hunting ban

Re: hunting ban

Postby wagonrunner » September 23rd, 2013, 3:53 pm

Sabot wrote:Dont forget to check the serial numbers on those goutis folks or maybe you can hear the twang when they talk to make sure its not local.:grin:

"Occifer look this one have a visa"

but isn't that always the way. human hotels, so animal hotels.

Postby rfari » September 23rd, 2013, 5:32 pm

Buddy miller on i955fm

Sabot

Postby Sabot » September 23rd, 2013, 6:36 pm

On Ian Allene now...

Postby rfari » September 23rd, 2013, 9:02 pm

One of the key points from his interview that stood out is that the govt is bound to a max fine of 200 as prescribed by law.
For the 100k fines mentioned there needs to be the usual legislative procedure; passed in both houses, ascension, proclamation .. which hasnt been done as yet.

Also there appears to be an ulterior motive by the govt wrt this hunting ban. He claimed that a flawed data collection method was used in determining the wildlife kill rates and the minister ignored these warnings.

There was also mention of a shipment of wildmeat last year from guyana that was sold on the local market. It appears that someone has their eyes on being the sole supplier in tnt and is aided by the govt.

Another thing. Buddy mentioned a expanse of abandoned caroni 1975 lands (circa 75000 acres) that is now overgrown with dense vegetation and teeming with deer and other 'rare' wild meat. He claimed that hunters usually hit the jackpot just on the fringe of this area. Is this true?

Postby pioneer » September 23rd, 2013, 9:05 pm

Dem big bad hunters need to go hunt each other

People will pay plenty money to witness that

Postby 88sins » September 23rd, 2013, 9:26 pm

I'm aware of the area Mr. Miller is referring to, but i wouldn't say it's "teeming deer & other rare" animals. some parts of that area closer to the river banks are densely populated by nesting caimans. there are quite a few agouti, lappe, tattoo in there. A good few quenk too. Last time I was that side about 2 years back I saw deer tracks, so I wouldn't doubt it has deer, but I doubt is a lot.Most of that area is really dense trees & brush. yuh could get something after maybe a mile or 2 inside. in dry season it a lil harder tho.
I jus hope ppl doh jus start goin in there to clean out the beasts now they realize it have game there.

Postby 88sins » September 23rd, 2013, 9:38 pm

I declare it open season on pioneer. No shotguns,trap guns, air rifles, cage traps or snares allowed. Strictly wrist rockets & steel ball bearings permitted. Happy Hunting :lol: :lol:
All bs aside eh pois, yuh know ah jus rattlin yuh chain.

ah feelin ah jones for some curry caiman. dis go be a long 2 years

Postby rfari » September 23rd, 2013, 9:53 pm

Doh study pioneer. He just.loves animals. I never did the typical hunt thing. I tend to get my meat from friends that hunt and duck me when they going to camp :evil:a? even when they kill it isn't an exorbitant amount. Last year christmas was half a lappe and that lasted me for half the year. And thats good enuff for me.

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » September 23rd, 2013, 10:50 pm

I spoke to a hhunter and in a nutshell this is wat I understand.

Legit hunters are not against the ban, its the manner in which It was implemented.

There needs to be enforcing of the law ie more game wardens n rangers need to be hired

The targeted area of enforcement needs to be the poachers

Weed planters will have a ball cu z they will have reign of d "bush"

The sale of wildmeat has to stop, u want it to eat then, show yur permit and proof that is u dat hunt n catch it then you caneat it.

Lastly. It is concluded that the minister received a horn from a hunter thus d ressons for all this fuss.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » September 24th, 2013, 4:36 am

kevin5211 wrote:I spoke to a hhunter and in a nutshell this is wat I understand.

Legit hunters are not against the ban, its the manner in which It was implemented.

There needs to be enforcing of the law ie more game wardens n rangers need to be hired

The targeted area of enforcement needs to be the poachers

Weed planters will have a ball cu z they will have reign of d "bush"

The sale of wildmeat has to stop, u want it to eat then, show yur permit and proof that is u dat hunt n catch it then you caneat it.

Lastly. It is concluded that the minister received a horn from a hunter thus d ressons for all this fuss.

All of the above are correct, not sure about the horn though:lol:

At the end of this ban, if it lasts the two years, the same so called conservationists will be afraid to set foot in the forest as was the case for the last moratorium. Post 87-89 ban many people got injured with trap guns and this will happen again albeit in a bigger scale as the minister is saying its "ok" to posess wild meat. This essentially means open season to many illegal hunters who wont have to hide and sell wild meat as they do in the closed season. The sale of wild meat imo should be banned totally as a first measure. Also the fact remains that the minister cannot just whimsically ups and raise fines specified in law unless stated in same. The maximum the minister can vary right now is 200tt so all the fancy talk about 100k and taliban enforcement scenes he on will come to zero at the end of the day. The wildlife now will be decimated in the absence of hunters in the forest since the poachers are now being given competition by the minister and his "meat shop crew" all in the name of money. A prime example of how this will fail can be seen by the state of our sanctuaries and forest reserves and the lack of animal life in those due to zero enforcement.

Postby pioneer » September 24th, 2013, 6:26 am

Wha make ollor think they eh gone hire Uncle Sookram and Mukesh to be game wardens?

Man hadda eat

Postby *KRONIK* » September 24th, 2013, 6:40 am

agreed...

it have a certain game warden up on my side...

he hunting all year round...
with a trailer full of dogs and a shotgun...

so how exactly are laws supposed to enforced by lawbreakers??

nickjr1990

Postby nickjr1990 » September 24th, 2013, 7:02 am

if you are a hunter and VOTE FOR THIS GOVERNMENT IT'S BULLSHEIT the ban has its pros an cons im fine with that, but they just drafted up a LAW like SOE (ended up paying thousands to criminals who were locked up). So they banned season for repopulation im ok with that NOW THEY NEED TO SHOW WHAT MEASURES THEY PUT IN PLACE FOR THIS, to FEW game wardens to prevent poaching, GANJA FARMERS HAVE TWO YEARS TO ROAM FREE AND CULTIVATE WITHOUT WORRIES, no hunter to find their crops an report them so its a free for all. MORE WEED!!!!!!!!!!!LMAF KAMALA ADMINSTRATION ALWAYS GUESSING AND SHUFFLING SOON TO BE HUSTLING!!!!!!!!!!! MF

TUNER POPO

Postby TUNER POPO » September 24th, 2013, 9:10 am

no citizen cares about the law with survival tied to their mind.

some minister famalee go eat ah big food this christmas

Postby pioneer » September 25th, 2013, 12:32 pm

Gotta love game wardens

https://www.facebook.com/PapaBoisConser ... arget_id=0

Unbelievable. Deer saved by surfers at D1 on the North Coast today. Jonathan Torry and his student surfers Olivia Neckles, Victor and Jordan van Reeken are the heroes. Jordan, by an astonishing twist of fate, is my niece.

Wow what a story, read Jonathan's account here: "today while doing surfing lesson at D1 I heard Olivia shut out about something in the water I turned around and what a fantastic sight should behold my eyes I had to take a second look because I thought I was imagining things. It was a "deer" swimming about 20 yds away from us. I asked Victor and Jordan van Reeken to paddle out and help direct it towards the beach as it looked frighten and disoriented, at which time I swam in and proceeded to grab my camera to record the whole event as I knew that no one would believe us. On exiting the water the deer ran up the beach towards the river they had this group of people who were camping on seeing this helpless deer the men proceeded to tackle it one of them had a cutlass I saw that they were going to kill it. I ran over proceeded to tell them in certain terms and words that if they harmed the deer I would see to it that they would never set foot on D1 again and proceeded to take pictures of all of them, I guess the look on my face meant that I was serious and if they f&#ked with me there would be a price to pay. by the way deer was a female and looked quite pregnant. I would like to thank all those who help save this beautiful creature. Jordan van Reeken, Olivia Neckles, Victor, Dominic Ferdinand. Bless "
link to the pictures on Jonathan's profile page:

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid ... =1&theater

Let me tell you that Jonathan is a true protecter of mother nature. He's always doing his part to protect turtles during nesting season and cleaning trash off the beaches. Glad he was there. The right man at the right time. (Marc)

Sooo....this is what hunters/poachers/3rdworldtrinis do?....kill everything with the intention of eatin?

Eat ollor chiren nah?...I sure dem more annoying than any animal.

Postby pioneer » September 25th, 2013, 12:37 pm

Look de tuntuns who tried to kill it

camera>cutlass

Postby 88sins » September 25th, 2013, 2:25 pm

it always takes a jackass to do the wrong ting @ d wrong time eh. hope they charge they ass.

Postby Morpheus » September 25th, 2013, 2:52 pm

Great story. SMH @ dem folks....

Postby wagonrunner » September 25th, 2013, 3:57 pm

88sins wrote:it always takes a jackass to do the wrong ting @ d wrong time eh. hope they charge they ass.

Who gonna charge them???
they even know who to charge?

Postby MG Man » September 25th, 2013, 4:20 pm

88sins wrote:it always takes a jackass to do the wrong ting @ d wrong time eh. hope they charge they ass.

Who gonna charge them???
they even know who to charge?

de people in de blurry foto...duuuuuuuuuh
how yuh chuppid so?

Postby Ted_v2 » September 25th, 2013, 4:23 pm

dem folks not easy

Postby wagonrunner » September 25th, 2013, 4:31 pm

MG Man wrote:de people in de blurry foto...duuuuuuuuuh
how yuh chuppid so?

yuh ever get yuh money from the lawsuit yuh file against the shadow of your arse for copyright infringement?

Postby MG Man » September 25th, 2013, 4:32 pm

have you SEEN my shadow?????

Postby joker » September 25th, 2013, 5:31 pm

it does look like larafan?

TriP

Postby TriP » September 25th, 2013, 6:19 pm

dem looking like lagoon people,,!!

Sabot

Postby Sabot » September 26th, 2013, 9:50 pm

Those be poachers folks or just opportunists, good luck stopping them when the ban starts...

Postby 88sins » September 27th, 2013, 8:54 am

Simply opportunists. this is also a big part of the problem. They can ban all they want, ain't gonna stop this kinda thing even a little.
I wonder when these animals are imported how/where they going to be released? All down south? Some east some north and most in south & central? Any for tobago?

nickjr1990

Postby nickjr1990 » September 27th, 2013, 10:03 am

share more about the imported animals i am currently not in tnt right now and trying to keep up

Sabot

Postby Sabot » September 27th, 2013, 11:32 am

nickjr1990 wrote:share more about the imported animals i am currently not in tnt right now and trying to keep up

They gonna be released into people freezers and the proceeds of the sales will go to enriching a select few in government and their pallywals by extension. Very few if any will make it into the wild and even if they do they wont survive as they would be partially domesticated. Ever seen someone hug up a "wild" hog in real life? Check the minister on last week papers....

Postby meccalli » September 28th, 2013, 7:11 am

All boils down to the dontcare mentality of some of the people in this country, not only with hunting but the other problems we have because of greed and selfishness. That ban on wildmeat sales, is a great idea.