Official Gaming Console Thread (XBOX, PS4, Switch etc)

Infamous

Re: Official Gaming Console Thread (360,PS3,Wii etc)

Postby Infamous » June 14th, 2013, 9:33 am

stev wrote:
Miatabrah wrote:I don't have a problem with checking in, I have a problem with not being able to play offline for more than an hour. I don't play online most of the time, or what if I decide to take it with me somewhere and there's shitty internet or no connection? So why should I buy it if I can't use it offline when I want to?

not sure i understand u.....u not using bandwidth while playing a game. :S only games u buy directly from xbox live and decide to play right away.

what is this one hour thing? lol

guys stop taking the little info we have so literal....like the regional lock thing....a lot of people dont understand what it is and just circling wrong information.,,,all over the web....kinda funny though

He means that if he were to take his Xbox One with him while travelling and was staying in a location that did not have an internet connection, he would not be able to play any of his games after a 24 hour period...even offline. To be honest, that is BS and some folks would be amazed at the number of people that still don't have a reliable internet connection at home making the Xbox One a waste for them. I can't embed the youtube clip now, but a Microsoft exec made a comment in an interview that if you didn't have an internet connection and were unable to check-in then Microsoft had the perfect system for you (an Xbox 360) :roll: .

Regarding the participating retailers thing, it still means that there are restrictions on me being able to lend my games to my friends. Even if they are all on my friends list for 30 days, I can only lend a game once (and I've lent the same game to about 3 or 4 people at times).

Sony had a patent done a while ago that seemingly gave them the ability to block used games but after the uproar it caused, they decided against it. What they have seemingly mentioned recently is that they would not be implementing any form of DRM practices on first party games but that they would not dictate how third party publishers chose to implement their business models. Does that mean that third party developers are going to block used games? Not sure. But they would be foolish to try after the whole fall out from Microsoft's presentations and the reaction to Sony's stance on the matter.

And could we as consumers discuss these issues without some people jumping to this tired BS reasoning that it's only because people poor or broke that they bitching. Buying all the consoles from this upcoming generation is really not a problem but I think people are within their right not to subscribe to underhanded tactics. Until Microsoft gets their act together, I'll probably pick up a PS4 and a WiiU (once the library of games improves). Maybe somewhere down the line, when Microsoft's true plans for the system are fleshed out and they hopefully drop all these restrictions I may pick one up.

Postby 16 cycles » June 14th, 2013, 10:02 am

M$ never heard about flow, blink or greendot and i doubt they would care.....

Good luck MS fan boys....

Postby stev » June 14th, 2013, 10:26 am

why d arse would u want to carry around your xbox when travelling? thats the big point allyuh talking bout? steups.....thats just plain stupid.

what are the differences in games though? i saw nothing on new engines or software sets.....developers still under-utilizing the processor cores?

for example....what is the difference between the way a game is developed for the PS3 / 360 vs the way it is developed for the PS4 / One?

Infamous

Postby Infamous » June 14th, 2013, 10:46 am

stev wrote:why d arse would u want to carry around your xbox when travelling? thats the big point allyuh talking bout? steups.....thats just plain stupid.

Once again, because you don't take your system with you doesn't mean it isn't important to someone else. If your system will remain at home permanently and your internet connection will never go down, then enjoy your Xbox One. Other people may not be so "fortunate" and will therefore spend their money how they see fit and support the competition.

what are the differences in games though? i saw nothing on new engines or software sets.....developers still under-utilizing the processor cores?

for example....what is the difference between the way a game is developed for the PS3 / 360 vs the way it is developed for the PS4 / One?

The full specs for both systems and the ease of development associated with each has yet to be revealed. I think the only difference that is know now is that the Xbox One has 8GB of DDR3 RAM while the PS4 has 8GB of GDDR5 RAM. The information on other specs isn't really as clear.

Postby stev » June 14th, 2013, 11:01 am

wasnt aware that men used o move around with their consoles. lol well if thats the situation, 360 / PS3 / PS4 / Laptop would be the better option obviously....even the Vita.

i really like GDDR5....this means the processor handles large chunks of data in small numbers as appose to DDR3 where the processor will handle small chunks of data in larger numbers (more or less).

i only hope Sony changes their CPU utilization / flow model (most likely they did) or else the GDDR5 would only be a bonus for HD video not games....cant wait to see what they did :O

u guys found any specs on cache sizes for both consoles?

Postby 16 cycles » June 14th, 2013, 11:09 am

Quite a few offshore vessels have consoles as part of their entertainment room. Internet connection not always consistent....

Just one example where MS' model is flawed

Postby stev » June 14th, 2013, 11:12 am

didnt realize a major contribution to xbox sales was BP...thanks for the info :roll:

Postby honda hoe » June 14th, 2013, 11:19 am

stev wrote:didnt realize a major contribution to xbox sales was BP...thanks for the info :roll:

stev, tell me what is the point is making it MANDATORY for someone to be online to play an offline game?

plz give a sensible objective answer

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » June 14th, 2013, 12:12 pm

stev wrote:didnt realize a major contribution to xbox sales was BP...thanks for the info :roll:

I think you missing the point.

Postby 16 cycles » June 14th, 2013, 12:26 pm

You found it hard to believe ppl would take their consoles with them when away from home.

An instance where it would be applicable was given.

Your response seems to indicate that you understand very little about those who spend alot of time away in remote locations as part of their livlihood

Given that the thousands of vessels for offshore companies, construction outfits, land ops are not a major contributor to xbox market share...perhaps you can buy all those consoles and games since its such a small amount

Postby stev » June 14th, 2013, 12:33 pm

honda hoe wrote:

stev, tell me what is the point is making it MANDATORY for someone to be online to play an offline game?

plz give a sensible objective answer

i support the online check ins....its no different from the way iTunes or steam checks in...(words of Phil Spencer)...it uses Kilobytes if data and can easily be done via phone tethering.

ina nut shell....check ins would guarantee the integrity of your console to be used within the online community....360 and the first xbox used to 'check-in' just not every 24 hours. :lol:

basically if u never buy the game, then you should not be playing it....its a strict rule but a good one...especially for developers.....this policy might most likely end up changing....it was an attempt with the 360 if u guys remember....but never enforced.

it drastically minimizes hacking, spoofing and basically any form of modification that can be a potential risk to users on xbox live.

again...the online check-in is not a big deal....people just blowing it out of proportion.

if microsoft is licensing games the same way they do their software then it will be a bonus...u get offers for buying a number of games at once, discounts every quarter, free software depending on purchasing level etc....a whole set of new crap i didnt have time to dig up in.

xbox one can be managed and configured with Windows Azure, so u can create a private cloud for gaming and check the cloud in, not all consoles. (not sure if it works with consoles this way but it does with Office and Skydrive pro.)

u guys still thinking in offline mode :P .....cloud computing (public and private) WILL be the new trend in computing, not just for gaming. Microsoft just decided to make a small step towards it with their console.

Postby stev » June 14th, 2013, 12:41 pm

16 cycles wrote:

You found it hard to believe ppl would take their consoles with them when away from home.

An instance where it would be applicable was given.

Your response seems to indicate that you understand very little about those who spend alot of time away in remote locations as part of their livlihood

Given that the thousands of vessels for offshore companies, construction outfits, land ops are not a major contributor to xbox market share...perhaps you can buy all those consoles and games since its such a small amount

you are right...i dont understand much about remote locations and workers....hence why i should retract my sarcastic statement :lol:

but what kinda locations gives u no internet access? from what i know, oil rigs have internet connections...3 years ago i was in the middle of a radio link solution for Petrotrin in my first job b4 i left (and thats offshore Trinidad).

so which thousands of vessels have no data connectivity (mobile and LAN) to the rest of the world? u sure u mean a thousand or just a handful?

edit: serious question eh...i am not a Microsoft defender or anything...i dont like them actually. lol

and im talking as it pertains to Trinidad and Tobago.

Postby 16 cycles » June 14th, 2013, 1:23 pm

Using your example....jack up rig....during move...waiting on weather...daily ops...prority given to console to check in online? Online game play????

^ FOR trinidad

But why limit self there....expand to africa...india...north sea...land ops in desserts etc....all susceptible to data blackouts due to weather etc....

See the feasibility of xboxone checking in every 24?

Postby stev » June 14th, 2013, 1:48 pm

checking in online doesnt mean u have to play online.....

u talking like if playing xbox games is part of rig worker's job description. lol

but i understand your point and where u coming from....it stands valid....the check in policy will mess up some people who are free to buy the 360 (as microsoft said).

so basically the big issue is the online check thing? thats what everybody complaining about? nobody even sure if that policy will be in effect when the consoles are released commercially....it was the same claim with the 360....sony and other misinformed websites just blowing it out of proportion this time.

how nobody eh complain about DRM yet?

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » June 14th, 2013, 1:54 pm

Postby stev » June 14th, 2013, 2:01 pm

u seriously showing us something from pastebin?

u eh know the type of fanboys out there that can right them sheit.

edit: what i meant to say was: sorry, pastebin is not a reliable source for information.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » June 14th, 2013, 2:10 pm

stev wrote::rofl:

edit: what i meant to say was: sorry, pastebin is not a reliable source for information.

Complaints about Microsoft's policies are all over the internet. They seem not to care about the consumer.

Postby cinco » June 14th, 2013, 2:15 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:

Complaints about Microsoft's policies are all over the internet. They seem not to care about the consumer.

umm guess stev never played a lan party, internet is not required for a lan party btw.
so you can play 1hr in a lan party?
BAWLS

Postby stev » June 14th, 2013, 2:22 pm

cinco wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:

umm guess stev never played a lan party, internet is not required for a lan party btw.
so you can play 1hr in a lan party?
BAWLS

see my post above about Windows Azure and private cloud.

Postby cinco » June 14th, 2013, 2:28 pm

how many console users you know are tech savy and gonna set up all that shiz just to play game?

Postby stev » June 14th, 2013, 2:38 pm

cinco wrote:how many console users you know are tech savy and gonna set up all that shiz just to play game?

set up what? its as easy as installing an app :S

get the free preview from Microsoft and set up 2 or more devices...it gets complicated if u want to enable Office services.

Postby stev » June 14th, 2013, 2:41 pm

(seriously not trolling here)

been searching all over and cant find anything.....can someone point me in the right direction?

i'm trying to find out whats new in the PS4 compared to the PS3....besides hardware. or is it just a hardware upgrade?

Postby pioneer » June 14th, 2013, 2:48 pm

LOL@ chunas makin up features as they please

Both consoles not even released yet chunas know everything about both consoles down to the very last resistor value on the circuit boards.

This thread is beyond hilarious.

Postby stev » June 14th, 2013, 2:52 pm

pioneer wrote:LOL@ chunas makin up features as they please

Both consoles not even released yet chunas know everything about both consoles down to the very last resistor value on the circuit boards.

This thread is beyond hilarious.

good point actually :lol:

nothing released and it was the same BS when the PS3 / 360 was released. lol

Infamous

Postby Infamous » June 14th, 2013, 3:07 pm

stev wrote:(seriously not trolling here)

been searching all over and cant find anything.....can someone point me in the right direction?

i'm trying to find out whats new in the PS4 compared to the PS3....besides hardware. or is it just a hardware upgrade?

http://reviews.cnet.com/ps4/
PlayStation Plus and PS4
The PS4 will support the same PlayStation Plus service as the Vita and PS3, with no new subscription price increase: it's all folded together. (Right now, that's $50 per year.) Unlike the PS3, however, a Plus subscription will be required for online multiplayer games. Thankfully, though, you won't be required to have Plus to access PS4's media services (Netflix and the like). You do need Microsoft's Xbox Live Gold subscription to do nearly anything -- including Netflix -- on Xbox One and Xbox 360.

The PS4 will have its own Instant Game collection service; Drive Club PS Plus Edition will be the first free game at launch, with one free game per month after that. Titles will include Don’t Starve and Outlast.

Sony’s been smart to offer up free games via Plus, and you have to wonder if Microsoft is taking notice: a similar offering of free monthly games was announced for Xbox 360 owners subscribing to Xbox Live Gold.

Video content and services
Leading off the PS4 discussions at E3 was a mention of Sony's video efforts, seemingly aiming for a similar type of video-content approach with the console as Microsoft is with the Xbox One. Sony touted its studio strength and the eventual launch of exclusive videos coming only to the PS4, but it’s unclear what those are.

Video services like Video Unlimited, Redbox, and Flixster are some of the services launching on the PlayStation Network, but it looks like these services will be available on the PS3, too.

The big challenge with fronting content as a reason to buy a console is this: can game systems really become video networks? Microsoft and Sony seem to be betting on this direction, and it’s a dicey endeavor.

Gaikai and cloud streaming
Gaikai cloud technology, acquired last year by Sony, was discussed back in February as a possible trial-based way of playing games before buying, working via streaming-game technology. Back then, David Perry, CEO of Gaikai, discussed the many ways that PlayStation Cloud services will potentially reinvent the back end of the PlayStation experience.

Gaikai technology will also be used to power the PS4's spectating experiences, and that aforementioned ability to continually one-button broadcast your game progress via Share. It's certainly the first time a home gaming console has entered this territory, although PC gamers have enjoyed similar types of functions and services (OnLive, for instance). The streaming/sharing technology will also work with Facebook and Ustream.
It doesn't seem to be coming this year, though. Sony announced at E3 that the PlayStation’s cloud gaming service will be available in 2014, offering PS3 games streamed via the cloud. The service will start in the U.S. first. And, interestingly, Gaikai services won't be limited to the PS4; the PS3 and eventually the Vita will benefit from Gaikai as well.

Online: The new social sharing
Sony promises that you'll be able to scan the last few minutes of your gameplay with the push of a "Share" button on the DualShock 4, uploading screenshots or clips, and even spectate and chat during other people's games like PC gamers already do. Many screens shown at the PlayStation event show what looks like a serious revamp of Sony's social gaming network, using what look like real photos and names for players. Whether or not video game footage-sharing is a feature with mainstream appeal has yet to be determined.

PlayStation Vita and remote play
Can the Vita and PS4 be best friends? Sony promises that the Vita will be very integrated with the PS4, and the two will be wonderful together using Remote Play game-streaming. It sounds somewhat like what the Nintendo Wii U enables on the GamePad, except in this case the experience will be translated onto a fully independent handheld device.
If this works as promised, it could help make the PS4 and Vita a hardware match worth getting -- improved transmission times between the Vita and PS4, as promised, result in an experience as seamless as what Nintendo achieves on the Wii U GamePad. Sony's aiming to have most PS4 games be Vita-playable via remote play. No further details were given; apparently, that will be discussed "later in the year," too.

Generally better hardware and a movement towards integrating more social elements into gaming (Ustream).

stev wrote:so basically the big issue is the online check thing? thats what everybody complaining about? nobody even sure if that policy will be in effect when the consoles are released commercially....it was the same claim with the 360....sony and other misinformed websites just blowing it out of proportion this time.

Well Microsoft's biggest missteps and what pissed everyone off since they announced the Xbox One has been the issue of used games, online authentication and the continued integration of Kinect. Their E3 presentation was a bit more well received than the initial release since there was a greater emphasis on games as opposed to turning the Xbox into a media box (although some of the features are already available on some smart televisions so Microsoft will definitely need to integrate things nicely for it to be a draw).

The line up looks strong (although Sony may be a bit more desirable to Indie publishers) but if there is one game I'd be skeptical of, it would be Killer Instinct. Not because of what was shown but more that the developer making it, Double Helix Games, isn't really known for producing quality video games. But we will have to see how that turns out.

Postby 16 cycles » June 14th, 2013, 3:07 pm

stev wrote:
so basically the big issue is the online check thing? thats what everybody complaining about? nobody even sure if that policy will be in effect when the consoles are released commercially....it was the same claim with the 360....sony and other misinformed websites just blowing it out of proportion this time.

If gamers sit in silence and hope MS will change their mind on the 24 hr check-in, it'll never change.....

Your logic is kicks...

Postby stev » June 14th, 2013, 3:39 pm

well done infamous.....great stuff u posted there.

16 cycles wrote:
If gamers sit in silence and hope MS will change their mind on the 24 hr check-in, it'll never change.....

Your logic is kicks...

not sure what u are trying to say so i cant answer....refer to previous posts about the console not being released as yet.

Postby 16 cycles » June 14th, 2013, 3:54 pm

stev wrote:

See part in bold

Man set up IT system on a rig but cant do a google search...i gud

Take win stev...

Miatabrah

Postby Miatabrah » June 14th, 2013, 4:06 pm

stev wrote:why d arse would u want to carry around your xbox when travelling? thats the big point allyuh talking bout? steups.....thats just plain stupid.

How is that stupid? I travel a lot, and sometimes I end up in places where I have no internet, and i'd like something to do when i'm inside.
Having a restriction on the ability of a console to play offline is what's stupid. That's quite infact literally retarded.
Also I don't keep games on my work laptop.

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » June 14th, 2013, 10:19 pm

Not even Micro$oft knows the whole story yet :|

http://kotaku.com/microsoft-cant-tell-u ... -513494440

Unbelievable...