help needed with info on importing a dog

rebel sounds

help needed with info on importing a dog

Postby rebel sounds » August 3rd, 2013, 7:44 am

im looking to import a couple puppies, anyone with links or information to someone who can assist or import the dogs for me please send it , via pm or post a number .

been hearing mixed regulations for importation

ru$$ell

Re: help needed with info on importing a dog

Postby ru$$ell » August 3rd, 2013, 7:47 am

what breed of puppies if you dont mind me asking? There's a 6 month quarantine afaik.

rebel sounds

Postby rebel sounds » August 3rd, 2013, 7:51 am

english bulldog, but i believe if its a rabies free country like the uk , you can do a blood test and only have the quarantine down to one month once the puppy arrives , i think the 6mths applies to miami and such . i hope someone here can verify if the quarantine rules have changed

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 3rd, 2013, 7:52 am

Postby Ted_v2 » August 3rd, 2013, 7:55 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:don't do it if it has to pass through quarantine, you will regret it

This.

I know someone that brought down a dog and it had to remain a couple months. When they got the dog it was super aggressive and literally huge so it was hard to get the dog friendly

Rock Thor

Postby Rock Thor » August 3rd, 2013, 7:55 am

What country you are importing from ? UK and Belgium you have no restrictions. What Breed of Dog ? You have to get an import permit in POS. Very simple process. See Link for details:

http://www.ttconnect.gov.tt/gortt/porta ... nd+poultry

rebel sounds

Postby rebel sounds » August 3rd, 2013, 7:56 am

yea hustla that 6 mth makes no sense as my pup will be almost 9 mths when i get them , all the fun puppy months have gone , but as i said i think they only hold for 6mths now if there is a suspicion of rabies or another disease

Postby pugboy » August 3rd, 2013, 7:59 am

many dogs landing here have their place of birth as Belgium
including top german shepherds ;)

rebel sounds

Postby rebel sounds » August 3rd, 2013, 8:00 am

thanks fellas , as is suspected ill have to go thru the uk , but im searching caribbean listings for any puppies available . thanks for the help

Rassyroots

Postby Rassyroots » August 3rd, 2013, 8:40 am

The quarantine has been lifted. You may have to call the Ministry to get the most current information because from what others have said the site isn't updated. My aunt brought in her elderly Westie from Canada earlier this year and from the info she was given, so long as the required paperwork is completed and proper arrangements have been made with the vet at customs etc, there shouldn't be a problem. Mistakes or incomplete paper work can lead to the dog being sent back or destroyed though. Really not sure if it's the same for importing a new puppy but it's worth a call.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » August 3rd, 2013, 3:41 pm

op go on facebook and look up KheeranNBC brings in new bulliies as well as breeds them .. kurpal neighbour if he doh respond

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » August 5th, 2013, 8:22 am

Heard there is a shortcut if the dog stops off in Barbados first. Investigate that, cause the quarantine compound in Trinidad might just cause your dog to get sick and die.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » August 5th, 2013, 8:40 am

sound boy 64 wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:don't do it if it has to pass through quarantine, you will regret it

This.

I know someone that brought down a dog and it had to remain a couple months. When they got the dog it was super aggressive and literally huge so it was hard to get the dog friendly

As well they treat the animals very very bad. The place is not sanitized and the dogs are almost always living on their own feces.

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 5th, 2013, 8:54 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:Heard there is a shortcut if the dog stops off in Barbados first. Investigate that, cause the quarantine compound in Trinidad might just cause your dog to get sick and die.

Very untrue. I've been to quarantine many times and the staff there were very kind to the animals and the place was always clean, dunno where you got that impression from.

Also I've never heard about this 6month bs. Op should really go into ministry and get your info and forms.

Postby sliderz1 » August 5th, 2013, 9:57 am

TTSPCA plz

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » August 5th, 2013, 12:57 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
Halfbreed07 wrote:Heard there is a shortcut if the dog stops off in Barbados first. Investigate that, cause the quarantine compound in Trinidad might just cause your dog to get sick and die.

Very untrue. I've been to quarantine many times and the staff there were very kind to the animals and the place was always clean, dunno where you got that impression from.

Also I've never heard about this 6month bs. Op should really go into ministry and get your info and forms.

lucky you, thats all i can say, i have heard first hand experiences and TV6 actually did an expose on the quarantine place in Curepe, the pics and vids show on news were disturbing.

Postby pioneer » August 5th, 2013, 1:12 pm

Good luck, the ONLY vet in charge of certifying and releasing it to customs when it reaches piarco does expect you to bribe her. She is a very difficult person to deal with (if it's the same woman) and is immune to logic or discretion. Typical public servant attitude.

Also the dog has to land between the hours of 8am and 4pm, if coming from europe it means your dog will have to wait in one of the islands until a flight is available between those hours. She said those are the work hours of the Ministry and they do not get overtime.

If it lands outside those hours in piarco, the airline sends the dog back to the place of origin as they could get in trouble for keeping it on the tarmac for so long, plus the plane does hadda refuel and go other places.

Postby pioneer » August 5th, 2013, 1:20 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:

lucky you, thats all i can say, i have heard first hand experiences and TV6 actually did an expose on the quarantine place in Curepe, the pics and vids show on news were disturbing.

Quarantine is a very corrupt place, for years the Ministry has been receiving complaints and wanted to shut them down and privatise the entire operation, of course the talknah workers ran to the union and made a big hoorah. Wanna know why?

They run serious racket in there, they want people to bribe them.

This is what they do, let's say you bring in a black labrador from a country which requires quarantine but you do not wish for the dog to stay in quarantine. They make you pay a hefty sum, they will grab a random black stray dog and replace it with your dog. Your dog is now "out" of quarantine yet still there because when they check, there's a black dog in the kennel.

When the quarantine period is up they either kill the dog or release it back to being a stray, claiming the owner has abandoned the dog.

The other day I saw those nasty fukks on TV sayin they have rights and the govt cannot shut them down. They need to be jailed or shot.

Postby cinco » August 5th, 2013, 1:24 pm

bring it knock dong it cheepa

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » August 5th, 2013, 1:24 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:

Quarantine is a very corrupt place, for years the Ministry has been receiving complaints and wanted to shut them down and privatise the entire operation, of course the talknah workers ran to the union and made a big hoorah. Wanna know why?

They run serious racket in there, they want people to bribe them.

This is what they do, let's say you bring in a black labrador from a country which requires quarantine but you do not wish for the dog to stay in quarantine. They make you pay a hefty sum, they will grab a random black stray dog and replace it with your dog. Your dog is now "out" of quarantine yet still there because when they check, there's a black dog in the kennel.

When the quarantine period is up they either kill the dog or release it back to being a stray, claiming the owner has abandoned the dog.

The other day I saw those nasty fukks on TV sayin they have rights and the govt cannot shut them down. They need to be jailed or shot.

this is in alignment with what i have heard from ppl.
OP better off bringing in some dog sperm in he skybox

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » April 1st, 2016, 1:23 pm

Oh any new updates on this
Thinking of bringing in a boxer

Postby stev » April 1st, 2016, 3:03 pm

adopt a local dog instead and put a boxers on it...

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » April 1st, 2016, 4:29 pm

My son's godmother brought in a terrier from England in late 2014, smooth sailing, no 6 month quarantine. As mentioned above, check ttconnect for guidelines.

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 1st, 2016, 4:45 pm

no, shut up and get a shelter doge

They will love you just as much

Postby stev » April 1st, 2016, 5:26 pm

^^^ or even more

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » April 1st, 2016, 7:17 pm

I have no problem with shelter dogs but I want a boxer , so if u see a boxer in a particular shelter n she's female I will go and have a look.

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 3rd, 2016, 12:38 am

i brought my 2 dogs with me in 07 from england they have to have a pet passport, to get one they must be microchipped, rabies vaccinated (which is a 6 month process). a picture of the dog and some other stuff which i cant remember right now.
when they arrive in trinidad a vet must meet them at the airport and accompany them through customs we had the head vet meet us, unfortunately he died a few years ago.
once all that criteria is met they do not have to go in quarantine and will come home with you there and then.
oh and airfair was 2000 gbp each no idea what it is now though

src1983

Postby src1983 » April 3rd, 2016, 11:16 am

Adopt a puppy nah boi