The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 21st, 2013, 11:08 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:update all mine earlier...

one needed to be restarted before tho...
I did numerous restarts, even did a reset

next option is to plug it in via USB into iTunes and restore / update

src1983

Postby src1983 » September 21st, 2013, 11:51 pm

My Apple TV updated without a hitch

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 22nd, 2013, 12:56 am

^ postponed, not cancelled

they claim because the app was leaked to users it caused their servers to be over loaded and crashed, so they postponed the launch.

Blackberry wants more users but then their servers crash when they do get more users - lolwut?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 22nd, 2013, 1:06 am

^ probably by Microsoft lol

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 22nd, 2013, 1:59 am

src1983 wrote:My Apple TV updated without a hitch
Same with me - no issues at all, except it took somewhere between 30-45 mins to download and update.

Did it on the day it was released.

Postby S_2NR » September 22nd, 2013, 2:10 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ postponed, not cancelled

they claim because the app was leaked to users it caused their servers to be over loaded and crashed, so they postponed the launch.

Blackberry wants more users but then their servers crash when they do get more users - lolwut?

yea blackberry failed badly there..again.
adding insult to injury.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 22nd, 2013, 6:31 am

dredman1 wrote:
src1983 wrote:My Apple TV updated without a hitch
Same with me - no issues at all, except it took somewhere between 30-45 mins to download and update.

Did it on the day it was released.
apparently Apple pulled the update because users reported problems with it

https://discussions.apple.com/message/23096247#23096247

Not sure if that is accurate though

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 22nd, 2013, 8:49 am

^^^ hmm - if that's true, I hope the issue is just with the install, and not a problem with the actual update...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 22nd, 2013, 8:59 pm

^ so it's true that Apple pulled the 6.0 Apple TV OS
"Apple TV 6.0 Update Pulled After Users Report Bricking, Other Issues"

On Friday, Apple launched its 6.0 software update for its Apple TV set-top box, but soon after, some users reported that the update bricked their devices while others were a bit luckier and just lost their connection to the Internet or had to restore their machines. Some users are also reporting extremely slow download speeds and many seem to have lost some or all of the movies and TV shows they downloaded from Apple’s servers. Now, it looks like Apple has pulled the update, which was the first to introduce its new iTunes Radio service to the set-top box.

Apple’s own support forums are currently full of complaints about these issues.

For some users with multiple Apple TVs at home, the update seems to work on some and fail on others. It’s unclear what exactly causes these issues, which seem to affect both the Apple TV 2 and 3.

While the Apple TV is typically a standalone device, getting it back to work may mean that you have to connect it to your PC or Mac to restore it. To do so, you need a micro USB cable, connect the box to the PC, bring up iTunes, select the Apple TV in the Devices list and click ‘restore.’ That’s not very complicated (and easy for anybody who has ever tried an Apple TV jailbreak), but it’s also not something most users would even think about doing. For some, however, even this procedure doesn’t work.

So far, we haven’t heard anything official from Apple, but it’s clear that the 6.0 update has been pulled for the time being (it’s currently not available for my personal Apple TV either). We will update this post once we hear more.

http://techcrunch.com/2013/09/22/apple- ... er-issues/

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 22nd, 2013, 9:01 pm

Must be one of the lucky ones. I've had no issues with that update. Hopefully never will.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 23rd, 2013, 9:55 am

9 MILLION

Apple just set a new all-time record for iPhone launch sales: it reports selling nine million total iPhone 5s and 5c units this weekend, well over the 5 million of the iPhone 5 launch last year. While the company isn't breaking down sales by individual models, it notes that the initial iPhone 5s supply has already sold out. The company also mentioned that more than 200 million devices are already running iOS 7. That's the fastest software upgrade in history, according to Apple. While it's difficult to put the sales and download figures into context without directly comparable numbers from rivals, it's clear that the new devices are off to a strong start.

http://www.engadget.com/2013/09/23/appl ... d=rss_semi

Postby pioneer » September 23rd, 2013, 9:58 am

Oh goaar doh show PC gamer that nah

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 23rd, 2013, 10:22 am

somebody was saying something bout "plummeting sales" ? :lol:

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 23rd, 2013, 10:27 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ so it's true that Apple pulled the 6.0 Apple TV OS
"Apple TV 6.0 Update Pulled After Users Report Bricking, Other Issues"

On Friday, Apple launched its 6.0 software update for its Apple TV set-top box, but soon after, some users reported that the update bricked their devices while others were a bit luckier and just lost their connection to the Internet or had to restore their machines. Some users are also reporting extremely slow download speeds and many seem to have lost some or all of the movies and TV shows they downloaded from Apple’s servers. Now, it looks like Apple has pulled the update, which was the first to introduce its new iTunes Radio service to the set-top box.

http://techcrunch.com/2013/09/22/apple- ... er-issues/
That extremely slow download was the only issue I had. Otherwise it worked fine thereafter, iTunes Radio and all.

Hopefully it continues that way :skurry:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 23rd, 2013, 10:34 am

iPhone 5 - 5 million (3 days)
iPhone 5S/C - 9 million (3 days)
Galaxy S4 - 10 million (30 days)
One - 5 million (30 days)

(If someone could find the Galaxy S4 & One's launch weekend numbers it would be nice to compare them)

About the Apple TV update, I did notice the long update time as well, but as I said before, no issues beyond that.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » September 23rd, 2013, 4:42 pm

Source here.
http://www.cultofmac.com/246842/iphone- ... ung-chart/

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1379970673.848656.jpg

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 23rd, 2013, 4:48 pm

No BBM for another week at least

The team is now focused on adjusting the system to completely block this unreleased version of the Android app when we go live with the official BBM for Android app. We are also making sure that the system is reinforced to handle this kind of scenario in the future. While this may sound like a simple task – it’s not. This will take some time and I do not anticipate launching this week.

http://blogs.blackberry.com/2013/09/bbm ... 1379968214

Postby M_2NR » September 23rd, 2013, 10:21 pm

Thanks to some android users who had 0 patience. :lol:

Postby Trini Hookah » September 23rd, 2013, 10:59 pm

M_2NR wrote:Thanks to some android users who had 0 patience. :lol:

fite me IRL

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » September 23rd, 2013, 11:48 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:

fite me IRL

Postby M_2NR » September 24th, 2013, 12:09 am

Trini Hookah wrote:

fite me IRL

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 24th, 2013, 10:53 am

It's on its way!!!

~*SiLvA MeRa*~

Postby ~*SiLvA MeRa*~ » September 24th, 2013, 5:28 pm

Hey guys, I updated to IOS7, battery life seems to have taken a hit but the only real hiccup I am having with the update is I can't get iTunes Radio to work, I keep getting an error msg that the station is unavailable and try again later, I have tried with multiple stations on multiple times and same msg, my account is on the US storefront so I don't think that is the problem. Enlighten me please.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 24th, 2013, 7:32 pm

^ try closing all the apps and hard restarting your phone.

You can also try signing OUT of iTunes and signing back in again.

~*SiLvA MeRa*~

Postby ~*SiLvA MeRa*~ » September 24th, 2013, 9:46 pm

Thanks Duane, signing out of iTunes and then back in worked, much appreciated.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 24th, 2013, 10:54 pm

^ now you can tell Siri what to play e.g. "play Alternative on iTunes Radio"

once you set up your stations you can then tell Siri which one to play

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » September 24th, 2013, 11:12 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Image

It's on its way!!!

tmobile option u chose?

lemme know how much it costed you to clear

samureye

Postby samureye » September 25th, 2013, 1:05 am

smr_fingers wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Image

It's on its way!!!

tmobile option u chose?

lemme know how much it costed you to clear

Would also like to know. Considering ordering from the online store. You use a credit card? VTM?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 25th, 2013, 1:08 am

Tmobile contract free option in Apple USA online store. Had access to a US credit card. Didn't bother with TT credit card as I have had issues in the past ordering. Alternatively you can pay via wire transfer too no hassle.

No customs charges as I am letting a friend bring it in. If you want an idea of the customs charges though multiply the price by 38% to get a ballpark figure.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » September 25th, 2013, 9:23 am

Not sure if repost

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1380117172.683455.jpg