The 'Speed Kills' Myth (anti-Mg Man thought process)

Re: The 'Speed Kills' Myth (anti-Mg Man thought process)

Postby pete » September 19th, 2013, 3:33 pm

Well that will be the other advantage of removing the fuel subsidy here. Instead of all those pickup drivers blazing down the highway at 140 and not caring if they get 350-400km from a tank of diesel that only costs $80 they'll start to cruise and try to squeeze the 550+ they could. Til then, fyaz cyar done. :|

Postby MG Man » September 19th, 2013, 3:35 pm

that's my point
regardless of speed limit, there will be traffic if the system is over capacity
My point to pete was simply there'd be no appreciable difference if everyone went 80kph

Postby wagonrunner » September 19th, 2013, 4:00 pm

fellas in ched. lewwe really make an 80km/h day nah.
tell all yuh driving friends who would be on the highway.
5am to 9pm on that day. no exceeding 80km/h.

and i nominate wednesday september 25th as the date till November 4th actually. to ensure those who would stay home on the 25th get a taste, and lets see / hear how this experiment works.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » September 19th, 2013, 4:04 pm

Between those hours on a week AH day, yuh lucky if yu even reach that speed.

Postby wagonrunner » September 19th, 2013, 4:30 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:Between those hours on a week AH day, yuh lucky if yu even reach that speed.

really? you do know the highway extends east of sealots, and there is another one heading south right?

Postby cinco » September 19th, 2013, 5:10 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:Between those hours on a week AH day, yuh lucky if yu even reach that speed.

really? you do know the highway extends east of sealots, and there is another one heading south right?

that didnt end well the last time some college students tried that

FTL

Postby FTL » September 19th, 2013, 5:54 pm

cinco wrote:that didnt end well the last time some college students tried that
These kids were just stupid and they were not obeying the law!

Postby cinco » September 20th, 2013, 12:55 am

FTL wrote:

How were they not obeying the law?

Racegod

Postby Racegod » September 20th, 2013, 3:28 pm

I've been talking about thing for a while now... In trinidad we suffer from 2 main problems as i see it...

1. People who can't drive... some of which bought their license, etc...
2. People who think they can drive... and find themselves speeding around in the pouring rain at speeds I drive in when the place dry... and those that think they living in the fast and furious...

We need a combination of 2 things...

1. A much more robust driving licensing process that targets teenagers while in school, with a provisional system much like the US and Canada, where persons move through difference types of licenses allowing for different privileges. The system should mimic something like the system found in Finland.. for reference go find the top gear episode that show cased that system, with kids learning how to recover from full on skids caused by hydroplaning...

2. More presence and enforcement of traffic and road laws. When the police out on the road half they time they just chillin, waiting for their time to elapse... I've rarely ever seen the enforcement of law... and a lot of the time i've seen the abuse of what the officer thinks is the law...

Example: Monroe Road Flyover has no sign saying no through traffic or any symbol any where that says you can't drive across the flyover with the traffic light... Yet I met a police there telling me I couldn't go through, and when i asked by he said because the arrow on the ground...

3. Better inspection systems that allow for cars to be inspected more often with less hassle. So in order words, license more places to do the inspection and make the process much easier.. and for heavens sake, don't have a sticker shortage....

src1983

Postby src1983 » September 20th, 2013, 3:50 pm

Racegod wrote:
Example: Monroe Road Flyover has no sign saying no through traffic or any symbol any where that says you can't drive across the flyover with the traffic light... Yet I met a police there telling me I couldn't go through, and when i asked by he said because the arrow on the ground...

Wait that illegal, I do that all the time

FTL

Postby FTL » September 20th, 2013, 4:05 pm

cinco wrote:
FTL wrote:

Keep to the right lane except when passing.

Racegod

Postby Racegod » September 20th, 2013, 4:10 pm

src1983 wrote:
Racegod wrote:

Wait that illegal, I do that all the time

Me too, which is why I tell him he talking trash n I want his badge number... Of course he duck me on that...

Postby cinco » September 20th, 2013, 4:59 pm

FTL wrote:
cinco wrote:
FTL wrote:

By law the limit is 55 no one should.be passing them if they are going 55

Postby redmanjp » September 20th, 2013, 5:03 pm

cinco wrote:
FTL wrote:
cinco wrote:
FTL wrote:

hmm- so would it be the case that in T&T if u goin speed limit in left lane no one should overtake then?

Postby wagonrunner » September 20th, 2013, 5:42 pm

redmanjp wrote:hmm- so would it be the case that in T&T if u goin speed limit in left lane no one should overtake then?

at would speed would you overtake a stretch of vehicles following the 3 second rule doing 80km/h in the left lane? what's your best guess? 81 / 95 / 120 / more ?
unless of course, the plan is to overtake each one, cutting in everytime.

Postby pete » September 20th, 2013, 10:18 pm

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.61.100

It would be illegal to block the Highway like that. Interesting about trailers etc.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » September 21st, 2013, 12:43 am

cinco wrote:
FTL wrote:
cinco wrote:
FTL wrote:

But they are not passing. Just blocking the road! What gives them the authority to prevent persons from breaking the law if they so choose?

How best to educate the public as to the importance of the Slower Traffic Keep Right laws in respect to public safety?

Postby cinco » September 21st, 2013, 12:47 am

Umm you all realise their purpose was to shoe how retarded that 55 limit is right? Tbh i dont think ivr ever done 55 on that road the speed is consistently 70+

Postby pioneer » September 21st, 2013, 2:57 am

I never cross 80 anyhow

When you have a worldclass sound system you tend to drive slower to enjoy more tunes.

People who husslin/drivin like tuntuns usually don't have on the a/c (or no a/c at all), car in a mess, have two rusty 6x9 on their dash, have dey overweight chile mudda in frontseat only cyakin, car just in a chitty condition and prolly workin like chit so they don't like being in it for long.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » September 23rd, 2013, 10:37 am

My point is that with the amount of cars on the roads, at those hours, achieving 80 kph may be a task. Esp with the right lane jivers and all

Postby wagonrunner » September 23rd, 2013, 12:31 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:My point is that with the amount of cars on the roads, at those hours, achieving 80 kph may be a task. Esp with the right lane jivers and all
grocery getter has not too many issues between engine and firewall to do so :lol:.
it's no task at all.

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » September 23rd, 2013, 12:51 pm

Q: If ya in ah bouncident ... ie. meaning yuh aint seirously maimed , dead or trapped behind yuh wheel and you could walk outside yuh car and ask de man who hit you ... whose his insurance .. Why you still in de spot ? IN RUSH HR TRAFFIC ? .. Can you move your vehicle to the side of the road ? Or its mandatory you stay on de spot till police comes ?

Just asking coz I seeing plenty ppl these days with tiny dents on dey car, park up in de middle of the highway yakking more than holding they head bawling oh god oyeee ...

Postby pete » September 23rd, 2013, 1:13 pm

^^ Had two cars by the Arthur Lok Jack roundabout for at least 20 minutes this morning parked up with the people talking, I couldn't see any damage but it appeared there was a minor accident. smh

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » September 23rd, 2013, 1:21 pm

pete wrote:^^ Had two cars by the Arthur Lok Jack roundabout for at least 20 minutes this morning parked up with the people talking, I couldn't see any damage but it appeared there was a minor accident. smh

Was it an A4 ?

coz I saw something like tht also this morning .... but last week I encountered from aranguez overpass till maritime overpass 2 of these accidents , if ya could call dem tht .. smh .. and the women exchanging insurance info in de middle of de road !!! ..

SO I just asking na coz I wanna kno so I could cause traffic too if i ever in a situation like tht :P

Postby wagonrunner » September 23rd, 2013, 1:47 pm

supposed to mark the spot (a lil spray paint around the wheels works wonders) and move the vehicles aside once "drivable".
but in this JUSAMCO era, people seem afraid to take that chance.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 23rd, 2013, 1:54 pm

eurogirl wrote:
pete wrote:^^ Had two cars by the Arthur Lok Jack roundabout for at least 20 minutes this morning parked up with the people talking, I couldn't see any damage but it appeared there was a minor accident. smh

Was it an A4 ?

coz I saw something like tht also this morning .... but last week I encountered from aranguez overpass till maritime overpass 2 of these accidents , if ya could call dem tht .. smh .. and the women exchanging insurance info in de middle of de road !!! ..

SO I just asking na coz I wanna kno so I could cause traffic too if i ever in a situation like tht :P

Passed there around 7.25am and saw just an Audi with a woman standing by it....minor damage but she was 1/2 on the right lane 1/2 off it on the roundabout's northern side. Wondered if she could not simply pull by TTEC or ALJ and be out of that roundabout.

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » September 23rd, 2013, 1:56 pm

eurogirl wrote:

Was it an A4 ?

Passed there around 7.25am and saw just an Audi with a woman standing by it....minor damage but she was 1/2 on the right lane 1/2 off it on the roundabout's northern side. Wondered if she could not simply pull by TTEC or ALJ and be out of that roundabout.

shes a backside... coz I pass there 6:15 and she was there :|

Postby pete » September 23rd, 2013, 2:53 pm

wagonrunner wrote:supposed to mark the spot (a lil spray paint around the wheels works wonders) and move the vehicles aside once "drivable".
but in this JUSAMCO era, people seem afraid to take that chance.

Supposed to because it helps with insurance claims or by law?

I don't have spray paint / otherwise in my car so I wouldn't bother. My last accident I did happen to have paint in the car though, someone else marked the locations of the tyres and after over a year and a half, the police losing the statements, station diary etc the two insurance companies just said we were both at fault but settled for 1/2 the claim.

Thankfully they've since removed the traffic light at aranguez so drunk a-holes coming back from a party won't break the traffic light to head into aranguez and crash into anyone else on their way to work though :|

Postby wagonrunner » September 23rd, 2013, 3:20 pm

supposed to assist in the reporting of the accident, but then again that hinges on the efficiency of TTPS so.....................

In dec 1997, a drunk woman (police inspector daughter) driving his royal saloon diobeyed the red light and sped through it hitting behind the driverside rear door of a 323 GLX
by the time police were interested in investigating in the year 2000, the south trunk road at the gulf city intersection had become a dual lane carriageway.