Sound Systems Discussion, please read first post

Would you support a local P.A. System / DJ Forum???

Yes
88%
No
12%

Total votes: 167

Re: P.A. Systems, DJ Systems, Pro audio men.....

Postby gt4tified » September 18th, 2013, 11:41 am

firstchoicett wrote:I was not talking average person I was talking about big sound company who put out over 5 trailers on the road for carnival.

RAA do all the stage and lighting sounds effects for PP anniversary party. I meet a guy who was the head in organizing everything for those events and he said it cost over 1.5 million for all that on a single night.

When JW launch his party he talk about how much they spend on stages.

firstchoicett, I could count the number of those "big sound company" that you referred to on one hand....political wuk will always be...well, political.

We talking about the vast majority of sound system men here....those who have anywhere between a loaded 4x4 and 20x20.

DJ

Postby DJ » September 18th, 2013, 11:47 am

X_Factor wrote:
firstchoicett wrote:
Kasey wrote:
firstchoicett wrote:
X_Factor wrote:^ the guy who uses the danley's uses original lab gruppen on the subs i think

i got this pic off someone's profile off facebook as to the power for the set

Some great amps dread I was planning on replacing my I tech 12000HD with the Powersoft K20 someone told me those amps play the 850 real best.

the SB850? According to the specs, the k20 is a 18,000watt amp!!! If this is true that WILL bun DONG THE sb850 WITH EASE (well unless you dont max it out, but then you wasting the power of the amp). I find that the K10 will actually suit the 850'S better. Its 10,000WATTS total @5000 damping factor. Any other opinions?
Economically it will work out better and you will not be wasting power.

Was planning on using a K20 tp [;ay about 8-10 SB850 Boxes.

Right now im using the 1 Itech to play 4 SB850 and the amp barely sweat.

like i needed to quote back this pic to show the kinda stuff that ppl use locally

for the average person .5mil is alot
but for any of the larger sound companies, i am sure they clear well over that for a carnival season

this sight is rare bro. More than half of the trucks I see of the 'larger' companies using topp pro, American Audio, and the cheaper QSC (RMX series) lines.

In my humble experiences, I have found that the Sound System business in Trinidad, is not profitable, unless you know someone important.

I know rel men with 'bess equipment' who not making money off their stuff.

Big Thumb DOES NOT make that much money off their Sound system to cover the cost price. Them men just doing it for fun, they have their contracting business to support them.

Imagine I saw them in Reform doing the PA for the band Maya. They only doing sound eh, not part of the band, not DJ-ing. They had (I swear to you) 10 (TEN), yes TEN workmen with them!!!! TO PUT DOWN A 4x4 EAW set!!! Isnt that overkill?

Xfactor, I just have to disagree with you with the idea that Sound companies clear > $.5Mil in profit for ONE Carnival, Looking at all the factors, and my experience, I am 99% sure that 95% of all Sound Companies do not even come close to this figure in profits.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 1st, 2013, 9:09 pm

New mixing bosrd Zed 436.
1380676154896.jpg

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 2nd, 2013, 1:40 pm

oooh...
aaah.... me likey.

btw anyone have powered subs for sale? hit me a pm please
(no gemini please)

DYNAMIX SOUND SYSTEM

Postby DYNAMIX SOUND SYSTEM » October 3rd, 2013, 12:30 pm

anyone wanting single scoops built for carnival?

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 15th, 2013, 2:13 pm

SmokeyGTi wrote:oooh...
aaah.... me likey.

btw anyone have powered subs for sale? hit me a pm please
(no gemini please)

Got JBL 18" that's like 5500 for 1.

Postby X_Factor » October 15th, 2013, 4:51 pm

anyone checked out a place i've been hearing alot about called DJ warehouse?

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 15th, 2013, 7:37 pm

^^Yeah, located in Montrose. They have a lot of decent stuff at good prices.

Postby gt4tified » October 16th, 2013, 11:30 am

where in Montrose exactly silentriot?

DYNAMIX SOUND SYSTEM

Postby DYNAMIX SOUND SYSTEM » October 16th, 2013, 12:01 pm

FROM CHAGUANAS SIDE HEADING TO MONTROSE LOOK FOR THE HUGE SIGN "PHARMACY PLUS" ON THE LEFT HAND SIDE

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 16th, 2013, 1:29 pm

Yes, it's inside Pharmacy Plus. Same store.

arnold_k69

Postby arnold_k69 » October 17th, 2013, 3:44 pm

whats your views and preference, EV ELX115p vs JBL PRX 715. Anyone ever heard or used both and can shed some insights on their performance and application use?

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » October 17th, 2013, 6:06 pm

arnold_k69 wrote:whats your views and preference, EV ELX115p vs JBL PRX 715. Anyone ever heard or used both and can shed some insights on their performance and application use?

Not an audio expert but I find ev sounds better in enclosed arenas whereas jbl more all round. .This is from personal experience ...

Kasey

Postby Kasey » October 17th, 2013, 10:08 pm

arnold_k69 wrote:whats your views and preference, EV ELX115p vs JBL PRX 715. Anyone ever heard or used both and can shed some insights on their performance and application use?

The first time I heard an EV ELX115P, I bought 6!!! I NEVER regretted it. I use them for almost all my gigs and they never disappoint.

I disagree with the opinion that they only sound good indoors, as I have used them in both applications, and they perform VERY well.

I WILL say that I have no experience with the JBL, BUT I can tell you that they are much more expensive than the EV's.

So far, I haver never heard any other speaker in the price range sound better or play louder than the EV.

I have experience with the following that I have compared it to:
JBL EON G2 and G3's
RCF ART325
Mackie SRM450
Behringer
Gemini
Staners

I do not have experience with any other.

EV, IS CLEANER, LOUDER, AND OVERALL SOUNDS BETTER IN MY OPINION THAN ALL these. My fellow sound system friends who have heard them agree with me also.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » October 17th, 2013, 10:12 pm

oh yeah I have a brand new pair of the EV ELX115P to sell if anyone interested. I am selling it for $9600.00

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 17th, 2013, 10:14 pm

1382062397117.jpg

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 17th, 2013, 10:16 pm

Making that for the mixing board.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 17th, 2013, 10:19 pm

Still have to get handles and lock latches for it already build the top will post more pictures tomorrow.
uploadfromtaptalk1382062709515.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1382062694717.jpg

arnold_k69

Postby arnold_k69 » October 18th, 2013, 8:24 am

Thanks Kasey, do you use them for live band jobs as floor monitors also, the JBL's are more pricey but also rated more in power handling which may justify pricing a bit. i know the JBL can be used both on tripods and on floor, was looking into that also. I was always impressed by the G2's. but never owned a pair, was wodering how close does the EV compare, if not surpass the sound quality and performance.
Firstchoice, case build looking nice.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 18th, 2013, 10:29 am

arnold_k69 wrote:Thanks Kasey, do you use them for live band jobs as floor monitors also, the JBL's are more pricey but also rated more in power handling which may justify pricing a bit. i know the JBL can be used both on tripods and on floor, was looking into that also. I was always impressed by the G2's. but never owned a pair, was wodering how close does the EV compare, if not surpass the sound quality and performance.

Thanks when I finish you will see ..

Kasey

Postby Kasey » October 18th, 2013, 4:33 pm

arnold_k69 wrote:Thanks Kasey, do you use them for live band jobs as floor monitors also, the JBL's are more pricey but also rated more in power handling which may justify pricing a bit. i know the JBL can be used both on tripods and on floor, was looking into that also. I was always impressed by the G2's. but never owned a pair, was wodering how close does the EV compare, if not surpass the sound quality and performance.

I have used these for P.A. both for mains and as wedge monitors (they are built for dual purpose). I have also used them for DJ-ing together with subs, and they perform outstandingly. As I said I NEVER regret investing in these, especially for the price.

I have compared them to the G2's and the EV are definitely louder and player much betters lows. The g2's are nice boxes but the low end response never impressed me.

PEOPLE, I have an Allen and Heath GL2400 IN IMMACULATE CONDITION for $11,000!!!! Please take this off my hands!!! Also got some EQ's and effects units and a compressor.

s.jaski

Postby s.jaski » October 18th, 2013, 9:37 pm

Hey guys i have for sale

I have a Pair of brand new passive speakers. Great for bars, shops etc.

Technical Hifi A USA BRAND.

COST $2400.00 CASH NEO.

One box is sealed in plastic and the other is open.

Double 15”
Peak: 1800 Watts 550rms
Woofer Size 2 x 15"
Magnet Size 60 oz
Midrange 5" x 15"
Tweeter 4 Piezo
Frequency Response 45Hz-20 kHz
Sensitivity 99 ±2dB
Impedance: 4 Ohms
Wired in series at 4 ohms

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 3rd, 2013, 8:31 pm

Going to start to build my system in a week or two.
I would eventually want to get a pair of powered monitors. The RCF 312A seems to be the best bet so far. (On paper its better than the 15). Either than or an EV wooden monitor.
What you guys think?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » November 3rd, 2013, 10:52 pm

silent_riot wrote:Going to start to build my system in a week or two.
I would eventually want to get a pair of powered monitors. The RCF 312A seems to be the best bet so far. (On paper its better than the 15). Either than or an EV wooden monitor.
What you guys think?

i have 6 EV elx115p powered speakers. Before these, I hade a pair of RCF Art 325. Before I bought the EV's, I went to demo the EV's by a pardner who told me the the RCF will be blown out of the water compared to the EV's. I just couldnt believe that a MUCH cheaper speaker with a 1" high frequency driver(the EV) COULD PLAY BETTER AND LOUDER, THAN a expensive RCF speaker WITH a 2" driver.

Boy was I wrong!!! THE ev literally put the RCF to shame!!! Hands down LOUDER, CLEARER, Louder, crisper Highs (YES, the 1" driver louder than the RCF's 2"!!!).

Two WEEKS after I sold my RCF's and ordered 6 EV ELX115P.

I have NEVER regretted my decision.

By the way, i STILL HAVE A brand new pair of ELX 115P speakers to get off my hands. I just NEVER had the need to use all 6 due to the sheer volume of only 4!!! I just want ti get back what I paid.

Want $10,000.00 for the pair.

Postby gt4tified » November 4th, 2013, 4:28 pm

Good price Kasey. If it weren't for their size I would have considered taking them....I just ordered a pair of the ZXA1's online.

I think the RCF has excellent drivers but their amplifier topology needs work...this seems to be where EV is killing everybody else. I would love to open up one of their powered monitors to take a look at the amp circuit.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » November 5th, 2013, 11:34 am

http://www.amazon.com/PYLE-PRO-PPHP1299 ... ud+speaker

Them things any good?
Home use mainly.
Backyard/pool use?

Postby gt4tified » November 5th, 2013, 1:25 pm

pm sent Mr. Red Sleeper!

DYNAMIX SOUND SYSTEM

Postby DYNAMIX SOUND SYSTEM » November 5th, 2013, 1:54 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper no! stay away from that, as convenient as it may seem ipod etc... no!
Buy another brand locally behringer and mackie should get the job done, a cheaper alternative is the Gemini which can also get the job done which may have the usb feature, output would be less than the Behringer but would word well in your application.

Dynamix Sounds.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » November 5th, 2013, 2:28 pm

Isnt Pyle and the gemini on par in terms of performance/durability?

DYNAMIX SOUND SYSTEM

Postby DYNAMIX SOUND SYSTEM » November 5th, 2013, 2:41 pm

i wont say that much, Gemini in Trinidad you get aftermarket services from the dealer Steve`s electronics, for Pyle idk cant say. I`ve used the Gemini b4 and they can only do that much but for your application this is the better choice tho