Re: Any SCUBA Divers?

Postby bushwakka » August 8th, 2011, 7:21 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:
stev wrote:^^^ d man hit mih ah technical F*** up dey yes. lol

newayz...if its ur first time, as SR said above, there is a lot you can do there in one day. friends of mine dive there all the time. I'm yet to go :(

She saying she's a she not a he...

AP whats the difference between all the different types of certification PADI, NAUI, OMG, WTF, BBQ..

what do the different types mean and what are they used for?

I know i could prolly just look it up myself but for the general information of the thread nah, plus i jus lazy. :|

AbstractPoetic wrote:And I don't shave, I laser...and am hairless.

Thanks for your advice though. I'll pass it on to my better half. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

wats the name of the electric shaver you bought for yr SO in the other thread a while aback..been trying to remember it?

Why would you be lazy when you're about to embark on the most exciting watersport experience ever??! :lol:

There are many different agencies and organizations that teach scuba diving and open water diving, outside of advanced diving (wreck diving, deep diving, rescue diving, etc.). Some of these agencies include:

PADI
SSI
NAUI
CMAS
BSAC

There is no major difference amongst these agenices other than their teaching styles. Ultimately, though, it will come down to your instructor. I went with NAUI because I preferred their style of teaching. While PADI offers more classes and is well known, I think its far too commercialized and not individualized. Like I relayed earlier, many divers that met their death while diving were PADI trained. Moreover, I think there is something wrong when I can be certified in a matter of hours or only after a crash weekend course. That should tell you something about the quality of PADI training.

I'm not sure about PADI, but for NAUI certification I needed to complete at least 5 open water divers before I became certified. I did an additional three dives with my instructor for good measure. I highly recommend NAUI but seeing how you are in TT, absolutely positively go with BSAC.

http://www.bsac.com/

i needed to complete at least 5 dives with PADI as well but i was in fact surprised at how easy the course was. I don't know if its actually easy but i found so. The theory part was also a no-brainer.

ShoppersFreezone

Postby ShoppersFreezone » July 9th, 2013, 12:51 pm

fellas i need a regulator with octopus ASAP If anyone has an extra one or not using anymore please pm me Looking to buy ASAP For me the prices for regs at dive shops is way too high, and i dont wanna use rental

timos976

Postby timos976 » July 9th, 2013, 1:46 pm

Good evening

where did you get certified??

AbstractPoetic wrote:
bushwakka wrote:u certified already im guessing? Mt. Irvine wall is worth checking out, easy dive

Yes, certified. I don't think I'll be able to dive without it! :lol:

Thanks for that suggestion. I was under the impression Mt. Irvine waters are pretty rough though.

Postby javishm » July 10th, 2013, 12:38 am

would love to learn this one day

greenlantern12

Postby greenlantern12 » July 24th, 2013, 10:49 am

Yeah I'm also looking for diving gear

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 8th, 2013, 5:21 pm

Bumping this thread....................Any divers still out there?

Postby DFC » December 8th, 2013, 11:04 pm

i free dive with snorkel .
never went to deep though.

KIA Motors

Postby KIA Motors » December 9th, 2013, 9:59 am

I did two dives, in Tobago as well about a year and a half ago..still cant get over the experience...it ia absolutely amazing; the most beautiful thing you can ever see and experience in life...I cant remember the name of the place i dived...it was 5 mins drive from Magdalena grand. I did a small dive first and then one that was a wall...the reefs were vertical going deeper and deeper into the ocean. Trying to make the time to get certified, so when I travel to other countries I dont have to continuously do the safety course before I dive. Any suggestions on where or if it can be done right here in Trinidad?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 9th, 2013, 11:08 am

Use to dive a lot when I was younger. Did it in tobago, St Lucia and Barbados. Didn't do the entire Padi course, just the resort cert.Use to be a lot of fun, looking to get back into it soon enough.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 9th, 2013, 11:09 am

There are a few places in chaguaramas that does it. Cant remember the names of the dive shops though. I did all my training with PADI. (Open water, Advanced, Rescue diver & started Divemaster) And it was very good. I have been certified with PADI over 20 yrs now. Throughoutt the years i have met many divers with different certifications and they all have different experiences. What poetic justice stated ated about the divers that drowned has nothing to do with what cert you have. Its the individual himself that has to have respect and control. Its like putting a gun in the wrong persons hands......they will kill someone eventually. Knowing what to do in a life and death situation at any depth is not a nice thing to experience. If you panic down there you can be on the morning paper. They say dead men tell no tales. We may never know how and why they drowned. Lats year i was diving a reef at 70-80 feet and my gauge told me i had 900psi still, about 2 minutes later my regulator started to get hard to pull any air....... i was about 10-15 feet away from one of the dive instructors. I swam to him giving him the out of air sign. I was totally out at this time. He gave me his octopus, watched my gauge and still saw 900. When he tested it i was really out. I had a faulty gauge which was rented to me. Two hrs after we were at another dive site ready to dive a shalower reef. All the divers were shocked that i did another dive after that experience. Life goes on. Next day i was at on a wreck dive at 130feet.

Postby DFC » December 9th, 2013, 11:37 am

no free divers here?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 9th, 2013, 11:49 am

DFC wrote:no free divers here?

Thats how i started. Redman on the forum and myself used to freedive up the petrotrin jetty in point fortin (Clifton hill beach). When one diver is up on the surface the other is looking for fish and when he comes up the other goes down. 30-35ft was easy back then.
Nice small grouper, pagg, plenty power and some nice carite and kingfish. Used to get some nice small conch by the abandoned jetty
Last edited by HondaB20B on December 9th, 2013, 5:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Redman » December 9th, 2013, 1:43 pm

We still looking fuh a dive knife
if allyuh find one with a yellow handle is Hondab20b own

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 9th, 2013, 2:12 pm

That was really my best knife.......WAS!!!
IF IS NOT MY KNIFE, IT WAS MY 125CC OF ROAD TRAIL YOU LEAVE ON CLIFTON HILL BEACH

Postby Redman » December 9th, 2013, 2:42 pm

yuh brother was riding when it entered the surf

As the only eye witness on scene that is what happened.......

really.

At least I helped push it back up the fkin godammed hill

neals

Postby neals » December 10th, 2013, 6:57 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:bess we form a small group an buy a pirogue yes :lol:

I second this. We go take turns diving. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Team EVO wrote: :lol: I don't think they would...but i guess it's what you feel safe with...but i can almost guarantee that no dive shops will take you those areas...for two reasons

1. From where most dive shops are they would tell you its to far, dive shops are mostly situated to the North-East or the West of the island
2. Most of the shops in Tobago are owned by foreigners and they would tell you NO simply because they would not know the spots.

Anyways there are still places like the Mt.Irvine wall etc...but i'll tell you if you looking for exciting dives those are the spots or even off Speyside has some nice spots, i'll recommened going with the dive shop that is situated in Blue Water Inn, they really know the spots!!!

Well do you have any recommendations for fishermen in Castara?? :lol: :lol: :lol:

I also have family in Tobago. Maybe they can take us to these sites. :P

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 10th, 2013, 9:21 am

I did a few nice dives off tobago's south and south western side. A few deep dives and a fantastic drift dive. The place was called 'Weathers bite'. Its way to the westin a perpendicular direction to trindad. It took like 1hr 15min to get there in a pirogue with two 200 Evinrudes. If yuh belly aint good on a rough day you will hate it. When you reach the spot in the middle of the ocean, the water is calm. You gear up and given your safety briefing. You hit the water and head directly to the bottom and hold onto a rock till all divers get down. The instructor gives the ok and every one releases............the drift is fast and heart racing. Large rocks just apear in front of you the size of trucks and you just drift over or around it. No need to even try to avoid them. The veiws are spectacular with visibility exceding 75-100ft. The dive ends at around 110-125ft. When its time, you just find the anchor man (d biggest diver with the ascent line and bouy) and make your decompression stop for you reccomended time and as you surface, the boat is right there to pick you up. Fantastic dive.

Postby DFC » December 10th, 2013, 9:29 am

No mans land in tobago has some awesome fish when you go free diving.

i wanna pet some sharks next year.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 12th, 2013, 8:57 am

Anyone ever dive the japanese gardens in speyside?
Heard its real good. Also its up speyside that supposed to have the worlds
Largest brain coral

KIA Motors

Postby KIA Motors » December 12th, 2013, 9:11 am

That drift dive sounds awesome

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 12th, 2013, 10:11 am

[quote="KIA Motors"]That drift dive sounds awesome[/quote
:
Trust me its the best i have done. Did one there, other one was outside the airport in tobago and then 2 in grenada. Weathers bite was the best. Cant give you the speed of the water but it was really pushing man

KIA Motors

Postby KIA Motors » December 12th, 2013, 11:56 am

Is the drift dive for advanced divers? I've only dived once and can hardly swim lol

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 12th, 2013, 1:46 pm

KIA Motors wrote:Is the drift dive for advanced divers? I've only dived once and can hardly swim lol

Yes it is for advanced divers only. Open water is basic and is only up to 60ft. Advanced is over 60ft up to 130ft. (Deep dive). You also have to do a night dive in advanced. If you check, its not mandatory for you to know how to swim. Because in diving you use your BCD for floatation and you use your fins.......not your arms. You are neutrally bouyant. You must be able to swim the length of the pool though. Unaided. After all that, you can do specialty diving......wreck diving, photography, caves.....etc. wreck diving is very nice. Will post some pics later. Redman did the Atlanta aquarium dive. Its a 4.5 million gal tank with four 20+ft whale sharks, sharks, sawfish, 15ft mantas, 6 ft groupers....... and alot of other fish. I just took in the sights from the viewing glass the times i went.

Postby meccalli » December 12th, 2013, 7:45 pm

I really want to take up proper freediving, i can snorkel and dive in around 5-10' max. Polespeared some nice fish in that depth but.. Biggest problem is not being able to tread water properly when i want to rest/keep my head out of the water, end up using too much energy and get slummed, bad technique no doubt. Didn't know that swimming isn't mandatory to scuba though, want to do the open water course as soon as my degree's finished.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 12th, 2013, 8:02 pm

January & February of 2012 I did some of these dive in Grenada. I was working there so days when I had time off, this was my fun. Did a couple of them twice.

Shark Reef
Shake' Em wreck
Statues
Southern Comfort
Bianca C wreck
Northern Exposure
Flamingo bay

http://www.ecodiveandtrek.com/scuba-diving/dive-sites/

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 12th, 2013, 8:12 pm

Some of the pics I took with my Sony Cybershot inside an underwater camera housing. No strobe light.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 12th, 2013, 8:17 pm

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 12th, 2013, 8:22 pm

Well this is me at about 50-60ft..Was trying to show the new class how to be neutrally bouyant............... No fish was in sight after they saw me ;-)

Postby SR » December 12th, 2013, 8:28 pm

nice pics

I need to start back its just time on a weekend I cant seem to find

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 12th, 2013, 8:29 pm

Ey SR thanks, long time man. looking for the wreck dive picks to upload.