Tiida vs Altis

caliph tec

Re: Tiida vs Altis

Postby caliph tec » September 25th, 2013, 10:37 pm

acesinghit wrote:The Corolla Altis is basically a USDM Corolla with a 3zz engine (the intake VVTi version) of the coveted 2zz-ge albeit with narrow angle valves and without the forged pistons, crank and connecting rods.

Although built in Thailand and shipped to Singapore, I reckon the quality is far superior to any Japanese made Tiida Latio. The HR15DE and HR16DE is simply no match for a 1NZ-FE and 3ZZ-FE respectively.

The interior of the Altis is more pleasing to the eye than a Tiida which like the Versa has to be one of the ugliest cars out there.
let me add something here,it has power windows in front an f-in manual windows in d back an uh paying 140somting 4 it :drinking:

uzziah

Postby uzziah » September 25th, 2013, 10:42 pm

I drive ah Altis and I have no problem with it it works fine and drive like ah dream

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 26th, 2013, 5:59 am

I have ah altis for sale,chek meh nuh

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » September 26th, 2013, 6:42 am

Altis bai

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » September 26th, 2013, 9:10 am

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:Know a few people with altis and nze corollas for years, never had to change a part, and it took a lil extra searching to find parts in bamboo bcuz they wanted spares bcuz 5-6 years passed without changing parts, but the parts were obtainable.

Altis or NZE hands down.

This!

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » September 26th, 2013, 9:25 am

Mercenary wrote:
747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:Know a few people with altis and nze corollas for years, never had to change a part, and it took a lil extra searching to find parts in bamboo bcuz they wanted spares bcuz 5-6 years passed without changing parts, but the parts were obtainable.

Altis or NZE hands down.

This!

Yes ,I have an Nze 6 years now ,all I ever change was the main belt, front disc pads ,rear still original

Usual oil service mobil 10w 30 with filters and spark plugs all bought from TTTL.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 26th, 2013, 10:31 am

Bess i buy a nze oui.

but head and block is nearly 10k :|

moti

Postby moti » September 26th, 2013, 10:33 am

sound boy 64 wrote:Bess i buy a nze oui.

Meanwhile the HR15DE goes for 4-5K complete :lol:

tdavies

Postby tdavies » September 26th, 2013, 10:45 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:
Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:
tdavies wrote:You will be able to find parts for the Tiida every 5 houses down though.
Engine and Body parts will be very very cheap and easy to find.

If you have the dinero go with the Altis,

Thats because the altis wont require parts! 8-) 8-)

A concept nissan owners fail to realize

ever had problem with your fuel system...........
know a few people that encountered problem with their's (Altis)
one owner got frustrated and sold his (now driving a new model corolla)

i would like 2 see which car does not required parts from time 2 time
whether is ferrari, mazda, toyota, nissan, mitsubishi etc

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » September 26th, 2013, 11:04 am

1.6 3zz engine is expensive the 1.5 1nz engine cost cheaper the one without the ps pump.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 26th, 2013, 11:08 am

moti wrote:

you sure about that? last i heard was closer to 10k

Postby 1UZFE » September 26th, 2013, 11:18 am

My parents have an Altis and it gives NO problems NONE. Uses Super. Fully synthetic Castrol oil n basic maintainence. Only thing ever did was change brake shoes n battery. Bess ride bess fuel economy and looks far beeter than ah Tida.

moti

Postby moti » September 26th, 2013, 11:18 am

sound boy 64 wrote:
moti wrote:

Nope, thats the current price, just two months ago a "head & block" for the HR15 was purchased from bamboo for a cool $1800.

tdavies

Postby tdavies » September 26th, 2013, 11:28 am

1UZFE wrote:My parents have an Altis and it gives NO problems NONE. Uses Super. Fully synthetic Castrol oil n basic maintainence. Only thing ever did was change brake shoes n battery. Bess ride bess fuel economy and looks far beeter than ah Tida.

and you believe that it will never give problems...........
RIGHHTTT

Postby 1UZFE » September 26th, 2013, 11:45 am

tdavies wrote:
1UZFE wrote:My parents have an Altis and it gives NO problems NONE. Uses Super. Fully synthetic Castrol oil n basic maintainence. Only thing ever did was change brake shoes n battery. Bess ride bess fuel economy and looks far better than ah Tida.

RIGHHTTT

I didnt say dat brah n y would i think dat a cyar wud never give problems im sure even Rolls does give trouble at some point... Jus tellin u from owing 1 and other Toyotas dat the durability and suspension in Toyotas is superior to vehicles in dat bracket..

Postby Ted_v2 » September 26th, 2013, 11:49 am

moti wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:
moti wrote:

Nope, thats the current price, just two months ago a "head & block" for the HR15 was purchased from bamboo for a cool $1800.

Well that's awesome.

tdavies

Postby tdavies » September 26th, 2013, 12:20 pm

1UZFE wrote:
tdavies wrote:
1UZFE wrote:My parents have an Altis and it gives NO problems NONE. Uses Super. Fully synthetic Castrol oil n basic maintainence. Only thing ever did was change brake shoes n battery. Bess ride bess fuel economy and looks far better than ah Tida.

RIGHHTTT

I didnt say dat brah n y would i think dat a cyar wud never give problems im sure even Rolls does give trouble at some point... Jus tellin u from owing 1 and other Toyotas dat the durability and suspension in Toyotas is superior to vehicles in dat bracket..

I agree that the suspension is better
but the durability and overall performance is not necessarily better

btw i drive the same car that once took me to school (B14)
next year she will be 20 and works great
because of the money i saved because parts cheap and nothing significant went wrong
I was able to save for what I really wanted ..............another NISSAN product

moti

Postby moti » September 26th, 2013, 12:27 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:
moti wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:
moti wrote:

Well that's awesome.

Yup, I stand by my prices above.............just played fast and called and got a complete engine (HR15) for 6K :wink:
And by complete I mean everything except the transmission which can be added for a mere 2K.

Nissan affordability you just can't beat.

Postby cinco » September 26th, 2013, 12:50 pm

I have 2 nzes in my stable and gf moms has one my neighb has one in fact there are 8 nzes in my neighbourhood. Ac compressor went on one and alt bearing was makin noise on the other other than that no other maintenance needed. Nze is the king of the road for reliability

caliph tec

Postby caliph tec » September 26th, 2013, 1:10 pm

rel men buying tiida an running taxi with it

Postby 1UZFE » September 26th, 2013, 1:27 pm

moti wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:
moti wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:
moti wrote:

Well that's awesome.

Yup, I stand by my prices above.............just played fast and called and got a complete engine (HR15) for 6K :wink:
And by complete I mean everything except the transmission which can be added for a mere 2K.

Nissan affordability you just can't beat.

D affordability is another topic for discussion. Because if u buy parts every 2 yrs (eg Rack ends)for your Nissan but buy the same part for your toyota every 5-6yrs for twice the price den the affordability statment could be argued. Aslo as u stated the Toyota ride is superior so u would be gettin an added bonus with the longevity of the parts.
Oh Yea! I had a B15 as well.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » September 26th, 2013, 1:30 pm

QUESTION IS, HOW WELL WILL YOU MAINTAIN YOUR CAR???? That basically determines if you will be needing parts like head and block etc.

moti

Postby moti » September 26th, 2013, 1:48 pm

Also where you buying parts.........

Cause if you buying those parts that are not original, then you will be changing the same part regularly.
Original cradles, shock mounts, ends and others purchased by "The Motorist" lasts 50,000 Kms or more with the B15 & B14 we have/had respectively.

Original parts are the life of your car.

douglaking

Postby douglaking » September 26th, 2013, 10:04 pm

caliph tec wrote:rel men buying tiida an running taxi with it

Which ideally, should be a benchmark for gas mileage and durability.

Postby sliderz1 » September 27th, 2013, 12:13 am

Tiida Hatch > Altis

joe_d_boss

Postby joe_d_boss » September 27th, 2013, 6:51 am

Altis for sure bro. There is not even a question in my mind about it. The Altis runs on a lower octane level. I believe the Tiidas require premium, even though I have seen a lot of people use super in it, but I could only imagine that this isn't healthy in the long run. The Altis' suspension is superior to that of the Tiida's as well. They both feel great on the road; however, you will find yourself change cradle arm bushings and other little suspension parts on a regular basis with the Tiida as compared to almost never with the Altis.

Anyways, let us know what you decided and give us some feedback after you purchase.

joe_d_boss

Postby joe_d_boss » September 27th, 2013, 6:57 am

ruffrider27 wrote:Yes ,I have an Nze 6 years now ,all I ever change was the main belt, front disc pads ,rear still original

Usual oil service mobil 10w 30 with filters and spark plugs all bought from TTTL.

I had a 2005 Corolla NZE local which was doing over 200,000 km. Apart from the usual maintenance parts like brakes and that same V-belt, all I ever changed were two tie rod ends (rack ends), and that was close to the 200,000 km mark. I ended up getting in an accident February gone and sold the car and bought the newer model.