HOPE4ALL

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby HOPE4ALL » July 29th, 2013, 2:14 pm

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » July 31st, 2013, 8:39 pm

jesus christ is the way the truth and the life 8-)

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » August 3rd, 2013, 3:28 am

nismotrinidappa wrote:jesus christ is the way the truth and the life 8-)

Postby MG Man » August 3rd, 2013, 5:28 am

A carpenter who got nailed to a chunk
Of wood
Heeheehee
He shoulda been a pimp

HOPE4ALL

Postby HOPE4ALL » August 4th, 2013, 8:57 am

christ is the way the truth and the life 8-)

don't believe, don't judge, seek with a pure heart an you will find...

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » August 5th, 2013, 10:02 am

This man deserves a medal!

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/IRO ... 11571.html

...IRO president: Stop just praying, start acting
Story Created: Aug 4, 2013 at 10:42 PM ECT
Story Updated: Aug 4, 2013 at 10:42 PM ECT
IN ORDER to effectively deal with crime in this country we need to stop just praying and start acting, president of the Inter-Religious Organisation (IRO), Br Harrypersad Maharaj has said.
Maharaj made the statement in response to newspaper reports yesterday that gunmen had killed seven people between last Friday night and Saturday morning. Three more murders were recorded between Saturday night and Sunday morning. Maharaj made his comments while speaking at an interfaith service organised by Pan Trinbago to commemorate the 21st anniversary of the declaration of the steelpan as this country’s national instrument, which was held at the St Joseph’s Convent Church, Abercromby Street in Port of Spain.
“As we look at the newspapers this morning blood is flowing,” Maharaj said.
“It is definitely cause for us to come together to pray, but more than prayer, I call upon this nation to act. We need to act. We need to be more proactive. We have to act more than only pray to make this beautiful nation again a peaceful one,” he said.
Speaking to the Express after the service, Maharaj called on parents to pay more attention to their homes in order for stop the flow of blood in this country.
“All the killers come from households. So I am making an appeal for parents to pay more attentions to their homes. Let’s go back to the old time values where parents are more responsible,” Maharaj said.
“We can’t just say let’s pray. We have to fix the homes. It starts and ends at the home,” he said.
Maharaj lamented that there have been declines in the attendance at places of worship across the country.
“Is it that people are losing faith?” he said.
He said you tend to find more mature people in places of worship.
“When the elderly are at the churches and the temples and the mosques where are the children. What are they doing? The parents need to be more accountable,” he said.
Maharaj said once parents become more accountable then there will be a “far lesser chance” of murders. —Joel Julien

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 5th, 2013, 5:14 pm

^ is there any evidence that intercessory prayer works?

this is a study done since 2006
Long-Awaited Medical Study Questions the Power of Prayer

Published: March 31, 2006

Prayers offered by strangers had no effect on the recovery of people who were undergoing heart surgery, a large and long-awaited study has found.

In the study, the researchers monitored 1,802 patients at six hospitals who received coronary bypass surgery, in which doctors reroute circulation around a clogged vein or artery.

The patients were broken into three groups. Two were prayed for; the third was not. Half the patients who received the prayers were told that they were being prayed for; half were told that they might or might not receive prayers.

The researchers asked the members of three congregations — St. Paul's Monastery in St. Paul; the Community of Teresian Carmelites in Worcester, Mass.; and Silent Unity, a Missouri prayer ministry near Kansas City — to deliver the prayers, using the patients' first names and the first initials of their last names.

The congregations were told that they could pray in their own ways, but they were instructed to include the phrase, "for a successful surgery with a quick, healthy recovery and no complications."

Analyzing complications in the 30 days after the operations, the researchers found no differences between those patients who were prayed for and those who were not.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » August 5th, 2013, 5:26 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ is there any evidence that intercessory prayer works?

this is a study done since 2006
Long-Awaited Medical Study Questions the Power of Prayer

Published: March 31, 2006

Prayers offered by strangers had no effect on the recovery of people who were undergoing heart surgery, a large and long-awaited study has found.

In the study, the researchers monitored 1,802 patients at six hospitals who received coronary bypass surgery, in which doctors reroute circulation around a clogged vein or artery.

The patients were broken into three groups. Two were prayed for; the third was not. Half the patients who received the prayers were told that they were being prayed for; half were told that they might or might not receive prayers.

The researchers asked the members of three congregations — St. Paul's Monastery in St. Paul; the Community of Teresian Carmelites in Worcester, Mass.; and Silent Unity, a Missouri prayer ministry near Kansas City — to deliver the prayers, using the patients' first names and the first initials of their last names.

The congregations were told that they could pray in their own ways, but they were instructed to include the phrase, "for a successful surgery with a quick, healthy recovery and no complications."

Analyzing complications in the 30 days after the operations, the researchers found no differences between those patients who were prayed for and those who were not.

Luke 4:12
New International Version
"It is said: 'Do not put the Lord your God to the test.'"

Postby maj. tom » August 5th, 2013, 5:42 pm

or else?

Postby Chimera » August 5th, 2013, 6:13 pm

For if he is tested he will be found wanting. Aba Trading 23:12

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » August 5th, 2013, 6:53 pm

science^

marlener

Postby marlener » August 5th, 2013, 8:59 pm

So basically they set up a situation,with their conditions for God to work with! Interesting.

Postby MG Man » August 6th, 2013, 10:30 am

Timothy 2:12
somebody explain that to me nah....right up to :15

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » August 6th, 2013, 11:00 am

MG Man wrote:Timothy 2:12
somebody explain that to me nah....right up to :15

not very hard to explain. a woman is not supposed to dictate to a man. for one the man was formed first. and she was formed out of his rib according to the text.

a reinforcing of the story of adam and eve.

ent u already know as a trini that 'woman is trouble'?? woman does get man in all kinda trouble.

is this not true? and according to the text, has been so since the start.

Postby Habit7 » August 6th, 2013, 11:14 am

Habit7 wrote:1 Timothy 2:12 refers solely and only to the role of a woman within the church. God has called men to be teachers (in this context: pastors) not because of any physical or mental incapability of the women but because of the creation order according to 1 Timothy 2:13 (the following verse). The Bible has women teaching men in the account of Priscilla teaching Apollos outside of a church setting (Acts 18:26)and husbands and wives are called to submit themselves one to another (Ephesians 5:21).

Verse 15 basically states that while a woman was deceived first in the Garden of Eden, through the rearing and teaching of children in godliness and righteousness, she removes the stigma of being deceived.

Postby MG Man » August 7th, 2013, 8:14 am

and you people see value in that sheit?

Postby Habit7 » August 7th, 2013, 9:25 am

delegation and structure, yes.

Postby MG Man » August 7th, 2013, 10:17 am

so jus cuz one ho tek bad advice from ah badman, no ho forever can teach about gawd?
allyuh bess oui

Postby Habit7 » August 7th, 2013, 12:04 pm

MG Man wrote:so jus cuz one ho tek bad advice from ah badman, no ho forever can teach about gawd?
allyuh bess oui

Well apparently the Bible doesn't hold the high value for all women (including your female relatives) that you possess :roll:

Postby MG Man » August 7th, 2013, 12:12 pm

good to know

Postby RBphoto » August 7th, 2013, 2:23 pm

Habit7 wrote:
MG Man wrote:so jus cuz one ho tek bad advice from ah badman, no ho forever can teach about gawd?
allyuh bess oui

Well apparently the Bible doesn't hold the high value for all women (including your female relatives) that you possess :roll:

Exactly, it is a flawed and dated doctrine with no social or moral relevance to 21st century living.

Postby Habit7 » August 7th, 2013, 3:42 pm

RBphoto wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
allyuh bess oui

Exactly, it is a flawed and dated doctrine with no social or moral relevance to 21st century living.
Well unless there is an absolute morality, what you just said is your opinion and has no binding obligation to the community of those who choose live by it.

Postby Habit7 » August 7th, 2013, 3:46 pm

I would love for all those who consider themselves faithless to watch this:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 8th, 2013, 1:19 am

^ LOL seriously?!

firstly "belief" is a term that is being forced in that video. Belief is not required for something to be a fact.

secondly asking "people in the street" is a much better way to create the illusion of confusion and incoherence than to use the actual scientific, peer reviewed data in the fields of biology, geology, chemistry etc. This video is doing nothing more than guiding to the answer it wants to arrive at.

Thirdly general consensus has no bearing on making something true. Asking a bunch of people has no value in discrediting a scientific theory.

Lastly, the video has these ideas thrown around that dinosaurs are "turned into" birds as if they magically change from one specie to another. This is not how it works, it is not supernatural. These changes happen very slowly over time as evidenced by fossil records, vestigial organs, genetic DNA sequences, homologous features etc etc etc.

If you are convinced by videos like this then I can understand why you have the beliefs that you have.

Postby Habit7 » August 8th, 2013, 10:54 am

Firstly... I really don't know how to answer your perception of belief, but evolution is not a fact.

Secondly, it seems kinda disingenuous for you to attack the views of "people in the street" when you have so much faith in Wikipedia as "crowd sourced" "unbiased research." Nevertheless the "people in the street" happened to be academics with special emphasis on 4 Phds whose studies relate to evolutionary biology. There was no illusion of confusion and incoherence, it was an accurate representation of what they believed.

Thirdly, I agree general consensus has no bearing on making something true. However scientific theory is based on general consensus through the peer review process and you believe the theory of evolution is true because of that.

Lastly, while macro-evolution is seen in its entirety a slow process, there are changes drastic changes in it. If anything, the fossil record show huge jumps even within species which even Darwin admitted he couldn't explain. Such as the Cambrian Explosion, which saw several new phyla with no evolutionary precursor. Furthermore in paleontology, geologists have disagreed with Darwin that evolution is a slow gradual process and have proposed that species result from Punctuated Equilibrium where species are locked in an evolutionary stasis before they 'jump' to a new evolutionary form, which is more consistent with the fossil record.
Vestigial organs doesn't necessarily point to macro-evolution, it could equally point to micro-evolution.
Mutation of genetic sequences results in variation within a species, there is no known process to create new genetic data to allow for macro-evolution.
Homologous features if anything shows a common designer replicating an efficient design, a feather in the hat for Intelligent Design.

That is why I have to agree with:

"The irony is devastating. The main purpose of Darwinism was to drive every last trace of an incredible God from biology. But the theory replaces God with an even more incredible deity— omnipotent chance."
Theodore Roszak,
Unfinished Animal (1975), pp. 101-102.

marlener

Postby marlener » August 8th, 2013, 12:41 pm

Buh Duane,people on the street are questioned about there religious belifs.Not everyone who posted in the thread are pastors or pundits,so what is wrong with asking the man on the street who believes in evolution about his beliefs.These are not just any man on the street though from what I see they are all students of science that concerns evolution,even professors.

HOPE4ALL

Postby HOPE4ALL » August 8th, 2013, 5:57 pm

god wake everyone up in 2011, just the world distracted you.. " yea rite "
everyone has a number of 111... " still dont understand "
add the last 2 number of the year anyone were born up until 1999 to the age they will have been in 2011... :)
i know " why until 1999 " ???

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 9th, 2013, 2:07 am

Habit7 wrote:Firstly... I really don't know how to answer your perception of belief, but evolution is not a fact.

Secondly, it seems kinda disingenuous for you to attack the views of "people in the street" when you have so much faith in Wikipedia as "crowd sourced" "unbiased research." Nevertheless the "people in the street" happened to be academics with special emphasis on 4 Phds whose studies relate to evolutionary biology. There was no illusion of confusion and incoherence, it was an accurate representation of what they believed.

Thirdly, I agree general consensus has no bearing on making something true. However scientific theory is based on general consensus through the peer review process and you believe the theory of evolution is true because of that.

Lastly, while macro-evolution is seen in its entirety a slow process, there are changes drastic changes in it. If anything, the fossil record show huge jumps even within species which even Darwin admitted he couldn't explain. Such as the Cambrian Explosion, which saw several new phyla with no evolutionary precursor. Furthermore in paleontology, geologists have disagreed with Darwin that evolution is a slow gradual process and have proposed that species result from Punctuated Equilibrium where species are locked in an evolutionary stasis before they 'jump' to a new evolutionary form, which is more consistent with the fossil record.
Vestigial organs doesn't necessarily point to macro-evolution, it could equally point to micro-evolution.
Mutation of genetic sequences results in variation within a species, there is no known process to create new genetic data to allow for macro-evolution.
Homologous features if anything shows a common designer replicating an efficient design, a feather in the hat for Intelligent Design.

That is why I have to agree with:

"The irony is devastating. The main purpose of Darwinism was to drive every last trace of an incredible God from biology. But the theory replaces God with an even more incredible deity— omnipotent chance."
Theodore Roszak,
Unfinished Animal (1975), pp. 101-102.
how is chance omnipotent?

peer reviewed and crowd sourced is far different from editing a video and putting people on the spot and only showing the answers you want your viewers to see

you offer me a video and I offer you one

take a look at this

the young earth creationists don't seem to get very far in that video because there is no evidence to support what they believe

Postby RBphoto » August 9th, 2013, 9:22 am

Charlieville masjid posse, I inna d house.

Postby Habit7 » August 10th, 2013, 3:58 pm

^^^ Wow that video biased.

3 evolutionary Phds against 1 creationist scientist. Even the Islamic creationist admits he knows nothing of science. The topic of the programme was biased to evolution, the evolutionists got more speaking time, the moderator was overtly biased to evolution (99.9% of scientists are not evolutionists) and the one example of evolution the paleontologist gave at the end doesn't show new genetic information being created (but the moderator shut down the pastor from pointing that out).

Point is, in the scores of pages that have gone on, I have given you evidence for creation and shown how evolution is inconsistent with the model it claims to present. However you have failed to show naturalistic abiogenesis which underpins evolution theory and would out-rightly win the argument anyways.

Fact is, before God, you and I and moral law violators whom He must judge. Christ is the moral law keeper who died in our place who can take our punishment. His resurrected life will give us His righteousness and eternal life with God. At the end of the day my message is Christ work can only be realised in us when we repent of our sins and believe in Christ as who He said He is. Jesus Christ is the only way to know God.