Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 14th, 2013, 6:51 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
andre_959 wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:Guys bit of help here, i think one of the gouramis i bought had babies, im guessing its the red dwarf since that one stays around the bubbles most.

Havnt been home the past week and just came home to see like little fry swimming around and the red dwarf in the courner with them, trying to get pics but its hard to really capture them.

Should i remove the parents from the tank? Its a fairly big tank (3ftx18x18) iirc and only the pair of gouramis i have ij that tank and a pleco who spends most of its time under the rocks.

http://m.wikihow.com/Breed-Gouramis

Just a brief overview

That's real weird that they telling you to remove both parents one time. You usually remove the female right after spawning and the male remains in the tank to tend to the nest by taking the fry that's still struggling in its mouth and blowing it back into the nest. There is a difference between free swimming and wiggling and falling to the bottom. That's when the male has all his work cut out for him. All fish from the anabantid (bubble nest builders) do that.

I suspect the male in the tank isn't the "father" as he is shying away. The mother ATM is taking the fry in her mouth and bring them back up.

I really tried my best but I couldn't save them all, my tank has 18" of water and I see some stuck to the glass, was told to drop my water level to 3" but I really couldn't with the ones still on the glass. I noticed less fry than there was last night, today. Really dunno if any would survive as I wasn't prepared at all for this to happen :/

madman_devin

Postby madman_devin » September 15th, 2013, 1:55 am

Thanks man, ill consider shark river lol

rx80 wrote:
madman_devin wrote:Looking for some of these for a project, think their named cobblestones. Anyone know where I can find them locally ?

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1378915536.501100.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1378915551.700535.jpg

I was looking for those same stones some time ago.. There was one guy that brought a shipment but he apparently lost bcoz most plant places I checked all said a guy just dropped off some samples and never showed up again... Only place I saw with a decent size bag was undercover heading to Maracas.. And they wanted some ridiculous price for a pound..
Closest thing is to go shark river and get some grey river stones...

bir123

Postby bir123 » September 15th, 2013, 6:18 pm

decided to get a reef keeper controller and found this light for my tank

controller

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001V9 ... ZJL9RKAQ9H

light

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0092L ... ZVNQ9LP7N9

also this is de gfo and carbon reactor i have

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00BZF ... S86D4V4GO1

find it kind of expensive to buy rodi water so i bought too

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0006J ... PDKIKX0DER

Postby DVSTT » September 15th, 2013, 7:15 pm

andre_959 wrote:
DVSTT wrote:Saw an arapaima at nature's world today. $3000.00 though :/

It's way over priced and looks unhealthy just sitting there in one place

Yea, all the fish there looked to be badly off :/. Need to find a good petstore in south.

air wick

Postby air wick » September 15th, 2013, 7:17 pm

Pet Shop Boys to me is the best in south

Postby DVSTT » September 15th, 2013, 9:23 pm

Travis wrote:Pet Shop Boys to me is the best in south

Where are they located?

air wick

Postby air wick » September 15th, 2013, 9:25 pm

On a small side street opposite the San Fernando market on Mucarapo Street

bir123

Postby bir123 » September 15th, 2013, 9:40 pm

Petshop boys is the only place i buy plants and also got all my discus from him.

andre_959

Postby andre_959 » September 15th, 2013, 10:45 pm

Just showing of some of the fry I got from my venustus cichlids, sorry about the bad photo
1379299429350.jpg

Postby DVSTT » September 16th, 2013, 11:22 am

Question, I bought this to pump water through a UV canister Filter for my pond, but can I also use it to power a small waterfall? or would it be too weak?

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0049X ... UTF8&psc=1

andre_959

Postby andre_959 » September 16th, 2013, 5:23 pm

DVSTT wrote:Question, I bought this to pump water through a UV canister Filter for my pond, but can I also use it to power a small waterfall? or would it be too weak?

Wait do you want to tap the line to feed the filter and the waterfall from one pump ?

Because if so the majority of water will take the part of least resistance and flow out the water fall making your filter inefficient

If you meant that you would buy another one like it to pump to the waterfall of course that will work, the specs say 100gph that's cool for a small waterfall I think

Postby DVSTT » September 16th, 2013, 6:22 pm

andre_959 wrote:
DVSTT wrote:Question, I bought this to pump water through a UV canister Filter for my pond, but can I also use it to power a small waterfall? or would it be too weak?

Wait do you want to tap the line to feed the filter and the waterfall from one pump ?

Because if so the majority of water will take the part of least resistance and flow out the water fall making your filter inefficient

If you meant that you would buy another one like it to pump to the waterfall of course that will work, the specs say 100gph that's cool for a small waterfall I think

The filter is one of these
http://www.amazon.com/Beckett-UV-Filter ... ond+filter

So the pump will push water into this and from this to the back of the waterfall feature.

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » September 17th, 2013, 11:40 am

Just a pic of my saltwater 10 gallon nano with 2 clowns, live rock and an artificial anemone. Was wondering if anyone here has tried artificial anemones before? My clowns are not the biggest fans and refuse to go near it.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1379432401.498473.jpg

DJ

Postby DJ » September 17th, 2013, 3:41 pm

those rocks dont look so live.

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » September 17th, 2013, 4:30 pm

Well they were taken out the ocean and placed into the tank almost 2yrs ago so I'm guessing there is at least some bio filtration taking place in the rock.

Any saltwater guys out there with clown fish/anemone experience to share???

bigdady

Postby bigdady » September 17th, 2013, 4:55 pm

Just a pic to let you all see my tank . . Custom 4x3x2 on the stand it is 6feet tall . . Nothing fancy but it helps "de-stress". . .

bigdady

Postby bigdady » September 17th, 2013, 4:56 pm

Just a pic to let you all see my tank . . Custom 4x3x2 on the stand it is 6feet tall . . Nothing fancy but it helps "de-stress". . .
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1379451398.319827.jpg

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 17th, 2013, 5:51 pm

reeLpACE wrote:Well they were taken out the ocean and placed into the tank almost 2yrs ago so I'm guessing there is at least some bio filtration taking place in the rock.

Any saltwater guys out there with clown fish/anemone experience to share???

most tank bred clowns sometimes don't host anemones. The wild caught ones usually don't host either. It could even be that they know the anemone is fake also. Sometimes its hit and miss with clowns hosting. Clowns host what they feel to host in the tank. Mines hosts my toadstool and my frogspawn at times. A restaurant in south has a pair that hosts a featherduster. The tomato clowns host real fast but are a lot more aggressive.

check this thread

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=488680

bigdady

Postby bigdady » September 17th, 2013, 9:55 pm

I was selling it . . But I think I change my mind . . Lol

Postby DVSTT » September 17th, 2013, 10:24 pm

1NZ-FE Powered

Postby 1NZ-FE Powered » September 17th, 2013, 10:51 pm

Anyone using linear piston air pumps for multiple tank setups? Looking at either Hydrofarm or EcoPlus pumps but want to get some feedback on experiences if anyone is using one.

Thanks

DJ

Postby DJ » September 18th, 2013, 11:35 am

bigdady wrote:I was selling it . . But I think I change my mind . . Lol

I am confused here. Cause this is the same tank that a user named 'nipples' was selling on the Misc. forum.

Is either you bought it from him and sellin back, or you have two user names in which case, is not permitted here.

bigdady

Postby bigdady » September 18th, 2013, 12:03 pm

My bro

bigdady

Postby bigdady » September 18th, 2013, 12:05 pm

Wait I now finish read what u said . . Y can't someone have two accounts? . . (Just askin eh doe kill meh)

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » September 18th, 2013, 12:54 pm

Bigdaddynipples is a bad arse name tho.

bigdady

Postby bigdady » September 18th, 2013, 1:55 pm

Baaahaahahahaasaa oh shyt! . . Lol

jsr

Postby jsr » September 18th, 2013, 4:01 pm

Anyone needs plastic fish tanks from barrels

1NZ-FE Powered

Postby 1NZ-FE Powered » September 18th, 2013, 5:14 pm

What was on the barrels originally?

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » September 19th, 2013, 8:18 pm

1379636266432.jpg

Poor pic of my new flower horn.

DJ

Postby DJ » September 20th, 2013, 10:34 am

^^wat is the size, and how much that cost?