The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

mamoo_pagal

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby mamoo_pagal » July 1st, 2013, 9:33 pm

M_2NR wrote:Stev we were talking about HTC one x eh :p

The one is definitely a sexy phone. I think ill buy it next if it ever goes on sale.

I think I've finally sorted out my battery life on the HOX. I took it off the charger this morning at 530 and its going since. I had an issue with NlpWakelock but I saw a service running and closed it and also wiped my dalvik and cache. Seems to fixed it. It was the only wakelock killing me.

Greenify + wakelock detector/BBS + ARHD (custom Rom) = awesomeness

I had a problem with battery life after a rom and I use this app to monitor battery stats. When the estimated battery % matches the system% I get the best performance. You can use it to check yours. It's a nice app for Rom users

Battery Left Widget - https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... left&hl=en

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » July 1st, 2013, 10:54 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:
mamoo_pagal wrote:
bolo23 wrote:Fellas anyone familiar with the htc one, just want to get some feedback from the forum as I am looking to purchase one.

Thanks

You can't go wrong with it. Very elegant design, speakers are superb and performance is on par with any other smart phone in its class. Only thing that is choppy is adding widgets but nothing major. Definitely recommend it.

To me, I felt like it could be better in terms of opening apps and multitasking. I don't see lag, it's just choppiness. If you ever used a Nexus 4, well that's what I expect of smart phones this year.

never use a nexus 4, but I guess the pure google experience is more optimized. Will try the google edition rom for the HTC one eventually and see how it goes

Especially on the Nexus 4..I really don't know why. It's the most fluid android decide I've used thus far. Can't speak for the s4 (hopefully getting one this week), but it's pretty damn smooth. On par with iOS devices which I honestly thought would never happen.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » July 2nd, 2013, 9:42 am

Jonathan_337 wrote:
mamoo_pagal wrote:
bolo23 wrote:Fellas anyone familiar with the htc one, just want to get some feedback from the forum as I am looking to purchase one.

Thanks

You can't go wrong with it. Very elegant design, speakers are superb and performance is on par with any other smart phone in its class. Only thing that is choppy is adding widgets but nothing major. Definitely recommend it.

To me, I felt like it could be better in terms of opening apps and multitasking. I don't see lag, it's just choppiness. If you ever used a Nexus 4, well that's what I expect of smart phones this year.

you sure that isnt a memory issue? with 1gb memory u should have at least 300mb free at any time with running tasks to maintain smoothness. going lower than that starts to slow things down. to reclaim memory from services running that boot with the fone u dont need, debloating might help. but for that ull most likely need to root.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » July 2nd, 2013, 1:19 pm

lmaoo samsung s4 active.. waterproof..

$1300 usd in allyuh pwefm lol
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00CW1VL8K/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?qid=1372785513&sr=8-1&pi=SL75

Postby noshownogo » July 2nd, 2013, 1:45 pm

Been using the S4 for awhile but not noticing any of the issues sentraman referring to. For me, the screen is slightly laggy to rotate, iPhone5 was quicker imo.

Postby noshownogo » July 2nd, 2013, 1:47 pm

I wanna put pure android OS on the S4 vs the bloated Samsung Android version currently on it.

Postby maj. tom » July 2nd, 2013, 1:52 pm

^ try CleanRom

Postby M_2NR » July 2nd, 2013, 9:22 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:
M_2NR wrote:Stev we were talking about HTC one x eh :p

The one is definitely a sexy phone. I think ill buy it next if it ever goes on sale.

I think I've finally sorted out my battery life on the HOX. I took it off the charger this morning at 530 and its going since. I had an issue with NlpWakelock but I saw a service running and closed it and also wiped my dalvik and cache. Seems to fixed it. It was the only wakelock killing me.

Greenify + wakelock detector/BBS + ARHD (custom Rom) = awesomeness

I had a problem with battery life after a rom and I use this app to monitor battery stats. When the estimated battery % matches the system% I get the best performance. You can use it to check yours. It's a nice app for Rom users

Battery Left Widget - https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... left&hl=en
scene scene thanks man. This mc nlpwakelock appeared again today. It has to do with Google location manager service. And all my location crap off. But besides that I getting on par battery life to my 4S which is acceptable.

Noshow, no offence but don't bother comparing apple to android. The way things are handled are a bit different. For instance. Apps load almost instantly due to the apis in android. However app performance is smoother on iOS when its under heavy use etc.

If you're rooted and custom recovery, you can backup your current setup and try out what maj said. In case u eh like it, u can always go back I believe. (Don't shoot me I'm new) but I honestly love sense on this HTC.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » July 3rd, 2013, 3:06 am

rocknrolla wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:
mamoo_pagal wrote:

Thanks

you sure that isnt a memory issue? with 1gb memory u should have at least 300mb free at any time with running tasks to maintain smoothness. going lower than that starts to slow things down. to reclaim memory from services running that boot with the fone u dont need, debloating might help. but for that ull most likely need to root.

Yeah I honestly think it was. I tried all kinda crap to fix it on my S3 but to no avail. Countless scripts, roms, kernels etc.. Didn't really make it as smooth as I wanted but I'm an EXTREMELY picky person in terms of how my phone performs. With 1gb ram on an AOSP rom.. The S3 generally uses about 4-500mb of ram at boot . Increases with usage though obviously.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » July 3rd, 2013, 6:03 am

noshownogo wrote:Been using the S4 for awhile but not noticing any of the issues sentraman referring to. For me, the screen is slightly laggy to rotate, iPhone5 was quicker imo.

X2 ive noticed this too.

The rotation lag is affecting the camera too when you turn the phone in landscape some pics still come out in portrait.

Postby DFC » July 3rd, 2013, 10:28 am

Samsung Innovation goes beyond !!

Archvile

Postby Archvile » July 3rd, 2013, 5:41 pm

Anyone else got a small OTA on digicel today or recently? Just did the upgrade and my handset has frozen three times since said upgrade. (I9300)
Last edited by Archvile on July 5th, 2013, 9:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 3rd, 2013, 10:53 pm

Galaxy Tab saying not enough memory to update apps. Removed some stuff and it's working now. Is there any thing I could do to help this situation? Root?

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » July 3rd, 2013, 11:03 pm

yes root and use link2sd on a specially formatted sdcard which has a partition to act as additional virtual memory and app storage. u can then move apps from on the tab itself so that they run from the sdcard instead.

Postby stev » July 4th, 2013, 2:37 pm

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » July 4th, 2013, 3:08 pm

stev wrote:did firefox 22 just beat chrome?

http://www.megaleecher.net/Google_Chrom ... oo%21+Mail

switched back to firefox a little while ago. it is indeed better.. plus, they are all about privacy and make no deals with the nsa as google has. at least so they say..

would like to see them add a 'duplicate tab' option in the tab list as ive grown accustommed to that, but basically.. ive got say.. firefox is functioning more efficient than google right by a significant amount. and i does have 100 tabs open in multiple browser windows at any point during the day. so i know bout stress testing a browser.

google just aint what it used to be anymore.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 4th, 2013, 3:44 pm

Firefox works best for me, after the update yesterday. On my device the integrated browser works best

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » July 4th, 2013, 9:35 pm

Hi guys is the Samsung Galaxy Nexus I9250 a good buy looking at it as temporary upgrade as my bb died......

Kerwyng

Postby Kerwyng » July 4th, 2013, 9:36 pm

Any nexus is better than a blackberry. Yes its a good choice

J453

Postby J453 » July 4th, 2013, 10:29 pm

Kerwyng wrote:Any nexus is better than a blackberry. Yes its a good choice
^^this

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » July 4th, 2013, 11:25 pm

haha thanks :)

Kerwyng

Postby Kerwyng » July 5th, 2013, 6:07 am

Np Whatever hour decision let us know what you think about it

Postby M_2NR » July 5th, 2013, 11:18 pm

Android ‘Master Key’ Security Hole Puts 99% Of Devices At Risk Of Exploitation
Mobile security startup Bluebox Security has unearthed a vulnerability in Android’s security model which it says means that the nearly 900 million Android phones released in the past four years could be exploited, or some 99% of Android devices. The vulnerability has apparently been around since Android v1.6 (Donut), and was disclosed by the firm to Google back in February. The Samsung Galaxy S4 has already apparently been patched.

It’s likely that Google is working on a patch for the vulnerability. We’ve reached out to the company for comment and will update this story with any response.

Bluebox intends to detail the flaw at the Black Hat USA conference at the end of this month but in the meanwhile it’s written a blog delving into some detail. The vulnerability apparently allows a hacker to turn a legitimate app into a malicious Trojan by modifying APK code without breaking the app’s cryptographic signature. Bluebox says the flaw exploits discrepancies in how Android apps are cryptographically verified and installed. Specifically it allows a hacker to change an app’s code, leaving its cryptographic signature unchanged — thereby tricking Android into believing the app itself is unchanged, and allowing the hacker to wreak their merry havoc.

Read More...

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » July 6th, 2013, 6:08 am

Saw that on flip board the other day , that is a serious serious problem so far the galaxy s4 is the only phone that is fully protected, the rest of us has to be very careful when installing apps, right now I lock down with Avast antivirus

If anyone has any other security advice feel freee to share because that vulnerability could be the downfall of android

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » July 6th, 2013, 7:42 am

I has S4 not affected.....wonder how other device users like htc 1x feel

Postby noshownogo » July 6th, 2013, 9:11 am

Wonders: How the S4 was first to get patched?

Corporate decision to protect flagship first?

Postby RASC » July 6th, 2013, 10:36 am

Nexus cyar do wrong in this thread. Y'all giving nexus devices god status oui.

Val

Postby Val » July 6th, 2013, 12:30 pm

Trying wanamlite with Adam kernel to improve battery life on the s3. Anybody using this care to review?

Update - phone left charger 730AM this morning, since then I've done a battery calibration at that point 100%, and now at 913PM it's at 53%

battery life seems much improved (and this is without the JuiceDefender Plus which was extremely buggy and uninstalled, money wasted IMO).

Used it probably for about 1 to 2 hour screen on over WiFi/HSPA, and about 5 camera photos today.

ROM is pretty smooth too, but I am using Nova not TW.

Also got a Ghost Armor skin installed on both S3 and S2, it's very clean and you can't even notice it's there. Helps with the fingerprints a little bit.
Last edited by Val on July 6th, 2013, 9:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 6th, 2013, 2:08 pm

genghis

Postby genghis » July 7th, 2013, 6:38 pm