eyeballz

Re: REMEMBER JULY 27th 1990.

Postby eyeballz » July 27th, 2012, 10:25 am

Postby DVSTT » July 27th, 2012, 3:26 pm

This was before my time, but WOW. Imagine if this were to happen again.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 27th, 2012, 11:04 pm

Lest we forget
img courtesy Mark Lyndersay.

Postby rfari » July 28th, 2012, 12:25 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Was a young one back then and my biggest concern at the point in time was why wasn't Mcguyver showing at its regular scheduled time.

Ahahahhahahahahhaha!!!!!! Win!

I was 6 at the time. I remember my mom picking me up in the evening and taking the backroad home (thru las lomas to brazil village). My dad had to work during this time and my moms was paranoid. I recalled wanting to go outside to play and she told me that I can't because I would be shot. I asked her if my brother went outside (he was a toddler at the time) if he would be shot as well. Same answer. Didn't want to get shot so I stayed inside.

I also remember ttt showing vertical coloured stripes. That's all I can recall

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 28th, 2012, 5:11 am

noshownogo wrote:An uncertain time for a kid barely able to understand what was taking place.

Was in Kaydonna as well that evening (Gremlins 2 was the feature if my memory serves me correctly), I remember seeing a handwritten note on the screen and a cloud of smoke rising from the POS direction. Needless to say, panic ensued and patrons jammed the exit gates.

Got home to see my parents viewing TTT's Panorama News with Dominic Kallipersad. Only this time it appeared to be interrupted by whom we later learned was the Muslimeen leader Abu Bakr and his supporters.

was there in kaydonna also.......the handwritten note went up just as some ole building was being demolished in the movie....thought was part of the movie ....lol.....

Postby Greypatch » July 28th, 2012, 11:44 am

they really did try to trade dominic for ah ham sandwich

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 28th, 2012, 8:30 pm

Greypatch wrote:they really did try to trade dominic for ah ham sandwich

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 28th, 2012, 8:31 pm

muslims dont eat HAM boi.....unless it halaal.....

Postby rfari » July 28th, 2012, 10:16 pm

Greypatch wrote:they really did try to trade dominic for ah ham sandwich

Ahahhahahahahhaha!!!!

Celebrating the 1990 Coup?!?!?!?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 27th, 2013, 8:34 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/OUT ... 89751.html

OUTRAGE
1990 ‘coup’ victims denounce Bakr march approved by top cop

By Ria Taitt Political Editor
Story Created: Jul 26, 2013 at 10:06 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jul 26, 2013 at 11:15 PM ECT
The sheer brazenness of the action.
This was the prevailing sentiment among victims of the 1990 coup attempt, as they strongly condemned yesterday’s march by insurrectionist Yasin Abu Bakr.
Today is the 23rd anniversary of the coup attempt—an event which saw 114 Muslimeen storming the Parliament and other places, shooting the former prime minister and former national security minister, holding them and others hostage for six days, leaving a trail of death and destruction in the capital city.
“Unprincipled!” former minister Gloria Henry declared. “They were traitors to the country. What they did was all wrong. It was treason. It was unlawful. You can’t just allow them to celebrate and glorify it!” she stated.
In deference to the entire country, in deference to people who lost their children and children who lost their parents, in deference to people whose businesses never woke up after 1990 and all those people who suffered, the Muslimeen does not have the right to make people feel they (the Muslimeen) did something that was in any way justified, she said.
Former finance minister Selby Wilson, who was one of the targets of the Muslimeen’s brutality and who had been pistol-whipped inside the Red House, said if there was any nexus or association between the march and 1990, then “they (the authorities) have no right to condone that kind of action”.
Wilson said for years people in authority have been condoning actions of Abu Bakr “and that has empowered him. And this is just a continuation of that attitude. It is a continuing pattern of behaviour which empowers Abu Bakr and makes him feel invincible—that he can get away with anything and he can get his way when he wants. And that is what I object to”. “I think the police should not have permitted it, especially in this kind of environment where people are tending to glorify crime and corruption,” he added.
Wilson said Abu Bakr was “celebrating what he thinks is a victory” and that fact that no commission, court or any other secular autho­rity appeared to be able to stop him. “Now he picks up himself to march and tell people they don’t know that whole truth. Brazen man!” Wilson said.
Former minister Jennifer Johnson, who was also held hostage, said she was appalled. “How could you be granting permission for people who have committed such an atrocious crime against the Parliament and the people of this country, to march in honour of what? Unbelievable!” she said. “But we have become a society where anything goes, so that’s where we are,” she said. Johnson said the Muslimeen were the protagonists in 1990, they committed the acts, they were responsible for the deaths of so many people in 1990.
“The agency responsible for gi­ving that permission should have thought again,” Johnson advised. “Look at the history, look at what the entire thing was about and ought to have reviewed it (the decision to allow the march),” she added. She said people may have forgotten.
Johnson said it was the third year the Parliament was having no commemoration. “Where else (in the world) would that happen against our Parliament, and we are not having the smallest ceremony to commemorate and remind people of what happened?” she said.
Journalist Raoul Pantin, who was one of some two dozen hostages held at gunpoint in Trinidad and Tobago Television by Abu Bakr and his men for six days, said he found it incredibly difficult to believe the authorities would give Abu Bakr permission to stage a march, “the 23rd anniversary of that criminal outrage”.
“Other than commemorating one of the vilest criminal onslaughts against democratic rule in the country’s history, what is the purpose of such a march?” he asked. “Bakr and his cohorts can certainly celebrate the fact that they have escaped the full brunt of the law for their heinous crimes, but why should the authorities collaborate in this? Have the authorities taken leave of their senses?
“Frankly, I think the Trinidad and Tobago Regiment, whose soldiers put down that insurrection, should stage their own public march to commemorate their victory over the forces of evil. And they should be joined in this by all law-abiding citizens,” Pantin said.
Wendell Eversley, who was a hostage the Red House and who saw Lorraine Caballero bleed to death, said he was surprised Abu Bakr was given permission to march.
He recalled that Caballero had a six-month-old daughter at the time. Eversley lamented there was nothing being held by the Parliament to commemorate the event. He said he spoke to two Government officials about at least having the internal flame lit in time for today. He said he would be walking from the Arima Dial to the Eternal Flame, and would then be sitting in front of the Red House from about noon to 6 p.m. and laying a wreath today, together with the leader of the Congress of the People Prakash Ramadhar.
He said he wrote to the Prime Minister, the Opposition Leader and the Independent Liberal Party leader about commemorating the event. Every September 11, public officials go to the US Embassy to pay their respects to those who lost their lives, he added. “We have a by-election. What that have to do with 1990 and its commemoration? Send somebody in Government (and Opposition) to represent. It is only every five years they recognise those who lost their lives,” he said.
Major General Ralph Brown, who played a key role in the military putting down the insurrection, said he did not like the idea of Abu Bakr’s march, but once it was a peaceful march, he did not see how the police commissioner could deny permission.
“But he (Abu Bakr) is very insensitive. I don’t know what there is for him to celebrate in that (event),” Brown said.

Re: Celebrating the 1990 Coup?!?!?!?

Postby X2 » July 27th, 2013, 9:08 am

Kabtfabt

Postby rfari » July 27th, 2013, 9:09 am

And we dotish and does take stupidness and stay home to whine and complain?

Postby noshownogo » July 27th, 2013, 9:11 am

doh tote, we did nothing then to Bakr and his men, we can do nothing now.

Postby j.o.e » July 27th, 2013, 9:54 am

Shoulda killed em all when we had the chance......after the Coup Trinidad was never the same, people realized you could shoot the PM,fcuk up POS etc and get away with it

Burnzy

Postby Burnzy » July 27th, 2013, 9:55 am

noshownogo wrote:doh tote, we did nothing then to Bakr and his men, we can do nothing now.

You're right... SMH..

But the sheer audacity of this act makes me both disgusted at his boldness and chuckle at the irony...

Only in my country oui.

Cid

Postby Cid » July 27th, 2013, 9:58 am

X2 wrote:Kabtfabt

thought it was Kabfast?

Postby maj. tom » July 27th, 2013, 10:04 am

Jamaat al Muslimneen leader Yasin Abu Bakr, centre, leads members of his organisation on a march along Frederick Street, Port-of-Spain, yesterday to commemorate the anniversary of the attempted coup of July 27, 1990, which he led. PHOTO: MARCUS GONZALES

© 2012 GUARDIAN MEDIA LIMITED

I just wish the USA would whisk this man away to Guantanamo, never to be seen again.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 27th, 2013, 10:52 am

noshownogo wrote:doh tote, we did nothing then to Bakr and his men, we can do nothing now.

this

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 27th, 2013, 11:01 am

we need to invest in one of this......

Postby rfari » July 27th, 2013, 11:16 am

And do what exactly?

Postby dougla_boy » July 27th, 2013, 11:29 am

Hush allyuh cornt. Same man who get him out, is the same man allyuh put in power sometime after.

Cyah do nutting now, so hush yuh cornt and take piggy

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 27th, 2013, 11:34 am

rfari wrote:And do what exactly?

Drop it by wheel wizard to puh some crimz on eet, graphix up and rock back for pendence parade like waddup I gotta big tank

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 27th, 2013, 11:59 am

Bakr flexing his muscles again in a time of political turmoil?
Is this an attempt to show the populace that the Jamaat, while relatively dormant within recent years, is still a valid threat to this country?

This was handled badly from day 0 in 1990. What's the punishment for treason again?

brickman

Postby brickman » July 27th, 2013, 12:11 pm

With all the "files" he have on everybody in parliment,people still suprised that he has supeer immunity?Most they can do is stage a raid on the compound when the public makes enough noise but nothing is found as usual.

Postby dougla_boy » July 27th, 2013, 12:12 pm

Ent! We like it so!!!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 27th, 2013, 12:28 pm

dougla_boy wrote:Ent! We like it so!!!

yup :!: :!:

Postby Les Bain » July 27th, 2013, 1:03 pm

The treatment the Jamaat received for their actions was a very early sign that this country was in a mess.
That political parties used them as tools to allegedly muscle support on the campaign trail was a sure sign the politicians have as much morals as a cartoon villain of the week.
That Trinidadians voted for these political parties and pledged lifelong allegiance is a sure sign we deserve what going on now.

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 27th, 2013, 1:06 pm

sheit

ah miss the march jed? :(

ah wuda do meh nazi march along side them

SIEG HEIL

Postby Sky » July 27th, 2013, 1:29 pm

It bothers me that the word 'coup' is written with between ' ', when it's short for coup detat.
I have a feeling that this journalist thinks 'coup' is a locally made up name for what he did.

I wonder if those men carrying weapons?
Woulda been great if the polics searched all of them at the beginning of the march, just to let everyone see that they're unarmed, so someone will know they can squeeze off some rounds in that crowd.

Postby AllTrac » July 27th, 2013, 1:41 pm

cant blame de man, if i knew i had and entire country under siege, shot the prime minister and denied every citizen their basic right and till this day I could walk free, i would ah be flaunting that sheit like a mutha. I would ah have on ah jersey, de front would write " I survived T&T justice system" and the back "Obama, COME AT ME BRO!"
Wah ah go tell allyuh? by next week tuesday allyuh done forget about this.