Chimpanzee escapes from the zoo

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 25th, 2013, 11:42 pm

Chimpanzee escapes from the zoo
By Carla Bridglal
Story Created: Sep 25, 2013 at 10:57 PM ECT
Story Updated: Sep 25, 2013 at 10:57 PM ECT
Don’t worry, it’s nothing like Rise of the Planet of the Apes or any other animal escape-themed Hollywood blockbuster gone awry.
Sudi, the lone chimpanzee at the Emperor Valley Zoo in Port of Spain, escaped her enclosure yesterday morning and was just about to start taking a stroll through the zoo when zookeepers noticed the shaggy, greyish-black three-and-a-half-foot upright-walking creature roaming the primate section was Sudi.
In a release yesterday, the zoo said that around 8.30 a.m., Sudi escaped her cage into the general zoo compound.
As soon as her escape was discovered, almost immediately after it happened, zoo curator Nirmal Biptah initiated standard operating procedures for such an event, which proved quite effective in containing and recapturing Sudi.
The zoo opens at 10 a.m. so there were no members of the public visiting at the time. Sudi, who is between 40 and 45 years old, was hand-raised since birth in Canada, and has been with the zoo for over thirty years, so is habituated to human presence.
“She was able to maintain a very calm presence, exploring the surroundings in an inquisitive manner. She was closely monitored by her keepers during this time, who tried to coax her back into her enclosure. Biptah was on standby to sedate her if necessary,” the zoo said.
She did have to be sedated, when she climbed up into an overhanging tree adjacent to the zoo, but off the compound.
To prevent any injury to the animal, she was sedated while she made her descent, under the supervision of zookeepers.
Sudi was returned to her enclosure, without any injury. When the Express called later for an update, about 4 p.m., she was just awakening from her sedation.
This was the first time Sudi escaped, Biptah said, although another primate in her cage had a long time ago.
He said the zoo was investigating how she could have escaped since the system has been secure for almost 30 years.
Chimpanzees are native to the jungles of West and Central Africa. They are highly intelligent creatures, and the closest species related to humans.
The average lifespan of a chimpanzee is 40-50 years in the wild, and up to 60 in captivity.

Re: Chimpanzee escapes from the zoo

Postby javishm » September 26th, 2013, 12:08 am

chilling in the zooo normell

Postby joker » September 26th, 2013, 12:13 am

I feel yodins leave the enclosure open.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 26th, 2013, 12:31 am

I really really DISLIKE monkeys.....ALL of them....

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » September 26th, 2013, 12:33 am

after 30 years in the zoo she must figure how to escape her cage

Postby noshownogo » September 26th, 2013, 12:33 am

that pic looks like a bigfoot sighting

Postby gt4tified » September 26th, 2013, 12:58 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:I really really DISLIKE monkeys.....ALL of them....

Is it becuz they fling poo?

Postby stev » September 26th, 2013, 1:01 am

d man just wanted to see d snakes...he only hearing people talking about it.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 26th, 2013, 1:17 am

gt4tified wrote:

nah not that....can't seem to put my finger on it though.....augh!!! now that's gonna burn at my mind like burning tyres.....dammit!!!!!

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » September 26th, 2013, 1:37 am

I tell pios about leaving he Gaul all over d place after he bd.

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » September 26th, 2013, 1:39 am

Damn. Man getting personal in here.

Postby De Dragon » September 26th, 2013, 1:45 am

cincuanta wrote:Damn. Man getting personal in here.

You eh have ah dome tuh fix? :lol:

Postby K74T » September 26th, 2013, 4:10 am

ruffrider27 wrote:I tell pios about leaving he Gaul all over d place after he bd.

What's a "gaul" ?

Postby Mark! » September 26th, 2013, 5:21 am

Gon check men out some turrdelsss

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » September 26th, 2013, 5:23 am

Inb4wehearwhatyodinshavetosaytodefendhisactionsforfreeingthechimp

Postby Gem_in_i » September 26th, 2013, 5:37 am

30 yrs in that small cage at Zoo. Must have felt good walking around like that.

Postby pugboy » September 26th, 2013, 6:44 am

that blurry pic is just like the blurry ones of bigfoot, lol

Postby dougla_boy » September 26th, 2013, 7:49 am

i find that pic real funny

LOLOLOLOLOLOLOL!!!!

Postby shogun » September 26th, 2013, 7:50 am

It is...

Dude taking a casual stroll, oui.

TriP

Postby TriP » September 26th, 2013, 7:50 am

monkey walking normal normal like if it going to zoo office.. :lol:

Postby mitsu_chick941 » September 26th, 2013, 8:10 am

dougla_boy wrote:i find that pic real funny

LOLOLOLOLOLOLOL!!!!

yuh know!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby AllTrac » September 26th, 2013, 8:14 am

i like how homey just walking around normal, not swinging around and making weird noises and causing a riot, it like its saying "fcuk your stereotypes"

Postby dougla_boy » September 26th, 2013, 8:15 am

monkey be like, lemme blend in with the crowd.......

i cud see him walk behind some people looking for the chimpanzee in the cage and be like, "nah....he aint thurr....he stepped out." all normal and chit

Postby Morpheus » September 26th, 2013, 8:26 am

dougla_boy wrote:monkey be like, lemme blend in with the crowd.......

i cud see him walk behind some people looking for the chimpanzee in the cage and be like, "nah....he aint thurr....he stepped out." all normal and chit

Bricks would be shat......

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » September 26th, 2013, 8:50 am

Sudi just jibbin...

*Nebula*

Postby *Nebula* » September 26th, 2013, 9:01 am

Sudi wanted to stretch her legs and enjoy the view on the other side of the fence for a change. Poor thing it was short lived.

Postby Les Bain » September 26th, 2013, 9:03 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:
gt4tified wrote:

nah not that....can't seem to put my finger on it though.....augh!!! now that's gonna burn at my mind like burning tyres.....dammit!!!!!

Same here.

Postby turbosingh » September 26th, 2013, 9:17 am

I swear the monkey reach queens park! :lol:

moti

Postby moti » September 26th, 2013, 9:23 am

AllTrac wrote:i like how homey just walking around normal, not swinging around and making weird noises and causing a riot, it like its saying "fcuk your beethamites"

Fixored

Postby sMASH » September 26th, 2013, 9:48 am

Should make dvds with that monkey to teach behavioral lessons to the lavantee and beethamites