby Chimera » October 14th, 2013, 6:59 pm

skyboxing that in will kill you.

i see home store in barataria has some as well with sale prices on quite a few of them.

no name thing tho

Postby X_Factor » October 14th, 2013, 7:02 pm

http://www.amazon.com/Weber-741001-Silv ... eber+grill

that should cost less than 1500 landed, i think i saw the same thing at bhags for 2200

Postby Chimera » October 14th, 2013, 7:12 pm

hmm..thats not bad

I remember buying a similar shape cheap piece of sheit locally in roopnarine for like $300

after a 2 months and using it twice, the whole bottom rotten off.

Postby pugboy » October 14th, 2013, 7:14 pm

A freon tank woulda last longer, lol

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » October 14th, 2013, 10:34 pm

ent there is some health concerns with freon/ac gas?

Postby X_Factor » October 14th, 2013, 10:55 pm

nah, once its burned off properly
inside and outside

Postby SR » October 15th, 2013, 6:08 am

Don't spend more than $3000-3500 on a decent gas grill for home locally

3 burner bizness

abc dist had a good deal a while back on charbroil I think it was around 2700

a good gas grill does not cost more than around 300US in lowes and home depot and parts are available
order online and ship ocean
prices on weber grills locally are high both in peakes and bagwhansingh when compared to retail pricing away but it depends on shipping methods and convenience

a good stainless steel grill starts from around 10k (new place by econo car rentals) good Canadian brand cast iron grates will last at least 10 years with heavy usage

check the home store and costlo for price comparison locally pricesmart pricing has gone up on grills

Postby Dave » October 15th, 2013, 8:14 am

Charbroil parts are very easily available and reasonably priced.
Mind you, have one over 6yrs and is used approx once a mth for 2-3hrs and never required anything

Postby Monk BANzai » October 15th, 2013, 10:16 am

Nicely...thanks guize!!!.....

Chemical

Postby Chemical » October 15th, 2013, 12:15 pm

Postby pugboy » October 15th, 2013, 12:21 pm

that looking like rare

Postby Monk BANzai » October 17th, 2013, 11:54 pm

ended up getting this:

mere starter kit for me....
homestorespecial.jpg

Postby SR » October 18th, 2013, 5:47 am

nice just convert to 20lb cylinder and yuh in the game

pluggie

Postby pluggie » October 18th, 2013, 5:58 am

Chemical wrote:Image

Looks bloody excellent ... good stuff

Postby X_Factor » October 18th, 2013, 7:15 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:ended up getting this:

get this now
http://www.amazon.com/Cuisinart-CGS-134 ... sinart+bbq

really strong, and it looks and feels good!

minipresident

Postby minipresident » October 18th, 2013, 7:10 pm

Just in case anybody's interested, I'll leave this here.

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=535828

Postby Monk BANzai » October 18th, 2013, 8:41 pm

X_Factor wrote:
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:ended up getting this:

get this now
http://www.amazon.com/Cuisinart-CGS-134 ... sinart+bbq

really strong, and it looks and feels good!

nurt bad at all....will orda with meh Prime Acc...

Postby Chimera » November 11th, 2013, 6:05 pm

what you all think about this

http://www.amazon.com/Dyna-Glo-DGE530BS ... nk-c605-20

excellent reviews online, should cost $4500 or so landed.

Easy push button start electronic pulse ignition system ensures quick and reliable ignition
(3) Heavy gage stainless steel cooking grates for retaining heat and to sear foods to lock in those natural juices and a warming rack
LP tank pullout allows for easy access to the propane tank from the front of the grill
(5) Stainless steel commercial grade straight burner tubes (10,000 BTU's each) (1) stainless steel side burner (12,000 BTU's)
708 square Inch of total cooking space offers a significant outdoor grilling experience; Grill up to 28 hamburgers at one time

Postby X_Factor » November 11th, 2013, 8:06 pm

looks good, bring 3 via sea and it should be around 3-3300 for 1

Postby pugboy » November 11th, 2013, 8:43 pm

"Lock in those natural juices", lol

you should look for one with infrared burner

Postby X_Factor » November 11th, 2013, 9:53 pm

Postby Chimera » November 11th, 2013, 9:59 pm

What those grills cost down here though

Postby brams112 » November 11th, 2013, 10:00 pm

For me,it takes almost two hours to clean down my gas grill that is the same size as the one aba posted,as for coals,i just fire it up after dusting out all the ashes and pass a steel brush on the grill untill it is clean,with the hot coals burning out all the stuck on sauce.